User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 813 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Assuming, and granted it's a big assumption, Funcom stays the course and keeps with the incessant patching, works out the kinks, and people don't jump ship first -- this becomes THE game. If not, it's the chaperone for the next ambitious mmo.
  2. JulianB
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Best MMO Game! The game getting better and better every month ;D
  3. PetterS.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Played for 3 days now and I'm already hooked. A bit to early to actually give it a review but my impression so far is excelente.
  4. MarkV.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    This game is simply awesome.
  5. Even
    May 23, 2008
    10
    The best MMO game ever!!!! Everything is just great.. great sound, great playstyle great great GREAT!!
  6. EilefS.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Best online game i have played on a pc.
  7. TravisS.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    One of the best MMO launches in history. Great fundamental gameplay that lays down the ground work for an amazing MMO. The game has a few bugs, however the amount of bugs is on par with any other MMO at launch (yes yes fanboys even WoW was riddled with bugs at launch). If you are looking for an evolutionary game (no it is not revolutionary) that puts a twist on combat as well as PvP then One of the best MMO launches in history. Great fundamental gameplay that lays down the ground work for an amazing MMO. The game has a few bugs, however the amount of bugs is on par with any other MMO at launch (yes yes fanboys even WoW was riddled with bugs at launch). If you are looking for an evolutionary game (no it is not revolutionary) that puts a twist on combat as well as PvP then Age of Conan is going to be an excellent choice. This is coming from someone who has been playing MMO's since Ultima Online in 1998. Expand
  8. JakeBprg
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics and gameplay
  9. ZlatoK.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Absolutely great! WoW is gone.
  10. JustinS.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Great game, new, fresh, original. Not quite done, but it will be in time.
  11. FredBob
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    By far the best MMO I've played - and I've tried all of them from the early day MUDs to the most current. Dense background to draw from, amazing story, incredible immersion, Innovative ideas around every corner. Combat is new and exciting. Adventures cater to soloist as well as groups. No reason to ever stop playing. (other than to eat).
  12. hypo
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Well, I've tried it an guess what? It rocks!
  13. DanielMc
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Best graphics and gameplay I've ever seen. Well done funcom. Already 700,000 subscribers and its the first day.
  14. CoreyU.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    I play it, and it is definately an awesome play experience that captures my interest more than any other game i have played.
  15. BusyP
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Wonderful MMO. Great graphics, incredible atmosphere capturing the strangeness and brutality of Robert E. Howard's writing. Pick it up and play it - you won't be dissapointed. Best of all: no elves! No orcs! No high fantasy tropes at all.
  16. MCitti
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing! Simply Amazing. Gorgeous to look at, absorbing to play and waaay too much fun!
  17. JanusH.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    The best MMO ever provided the player is over 18 and don't mind action-combat. Period! For others its not a 10/10, but for this user group, its perfect. Easy to get into, difficult to master.
  18. JohnS.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game really delivers! Tactical combat, awesome music score, best ever MMO graphics and a very stable ride. I'm really impressed with what Funcom got out of this game. I'm an old Conan fan, and this game surely has revitalized my interests for Hyboria and the lore. My specs are an AMD64 3800+, 3 gigs of RAM, winxp pro32 and a 7600GT, and I run the game on 25-30 fps mostly on This game really delivers! Tactical combat, awesome music score, best ever MMO graphics and a very stable ride. I'm really impressed with what Funcom got out of this game. I'm an old Conan fan, and this game surely has revitalized my interests for Hyboria and the lore. My specs are an AMD64 3800+, 3 gigs of RAM, winxp pro32 and a 7600GT, and I run the game on 25-30 fps mostly on a high to med settings w/o bloom and shadows with a little tweaking. So the requirements for playing this game are not as high as you can get an impression of. Expand
  19. MikeM
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Simply put, this game is amazing! The Story line wraps you up and guides you beautifully. I actually enjoy doing the quests, I feel like I'm actually part of the world. The graphics are amazing. I haven't had any issues at all, an Extrememly smooth Roll out for a new MMORPG. The Combat is intuitive and engaging. I am very pleased with this and will probably be playing it for Simply put, this game is amazing! The Story line wraps you up and guides you beautifully. I actually enjoy doing the quests, I feel like I'm actually part of the world. The graphics are amazing. I haven't had any issues at all, an Extrememly smooth Roll out for a new MMORPG. The Combat is intuitive and engaging. I am very pleased with this and will probably be playing it for quite some time. I haven't enjoyed another MMO like this, It is a step above the all the rest. Excellent and intuitive UI, I could just keep on praising it... Expand
  20. RayL
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Great game, runs smooth on medium spec computers, no lag at all.
  21. RolfE.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best MMORPG since WoW. Been playing WoW since it came out but now the game has lost its edge. AoC feels right at home for gamers like me, familiar keyboard/mouse bindings, a great storyline, voice quest givers, gore (yes, it's rated M), sexual innuendos, language - all the stuffing of a good game ;-). Did I forget to mention that this is one of the best-looking games to come out in Best MMORPG since WoW. Been playing WoW since it came out but now the game has lost its edge. AoC feels right at home for gamers like me, familiar keyboard/mouse bindings, a great storyline, voice quest givers, gore (yes, it's rated M), sexual innuendos, language - all the stuffing of a good game ;-). Did I forget to mention that this is one of the best-looking games to come out in recent years? The game has two interesting modes: Night (single-player, more storylline advancing and day (multiplayer, questing). Familiar archetypes, somewhat more granular and none of the WoW cartoonish look. Still some quirks to iron out but the game is backed by Micro$oft so we can expect a huge push to break into the existing WoW market. Blizzard watch out: This is a WoW killer! Expand
  22. JacobS.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, exceeded my expectations in every way. I've found my new MMO home!
  23. JoãoP.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    WOW whata great game, best one I have ever played. Great Graphics, Gameplay, and of course Gore lots and lots of guts and blood flying around.
  24. CalebB.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Very amzeing game great supor,t graphics, and gameplay. Good pve/pvp content as well. very unique classesand cool content not seen before in any other mmo.
  25. NickB
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Loving this one so far. Story mode is awesome, much better than any other MMORPG on the market. Combat is engaging! Graphics are amazing, but you need some serious machine horsepower to play it at full settings.
  26. ChristianM
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Lot of fun and after WoW finally a new great game.
  27. MarkK.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Just incredible. Also an avid WoW player for nearly last 2 years. The Good : Graphics Amazing. Control System great. Quest system really good and helps you alot. Talent System similar to WoW so easy to pickup. Additional Stat placement. Running Speed mana regen etc is brilliance on funcoms behalf. Certain aspects of the UI are good. Player movement. Collision Detection is fantastic. Just incredible. Also an avid WoW player for nearly last 2 years. The Good : Graphics Amazing. Control System great. Quest system really good and helps you alot. Talent System similar to WoW so easy to pickup. Additional Stat placement. Running Speed mana regen etc is brilliance on funcoms behalf. Certain aspects of the UI are good. Player movement. Collision Detection is fantastic. Mellee combat system is way too good. Quests have some depth and storylines are really good (not just a click accept and finish it) do the Destiny quest chain in starter zone. its worth it. The Bad : The chat system really sucks coming from WoW which is refined nicely, but i guess will be fixed quickly. Other than the minimap and menu selectors the UI not so hot. But mods already enroute, i haven't used WoWs default UI for a very long time so not even sure what it looks like anymore, but im sure similar addons will be available for AoC soon enough. Its a great game and if you finding WoW getting repetitive and somewhat boring outside new boss drops then grab this game its that good. Expand
  28. StefanO.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This is the next gen. A little bit buggy, but with an impressive rate of fixing. Better state than WoW was at launch however. I am playing it slow so it gets even better, but already this is the best mmorpg so far.
  29. WillS.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphic and finally an adult game.
  30. HobartH.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Superb Game! Will definetely be played for years!
  31. GuidoG.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Fresh and nice approach to combat, mature as in mature and not as in immaturely showing nipples and sex everywhere, and a finely crafted world make this a gem of a MMORPG.
  32. 3Ball
    May 30, 2008
    10
    This game is much more enjoyable in comparison to WoW for me. This is probably because of the more mature nature of the game and better visual experiance that it offers.
  33. HideakiT.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this game! I've been playing with my GF and a couple of friends and we are all having a blast!
  34. KeviD.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    There are bugs but what new mmo didn't? I think it is a wonderful game & plays brilliantly on my pc also love the combat system & spellweaving
  35. HenrikI.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    Really fun fighting system. The updates will probebly make the game even better.
  36. TS
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Age of Conan has been fun and interesting since its release. Even with the few bugs, the game is fantastic.
  37. OddB.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing! and even better, you almost never meet any idiots or children. let them play WoW.
  38. L'boy
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics, exciting quests and a great combat system!! I will stay in Hyboria for a long long time.
  39. NickB.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This game is great and in a few months it will be even better anyone complaning about bugs has obviously never been part of a MMO release befor compaired to most MMOs this is a very smooth release. And to the guy who said they had to delete two chars because of low FPS... you are stupid get off your old apple 2.
  40. Leonardoftpl.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Is the best mmorpg and with your guild you can buil cities and do guild vs guild (a fantastic thing) the grafik is fantastic,and is good than Wow, I love Age of Conan -buy it.
  41. CathrineM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    All the things I wish my old mmo would be, AoC delivered. Development is very fast to address issues, and I see this becoming a fantastic game! Thank You FunCom!
  42. Atalanta
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly one of the best games and most promising games I've played in awhile. If you like PvP/PvE content this game is for you.
  43. Daniel
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Just gotta love this game! The last patches made the game awesome, was some crashes before but not anymore.
  44. LongJohn
    May 18, 2008
    10
    I got to say i have never heard of a launch this smooth and never NEVER have you seem a MMO so pretty. Max setting DX10 it is amazing. I think my view distance is set to 3km. Anyone tired of what they are playing i would advise to check this game out. (just make sure you computer can run it)
  45. harrisontong
    May 19, 2008
    10
    better game then WoW. No dumb quests like get oranges or stuff. All NPC talks and good PvP . Don't believe to all thoes haters or shit talkers its just because they are to poor to afford to upgrade their computer. They just blame the game and can stick to their gay WoW. Its a bad game. Trust me you will love this game. Don't listen to all those people who dont' even havebetter game then WoW. No dumb quests like get oranges or stuff. All NPC talks and good PvP . Don't believe to all thoes haters or shit talkers its just because they are to poor to afford to upgrade their computer. They just blame the game and can stick to their gay WoW. Its a bad game. Trust me you will love this game. Don't listen to all those people who dont' even have this game yet. Expand
  46. Paul
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This game is ridiculously awesome! Groundbreaking in the mmom genre with real time combat that is so much fun to use!
  47. OleJ.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO I ever played! GREAT game!
  48. SamG.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Wonderful game. Have not been this pleased since wow came out four years ago.
  49. KevinT.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO I have ever played! Dont have time to write a good review cuz I have to get back to leveling. Everything is amazing!
  50. EliB.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO I have ever played. Combat is a bit clunky when you first use it and are on the "mash buttons!" phase of learning the system, but once you truly get used to it combat flows amazingly well and the combo system is great. From the very beginning the game is *packed* with quests and content, and I think I'll be playing this for quite a long time.
  51. SteveS.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    excellent game after years of MMO stagnation and the obvious decline of WOW.
  52. Kai
    May 21, 2008
    10
    What a game. Good move by Funcom adding som blood and gore to flavor it all.
  53. AliB.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game is groundbreaking! No auto-attack. When you are fighting you're actually doing it, instead of just watching your character doing it for you. And the graphics, gosh, it's awesome. There's no other mmo even close. Thumbs up!
  54. RF
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best MMO released since WOW.
  55. JeffR
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. The graphics are stunning, the game play is original, challenging, and a blast to learn. I was skeptical at first, but I've fallen in love with it! My 4 year long subscription to WoW was canceled two days ago and AoC has taken over!
  56. VincentV.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    An incredibly beautiful game and the most stable MMORPG release in history according to my playtests so far. System requirements may be a bit high, but the game runs flawlessly on my system. No lag whatsoever. Only slight disapointment for me is that the game feels a bit over-instanced, ala Guild Wars, but not to the extent where its a deal breaker. Awesome game, Ive been glued to it An incredibly beautiful game and the most stable MMORPG release in history according to my playtests so far. System requirements may be a bit high, but the game runs flawlessly on my system. No lag whatsoever. Only slight disapointment for me is that the game feels a bit over-instanced, ala Guild Wars, but not to the extent where its a deal breaker. Awesome game, Ive been glued to it since release. A 10 from me. Expand
  57. BrettB.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    So far it is the best MMO Ii have played and looks like it can only get better.
  58. AdamJ.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    The Game is great so far. The comment about the leveling being tedious and there not being enoguh direction is unfair for this game at this stage. First of all i dont find level tedious at all and found my character at level 10 before i knew it. Secondly, press 'm' and look at your Map. The problem with AoC is that people are comparing it to WoW. Everyone in game was talking The Game is great so far. The comment about the leveling being tedious and there not being enoguh direction is unfair for this game at this stage. First of all i dont find level tedious at all and found my character at level 10 before i knew it. Secondly, press 'm' and look at your Map. The problem with AoC is that people are comparing it to WoW. Everyone in game was talking about oh this class is like this. They are pretty different games. I dont see AoC being as successful of WoW (purely from an age perspective, 18+). But it is definitely refreshing to paly a game with content. World of Warcraft is a pie eating contest where your only reward is another pie. Expand
  59. SteveH
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game is a blast, pure and simple. I had high expectations for it, and that usually sets me up for disappointment, but I have nothing but positive things to say about this game after several days with it. I love the interactivity of the combat and the fatalities are great fun. The graphics are gorgeous - I'm taking screenshots all over the place. The character creation options This game is a blast, pure and simple. I had high expectations for it, and that usually sets me up for disappointment, but I have nothing but positive things to say about this game after several days with it. I love the interactivity of the combat and the fatalities are great fun. The graphics are gorgeous - I'm taking screenshots all over the place. The character creation options are vast and I couldn't be happier with my avatar. For the first time in an MMO, I'm actually thinking about his backstory, his character, goals, etc. Good times. Very pleased with the launch so far and looking forward to growing with this amazing game. It's all I'll be playing for the foreseeable future. Expand
  60. KBBKBB
    May 23, 2008
    10
    I have not really gotten into a game like this since UO and DAOC, Ive read Howard's Conan some but was never a big fan, I did not follow the game much during it's development. Ive been in WAR beta for a while now and was focused pretty much on WAR only. But once I tried AOC I forgot all about WAR. I find myself playing as much as I used to play UO. AOC has it's problems but I have not really gotten into a game like this since UO and DAOC, Ive read Howard's Conan some but was never a big fan, I did not follow the game much during it's development. Ive been in WAR beta for a while now and was focused pretty much on WAR only. But once I tried AOC I forgot all about WAR. I find myself playing as much as I used to play UO. AOC has it's problems but overall it's been a very smooth launch. It does have pretty steep system reqs. so you have to consider that if you want to play. But it is definitely worth upgrading your PC if you want to get into this game. The game play is awesome. Expand
  61. MattK.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    One of the best features of this game is that, unlike with WoW where you have to search a cheat site on the Internet to figure out what the hell you're supposed to do with a quest, this game cuts to the chase and shows you exactly where to go! All you have to do is look at the mini-map - and you don't need any map mods either. The captivating storyline and real-time combat make One of the best features of this game is that, unlike with WoW where you have to search a cheat site on the Internet to figure out what the hell you're supposed to do with a quest, this game cuts to the chase and shows you exactly where to go! All you have to do is look at the mini-map - and you don't need any map mods either. The captivating storyline and real-time combat make this game completely unique to the MMORPG genre and very fun to play. Expand
  62. MickN.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is utterly beautiful! The graphics is the best of any RPG so far that I know of, the gameplay is superb and the bugs and troubles of the betatest are largely done away with. The world is deep, immersive and grapples you in the very beginning. It's fantastic, suffice to say, for some small and relatively inexperienced gaming company from someplace as obscure as Scandinavia This game is utterly beautiful! The graphics is the best of any RPG so far that I know of, the gameplay is superb and the bugs and troubles of the betatest are largely done away with. The world is deep, immersive and grapples you in the very beginning. It's fantastic, suffice to say, for some small and relatively inexperienced gaming company from someplace as obscure as Scandinavia to release a game as good as this. I'm simply blown away. Expand
  63. BunnyG.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Best MMO. end of the fucking sentence. Great graphics. huge leap in gameplay. not another WoW rip off. play it. now.
  64. PatrickR.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to the guy that gave this game a 4. It has so many new elements to an MMO that you just have to try to see if you will like it. Combat is different, spells are different, pvp is different. Some completely solo content available to get you started instead of just throwing you to the wolves. Compelling story and excellent graphics. Although I will say it is steep for Don't listen to the guy that gave this game a 4. It has so many new elements to an MMO that you just have to try to see if you will like it. Combat is different, spells are different, pvp is different. Some completely solo content available to get you started instead of just throwing you to the wolves. Compelling story and excellent graphics. Although I will say it is steep for requirements, as has been said, but to play top end games, you need a top end computer. Judging from development, this game is probably going to be specialized for a certain audience(hence the MATURE rating, no teens and hand holding here), try it and see if you are part of that. I know I am! Expand
  65. MortenL.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Very fun. I've always liked mmos, but this takes it to a new level.
  66. JBerry
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Great fun. Much more action packed than WoW, and a lot more promise than WoW. It's got the PvP sieges and what-not. This will be THE mmo to play.
  67. JamesG.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. Best graphics that this genre has seen (even tops many top quality FPS graphics). The sound is remarkable. The music itself is a massive feat. This game definitely redefines the MMO genre. No longer is combat "click on this guy and spam 1,2,1,2." You actually have to side step, attack the body, etc. WoW has some serious competition.
  68. BenA.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Simply put an amazing experience, people will be playing in years to come. 400k subs to start is very encouraging.
  69. TankA.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    This game is way much better compared to wow. Bye bye blizzard
  70. ThomasF.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Great to see an mmorpg that places a firm emphasis on the plot and character progression without mindless grind. The combat system is involving, though may take some players time to get used to it. Easily amongst the better if not the best mmorpg out there. Only downsides at the moment are graphics and server based issues, but hopefully they'll be patched out pronto!
  71. CarstenS.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    This is a very fun game. The quests are intriguing, and the combat is a bar raiser. The setting is true to the Conan universe. Sound is fantastic and graphics stunning.
  72. JasonL
    May 27, 2008
    10
    WOW beater!! played wow for 18 months, Conan kicks A**!! what a great game-long overdue but well worth the wait.awsome!!!
  73. Ole-JosteinJohansen
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game. so far I have played alot and it seems it just gets more and more interesting.
  74. RonmelPolarbears
    May 27, 2008
    10
    This game will grow as hell. It rocks big time.
  75. GJ
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Great game. Those who played WoW will feel right at home but with allot more tools at their fingertips.
  76. JamesW
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Brilliant Game, not very clear when and where you need to go but still a gripping experience.
  77. ConnorF
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Not trying to make comparisons, but I feel the need to compare this game to WoW - I've played the game for 3 years and I uninstalled after playing the first 20 levels of age of conan. I found myself having much more fun in game than I ever did in WoW. The combat destroys any other MMO hands down - it is in depth and never gets boring. The graphics are truly amazing. Every feature of Not trying to make comparisons, but I feel the need to compare this game to WoW - I've played the game for 3 years and I uninstalled after playing the first 20 levels of age of conan. I found myself having much more fun in game than I ever did in WoW. The combat destroys any other MMO hands down - it is in depth and never gets boring. The graphics are truly amazing. Every feature of this game stands out and sets the bar for MMO's. Expand
  78. JackA.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Excellent game: Beatiful, exciting and engrossing. Still some bugs, but nothing that takes away the joy of the game.
  79. kylehall
    May 7, 2008
    10
    WOW!!!

    I played the closed beta for two weeks and i was REALLY impressed... even better than i expected.

    I thought the beta would suck ass... but i was amazed that most everything worked and i really loved the gameplay, though not everything felt fully smooth because it was a beta.. i expect great things from this game at release!
  80. AnonymousMC
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    A fantastic mature MMO, with a new and exciting style and combat. Funcom has taken world of warcraft and mortal combat, smashed them toghter with the excellent conan lore and created a masterpiece.
    From the amazing visual effects to the amazing guild system, age of conan is now the daddy of mmos...its only a matter of time before age of conan takes the number 1 spot.
  81. NoahS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent update to the MMO genre with lot's of cool locations, visceral combat and some of the best immersion I've seen in ANY RPG in a long time. It's also quite friendly for those of us with a more casual playstyle, and is very easily consumed in small pieces when time allows. A huge recommendation from an 'older' gamer.
  82. GaryP.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    I broke the wow addiction to move to Conan and I haven't regretted it. It's fantastic and I love that I'm able to play in short bursts and still accomplish things.
  83. PierreC.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time since I've been this riveted by a new MMO, but Funcom's latest foray into the genre is a breath of fresh air. I find myself laughing and amazed, and I genuinely get excited in combat. The game really shines no modern PC hardware, and should be added to the collection of any true PC gaming aficionado.
  84. nts
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    Genius game, better release than AO and WoW in the start. Everyone is complaining about bugs, but WoW and all MMO games has ALOT of these in the start. In fact, many people is calling this the most bug-free release of any MMO, so my score is 10 because of the killer graphics and insanely good combo/battle system. Great game, in a year it will be bug free for the "normal" player. And they Genius game, better release than AO and WoW in the start. Everyone is complaining about bugs, but WoW and all MMO games has ALOT of these in the start. In fact, many people is calling this the most bug-free release of any MMO, so my score is 10 because of the killer graphics and insanely good combo/battle system. Great game, in a year it will be bug free for the "normal" player. And they are already adding a lot of content, and the game can only get better from this point! Expand
  85. Draggon
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. I've been playing since launch. Unlike alot of today's newer MMO players, I realize that every MMO starts out rough. But just in the short time it's been out, the developers have made huge improvements. There are still things to work out as time goes on of course, but I don't think any game is ever trully done developing, even after many years. Absolutely amazing game. I've been playing since launch. Unlike alot of today's newer MMO players, I realize that every MMO starts out rough. But just in the short time it's been out, the developers have made huge improvements. There are still things to work out as time goes on of course, but I don't think any game is ever trully done developing, even after many years. The reason I gave this game such a high score, is because out of all the MMO's I've played, this one started out at a higher quality than any of them - with TONS of room to grow into. It's already a blast, and it has only begun. Much more to look forward to. Not to mention, we still have the Asian and XBox360 market opening up soon. Bigger things still coming! Expand
  86. rikom
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Best MMORPG ever...and i've tried all
  87. ZachB
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This game is great all the updates have fix 99.9% of all bugs the memory leaks are no more. great new content, new zones, new instances just great and the new update that buffs up states is just wonderfully implemented and works great and gives you a reason to get new gear and weapons. Theres amazing graphics amazing gameplay that has never been seen in a MMO before. Really fun PvP geat This game is great all the updates have fix 99.9% of all bugs the memory leaks are no more. great new content, new zones, new instances just great and the new update that buffs up states is just wonderfully implemented and works great and gives you a reason to get new gear and weapons. Theres amazing graphics amazing gameplay that has never been seen in a MMO before. Really fun PvP geat minis for PvP and the lvl system for PvP the gear you get is really sweet this game as came a long way since it was first release and if you haven't played get it and try it out there is a Free trial up and there website right now and if you have stopped playing because of the buggy release try it again trust me you wont be let down this games great. Expand
  88. VictorM.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  89. PaulS.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Very Very awesome game.
  90. AlvernW.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. Highly optimized engine and servers - very good performance. Deep combat system.
  91. JustinW.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    An amazing breath of fresh air in a genre dominated by dull "seen it before" game play elements. With the removal of auto-attack, this MMORPG has a completely unique feel to it, and this is coming from someone who is a veteran of EverQuest, EverQuest II, World of Warcraft, and more recently a newbie of LOTRO & Tabula Rasa. The superb graphics and adult themes are icing on the cake, and I An amazing breath of fresh air in a genre dominated by dull "seen it before" game play elements. With the removal of auto-attack, this MMORPG has a completely unique feel to it, and this is coming from someone who is a veteran of EverQuest, EverQuest II, World of Warcraft, and more recently a newbie of LOTRO & Tabula Rasa. The superb graphics and adult themes are icing on the cake, and I think Funcom has found themselves a cash cow. Expand
  92. JohnA.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Makes me actually wanna kill stuff instead of just grinding awesome game really captivating.
  93. MichaelT.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO ever made, unique playstyle, realistic graphics, great art, great sound, and awesome pvp/pve. This is the best all round MMO ever made.
  94. AaronR.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best MMO to grace us since WoW. Great Graphics, great plot, great fighting, GREAT, GREAT, and more GREAT! Oh...make sure your computer meets the recommended specs to fully enjoy it.
  95. JerryR.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    This game is superb. Definitely better than World of Warcraft. To the person that says it has a lot of guesswork, how about you use your eyes rather than being spoon fed.
  96. RickD.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    after playing war craft 2448 hours - thats right folks 2448 real hours :() This new Age Of Conan Kicks MAJOR A$$ - Dont Bi%ch about system requirements if your system cant run it UPGRADE REAL MMO'S PLAYERS UPGRADE ASAP !!!! LOL - BLIZZARD'S CANDY A$$ GRAPHICS is O V E R Get to your nearist store NOW and buy this game - Rick
  97. AndersE.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    A very good MMO, graphics are the best in MMO uptil now. If you ar a fan to Conan and Howard's writings this is a must. A solid 10 from me.
  98. JeffG
    May 22, 2008
    10
    By far the best combat system out of any mmorpg. Graphics are amazing, run smooth. By far the best mmo launch ever. No crashes. No login problems. No patch problems. The person who wrote about not knowing where to go for quests has to be one of the biggest morons ever. The quest system is great and each step is detailed on your screen. The map has a big X where to go next.. If you ask me, By far the best combat system out of any mmorpg. Graphics are amazing, run smooth. By far the best mmo launch ever. No crashes. No login problems. No patch problems. The person who wrote about not knowing where to go for quests has to be one of the biggest morons ever. The quest system is great and each step is detailed on your screen. The map has a big X where to go next.. If you ask me, its TO easy in that aspect. Expand
  99. RexJ.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, wow players who don't get it didn't play it long enough.
  100. MagnusA.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I thought it was a pvp-focused game but I was pleasantly surpriced how good and addictive the PvE part was! As been said by others, grinding doesn´t feel like grinding in this game. The only thing that irritates me somewhat is that is not a seamless world so there will be loading screens poping up every now and then. It would have still easily beaten any fantasy mmorpg out I thought it was a pvp-focused game but I was pleasantly surpriced how good and addictive the PvE part was! As been said by others, grinding doesn´t feel like grinding in this game. The only thing that irritates me somewhat is that is not a seamless world so there will be loading screens poping up every now and then. It would have still easily beaten any fantasy mmorpg out there with worse graphic and no zonings. But I can´t see Wrath of the Lich King can pose a threat to AoC even with zonings, it is just so good. And I had expected much more bugs from a game this new. But they are far between. Looking forward to build a city with my friends! Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. This game marks the next generation of MMOs in many ways. It looks good, is very entertaining and plays very well. This is a journey well worth taking.
  2. It won't put WoW out of business, but then again, nothing will for a long time, and that doesn't mean this isn't a great game with tons of appeal and a hopefully more mature audience
  3. 80
    Age of Conan going forward should become a delightfully savage second home for plenty of howling on-line barbarians.