Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 377 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Age of Empires II: HD Edition, fans of the original game and new players alike will fall in love with the classic Age of Empires II experience. Explore all the original single player campaigns from both Age of Kings and The Conquerors expansion, choose from 18 civilizations spanning overIn Age of Empires II: HD Edition, fans of the original game and new players alike will fall in love with the classic Age of Empires II experience. Explore all the original single player campaigns from both Age of Kings and The Conquerors expansion, choose from 18 civilizations spanning over a thousand years of history, and head online to challenge other Steam players in your quest for world domination throughout the ages. Originally developed by Ensemble Studios and reimagined in high definition by Hidden Path Entertainment, Microsoft Studios is proud to bring Age of Empires II: HD Edition to Steam! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    90
    Age of Empires II recaptures its status as a classic with an HD remake filled to the brim with content. With eight campaigns, a robust multiplayer, Steam Workshop integration for modders and a map editor, strategy fans will find that Age of Empires II HD is definitely worth the price of admission.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Instead, the re-release should be considered by anyone with an itch to revisit the well-loved game or anyone looking for a new and entertaining strategy title at a reasonably low price.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    While a little frustrating if you’re not into tons of micro-management, Age of Empires II HD with the Workshop and updated multiplayer features is an excellent title. The brilliance of the game’s design is still there, you just might need to look past it’s age to see it.
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Age of Empires II: HD will scratch a nostalgic itch for some, but Hidden Path's update doesn't go far enough to bring new audiences to the series.
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    65
    A good graphic overhaul, but not much more unfortunately.
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    60
    Though it's still the competent RTS game it has always been, it can’t be avoided that the age in Age of Empires II has become apparent. The HD edition shows once again why the game is a classic, but besides a functional multiplayer lobby it just doesn’t add enough to warrant the price tag.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    40
    For youngsters it's oddly out of date, for the old stickers it's far from the original. This is how the HD edition of the legendary strategy game Age of Empires II has turned out. From one golden legacy to just broken pieces. Hopefully, its community will put it together.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 104
  2. Negative: 29 out of 104
  1. Jul 2, 2015
    10
    I'm not one who writes tons of reviews but after seeing some of the negative reviews here I had to give my two cents. Age of Empires II is myI'm not one who writes tons of reviews but after seeing some of the negative reviews here I had to give my two cents. Age of Empires II is my absolute favorite game to play. I started playing the original Age of Empires and Age of Empires II soon after they first came out and have loved them ever since. It has been sold in Walmart stores until recently and there is a good reason. It''s a classic! Anyone who likes strategy and matching their wits against a computer or multiple computer players should give this game a shot. The updated HD version is just that... High Definition. It is nothing less than what it claims to be. So for those who have given poor reviews to the game, I would look at the original intent that was behind releasing Age of Empires ii HD. I personally was delighted to see that there was a new version that was more compatible with current operating systems and was capable of running at a much higher resolution than the original. As a Huge added bonus Steam servers allow online game play for your multi-player games which is nice since the original games no longer had online servers for multiplayer games.
    Despite what some may say about no updates to the game besides better graphics, I would say look again. While staying true to the original game play for the most part, the creators of this HD version have made a few great enhancements to the game such as being able to put farms in queue so you don't have to keep replanting your farms every five minutes. There are other slight modifications similar to that. For those who wanted to revisit a classic game this is for you. For those who want more updates I think you're really wanting a completely different game and you should probably look elsewhere. Just another example of how awesome this game is... My wife and my sister who are not into video games at all were finally persuaded to give this game a try and after playing a couple of times they have both fallen in love with it and I have even come home from work or school to find out that my wife was playing it while the kids napped. This game has the power to convert people to it. Give it a shot!
    Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    I remember the old day's of age of empire's 2 but i couldn't find the disk. Then this amazing game came out remastered on steam and oh my godI remember the old day's of age of empire's 2 but i couldn't find the disk. Then this amazing game came out remastered on steam and oh my god this was one of the best game's i have every played. I have spent 30 hour's on it so far there would be much more if i could play it on the holiday's but i can't. I love this game, the ai are amazing, the amount of buildings and units make this game much more funner than age of empires 1 and 3. The game also give's you a scenario creator which is so amazing to create your own war's and siege's 10/10 love this game, must buy. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    To start of this review, the score I would like to give is a 9. I give a 10 to compensate for people who judge before a game is even out. ForTo start of this review, the score I would like to give is a 9. I give a 10 to compensate for people who judge before a game is even out. For the HD part: they managed to up the resolution to max and also retexture a 14 year old engine, which is pretty impressive in my opinion. Regarding the framedrops: when we got the privilege to play the game before it is officially out doesn't mean they will have every bug fixed, otherwise they could just release it for everyone at that time. As soon as they heard about this problem the devs posted on multiple multimedia sites and their own site that they are working on the problem right now. The game has been out for a few minutes now while people know that the devs are doing their best to work on the issues, so please show some patience. The real addition of this however is the online. The servers for the original AOE II were pulled long ago, and now we have new servers to play this still awesome game online with friends. Oh, and did I mention steam workshop? This means that we will see a lot more mods to keep te game alive even longer. All in all, a great idea worked out great, with some bugs at the start. It's also a nice way to show that for some games it doesn't matter how old they are, it's all about the gameplay, just like how you don't care about graphics when playing a cardgame. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    8
    Honestly, I don't know what you all were expecting. It's exactly the same game we were playing back on the Windows XP, except I don't know ifHonestly, I don't know what you all were expecting. It's exactly the same game we were playing back on the Windows XP, except I don't know if you actually tried to play it recently. On anything higher than Windows Vista, it's loaded with compatibility errors. It's really just unplayable. On the other hand, you can buy this new version of the game priced starting at $20 ($15 if you preordered) and it has some new details and effects, smoothed out graphics, and more. Along with this, it has steam community support, which means easy game setup. It even comes complete with workshop so that rather than screwing up the textures, they just let the users easily download content for the game, such as texture packs. I mean, look at the changes they DID make... those cliff textures were the first to go.

    However, I did notice that sadly, there were some changes that never happened. I think it would have been nice of them to change the models into actual 3D figures, rather than more detailed pixel-art. You can't rotate the camera or anything. You can't even zoom in at all.

    All in all, I think it was worth it. It isn't the main exhibit of my steam library, but I'm still pretty glad I picked it up while it was on sale. To sum it all up, it isn't exactly Red Alert HD, where it has a different style of play from any other game that can compete with Company of Heroes, but rather a Halo 1 Anniversary. If you expect to see an amazing remake of the game that hit stores full force, you'll be mildly disappointed. If it hadn't been in legal limbo around 2008, maybe it would be something special. However, this is really just the compatibility update for a classic RTS, that you might enjoy from GOG in maybe 6 years or so.
    Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    UNBELIEVABLE! It´s a bad edition. Why? Because you have nearly no options. Not even resolution options. The game automatically fits yourUNBELIEVABLE! It´s a bad edition. Why? Because you have nearly no options. Not even resolution options. The game automatically fits your desktop resolution. Why it´s bad,.....because the animations of the boats, units and all the nice animations they had, which we AoE players enjoyed, are unrecognizable anymore, thanks to the damn 16:9 resolution. I want a 16:9 picture, but with less Field of View. I want a zoom/fov option for this game. And there are even more problems! It´s HD, but the graphics stayed the same. For such a price (18,99) they could at least have been updating the textures and also making the old AoE 2 style optional as an option in the options. Switching between old textures and new textures would be a great fan service. For such a high price i expect at least these changes! Also the singleplayer laggs. Yes the damn Singleplayer laggs! Framerate issues and the unit animations, skip frames and through that, they don´t look smooth anymore. Thankfully that can be fixed through patches, just as the resolution problem. It´s about 20$, 18,99€ in Europe. That´s too much for such a ****ty edition! I expected more. At least they did a great job including Workshop and Mutliplayer. Trolled! The multiplayer is lagging and you have connection issues. But that´s something that can be fixed through patches...again. I hope they patch the game...unbelievable. I´m very dissapointed from this edition. I hope I can buy it as soon as they fixed it. Don´t buy it yet. Wait for the Steam Sale and the patches. You can play it, but it´s just AoE 2 Conquerors with higher resolution, some bugs and laggs. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    4
    I love, love, LOVED AoE2 and have owned it almost since it's release all those years ago. I like the fact that they brought out the defib toI love, love, LOVED AoE2 and have owned it almost since it's release all those years ago. I like the fact that they brought out the defib to bring it back to life, but they really didn't do anything with it besides tack on a 20$ price tag. Everything the developers did with this release was already done with the Forgotten Empires mod, for free(Assuming you owned the original game). I can't in good faith give this game the 7+ rating I sincerely want to give it.

    What really irks me is that it's been completely stripped of LAN. AoE2 was /THE/ game to lan party it up. Anyone that played it when it was still fresh knows what I'm talking about. This reeks of sacrificing the game to hit piracy. Something pretty much everyone condemns EA and their ilk for. It's not even successful, the game is still piratable and pirates can still play with eachother.

    I really hope the developers at Hidden Path have more in store for us than what's been presented so far. Perhaps the Steam Workshop will kick the game into overdrive? It's always been an amazing game and still is an amazing game, it's just disappointing how they had so many opportunities to fix some of the problems with AoE2 but didn't capitalize on any of them, and instead just implemented the exact same changes already done in Forgotten Empires(Unit cap increase, higher resolution support, etc etc)
    Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    0
    Just overrated game, there is nothing HD in this game, its purely hoax and a big lie. it only zooms out that you cant even see any units andJust overrated game, there is nothing HD in this game, its purely hoax and a big lie. it only zooms out that you cant even see any units and call it HD Expand

See all 104 User Reviews