User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 815 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Even though the game had a rough start the company really has turned it around. They seem to have listened to their playerbase more, dropped the subscription fee and the payment transaction system is pretty fair considering how these games can get.

    So glad to see the company is stable and sticking it out for those in this market that enjoy the great art and lore. Some of the better
    Even though the game had a rough start the company really has turned it around. They seem to have listened to their playerbase more, dropped the subscription fee and the payment transaction system is pretty fair considering how these games can get.

    So glad to see the company is stable and sticking it out for those in this market that enjoy the great art and lore. Some of the better writing ive found in a MMO
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2013
    5
    The Single player and co-op aspects of the game are good. The PVP is broke, or at least it was when I played a few years ago. They may have improved it recently. I was a melee class, I think conqueror and my opponent was some archer. I was higher level. I ran at my opponent and I was hit by a stun arrow, I stayed stunned for nearly two minutes unable to do anything while the archer slowlyThe Single player and co-op aspects of the game are good. The PVP is broke, or at least it was when I played a few years ago. They may have improved it recently. I was a melee class, I think conqueror and my opponent was some archer. I was higher level. I ran at my opponent and I was hit by a stun arrow, I stayed stunned for nearly two minutes unable to do anything while the archer slowly killed me. Um...? Stupid. Expand
  3. Jaz
    Feb 23, 2013
    6
    This game had the best starting area and great graphics at its time (2008). Also a nice combat. But that's it. Lots of bugs and not much of an endgame brought it low. Many things were fixed but there are better games out there now.
    PS This game has far too many 10s from accounts who voted only AOC and its successor. Too suspicious.
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great MMO, really good. Don´t know about launch problems some years ago, anyway version 4.0 rocks and I got all expansions and adventure packs. Everyone should check it out and make sure to get the expansion because Kithai is massive and beautiful
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    This is the best MMO out there period, best graphics, best stories and it's such a massive open world you can get lost with a sense of who cares im doing fine, there's no arguing pansy boys just shut up and play.
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    The best MMORPG out there.. And its free.

    The graphics in this 4 year old game is the best of all MMORPG. Eventhough The secret world have the same engine, AoC still looks better. The biggest argument for playing this game is the combat system. Its fun, and challenging, and its not push-a-button-and-run kind of game. The Second argument is the story. The 4 main classes, Mage, Rogue,
    The best MMORPG out there.. And its free.

    The graphics in this 4 year old game is the best of all MMORPG. Eventhough The secret world have the same engine, AoC still looks better. The biggest argument for playing this game is the combat system. Its fun, and challenging, and its not push-a-button-and-run kind of game.

    The Second argument is the story. The 4 main classes, Mage, Rogue, Healer, and Tank, has their own story. Also the setting is appealing. The Hyborian Age is like a dark, decadent, twisted and corrupt version of Euro-Asian history. Mix a bit of the Roman Empire, Mongolian culture and Babylonian mysticism with '30s-era myths of undiscovered Africa.
    Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    this game is so refreshing and immersive
    if you are in hard-core pvp, or a simply magnificent game, this is for you, if you like boring games go somewhere else.
    everything is nearly perfectly balanced, that it be the jumping height of a character or the use of each character in a succesful pvp team
  8. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    -very compelling game, especially the pvp servers,
    -the game stays very true to robert e howard's universe
    -award wining music track, and the best graphics any mmo has too offer(you must go in settings to put em on max) -very smart combat system where tactics and practise are ever so important blablabla, whatever game u have played before, if you take the time to understand this game,
    -very compelling game, especially the pvp servers,
    -the game stays very true to robert e howard's universe
    -award wining music track, and the best graphics any mmo has too offer(you must go in settings to put em on max)
    -very smart combat system where tactics and practise are ever so important
    blablabla, whatever game u have played before, if you take the time to understand this game, you will fall in love withh it

    if u want good old easy stuff u can still enjoy the pve servers, and get coaching from fellow guild mates on how to experience the toughest raids any mmo has too offer
    Expand
  9. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    this game is known for having the best raids, the best melee combat system, the best graphics, and best sound of any mmo.
    the lore of robert e howard, creator of heroic fantasy is also very strong.
    the only glitch towards perfection has been Funcom which has been very unresponsive for long
    fortunately i think this is turning around
  10. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    realy stupid mele combat in this game and its the important part of any game could have been ok game but after the 30 days i got enough, and no wonder it is now free to play
  11. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    Decent MMO. I leveled a character up to the maximum level and played around with a raiding guild for a while, but ultimately I stopped playing because it was just too similar to World of Warcraft which had a lot more content at the time. It was still well made, and by now it probably has a lot more content. I'd recommend it for anyone who's interested in trying out an MMO.
  12. May 18, 2011
    10
    Simply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! If you like it rough, bloody, real, sexy and combo system that puts ypu into the fight like no other MMO. THis is the MMO which takes a bit of skill to play. Some of the reviews here are old as hell and do not reflect the game as it istands today. The game has been massively over hauled. Population ios going up and up due to the recent massiveSimply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! If you like it rough, bloody, real, sexy and combo system that puts ypu into the fight like no other MMO. THis is the MMO which takes a bit of skill to play. Some of the reviews here are old as hell and do not reflect the game as it istands today. The game has been massively over hauled. Population ios going up and up due to the recent massive changes to make the combat more skill based by making CC combos also. This making the combat more fluid and let crowd control going on. I cannot think of any other MMO that makes you feel combat like AoC and on top of that. The graphic are hands down the best in the genre. No other MMO comes close though its recommended to have at least 3-4gb of ram. I don't want to spend all day wrioting reviews but it makes me sick to see all the negative reviews here from people from years ago who have helped to keep this ORIGINAL MMO down. Nothing offers what AoC offers. In a sea of boring MMO's this MMO has the most imortant element in spades, and that is Gameplay. My Official Score is 9 but I am giving it a 10 on the board! If you are sitting on the fence go and buy RISE OF THE GODSLAYER and enjoy this game. No one should miss playing through to level 80 on at least one class of the 12 AoC offers. They are all uniue and far superiour to the hollow versions to get in cheap games like WoW and Rift. Whats on offer? Necro Mancers with 8 pets! .. Demonologists with demon slaves... Assassins with duel daggers, Rangers, Barbarians, Bear Shaman (Twi hander hammer Priest), Tempest of Set, Priest of Mitra, Heral of Xotli, Dark Templars, Guardians and Conqeurors. When you reach the level cap in AoC you will find plenty to do also, and that also goes for solo content. There are T1 T2 T3 T4 dungeons but you can also do hard Mode Khitain dungeons for Epic loot (Best Epic Loot in the game) or you can solo grond for a faction Set. There are 5 PvP arenas, and servers offer full world PvP or PvE servers. I think I have covered most things. Simply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! Expand
  13. Oct 14, 2010
    0
    This game sucks. Lame combat, crappy auction system, crappy story, crappy interface, crappy quests, crappy dungeons. It's just pure garbage and should be avoided at all costs.
  14. ReneD
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    It was clearly a fail, when it came out totally unfinished. But a lot has changed, and at the moment this game is really worth, playing it. Best Graphics in the genre, different game play (fights) and a community, which, at least on PVE-Servers, will help any newcomers. Whoever´s still writing nonsense about bugs, crashes, no stories, etc. can certainly not have played this game for It was clearly a fail, when it came out totally unfinished. But a lot has changed, and at the moment this game is really worth, playing it. Best Graphics in the genre, different game play (fights) and a community, which, at least on PVE-Servers, will help any newcomers. Whoever´s still writing nonsense about bugs, crashes, no stories, etc. can certainly not have played this game for at least 7 months. There´s a bit to critisise because of the recent merge of PVP-/RP-Servers since there aren't many PVP-players anymore. But that´s not the problem of Funcom, thats a problem which has it´s origin in some stupid gankers. So if you´re PVP all the way, make it a 7, the PVE-Fans and even RP-Fans should definitely give it a (second) chance. And hey, I´m NOT from Funcom, and I´m certainly no "Fanboy" but I can see a good game, when I play it. And Age of Conan, at it´s actual state, is definitely one. Collapse
  15. StevenH
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    An MMORPG set in a world supposed to be filled with "civilized men" in contrast to barbaric Conan, where you don't play as Conan, can only play as three (out of like 15, omitting such important races as picts, aesirmen and vanirmen, kothians, hyrkanians, and more) of the races at the beginning, with art student low-res gloss map graphics, programmed and written by the troglodytes at An MMORPG set in a world supposed to be filled with "civilized men" in contrast to barbaric Conan, where you don't play as Conan, can only play as three (out of like 15, omitting such important races as picts, aesirmen and vanirmen, kothians, hyrkanians, and more) of the races at the beginning, with art student low-res gloss map graphics, programmed and written by the troglodytes at Funcom (Anarchy Online still hardly runs on modern computers), and designed to basically mirror World of Warcraft (another terrible game). Did anyone really expect this to be good? Hopefully the Conan franchise can survive the onslaught of awful adaptations such as this, the Xbox game, and the newer Dark Horse comic series. Expand
  16. PlanetSide
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    heh all the positive reviews and comments about this game comes from the gamedeveloper staff at Funcom, or blind and dillusional kids who does not know better. Trust me, this game is SHIT
  17. hypo
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Well, I've tried it an guess what? It rocks!
  18. NicklasS
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game after all the patches and additional content this game is worth a try! Great graphics and combat! Awesome sound and music also!
  19. Halon
    Dec 8, 2009
    0
    Absolutely....the most highly honored amount of fail ever introduced to the internet. What the hell are you guys thinking posting positive things about this game? I didn't see one positive thing to even post and I thought long and hard about it. It's BAD...so bad it saddens me to think about it. The amount of suck is such that a giant black hole will open and swallow the earth. Absolutely....the most highly honored amount of fail ever introduced to the internet. What the hell are you guys thinking posting positive things about this game? I didn't see one positive thing to even post and I thought long and hard about it. It's BAD...so bad it saddens me to think about it. The amount of suck is such that a giant black hole will open and swallow the earth. The fail that is involved is such that 8th grade stoners look at the game and go....MASTER! I'm amazed it's even still being talked about or advertised. I've never seen anything quite like the horrid display of insult that this "game" gives the genre of mmo's and somehow still manages to stay alive. What were you assholes that still play this playing before now? Super Mario Brothers? This game is TERRIBLE....and I say that with no qualms....it is absolutely....TERRIBLE....don't believe me? Try it, new players. I only ask that you think about this short, simple, completely biased review about a game that never should have been, when you post about how much of an absolute epic fail the game is. I could have made a better game in visual basic. For those of you that like this game, I am sorry....truly....I am. Expand
  20. CorraghC
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    After reading through previous reviews I get the feeling that most of the poor reviews are from lazy kids or from peeps that didn't really ever play into the game far or long enough...it has evolved quite a bit since release. Have played all of the top titles starting with EQ over the last 10 years and there is really nothing better on the market these days for MMORPG vets.....kids After reading through previous reviews I get the feeling that most of the poor reviews are from lazy kids or from peeps that didn't really ever play into the game far or long enough...it has evolved quite a bit since release. Have played all of the top titles starting with EQ over the last 10 years and there is really nothing better on the market these days for MMORPG vets.....kids and juvi's will still like WoW and we don't mind ;) The expansion will likely give it another boost if they live up to the promo material. Expand
  21. rikom
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Best MMORPG ever...and i've tried all
  22. MattiM
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    PROS: -Beautiful world, weather effects, awesome graphics (even with dx9) -Hyboria, Conan lore is different from other fantasy rpgs -Sounds, music. You can hear the wind, leaves and other things in the wilds -PVP, its intense and requires skill to master -PVE content is interesting, for the first time in an MMO I enjoy doing quests -Community, on my server (Fury EU) you know all the PROS: -Beautiful world, weather effects, awesome graphics (even with dx9) -Hyboria, Conan lore is different from other fantasy rpgs -Sounds, music. You can hear the wind, leaves and other things in the wilds -PVP, its intense and requires skill to master -PVE content is interesting, for the first time in an MMO I enjoy doing quests -Community, on my server (Fury EU) you know all the guilds and how they act, make war with them. -Support, GM:s are always there, funcom staff answer question in the official forums CONS: -Minor bugs still present, some patches have made my game to crash (they're fixed now of course) -Invisible walls, they are going to make the world more open in the upcoming expansion thou. AND: Population has been increasing atleast in the EU, patches and fixes and new content are really great and everyone who even partially liked AOC in launch should give it a go. Trials are there with great offers for new and old customers. Expand
  23. Alex
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    An incredible amount of new ideas and implementations to appreciate. I could never go back to playing any other game after playing Age of Conan, despite some of it's shortcomings like buggy sieges. Classes are unique and interesting, combat system is visceral and challenging without being frustrating. Melee combat provides one of those rare gems that's easy to learn but hard to An incredible amount of new ideas and implementations to appreciate. I could never go back to playing any other game after playing Age of Conan, despite some of it's shortcomings like buggy sieges. Classes are unique and interesting, combat system is visceral and challenging without being frustrating. Melee combat provides one of those rare gems that's easy to learn but hard to master. Cannot recommend enough. Expand
  24. ThadM
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    I played WoW for 4 years cleared all content except original naxx and most of the bosses in ulduar. This game isnt a WoW its community is much smaller and all in all when you weigh every aspect of it you will find its not as good as WoW. What this game is actually is the second best mmorpg out there. I could ramble on about the awsome combat or huge zones or beautiful graphics but I wont I played WoW for 4 years cleared all content except original naxx and most of the bosses in ulduar. This game isnt a WoW its community is much smaller and all in all when you weigh every aspect of it you will find its not as good as WoW. What this game is actually is the second best mmorpg out there. I could ramble on about the awsome combat or huge zones or beautiful graphics but I wont I'll simply say if you are sick and tired of WoW and want to try something else look no further Expand
  25. scotth
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing now after the patches. You will enjoy it much more with the newest PC hardware out there though. This game is a combination of a WoW+Warhammer+street fighter+ counter strike with the graphics of mass effect!
  26. JulianB
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Best MMO Game! The game getting better and better every month ;D
  27. PaoloDavideL
    Jul 28, 2009
    9
    Didn't start out this way, but its certainly a rock-solid MMORPG, thanks to Funcom's continued work on patches/etc. Minor issues aside, the game is enjoyable, thoroughly engaging and highly recommended for anyone who has read any Conan. yes, read - forget the movies. This is Hyboria as Robert E. Howard envisioned it.
  28. ZachB
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This game is great all the updates have fix 99.9% of all bugs the memory leaks are no more. great new content, new zones, new instances just great and the new update that buffs up states is just wonderfully implemented and works great and gives you a reason to get new gear and weapons. Theres amazing graphics amazing gameplay that has never been seen in a MMO before. Really fun PvP geat This game is great all the updates have fix 99.9% of all bugs the memory leaks are no more. great new content, new zones, new instances just great and the new update that buffs up states is just wonderfully implemented and works great and gives you a reason to get new gear and weapons. Theres amazing graphics amazing gameplay that has never been seen in a MMO before. Really fun PvP geat minis for PvP and the lvl system for PvP the gear you get is really sweet this game as came a long way since it was first release and if you haven't played get it and try it out there is a Free trial up and there website right now and if you have stopped playing because of the buggy release try it again trust me you wont be let down this games great. Expand
  29. lukesesler
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    Not sure why people bash the game. Ive played em all so far this is the one for me. I guess most of these reveiws are old because they have done alot of fixing. Balances are constantly being added along with content. Graphics are nice if you have a good card. Leveling is a bit easy but other than that ill be sticking with this for a long time.
  30. FredBob
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    Sorry for the length, but I feel like doing a full review on this game because i feel that AoC deserves far more recognition than it already has because of the massive amount of bugs upon release, 99% of which are now fixed and the game is far superior to any other MMO i have played so far (Incl WoW)

    This game, after playing WoW for 2 years (and 2 years on private servers prior to
    Sorry for the length, but I feel like doing a full review on this game because i feel that AoC deserves far more recognition than it already has because of the massive amount of bugs upon release, 99% of which are now fixed and the game is far superior to any other MMO i have played so far (Incl WoW)

    This game, after playing WoW for 2 years (and 2 years on private servers prior to that), offers a far better experience than WoW. There is far more blood and gore and the fatalities are just an incredible aspect of the game, even when someone lands a fatality on me i sit there and go WHOA and both my arms get lopped off, followed by my head, while my friends have a good laugh at my scenic and brutal death ^^

    The game is hugely PvP oriented (if you dont like ganking, go on a PvE server, it can get very annoying for some people), however i am in love with the whole PvP idea and huge battles can spring up in the space of a few minutes, 20-a-side wars that are only too fun :) The classes are rather balanced, however Rangers and Necromancers especially can deal massive damage at a long range, making them very OP in ganking situations :( The PvP takes A LOT of skill (coming from someone with a WoW rogue with 27k HKs of experience) and is certainly not for anyone not up to learning game mechanics and persisting through a lot of failed pvp battles, hence the fact that 90% of AoC players are very mature and adult, offering a far friendlier and happier community than WoW's large community of helpless 12 year olds because you just simply have to be mature to play it, else fail :D (I'm not saying that there arent some great people in WoW and plenty of skill required, but after playing AoC, you'll see what i mean ;) )

    The graphics are uncomparable to any other MMO, especially now that DX10 is released, my 8800 handles everything cranked to the MAX and the graphics are just stunning, the water is interactable with people and objects, and so does the grass, plus ambient occlusion/godrays/water caustics just make this game very very satisfying to look at, on par with crysis in certain locations.

    Raids are very easy and bosses are tank and spank for a lot of the time, which kinda annoyed me a bit :/ however gear is no where near as important as in say, WoW, because PvE/P is based largely on skill. Raids, however, are quite atmospheric and awesome simply because of the enhanced graphics and lighting as well as certain very cool ideas by the devs... i did a solo instance once where the floor had traps and spikes came out of the ground etc when u ran over them, was very fun :) However, i will say that raiding is better in WoW because there are far more tactics and cool effects used.

    Cities and landscapes are perfectly formed in AoC, looks like they took something out of a photograph and remade it, whereas in WoW they used rounded brushes to create topography (mountains, hills etc) which has a very unrealistic effect, as well as the same buildings being cloned into every settlement >.<, and the lighting, well sucks. In AoC, the sun moves across the sky in dynamic day/night cycles and if you watch long enough, your shadow, the trees' shadows, buildings' shadows etc move across the ground with the sun, which, IMO, looks awesome and Hide (Stealth) takes advantage of these shadows in real-time, which can be used to a rogue's advantage (there are 3 rogue sub-classes), for example they are far more effective at night because Hide takes into account light levels (including the advanced shadows), awesome! :D

    Leveling is very immersive compared to other games, quests have audio talking connected to them and you can select what to say to the characters, rather that one-click quest accepting where nobody reads the quests at all like in WoW, and the only objective is "kill x of y" or "collect x of y" or "talk to y". In AoC (especially in the first 20 levels) each class has its own destiny quests where you find out your identity etc, which is continued throughout the next 30 or so levels, for example the barbarian (rogue subclass) one has a very 'Splinter-cell' type effect involving missions to eavesdrop and assassinate at night, with a far more immersive effect than "talk to marshall mcbride... kill 10 kobold vermin" (WoW human start quests) as a start quest, followed by more of the same.
    The overall leveling in the game is just more fun and you have to actually think about the combat as you attack in 3 different directions (5 at level 40) which are chained together into combos, much the same in spellcasting/ranged classes, because the opponent has 3 shields that he can assign to any of 3 different directions (default is one per side, you can change to any number on any side upto 3 total) to reduce or block incoming damage from that direction, requiring a lot of knowledge of combos from different classes, AI and players alike.

    The game has certain flaws, such as the fact that you cant fight back if someone ganks you while interacting with an NPC until you hit Esc and by then you're probably fighting a losing battle, and the fatalities sometimes bug if you are moving while they execute, and that the ganking is enough to make ANYONE rage at some points/areas *cough* Noble district *cough*, but all of the original graphics bugs (playing on low with 20 fps for example on release) have been fixed entirely, i have already said that i play with everything ticked and all sliders maxed very happily and playably on an 8800, and athlon x2 6000+, nowadays a standard gaming rig, fps anywhere from 15 in the laggiest loading areas to 50+. Classes have been well balanced for the most part, and more balances to come, but most deaths are simply lack of skill and experience.

    DO NOT buy this game if:
    You hate getting ganked
    You have no skill/do not wish to spent a lot of time getting it (because you will)
    You only ever raid
    You are 12.

    DO buy this game if you:
    Love PvP (world pvp and capture the skull = win)
    Love ganking (even being ganked is fun, its hard to explain but the graphics + random fatalities just make me laugh every time i die :D)
    You have skill/are willing to try your best to get good
    You are mature
    You love hacking limbs off
    You have a similar/higher spec pc than mine (you will not be dissapointed)
    You have 32GB of free hard drive space :D

    Most of my guild have quit WoW for this game and, although both have their pros and cons, all of them agree that the PvP and leveling gameplay is just far superior and are much happier here, this game deserves recognition :D If you have the maturity and patience to learn the game mechanics, this game is just awesome. Buy it.
    Expand
  31. FredBob
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    By far the best MMO I've played - and I've tried all of them from the early day MUDs to the most current. Dense background to draw from, amazing story, incredible immersion, Innovative ideas around every corner. Combat is new and exciting. Adventures cater to soloist as well as groups. No reason to ever stop playing. (other than to eat).
  32. Per
    Mar 30, 2009
    4
    I started playing this game in juli.I raided all content availebole and bin part of sieges,minigames all kind of pvp and pve.All i can say is the game lack content and the fun factor goes away fast.Classbalances is very bad in pvp and overall except the usual tank and spank in pve.Game is age of casters in that sense where casterdps and theyr amount off roots/stuns/crowdcontrols hits the I started playing this game in juli.I raided all content availebole and bin part of sieges,minigames all kind of pvp and pve.All i can say is the game lack content and the fun factor goes away fast.Classbalances is very bad in pvp and overall except the usual tank and spank in pve.Game is age of casters in that sense where casterdps and theyr amount off roots/stuns/crowdcontrols hits the roof.Same comes to raidcontent where the meleedpsclasses(ranger,barb,assasin) is a complete joke compare to the casters interms of dmg/usefulness they bring to the raid.Another but similar problem goes to the tankclasses who hardly can dps at all(guardian,dark templar,conqueror) they are totally gimped in pvp compare to the casters.Not to mention how easy it is to play a caster vs the other classes.Fex the healerdps class Tempest of set who dmg like the highest dpsclass(demonologist) and still heals not to mention tempest of set is the most easiest class to play.One of the major sellingpoints in this game was pvp with battlekeeps who where promised to have massive sieges 150 vs 150.In reality its 48 vs 48 not to mention on some servers it laggs as hell when you siege.The raidcontent is very easy and the lootdrops are just to random not to mention all those drops that goes to waste.Crafting is borked and meaningless.All in all i cant advise you to try this game bc you will be bored fast(lack of content/things to do and the balances beetween classes is a joke atm. Secondly i never believe funcom will fix this game at all. cheers. Expand
  33. Joe
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    I have never seen such a huge improvement in any game ever. I picked this up the day it was available only to find my hardware could only run it on low settings at 15 FPS...But now let me tell you...without changing a single piece of hardware i can max everything out and still have it run at 50-60fps! i don't have a super rig (Geforce 8800GT / Pentium D 3.2GHZ/ 4G Ram) and it still I have never seen such a huge improvement in any game ever. I picked this up the day it was available only to find my hardware could only run it on low settings at 15 FPS...But now let me tell you...without changing a single piece of hardware i can max everything out and still have it run at 50-60fps! i don't have a super rig (Geforce 8800GT / Pentium D 3.2GHZ/ 4G Ram) and it still looks and plays amazingly well! they have added tons of content, and now DX10...Godrays...need i say more? Awesome and refreshing if you're like me and sick of the same old Orcs vs Human vs Elves garbage. Game rocks now plan and simple! pick it up its only $20! Expand
  34. GH
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Garbage. No content, annoyingly imbalanced pvp, terrible social system.
  35. Greg
    Oct 20, 2008
    7
    This game will have you loving it one day and absolutely hating it the next. It is NOT a game where you can sit down with a half hour and have a good time.... There is bloody gore and excitement to be had..at a price... and sometimes a very costly one at that. The graphics are amazing.. sometimes..and incredibly boring at others.. The views are breathtaking.. occasionally.. if it is the This game will have you loving it one day and absolutely hating it the next. It is NOT a game where you can sit down with a half hour and have a good time.... There is bloody gore and excitement to be had..at a price... and sometimes a very costly one at that. The graphics are amazing.. sometimes..and incredibly boring at others.. The views are breathtaking.. occasionally.. if it is the right time of the day.. the rest of the time you will struggle to see in the gloominess not unlike you would have to if you were living in that era. Adjust your monitor and be blinded by a blindingly white sky. See the sky in the splendor of its natural hues and struggle to make out the path in front of you. Get lucky and find out where your supposed to go... the rest of the time could be spend in endless travel. Travel 50 miles to deliver this.. then walk back. Get rewarded at lvl 40 w/ the almighty mount.. if you can scavenge 1000's of pieces of loot and sell it to vendors for pennies on the dollar. On to the good: Happen across another traveler in the vast world of Hyboria and have bashing time cutting through enemy after enemy. Combat is quite satisfying.. IF you can figure out a satisfactory control set up. Final Recommendation: Not for beginners. Good times to be had... also expect some frustrations. Expand
  36. GarethW.
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    The lack of content, the bugs and the general failure of this game just makes me wanna wonder why I wasted the money on it in the first place. Dear oh dear, shame really, it was so promising.
  37. Daniel
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Just gotta love this game! The last patches made the game awesome, was some crashes before but not anymore.
  38. AimenS.
    Oct 11, 2008
    5
    I've been playing the game since Beta, and to be quiet honest - this game has a LOT of potential BUT - It needs even more work.There is practically decent content from level 60-80. Level 1-20 is Amazingly fun and full of content and immersion, however unfortunately it all goes down hill from there. I really suggest anyone interested in this game wait for 6-7 months before trying this out.
  39. ScreechMr.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    Very fun and entertaining game there are so many quests and the bugs and crashes have just about ceased.
  40. DarinnT.
    Sep 17, 2008
    0
    The lack of content was a complete bore. After about Level 45 you struggle to find quests let alone any fun.
  41. FrankH.
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    Good graphic, good combat system. but keep in mind if you are using a 32bits system (that's include vista 32), you will have a memory leak issue with lead to crash client every few hours, because this game isn't designed for a 32bits system. If you have vista 64 or xp64, grats, work just fine.
  42. DönH
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, Some classes can literally be killed in one hit at 80 by other classes, and 50% of the people who started playing the game at launch have quit already (Server population is horrible). Expand
  43. RasterM.
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    Bugs, crashes, lacking content for the majority of the game, memory leaks, and is full of jerks due to the attraction that is blood, gore, and nudity. Don't let them fool you, they, and this game, are not mature. It is merely unfit for younger audiences.
  44. RodericR.
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    A buggy, unbalanced game that was released a year too soon. It had substantial goodwill, interest, fanbase, and hype....and squandered ALL of it within 3 months. Once 3 and 6 month subscriptions finally run out, you're looking at a game that will struggle to keep 100k subscribers. Failcom will most likely go under due to epic failure here.
  45. WestW.
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    Yet another MMORPG with a good-but-not-great combat system, tedious crafting system with poor rewards, and unbalanced PVP combat. The map is the standout feature that elevates this from a 1 - instantly knowing where to go for every quest saves a trip outside the game to look things up on a fan site.
  46. sb
    Sep 9, 2008
    4
    4 of 10, because the character creation and starter island are good. Once you leave these initial areas the game goes downhill fast until, at level 80, there's nothing to do but stand around in stealth at zone entrances and wait for people to gank.
  47. DanReynolds
    Sep 7, 2008
    1
    Although the low level experience in this game is awesome, the rest of the game is unpolished and clunky. The emphasis on PvP that was promised by Failcom was completely unrealized, and imho PvP in AoC was frustrating at best. The crafting system is, to be frank, garbage. Questing is extremely tedious. If you make it to the daily quests in Tarantia Noble District, you'll knowAlthough the low level experience in this game is awesome, the rest of the game is unpolished and clunky. The emphasis on PvP that was promised by Failcom was completely unrealized, and imho PvP in AoC was frustrating at best. The crafting system is, to be frank, garbage. Questing is extremely tedious. If you make it to the daily quests in Tarantia Noble District, you'll know exactly what I'm talking about, and it might make you want to kill yourself. Oh, and griefing is a huge problem as well. Just don't play it. Expand
  48. JayL
    Sep 7, 2008
    6
    If your looking to expand your character by combining different builds and talents - this game isn't for you. The talent trees and class balances are absolutely terrible. The skills are a real blast to use and the combos are fun but its seriously watered down by the fact you have a class specific tree then a general tree. I wouldn't really waste your time with this one.
  49. markbennett
    Sep 6, 2008
    3
    I played from launch, and the game ran smoother then, than it did when i stopped playing, but if anyone is sariosly interested in the game, get it grind to lvl 80, and wait for funcom to fix the entire game , that is when every one will be back, lets just hope they can do that before the tank. GL Funcom.
  50. RasterM.
    Sep 5, 2008
    2
    Bugs, crashes, lacking content for the majority of the game, memory leaks, and is full of jerks due to the attraction that is blood, gore, and nudity. Don't let them fool you, they, and this game, are not mature. It is merely unfit for younger audiences.
  51. MStewart
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    Some bugs for some people, not so for me. Excellent graphics and novel classes make this game the best MMO on the market at the moment.
  52. Atalanta
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly one of the best games and most promising games I've played in awhile. If you like PvP/PvE content this game is for you.
  53. DönH
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, Some classes can literally be killed in one hit at 80 by other classes, and 50% of the people who started playing the game at launch have quit already (Server population is horrible). Expand
  54. EmilM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    Good Graphics and cool fatalities... Until your system Locks up! This game is fataly flawed and does not run for more then 10min to 2 hours before freezing your computer... And I own a Top Notch system. Buyer Beware.
  55. TerryW
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    been playing since beta and to me its a very good game.i agree with Aron R ppl got to used to wow cause wow is to easy to me aoc has a good story line, grapics and its fun to play sure it has bugs and the content thens out past lvl 50 a bit but Funcom is listening and fixing the just give it a chance
  56. JakeG
    Aug 30, 2008
    3
    I have played this game to level 80 and to be honest when you get to level 55 you have to grind grind and grind. There isnt enough content for higher levels, there is only 2 pvp type mini games which pretty much suck. When you get to level 70 and manage to get to the level 70 playing area, there are always the regular gankers which camp both spawns and the exit out of the area. Not enough I have played this game to level 80 and to be honest when you get to level 55 you have to grind grind and grind. There isnt enough content for higher levels, there is only 2 pvp type mini games which pretty much suck. When you get to level 70 and manage to get to the level 70 playing area, there are always the regular gankers which camp both spawns and the exit out of the area. Not enough area in game, not enough content, way too many gankers but hey decent graphics. Expand
  57. NickyG.
    Aug 25, 2008
    0
    Graphics are nice and all that crap we've heard now ok, the game is poor and will stay poor, as FAILcom just delivered a title way, WAY, before it should be released. All the "wanna be lvl80 so i can be p00ner in first week of release, kekekek?" people will have a blast with the ridicioulus combat system, cause what the heck is up with 1 shot's, i try to attack a ranger, i get Graphics are nice and all that crap we've heard now ok, the game is poor and will stay poor, as FAILcom just delivered a title way, WAY, before it should be released. All the "wanna be lvl80 so i can be p00ner in first week of release, kekekek?" people will have a blast with the ridicioulus combat system, cause what the heck is up with 1 shot's, i try to attack a ranger, i get one shotted 3 times, a combat system that relies that much on luck is just poor and is not even considered combat in my opinion... With that said, ofcourse the graphics are nice etc etc, blabla but the bugs run out of the wild, mobs flying trough the air, sudden deaths and so on... Also being able to go back at any level on PvP realms and still being able to attack any lvl of player is stupid, ONE and only ONE resspad where EVERYBODY resses is lame, it's instant ress and that is instant death... Let's not make this too long, 2 simple words > It Blows. Expand
  58. MattC.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    LAG, and CRASHES, and BUGS, OH MY! The only things Age of Conan had going for it at launch was superior graphics. Everything else, including gameplay, stability, and class balancing was absolutely pathetic, pitiful. I quit after the first month.
  59. AronR.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    This game is recieving a lot of flame for no reason. People seem to have gotten way too used to WOW that has been running for years. An mmo that launches without bugs and balance issues is completely impossible. Funcom is working hard on the patches and they have fixed endless ammounts of problems. The game is original and it breaths new life to the MMO genre that is so vastly dominated This game is recieving a lot of flame for no reason. People seem to have gotten way too used to WOW that has been running for years. An mmo that launches without bugs and balance issues is completely impossible. Funcom is working hard on the patches and they have fixed endless ammounts of problems. The game is original and it breaths new life to the MMO genre that is so vastly dominated by WOW. The only downside of the game is funcoms paranoia of hotfixing obvious issues concerning game balance and gamebreaking bugs. Been playing AoC since start and currently have 2x lvl 80 and done with all endgame material which is quite nice compared to what other MMOs has had to offer this early in the game. Expand
  60. CathrineM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    All the things I wish my old mmo would be, AoC delivered. Development is very fast to address issues, and I see this becoming a fantastic game! Thank You FunCom!
  61. CraigB.
    Aug 12, 2008
    2
    Was fun at first but gets boring quickly after you get out tortage. past level 20. Still many horrible bugs so long after release, but don't just take my word for it, check out their general forums to get the general feeling of the players.
  62. SteveB.
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. Much of the game is still not complete, but what they have is excellent. Would suggest this game to any experienced MMO player. Combat system takes some getting used to, but once you learn it you will love it.
  63. AlvinC.
    Aug 11, 2008
    5
    Pros. Eye Candy Highly Customizable Nice Fighting Techs. Cons Way to big need good specs To many quests Alot of people capped and people are just getting the game For WoW fans its like relearning alot of stuff.
  64. RyanM.
    Aug 11, 2008
    6
    A beautiful looking game, with combat as bloody and vicious as Mr. Howard would have wanted it, beyond that? Bugs, crashes, stats that don't do anything, and a character that looked the same for 30 levels make me say Eh. I feel like I bought a car that was still being built.
  65. AoCcancelledsubscription
    Aug 10, 2008
    0
    It is unfinished; lack of high end content; too numerous to count unfulfilled promises for content and fixes; stealth nerfs unmentioned in patch notes; poor customer service and communication; remaining community are fanbois and rezpad gankers with nothing better to do; should be melee classes only, casters are severely nerfed; a one-shot gankathon; most lvl 80 PvP now resides in a single It is unfinished; lack of high end content; too numerous to count unfulfilled promises for content and fixes; stealth nerfs unmentioned in patch notes; poor customer service and communication; remaining community are fanbois and rezpad gankers with nothing better to do; should be melee classes only, casters are severely nerfed; a one-shot gankathon; most lvl 80 PvP now resides in a single city (Kesh) where griefer guilds wait to rezpad gank players; don't pay FUNKILL debug this unfinished game. Expand
  66. collapsedknee
    Aug 7, 2008
    6
    This game showed so much promise but later levels prove to be to much of a grind to stick with it. There is little to no end game (60+) PvE content. 2 months after release there is still no PvP system and no DX10 (even though pre-release this was plugged heavily). Its quite clear the game was rushed to market before it was finished. Its such a shame. The underlying mechanics (combat) were This game showed so much promise but later levels prove to be to much of a grind to stick with it. There is little to no end game (60+) PvE content. 2 months after release there is still no PvP system and no DX10 (even though pre-release this was plugged heavily). Its quite clear the game was rushed to market before it was finished. Its such a shame. The underlying mechanics (combat) were exciting and refreshing but that cant be expected to carry the whole game and it doesn't. Expand
  67. AFS
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    (I'm reviewing this game as compared to WoW, mostly. I loved WoW, and I think it was a great game. Currently in AoC, I have two level 60s, and a level 50, and some 20ish alts. You can say I'm an Altaholic) Beautiful graphics, awesome music and sounds, the combo system is much more challenging and fun than the old "click and wait". The first 1-25 levels in Tortage are my (I'm reviewing this game as compared to WoW, mostly. I loved WoW, and I think it was a great game. Currently in AoC, I have two level 60s, and a level 50, and some 20ish alts. You can say I'm an Altaholic) Beautiful graphics, awesome music and sounds, the combo system is much more challenging and fun than the old "click and wait". The first 1-25 levels in Tortage are my favorite, I don't think you'll find a game that combines the immersion of a single-player RPG with that of an MMO anytime soon. Too bad the same thing can't be said after you leave Tortage. Still, that doesn't make it any less fun. If you the exploring part in an MMO, then you'll love the sights and sounds of Stygia, Aquilionia, and Cimmeria. The first thing I noticed when questing are how the adventure zones actually have a lot of people in them, you don't feel like you're questing in a ghost town, which makes it specially fun if you rolled on a PvP server. The classes are fun too, where else would you get a two-handed sword wielding, demon transforming mage?, this is what makes the Herald of Xotli my favorite class so far. It's a hard class concept to pull off in a game like this if you ask me, and Funcom did it briliantly. Currently I'm leveling a Necromancer to get Ritual of the Lich, a spell that turns you into an undead archmage. If you're expecting a bug free MMO at the first months of it's release, then good luck on finding that game. AFAIK, all MMOs have a rough time at the beginning. You can either wait a couple of months till they iron out most of the issues, or with a little patience have a blast experiencing a new MMO. Expand
  68. WR
    Aug 5, 2008
    3
    New WOW clone now in Hyborian clothes. If you read REH (creator of Conan) books from Hyboria...you don't find that world from AOC. Really really shame. Game alone is full for bugs and poorly copies game mechanisms and classes from WOW. Nothing truly new.
  69. EarlJ
    Aug 4, 2008
    9
    Really good setting, and offers plenty of good rpg-chances. And the fighting system is faaar better than Wow's.
  70. atles
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    Great game, insane graphics but lack of content gives it only 8. Content is much better now after the summer by the way.
  71. Jerryl.
    Aug 4, 2008
    0
    Horrible. The only reason this game got above a 60 rating is because half of those critics didn't play the game past level 20. Do not waste your money.
  72. JackB.
    Aug 3, 2008
    1
    You would be better off holding on to your money. This game is not ready for prime time and the flaws, bugs, poor content and class balance issues render the game almost unplayable. I suggest you wait at least a year before giving Conan a try.
  73. ChristopherF.
    Jul 31, 2008
    2
    As bugged and incomplete as any mmo at launch except that even the content is mostly missing. good style, bad implementation and the patches have actually progressively made the game less stable.
  74. JC
    Jul 31, 2008
    0
    Awful game. Even worse support. Good graphics and some neat ideas but a pretty package around a box that was supposed to be a great gift is still just a crappy gift.
  75. CB
    Jul 31, 2008
    1
    A lot of good ideas, but fell way short. Game is crippled by FPS problems, crashes, and server disconnects. Wait before picking this one up. Game is NOT FINISHED!!!
  76. TimJ.
    Jul 31, 2008
    0
    Game in alpha/beta condition. Parts of game that are on the box are not in the game, not even the DX10 is in the game. Visit the games forum before buying, you will get a idea of the state of this pile of.
  77. DebraW.
    Jul 31, 2008
    0
    Don't waste money on this one. Most of game is broken and bugs of every kind make game frustrating. Can't recommend.
  78. ZachS.
    Jul 31, 2008
    0
    I had high hopes for AoC, but Funcom delivered a bug infested, unfinished excuse for a MMO. I won't even give my buddy keys away to anyone(funcom charging 2.99 to download client for "Free Trial").
  79. JasonD.
    Jul 31, 2008
    6
    Game looks fantastic. But gameplay, lack of content and ever emerging bugs lead to a tiresome game experience after the 1st month of play.
  80. UbieW.
    Jul 31, 2008
    2
    Great graphics and beginning levels, but the bugs and memory leaks make the game unplayable at times even on the best machines. Most promised game aspects are missing or crippled by bugs. It might be a good MMO down the road, but alot of community feel mislead and I'm not sure it will overcome that.
  81. Bill.
    Jul 31, 2008
    0
    It's absolutely the worse piece of software, game or otherwise, to come out in years.
  82. Ben
    Jul 31, 2008
    1
    Yes, the first 20 levels are fantastic...after that though, it's not really a game, but more like a tech demo. There isn't a single working system in the game, some are understandable like animation glitches, some are not, like entire zones not working or male vs. female characters do different dps. As it's been said before, no mmo launches without bugs, but this is Yes, the first 20 levels are fantastic...after that though, it's not really a game, but more like a tech demo. There isn't a single working system in the game, some are understandable like animation glitches, some are not, like entire zones not working or male vs. female characters do different dps. As it's been said before, no mmo launches without bugs, but this is ridiculous. Not only do patches introduce new issues, but they significantly reduce performance as well. When the game launched, I had max visuals and had 30+ fps and everything loaded quickly. Now I get about 20-25 fps and everything takes 2-4 times as long to load. The worst though, is that the game might be a mmorpg, but if you didn't know what you were playing, you wouldn't know it. There are group quests, but folks don't do them generally since the rewards aren't great or the quests themselves are bugged. The game really feels like they were trying to make a mmorpg themed pvp fps-type game and totally ignored the mmo portion of the game. Besides the nice visuals, thrill of constant danger and fantastic first 20 levels, there are better games out there for the taking. WoW, LoTRO, EQ2 all do it better right now, and with WAR and expansions on the horizon for all those other games (all of which are so, so much more polished and feel like they are mmorps), I don't think AoC can recover. Expand
  83. JohnF.
    Jul 30, 2008
    4
    While the graphics are good the game is a complete letdown. I along with many bought into the hype and paid $80 for the collectors addition What a complete ripoff!!! The game is drab and boring with nothing to hook you into more hours. Trust me I tried many times to get into the game and just found nothing fun about it. In fact it made me want back in WOW more than I ever imaginged. This While the graphics are good the game is a complete letdown. I along with many bought into the hype and paid $80 for the collectors addition What a complete ripoff!!! The game is drab and boring with nothing to hook you into more hours. Trust me I tried many times to get into the game and just found nothing fun about it. In fact it made me want back in WOW more than I ever imaginged. This game claimed to be the WOW killer? Haaa! There is no and I mean no comparison to the type of game warcraft is. You can say what you want but if you have played both games you can not argue AOC against WOW because there is no comparison. I only gave a four rating because of good graphics but everything else is a sore dissapointment. I even quit Wow to get into this and was left wanting so bad I tucked tail back and learned how much AOC made me apreciate a good game. The hype was a lie!! The first thing I noticed was that you have to instance into the Inn?!? What a burn. everywhere you turn is a load page and the same boring brown atmosphere. just no damn fun no matter where you turn in this game. The combat? Please just play a console if you want to experience this great combat. You could hook up a hand held controler and it would feel more like god of War than an mmor Just another rip off guild wars that has no pizazz and no style with crappy boring features that will turn you off in a week. Go ahead and pay fifty bucks and take the one week challange. All in all aside from very nice graphics which are extremely underused in making this game atractive AOC is dump for your money. I can tell you as a long time gamer you will not like this game after a short time. Please dont think I am a blizz boy because I am not. I simply bought into the hype and left very ripped off beleive me I tried to go with it there is just nothing there. If you like the game and dont agree with me more power to you I just can not see anything that would keep you interested. Thanks for reading my opinion Expand
  84. llJog
    Jul 30, 2008
    1
    Rated 7? Are these people actually playing his game? Of all the MMO's released this is by far the worst I have seen... There should be negative scores as well.
  85. AllenD.
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    game has some endgame issues and some tech issues that are being worked on the forums are a pit and should be avoided. HOWEVER the game itself is alot of fun in groups the graphics are great and with a proper setup rig looks beautiful and plays great.
  86. RenC.
    Jul 30, 2008
    1
    This game, after reaching level 80, is terrible: big lack of content and massive class unbalance and 1 shots, I wonder if Blizzard took over this game it'd be completely different.
  87. BillyW.
    Jul 30, 2008
    3
    This game has some major technical issues to overcome. The game engine is buggy, the graphics engine requires (REQUIRES, I say) the latest GPU to run smoothly, and the upper level content is lacking. This game is still undergoing beta testing and debugging: there are still screenshots of players-PLAYERS, mind you, getting debugging messages to their chat window.. Now, the plus. The first This game has some major technical issues to overcome. The game engine is buggy, the graphics engine requires (REQUIRES, I say) the latest GPU to run smoothly, and the upper level content is lacking. This game is still undergoing beta testing and debugging: there are still screenshots of players-PLAYERS, mind you, getting debugging messages to their chat window.. Now, the plus. The first 20 levels are very well done and polished. The graphics are nothing short of incredible at times (There are some spots where it is worth throwing all your graphics options on high, accepting the 2-3 fps rate just to play tourist), and the first time you get a "Fatality Move", you will be impressed. After the 50th or 60th, it loses its appeal-especially if you are fighting 4 to 5 other mobs at the same time, and are frantically hitting keys trying to keep said mobs from slaughtering you while you're twisting someones head off.. All in all, I'd wait. It has potential- in 6 months or so. Expand
  88. JohnB.
    Jul 30, 2008
    0
    Buggy technically. nerf after nerf for classes. lag spikes all the time. Reduced mature content. COULD have been a great game though.
  89. CP.
    Jul 29, 2008
    6
    Great for the beginning... just not done all the way yet. New combat system is superb, they just need to spend some time making all the cities as good at the starting city. Probably an excellent game in about six months.
  90. KarlK.
    Jul 29, 2008
    4
    The Good: Very beutiful environment, realistic characters, unique classes, unique combat, lvl 1-20 some of the best designed content in any MMO The Bad: Released too early, only 6 styles of armor, buggy patches, poor QA, not enough testing, sieging broken, tradeskills are a joke, Out of memory, grey maps, 4k-10k lag spikes are too frequent, no class balance
  91. Draggon
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. I've been playing since launch. Unlike alot of today's newer MMO players, I realize that every MMO starts out rough. But just in the short time it's been out, the developers have made huge improvements. There are still things to work out as time goes on of course, but I don't think any game is ever trully done developing, even after many years. Absolutely amazing game. I've been playing since launch. Unlike alot of today's newer MMO players, I realize that every MMO starts out rough. But just in the short time it's been out, the developers have made huge improvements. There are still things to work out as time goes on of course, but I don't think any game is ever trully done developing, even after many years. The reason I gave this game such a high score, is because out of all the MMO's I've played, this one started out at a higher quality than any of them - with TONS of room to grow into. It's already a blast, and it has only begun. Much more to look forward to. Not to mention, we still have the Asian and XBox360 market opening up soon. Bigger things still coming! Expand
  92. SteveA
    Jul 27, 2008
    3
    What were the official 'critics' smoking? They obviously played AoC for maybe 15 minutes to come up with their reviews. AoC released as an UNFINISHED game. No end game content, no DX10 support, meaningless item stats, graphical glitches, no buddy passes (CE owners can use them as of five days ago), and host of other problems. Not to mention that the so-called mature content has What were the official 'critics' smoking? They obviously played AoC for maybe 15 minutes to come up with their reviews. AoC released as an UNFINISHED game. No end game content, no DX10 support, meaningless item stats, graphical glitches, no buddy passes (CE owners can use them as of five days ago), and host of other problems. Not to mention that the so-called mature content has been getting nerfed over the last month or so. Gamers beware! Maybe have a look if you're curious but this game is about a year away from being as good as it was suppose to be at launch. Expand
  93. GeorgioU.
    Jul 26, 2008
    4
    This game is pretty broken.
  94. TommyM.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Very good game, but indeed its little unfinished, but which rpg game isnt that at the beginning.
  95. AlexM.
    Jul 22, 2008
    1
    This was a complete waste of my money, it looked so good and had so much potential... this game was horrible, you spend hours on end trying to get off this pointless island only to get to another place which has very little place to explore and the quests are repetitive and boring, i never bought a subscription after the first free month ended. Only good part was that you could cut This was a complete waste of my money, it looked so good and had so much potential... this game was horrible, you spend hours on end trying to get off this pointless island only to get to another place which has very little place to explore and the quests are repetitive and boring, i never bought a subscription after the first free month ended. Only good part was that you could cut someones head off. Expand
  96. PeterB.
    Jul 22, 2008
    1
    Very very poor game imo. Released way too early in it's development. I liked the idea of the direct combat system but in reality it's clunky and rather dull. Graphics are nice but that's just frill really when you consider that it's all about the gamplay - that's what really matters and that's a huge, huge letdown.
  97. ChristianD.
    Jul 22, 2008
    5
    Bought Collectors Edition and played early access and first month. Unfortunately the basis of the game is very flawed. The combat system ist simply put broken. They will never come close to balancing the classes due to the combo system for melee classes. On top of this there are tons of bugs. Its a shame as the funcom art team once again showed that their designs are just great. But the Bought Collectors Edition and played early access and first month. Unfortunately the basis of the game is very flawed. The combat system ist simply put broken. They will never come close to balancing the classes due to the combo system for melee classes. On top of this there are tons of bugs. Its a shame as the funcom art team once again showed that their designs are just great. But the game as is, is not worth playing once the awe about the grafics or the newness factor are gone. Expand
  98. TedE.
    Jul 21, 2008
    7
    Don't listen to the haters or the fanboys. The game is neither groundbreaking nor abysmal. I applaud the mature content, active combat, and beautiful graphics (provided you have the hardware). But points have to be taken away for pretty much everything else. Right now, the only thing to do in the game is grind out quests because almost nothing else works as it should. There are no Don't listen to the haters or the fanboys. The game is neither groundbreaking nor abysmal. I applaud the mature content, active combat, and beautiful graphics (provided you have the hardware). But points have to be taken away for pretty much everything else. Right now, the only thing to do in the game is grind out quests because almost nothing else works as it should. There are no social activities to speak of - no real reason to interact with other people unless you're sharing a quest. I started on a PvE server but switched to PvP due to the boredom. And now, I'm getting bored of that as well, as PvP essentially means "ganking" in this game. And as much as they claim to be focusing on PvP rewards and punishments, nothing exists as of yet. I would suggest buying the game and using the first 30 days free to play through the rather enjoyable Tortage Island (levels 1-20) with a few characters. Then cancel your account, because after that, the bad outweighs the good (for now). Expand
  99. JerS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    0
    You are paying to beta test a 50% complete game. Terrible customer service, really with all the things that make a MMO epic, this game is just boring after the first week. Look elsewhere this games a bust.
  100. DevonS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    2
    This game is terrible. It's not really any different than World of Warcraft or any of the other MMORPGs. It drags its feet right at the beginning, and you have to be a whopping level 15 or so before you can start exploring the world. Even when you get to that point, you get the feeling you're not actually traveling very far when you do move around. There's nothing exotic This game is terrible. It's not really any different than World of Warcraft or any of the other MMORPGs. It drags its feet right at the beginning, and you have to be a whopping level 15 or so before you can start exploring the world. Even when you get to that point, you get the feeling you're not actually traveling very far when you do move around. There's nothing exotic about this game, it just looks different and promises more, and then proceeds to deliver exactly what games that have been around longer (and already worked out all their kinks) have managed to do already. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. This game marks the next generation of MMOs in many ways. It looks good, is very entertaining and plays very well. This is a journey well worth taking.
  2. It won't put WoW out of business, but then again, nothing will for a long time, and that doesn't mean this isn't a great game with tons of appeal and a hopefully more mature audience
  3. 80
    Age of Conan going forward should become a delightfully savage second home for plenty of howling on-line barbarians.