User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 817 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Marcus
    Jul 6, 2008
    9
    Having been someone whose computer suffered really badly from the bugs and crashes (they have now been fixed), I am still going to give this game a 9. The graphics are incredible (more realistic than oblivion and it runs smoother too), the combat actually feels like combat unlike other MMOs. For me the atmosphere of the game is amazing. A lot of people are complaining about poor pvp Having been someone whose computer suffered really badly from the bugs and crashes (they have now been fixed), I am still going to give this game a 9. The graphics are incredible (more realistic than oblivion and it runs smoother too), the combat actually feels like combat unlike other MMOs. For me the atmosphere of the game is amazing. A lot of people are complaining about poor pvp "imbalance". I think this is actually a good thing and greatly enhances the atmosphere and realism of the game. It would be a great shame if they changed it. More skill is required this way, hiding in thickets of trees while a group of level 80s rides past etc - I really love the brutality of the pvp in this game - it just makes it feel so much more real and exciting than in other MMOs. As for the instancing, people are already complaining about fps - if it wasn't so heavily instanced, for a lot of people it would be unplayable. Maybe in a few years when people have better computers, they'll change this.... One of my favourite things about this game is the extent to which you can customize your character's appearance and I also love the classes (I have 5 characters all with different classes and I haven't found any big problem with class imbalance ( actually I love all the classes I have played -they all have clear advantages and disadvantages) I do agree that the game is just the skeleton of what it will become - but even in its current form, it is still by far the most fun MMO I have played which is why I won't be canceling my account. It seems people either love or hate this game but for me, it definitely gets a big thumbs up! Expand
  2. NicklasS
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game after all the patches and additional content this game is worth a try! Great graphics and combat! Awesome sound and music also!
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    -very compelling game, especially the pvp servers,
    -the game stays very true to robert e howard's universe
    -award wining music track, and the best graphics any mmo has too offer(you must go in settings to put em on max) -very smart combat system where tactics and practise are ever so important blablabla, whatever game u have played before, if you take the time to understand this game,
    -very compelling game, especially the pvp servers,
    -the game stays very true to robert e howard's universe
    -award wining music track, and the best graphics any mmo has too offer(you must go in settings to put em on max)
    -very smart combat system where tactics and practise are ever so important
    blablabla, whatever game u have played before, if you take the time to understand this game, you will fall in love withh it

    if u want good old easy stuff u can still enjoy the pve servers, and get coaching from fellow guild mates on how to experience the toughest raids any mmo has too offer
    Expand
  4. TommyM.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Very good game, but indeed its little unfinished, but which rpg game isnt that at the beginning.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great MMO, really good. Don´t know about launch problems some years ago, anyway version 4.0 rocks and I got all expansions and adventure packs. Everyone should check it out and make sure to get the expansion because Kithai is massive and beautiful
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    This is the best MMO out there period, best graphics, best stories and it's such a massive open world you can get lost with a sense of who cares im doing fine, there's no arguing pansy boys just shut up and play.
  7. ReneD
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    It was clearly a fail, when it came out totally unfinished. But a lot has changed, and at the moment this game is really worth, playing it. Best Graphics in the genre, different game play (fights) and a community, which, at least on PVE-Servers, will help any newcomers. Whoever´s still writing nonsense about bugs, crashes, no stories, etc. can certainly not have played this game for It was clearly a fail, when it came out totally unfinished. But a lot has changed, and at the moment this game is really worth, playing it. Best Graphics in the genre, different game play (fights) and a community, which, at least on PVE-Servers, will help any newcomers. Whoever´s still writing nonsense about bugs, crashes, no stories, etc. can certainly not have played this game for at least 7 months. There´s a bit to critisise because of the recent merge of PVP-/RP-Servers since there aren't many PVP-players anymore. But that´s not the problem of Funcom, thats a problem which has it´s origin in some stupid gankers. So if you´re PVP all the way, make it a 7, the PVE-Fans and even RP-Fans should definitely give it a (second) chance. And hey, I´m NOT from Funcom, and I´m certainly no "Fanboy" but I can see a good game, when I play it. And Age of Conan, at it´s actual state, is definitely one. Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    this game is known for having the best raids, the best melee combat system, the best graphics, and best sound of any mmo.
    the lore of robert e howard, creator of heroic fantasy is also very strong.
    the only glitch towards perfection has been Funcom which has been very unresponsive for long
    fortunately i think this is turning around
  9. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    The best MMORPG out there.. And its free.

    The graphics in this 4 year old game is the best of all MMORPG. Eventhough The secret world have the same engine, AoC still looks better. The biggest argument for playing this game is the combat system. Its fun, and challenging, and its not push-a-button-and-run kind of game. The Second argument is the story. The 4 main classes, Mage, Rogue,
    The best MMORPG out there.. And its free.

    The graphics in this 4 year old game is the best of all MMORPG. Eventhough The secret world have the same engine, AoC still looks better. The biggest argument for playing this game is the combat system. Its fun, and challenging, and its not push-a-button-and-run kind of game.

    The Second argument is the story. The 4 main classes, Mage, Rogue, Healer, and Tank, has their own story. Also the setting is appealing. The Hyborian Age is like a dark, decadent, twisted and corrupt version of Euro-Asian history. Mix a bit of the Roman Empire, Mongolian culture and Babylonian mysticism with '30s-era myths of undiscovered Africa.
    Expand
  10. May 18, 2011
    10
    Simply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! If you like it rough, bloody, real, sexy and combo system that puts ypu into the fight like no other MMO. THis is the MMO which takes a bit of skill to play. Some of the reviews here are old as hell and do not reflect the game as it istands today. The game has been massively over hauled. Population ios going up and up due to the recent massiveSimply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! If you like it rough, bloody, real, sexy and combo system that puts ypu into the fight like no other MMO. THis is the MMO which takes a bit of skill to play. Some of the reviews here are old as hell and do not reflect the game as it istands today. The game has been massively over hauled. Population ios going up and up due to the recent massive changes to make the combat more skill based by making CC combos also. This making the combat more fluid and let crowd control going on. I cannot think of any other MMO that makes you feel combat like AoC and on top of that. The graphic are hands down the best in the genre. No other MMO comes close though its recommended to have at least 3-4gb of ram. I don't want to spend all day wrioting reviews but it makes me sick to see all the negative reviews here from people from years ago who have helped to keep this ORIGINAL MMO down. Nothing offers what AoC offers. In a sea of boring MMO's this MMO has the most imortant element in spades, and that is Gameplay. My Official Score is 9 but I am giving it a 10 on the board! If you are sitting on the fence go and buy RISE OF THE GODSLAYER and enjoy this game. No one should miss playing through to level 80 on at least one class of the 12 AoC offers. They are all uniue and far superiour to the hollow versions to get in cheap games like WoW and Rift. Whats on offer? Necro Mancers with 8 pets! .. Demonologists with demon slaves... Assassins with duel daggers, Rangers, Barbarians, Bear Shaman (Twi hander hammer Priest), Tempest of Set, Priest of Mitra, Heral of Xotli, Dark Templars, Guardians and Conqeurors. When you reach the level cap in AoC you will find plenty to do also, and that also goes for solo content. There are T1 T2 T3 T4 dungeons but you can also do hard Mode Khitain dungeons for Epic loot (Best Epic Loot in the game) or you can solo grond for a faction Set. There are 5 PvP arenas, and servers offer full world PvP or PvE servers. I think I have covered most things. Simply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! Expand
  11. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    this game is so refreshing and immersive
    if you are in hard-core pvp, or a simply magnificent game, this is for you, if you like boring games go somewhere else.
    everything is nearly perfectly balanced, that it be the jumping height of a character or the use of each character in a succesful pvp team
  12. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    Decent MMO. I leveled a character up to the maximum level and played around with a raiding guild for a while, but ultimately I stopped playing because it was just too similar to World of Warcraft which had a lot more content at the time. It was still well made, and by now it probably has a lot more content. I'd recommend it for anyone who's interested in trying out an MMO.
  13. hypo
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Well, I've tried it an guess what? It rocks!
  14. rikom
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Best MMORPG ever...and i've tried all
  15. KevinS.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    The game is a lot of fun. It has great graphics for an mmo. I'm surprised how low the average user rating is. My guess is people felt ripped off about the patches and downtime during EA and game it a 0. So far I think it's a great game.
  16. JonA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Assuming, and granted it's a big assumption, Funcom stays the course and keeps with the incessant patching, works out the kinks, and people don't jump ship first -- this becomes THE game. If not, it's the chaperone for the next ambitious mmo.
  17. JulianB
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Best MMO Game! The game getting better and better every month ;D
  18. PetterS.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Played for 3 days now and I'm already hooked. A bit to early to actually give it a review but my impression so far is excelente.
  19. MarkV.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    This game is simply awesome.
  20. CamB.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    Great game woudl get a 10, but just launched, need a bit of work. other then that this game has TONs of potential!
  21. Even
    May 23, 2008
    10
    The best MMO game ever!!!! Everything is just great.. great sound, great playstyle great great GREAT!!
  22. EilefS.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Best online game i have played on a pc.
  23. TravisS.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    One of the best MMO launches in history. Great fundamental gameplay that lays down the ground work for an amazing MMO. The game has a few bugs, however the amount of bugs is on par with any other MMO at launch (yes yes fanboys even WoW was riddled with bugs at launch). If you are looking for an evolutionary game (no it is not revolutionary) that puts a twist on combat as well as PvP then One of the best MMO launches in history. Great fundamental gameplay that lays down the ground work for an amazing MMO. The game has a few bugs, however the amount of bugs is on par with any other MMO at launch (yes yes fanboys even WoW was riddled with bugs at launch). If you are looking for an evolutionary game (no it is not revolutionary) that puts a twist on combat as well as PvP then Age of Conan is going to be an excellent choice. This is coming from someone who has been playing MMO's since Ultima Online in 1998. Expand
  24. JakeBprg
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics and gameplay
  25. ZlatoK.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Absolutely great! WoW is gone.
  26. JustinS.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Great game, new, fresh, original. Not quite done, but it will be in time.
  27. Jiiaa
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Age of Conan is absolutely one of the greatest (if not THE BEST) MMO out there! In my opinion, it beats crap out of WoW with its superior combat, great quests and amazing graphics and mature content (screw WoWs orcs and dwarfs)! I can't really say any bad things about AoC (well, there is some bugs, but tell me one MMO game which didn't have any bugs in launch) because it's Age of Conan is absolutely one of the greatest (if not THE BEST) MMO out there! In my opinion, it beats crap out of WoW with its superior combat, great quests and amazing graphics and mature content (screw WoWs orcs and dwarfs)! I can't really say any bad things about AoC (well, there is some bugs, but tell me one MMO game which didn't have any bugs in launch) because it's just so cool game, and fresh! Heads won't roll anymore, they have already been rolled! Expand
  28. CharlesB.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Do not listen to these people. By and large people are judging this game based on preconceptions from WoW - it is not like it at all. The developers have (thank God) gone into development with a different perspective on how things work; all this criticism may just force developers into creating the infuriating cookie cutter buttons. The loss of an immediate 'I WIN' button is Do not listen to these people. By and large people are judging this game based on preconceptions from WoW - it is not like it at all. The developers have (thank God) gone into development with a different perspective on how things work; all this criticism may just force developers into creating the infuriating cookie cutter buttons. The loss of an immediate 'I WIN' button is alienating a lot of narrow minded people. No doubt there are balancing and it is a technically demanding game, no doubt. But it is an excellent game and one well worth following as time goes on. For me WoW was too childish in community and had repetitive gameplay as well as numerous recent changes such as PvP 'welfare epics' and such were spoiling the game. WoW just takes time not skill and has a large 10 year subcriber base. I look forward to how AoC will develop. :) Expand
  29. AJM
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Negatives: The game has some bugs and minor issue's like most mmo's do. -- Sometimes it feels a little like Guild Wars with all the paths and instances. -- I think it lacks in armor variety, everyone is runnin around wearin the same stuff. The first 30 levels you spend the majority of it by yourself which I didnt care for. Posatives: Theirs alot of players so it makes the world Negatives: The game has some bugs and minor issue's like most mmo's do. -- Sometimes it feels a little like Guild Wars with all the paths and instances. -- I think it lacks in armor variety, everyone is runnin around wearin the same stuff. The first 30 levels you spend the majority of it by yourself which I didnt care for. Posatives: Theirs alot of players so it makes the world more fun and active. -- You level fast, it took me 5 days to reach lvl 45. -- The combat is fun and makes every other mmo I've played look juvenile and boring. -- Putting Fatalities in a fantasy mmo is genious and extremely entertaining. -- The graphics, especially the water are the best I've seen in an mmo. -- Most of the time you don't notice the instancing. -- All in all I think the game needs improvements but I love it and I cant wait to see what happens next and I would deffinitly recommend it. Around the end of the Tortage story line - lvl 18ish is when the game really started to grab me. Expand
  30. JohnLivingstone
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game, which I've read a lot of varied views on after launch. A friend recommended I try it, and now I'm joining the Conan fan club!
    I've now reached lvl 34 and Ive been enjoying the ride all along. My guild is a bit too casual for building cities and such, but just the combat, immersion and general feel of the world is enough for me
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game, which I've read a lot of varied views on after launch. A friend recommended I try it, and now I'm joining the Conan fan club!
    I've now reached lvl 34 and Ive been enjoying the ride all along. My guild is a bit too casual for building cities and such, but just the combat, immersion and general feel of the world is enough for me to stay hooked.
    Yes, there are a few rough edges, but the makers of the game have been fairly diligent in getting out patches and updates, and the improvements in the game are noticable.
    I won't cancel my WoW account just yet, but I'll definitely spend more time playing AoC in the weeks and months to come. For my two cents this is the best alternative experience to WoW currently on the market.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. This game marks the next generation of MMOs in many ways. It looks good, is very entertaining and plays very well. This is a journey well worth taking.
  2. It won't put WoW out of business, but then again, nothing will for a long time, and that doesn't mean this isn't a great game with tons of appeal and a hopefully more mature audience
  3. 80
    Age of Conan going forward should become a delightfully savage second home for plenty of howling on-line barbarians.