User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 891 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 891
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2014
    3
    Drugged Player:
    This game rules!!! I just can't stop playing it. It's addictive and a good choosing strategy game. After a while it gets boring, but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! The best part of this game is multi-player mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better.
    Translation(for normal humans): Oh these game rules..they're just stupid. I Just
    Drugged Player:
    This game rules!!! I just can't stop playing it. It's addictive and a good choosing strategy game. After a while it gets boring, but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! The best part of this game is multi-player mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better.

    Translation(for normal humans):
    Oh these game rules..they're just stupid. I Just can't stop playing it(once you play, your god-damn hour gets wasted..cant leave in between or you lose).. Its addictive(by addictive he means drugs and by no means this game) and a good chootiya strategy game. After a while it gets boring(he means after he presses the play button) , but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! (DRUG YOURSELF, energy increases.... but yea after a while, you will LOSE YOUR HIGH-Effect of drugs ceases) ..The best part of this game is multi-player mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better and we finally play CS whole night)

    I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GAME FOR ALL THOSE BARBIE&TWILIGHT FANS
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    The first i played this game it was like..OH GOD, Is this even a game?
    The second time, seriously i never played this the second time.
    Actually there are people who're jobless.. And yea. it's for them. I dont understand THIS UNREALISTIC SO CALLED STRATEGY GAME.. For AOE Fans RTS is Real Time **** ... Disappointed with Microsoft and Ensemble studios.. IF YOU ARE RICH and STUPID.....
    The first i played this game it was like..OH GOD, Is this even a game?
    The second time, seriously i never played this the second time.
    Actually there are people who're jobless.. And yea. it's for them.
    I dont understand THIS UNREALISTIC SO CALLED STRATEGY GAME..
    For AOE Fans RTS is Real Time **** ... Disappointed with Microsoft and Ensemble studios..

    IF YOU ARE RICH and STUPID..... and WANT TO BE POOR AND A RELATIVELY INTELLIGENT PERSON(most intelligent person of the world), THERE IS AN EASY WAY, BUY THIS GAME FOR EVERY PERSON OF THE COUNTRY AND LET THEM PLAY..
    NOW SILENTLY WATCH THEIR STUPIDNESS LEVEL RISE
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Please dont believe a person who says this about AOE:
    More than a decade after it launched, I still enjoy a game of AoE 2. There's just something so incredibly gratifying about it. I wound up purchasing the reissued version on Steam, but truth be told it wasn't all that great of an update. If MGS and Ensemble would have just rebuilt it from the ground up with improved graphics and a
    Please dont believe a person who says this about AOE:
    More than a decade after it launched, I still enjoy a game of AoE 2. There's just something so incredibly gratifying about it. I wound up purchasing the reissued version on Steam, but truth be told it wasn't all that great of an update. If MGS and Ensemble would have just rebuilt it from the ground up with improved graphics and a rebirthed matchmaking system, I'd be much more likely to play JUST AoE2. This game is truly a classic.

    ALL HE WANTS IS TO WASTE YOUR TIME, DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY BY PLAYING THIS STUPID GAME

    SINGLE WORD DESCRIPTION:
    CRAP..
    Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Review by a person who has played AOE(i mean , once..it gets so booring the second time you try to play)

    The gameplay lasted for about half an hour. Until my friend hammered my computer screen out of boredom. Worse than Hell GAME Reviews given by people who havent even played AOE: It’s not a significant improvement as far as gameplay and graphics, but it does help further the
    Review by a person who has played AOE(i mean , once..it gets so booring the second time you try to play)

    The gameplay lasted for about half an hour.
    Until my friend hammered my computer screen out of boredom.
    Worse than Hell GAME

    Reviews given by people who havent even played AOE:
    It’s not a significant improvement as far as gameplay and graphics, but it does help further the claim of AOE as a solid gaming title and a quality multiplayer game. The originality may be gone, but the idea lives on.
    I never got into the original game, yet I find AoE II enchanting. The sheer depth of the technology tree and evolution of the civilisation are always a surprise. I particularly like the intuitive logic that makes battles more tactical.
    Simply an awesome game - great in historical imagery, solid in sound and game play, and a lot of fun to play. The Age of Kings deserves its title.
    Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Reviewer is Universally acclaimed.
    I have seen people saying that this is the worst RTS game ever made.
    But these intelligent(and smart) people) dont even care about stupid thoughts of stupid AOE players.. If given a chance between death and playing AOE I would choose death(not real death, i mean death in Counter strike) Because all that precious time that you spent playing Age
    Reviewer is Universally acclaimed.
    I have seen people saying that this is the worst RTS game ever made.

    But these intelligent(and smart) people) dont even care about stupid thoughts of stupid AOE players..

    If given a chance between death and playing AOE
    I would choose death(not real death, i mean death in Counter strike)

    Because all that precious time that you spent playing Age of Empires, you did nothing.

    AOE fans say,
    There has never been such an addicting RTS game out there, so if you still don't own it, buy it! It is more than worth it. And if you already have it, go and play it again! It is really so much more enjoying than all the modern RTS games with fancy graphics but no substance

    Haa, surely he was drugged or drunk or i dont know.. nor i f-kin care
    Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    Booooooring game... If you are drunk, then getting out of your booze is simple.. Just play it..MUSTT PLAY!!
    A review by a drunk guy:
    This is a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions fun and historically correct, it has lots to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most well-balanced game I have ever played. It is also a lot of fun, especially when
    Booooooring game... If you are drunk, then getting out of your booze is simple.. Just play it..MUSTT PLAY!!
    A review by a drunk guy:
    This is a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions fun and historically correct, it has lots to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most well-balanced game I have ever played. It is also a lot of fun, especially when you play multiplayer.

    Review after Playing the game,
    This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), the tech trees are needlessly large,

    Has given a new definition to RTS = Ruin Thy Stratergy
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    worst game ever... play only if u have a whole time in the world .. please zuffuluzt. dont write fake comments..This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(aworst game ever... play only if u have a whole time in the world .. please zuffuluzt. dont write fake comments..This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), Expand
  8. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Booooooring game... If you are drunk, then getting out of your booze is simple.. Just play it..MUSTT PLAY!!
    he first i played this game it was like..OH GOD, Is this even a game? The second time, seriously i never played this the second time. Actually there are people who're jobless.. And yea. it's for them. I dont understand THIS UNREALISTIC SO CALLED STRATEGY GAME..
  9. JeffC.
    Mar 18, 2007
    0
    This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), the tech trees are needlessly large, and there are too many This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), the tech trees are needlessly large, and there are too many types of resources Don't buy this junk. Expand
  10. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    This is not even close to a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions boooring and historically incorrect, it has nothing to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most badly-balanced game I have ever played in my career. It is also a lot of fun watching stupid people waste time on it, especially when they play multiplayer. The AI could use an additionalThis is not even close to a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions boooring and historically incorrect, it has nothing to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most badly-balanced game I have ever played in my career. It is also a lot of fun watching stupid people waste time on it, especially when they play multiplayer. The AI could use an additional difficulty mode, because the hardest mode isn't hard enough for real RTS veterans. I have to highlight the multiplayer again, because it is absolutely **** Expand
  11. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    This is the level of stupidity of RTS and No one is playing it 5years after release. This is because the multiplayer experience is still the same...crappy... The graphics are not anything special, but the gameplay is even worse, which is what really matters. So dont spare a single buck..
    BOREDOM UNLIMITED//
  12. Sep 22, 2016
    3
    Game lan service is the worst service ever conceived, which may or may not work for everyone that purchases it. Also the game is very unstable, it may require many kinds of tricks to make it work as intended. The game was badly ported to new generation machines, even you have the newest generation hardware, it would still lags like hell (I can confirm that because it happened with me). TheGame lan service is the worst service ever conceived, which may or may not work for everyone that purchases it. Also the game is very unstable, it may require many kinds of tricks to make it work as intended. The game was badly ported to new generation machines, even you have the newest generation hardware, it would still lags like hell (I can confirm that because it happened with me). The game was a classic, but the way it was ported, disgust me. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Simply an awesome game - great in historical imagery, solid in sound and game play, and a lot of fun to play. The Age of Kings deserves its title.
  2. It’s not a significant improvement as far as gameplay and graphics, but it does help further the claim of AOE as a solid gaming title and a quality multiplayer game. The originality may be gone, but the idea lives on.
  3. I never got into the original game, yet I find AoE II enchanting. The sheer depth of the technology tree and evolution of the civilisation are always a surprise. I particularly like the intuitive logic that makes battles more tactical.