Age of Empires II: HD Edition Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 530 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Age of Empires II: HD Edition, fans of the original game and new players alike will fall in love with the classic Age of Empires II experience. Explore all the original single player campaigns from both Age of Kings and The Conquerors expansion, choose from 18 civilizations spanning overIn Age of Empires II: HD Edition, fans of the original game and new players alike will fall in love with the classic Age of Empires II experience. Explore all the original single player campaigns from both Age of Kings and The Conquerors expansion, choose from 18 civilizations spanning over a thousand years of history, and head online to challenge other Steam players in your quest for world domination throughout the ages. Originally developed by Ensemble Studios and reimagined in high definition by Hidden Path Entertainment, Microsoft Studios is proud to bring Age of Empires II: HD Edition to Steam! Expand
  • Developer: Ensemble Studios, Hidden Path Entertainment
  • Genre(s): Strategy, Miscellaneous, Real-Time, Compilation, Historic, Command
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Age of Empires II HD Edition Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    90
    Age of Empires II recaptures its status as a classic with an HD remake filled to the brim with content. With eight campaigns, a robust multiplayer, Steam Workshop integration for modders and a map editor, strategy fans will find that Age of Empires II HD is definitely worth the price of admission.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Instead, the re-release should be considered by anyone with an itch to revisit the well-loved game or anyone looking for a new and entertaining strategy title at a reasonably low price.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    While a little frustrating if you’re not into tons of micro-management, Age of Empires II HD with the Workshop and updated multiplayer features is an excellent title. The brilliance of the game’s design is still there, you just might need to look past it’s age to see it.
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Age of Empires II: HD will scratch a nostalgic itch for some, but Hidden Path's update doesn't go far enough to bring new audiences to the series.
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    65
    A good graphic overhaul, but not much more unfortunately.
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    60
    Though it's still the competent RTS game it has always been, it can’t be avoided that the age in Age of Empires II has become apparent. The HD edition shows once again why the game is a classic, but besides a functional multiplayer lobby it just doesn’t add enough to warrant the price tag.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    40
    For youngsters it's oddly out of date, for the old stickers it's far from the original. This is how the HD edition of the legendary strategy game Age of Empires II has turned out. From one golden legacy to just broken pieces. Hopefully, its community will put it together.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 129
  2. Negative: 33 out of 129
  1. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    Excelente games, many bugs at the release time but now it is pretty stable.

    I love the "new hd" graphics, of corse there is not any
    Excelente games, many bugs at the release time but now it is pretty stable.

    I love the "new hd" graphics, of corse there is not any redesig, only best resolution textures and stuff
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2015
    10
    To me, this is the best RTS game ever. It has multiple possible strategies, is very diverse and almost any pc can run it. Some people dontTo me, this is the best RTS game ever. It has multiple possible strategies, is very diverse and almost any pc can run it. Some people dont like having to micromanage an army of like 80, but if you practice youll see this game rocks. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    To start of this review, the score I would like to give is a 9. I give a 10 to compensate for people who judge before a game is even out. ForTo start of this review, the score I would like to give is a 9. I give a 10 to compensate for people who judge before a game is even out. For the HD part: they managed to up the resolution to max and also retexture a 14 year old engine, which is pretty impressive in my opinion. Regarding the framedrops: when we got the privilege to play the game before it is officially out doesn't mean they will have every bug fixed, otherwise they could just release it for everyone at that time. As soon as they heard about this problem the devs posted on multiple multimedia sites and their own site that they are working on the problem right now. The game has been out for a few minutes now while people know that the devs are doing their best to work on the issues, so please show some patience. The real addition of this however is the online. The servers for the original AOE II were pulled long ago, and now we have new servers to play this still awesome game online with friends. Oh, and did I mention steam workshop? This means that we will see a lot more mods to keep te game alive even longer. All in all, a great idea worked out great, with some bugs at the start. It's also a nice way to show that for some games it doesn't matter how old they are, it's all about the gameplay, just like how you don't care about graphics when playing a cardgame. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2015
    8
    A very good RTS/City Building/Human Management game. You have wide selection of start-up nations/groups to pick from and are not restrictedA very good RTS/City Building/Human Management game. You have wide selection of start-up nations/groups to pick from and are not restricted doing anything you can have a huge population, city, etc. If it goes on sale again for a few dollars it's worth it. Also it has a lot of mod support which is a huge plus. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2015
    7
    There is nothing "HD" about this game. As far as I can tell, the only change that was made from the original was to make it widescreen, butThere is nothing "HD" about this game. As far as I can tell, the only change that was made from the original was to make it widescreen, but the game still uses the same graphics it had in 1999. The game title is dishonest.

    That said, if you enjoy classic RTS gaming from the 90's (games like the originals of Starcraft, Warcraft, and Command & Conquer), then you will appreciate this game. There is a lot of depth to this game, and most importantly, it uses most of the same hotkeys that have become standard in RTS gaming.

    I cannot recommend this game at full price, however. $20 for a 15 year old game, plus another $10 for the expansion? No, **** that. Wait for a Steam sale where you can pick them up as a bundle for $7.50.
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    4
    I love, love, LOVED AoE2 and have owned it almost since it's release all those years ago. I like the fact that they brought out the defib toI love, love, LOVED AoE2 and have owned it almost since it's release all those years ago. I like the fact that they brought out the defib to bring it back to life, but they really didn't do anything with it besides tack on a 20$ price tag. Everything the developers did with this release was already done with the Forgotten Empires mod, for free(Assuming you owned the original game). I can't in good faith give this game the 7+ rating I sincerely want to give it.

    What really irks me is that it's been completely stripped of LAN. AoE2 was /THE/ game to lan party it up. Anyone that played it when it was still fresh knows what I'm talking about. This reeks of sacrificing the game to hit piracy. Something pretty much everyone condemns EA and their ilk for. It's not even successful, the game is still piratable and pirates can still play with eachother.

    I really hope the developers at Hidden Path have more in store for us than what's been presented so far. Perhaps the Steam Workshop will kick the game into overdrive? It's always been an amazing game and still is an amazing game, it's just disappointing how they had so many opportunities to fix some of the problems with AoE2 but didn't capitalize on any of them, and instead just implemented the exact same changes already done in Forgotten Empires(Unit cap increase, higher resolution support, etc etc)
    Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2017
    0
    Age of Empires 2: HD edition is very similar to previous AoE2, with several bonus features. Obviously one of the features is to play in HD,Age of Empires 2: HD edition is very similar to previous AoE2, with several bonus features. Obviously one of the features is to play in HD, but only the pixels are managed, the graphics remains basically same like in the previous old AoE2. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews