Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Age of Empires II: HD Edition, fans of the original game and new players alike will fall in love with the classic Age of Empires II experience. Explore all the original single player campaigns from both Age of Kings and The Conquerors expansion, choose from 18 civilizations spanning overIn Age of Empires II: HD Edition, fans of the original game and new players alike will fall in love with the classic Age of Empires II experience. Explore all the original single player campaigns from both Age of Kings and The Conquerors expansion, choose from 18 civilizations spanning over a thousand years of history, and head online to challenge other Steam players in your quest for world domination throughout the ages. Originally developed by Ensemble Studios and reimagined in high definition by Hidden Path Entertainment, Microsoft Studios is proud to bring Age of Empires II: HD Edition to Steam! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    90
    Age of Empires II recaptures its status as a classic with an HD remake filled to the brim with content. With eight campaigns, a robust multiplayer, Steam Workshop integration for modders and a map editor, strategy fans will find that Age of Empires II HD is definitely worth the price of admission.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Instead, the re-release should be considered by anyone with an itch to revisit the well-loved game or anyone looking for a new and entertaining strategy title at a reasonably low price.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    While a little frustrating if you’re not into tons of micro-management, Age of Empires II HD with the Workshop and updated multiplayer features is an excellent title. The brilliance of the game’s design is still there, you just might need to look past it’s age to see it.
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Age of Empires II: HD will scratch a nostalgic itch for some, but Hidden Path's update doesn't go far enough to bring new audiences to the series.
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    65
    A good graphic overhaul, but not much more unfortunately.
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    60
    Though it's still the competent RTS game it has always been, it can’t be avoided that the age in Age of Empires II has become apparent. The HD edition shows once again why the game is a classic, but besides a functional multiplayer lobby it just doesn’t add enough to warrant the price tag.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    40
    For youngsters it's oddly out of date, for the old stickers it's far from the original. This is how the HD edition of the legendary strategy game Age of Empires II has turned out. From one golden legacy to just broken pieces. Hopefully, its community will put it together.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 96
  2. Negative: 29 out of 96
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Age of Empires HD is great because it is now on steam which makes it easyier to play multi-player and still experience the classic originalAge of Empires HD is great because it is now on steam which makes it easyier to play multi-player and still experience the classic original components of the game which make it so worth while. BTW do any of you have a monk.. need a monk, rogan. LOL it still cracks me up yer way you should see the other guy". Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    I remember the old day's of age of empire's 2 but i couldn't find the disk. Then this amazing game came out remastered on steam and oh my godI remember the old day's of age of empire's 2 but i couldn't find the disk. Then this amazing game came out remastered on steam and oh my god this was one of the best game's i have every played. I have spent 30 hour's on it so far there would be much more if i could play it on the holiday's but i can't. I love this game, the ai are amazing, the amount of buildings and units make this game much more funner than age of empires 1 and 3. The game also give's you a scenario creator which is so amazing to create your own war's and siege's 10/10 love this game, must buy. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    To start of this review, the score I would like to give is a 9. I give a 10 to compensate for people who judge before a game is even out. ForTo start of this review, the score I would like to give is a 9. I give a 10 to compensate for people who judge before a game is even out. For the HD part: they managed to up the resolution to max and also retexture a 14 year old engine, which is pretty impressive in my opinion. Regarding the framedrops: when we got the privilege to play the game before it is officially out doesn't mean they will have every bug fixed, otherwise they could just release it for everyone at that time. As soon as they heard about this problem the devs posted on multiple multimedia sites and their own site that they are working on the problem right now. The game has been out for a few minutes now while people know that the devs are doing their best to work on the issues, so please show some patience. The real addition of this however is the online. The servers for the original AOE II were pulled long ago, and now we have new servers to play this still awesome game online with friends. Oh, and did I mention steam workshop? This means that we will see a lot more mods to keep te game alive even longer. All in all, a great idea worked out great, with some bugs at the start. It's also a nice way to show that for some games it doesn't matter how old they are, it's all about the gameplay, just like how you don't care about graphics when playing a cardgame. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    Honestly, I don't know what you all were expecting. It's exactly the same game we were playing back on the Windows XP, except I don't know ifHonestly, I don't know what you all were expecting. It's exactly the same game we were playing back on the Windows XP, except I don't know if you actually tried to play it recently. On anything higher than Windows Vista, it's loaded with compatibility errors. It's really just unplayable. On the other hand, you can buy this new version of the game priced starting at $20 ($15 if you preordered) and it has some new details and effects, smoothed out graphics, and more. Along with this, it has steam community support, which means easy game setup. It even comes complete with workshop so that rather than screwing up the textures, they just let the users easily download content for the game, such as texture packs. I mean, look at the changes they DID make... those cliff textures were the first to go.

    However, I did notice that sadly, there were some changes that never happened. I think it would have been nice of them to change the models into actual 3D figures, rather than more detailed pixel-art. You can't rotate the camera or anything. You can't even zoom in at all.

    All in all, I think it was worth it. It isn't the main exhibit of my steam library, but I'm still pretty glad I picked it up while it was on sale. To sum it all up, it isn't exactly Red Alert HD, where it has a different style of play from any other game that can compete with Company of Heroes, but rather a Halo 1 Anniversary. If you expect to see an amazing remake of the game that hit stores full force, you'll be mildly disappointed. If it hadn't been in legal limbo around 2008, maybe it would be something special. However, this is really just the compatibility update for a classic RTS, that you might enjoy from GOG in maybe 6 years or so.
    Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    6
    AOE2 HD is one great game and gives back the old school feelings. In april they gived us the same version of the game we had in 1999 but nowAOE2 HD is one great game and gives back the old school feelings. In april they gived us the same version of the game we had in 1999 but now buggy. In the last year they fixed almost all the bugs and glitches. This game is good but not the best. Collapse
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    3
    I really can't understand why people love that series. I have never play a Age of Empires game. Because it has nothing special... I thinkI really can't understand why people love that series. I have never play a Age of Empires game. Because it has nothing special... I think these people haven't played Stronghold:Crusader. People just like it, because another people love it. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    0
    Just overrated game, there is nothing HD in this game, its purely hoax and a big lie. it only zooms out that you cant even see any units andJust overrated game, there is nothing HD in this game, its purely hoax and a big lie. it only zooms out that you cant even see any units and call it HD Expand

See all 96 User Reviews