User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 866 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 866
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2017
    10
    It's just a good game in general. I have nothing else to say. I especially liked the campaign the best.And i have actually learned something from a game this time.
    :)
  2. Jul 24, 2017
    9
    "Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings" was an excellent game, I did not think I would play it but I played it and I liked it, empires, maps and campaigns and graphics were very good, and the music and The dialogues were spectacular.
  3. Apr 13, 2017
    9
    Brilliant RTS, and to my amazement, it is still being played. This game was my second childhood leap into PC gaming (after AoE 1), and boy, did this blow my little mind! Stellar game!
  4. Apr 12, 2017
    8
    Un clásico de la estrategia en tiempo real. Excelente jugabilidad, buenos gráficos, buen apartado artístico, variabilidad de civilizaciones y un nivel estratégico modesto, pero adictivo. El único defecto serio que le encuentro es la IA (que en dificultad máxima se reduce a enviarte hordas de enemigos con un elemento estratégico del todo ausente) pero en su época era más que aceptable.
  5. Mar 6, 2017
    9
    One of the classic PC games. Endless hours have been spent on this game and with an HD remaster out now, endless more could be spent on it again. A must play game.
  6. Mar 1, 2017
    10
    A game that made ancient history truly awesome. I have never anything that allowed me to have so much fun, but at the same time, also served as references for our history class assignments and projects back in highschool. Back then, we didn't have the internet and we relied on these things called "encyclopedias"! The skirmishes were very fun and I remember making insane fortress porns outA game that made ancient history truly awesome. I have never anything that allowed me to have so much fun, but at the same time, also served as references for our history class assignments and projects back in highschool. Back then, we didn't have the internet and we relied on these things called "encyclopedias"! The skirmishes were very fun and I remember making insane fortress porns out of my bases. It's regretful that we don't make games this good anymore. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2017
    9
    I can agree with the rest of the reviewers that it is not only a great game but arguably one of the best games of all time. I found some parts to be extremely ingenious and other parts to be worked on. I loved the voice actors but the tutorial had LOTS of room for improvement. Graphics are ok for the 1990s but not is not the main focus of the game. Game play can be challenging but thisI can agree with the rest of the reviewers that it is not only a great game but arguably one of the best games of all time. I found some parts to be extremely ingenious and other parts to be worked on. I loved the voice actors but the tutorial had LOTS of room for improvement. Graphics are ok for the 1990s but not is not the main focus of the game. Game play can be challenging but this rivals many other civilization games like Civilization or Tropico. The difference is its simple yet effective way of battling with other cities and decisions made in battle could cost you the war. Overall, I expect great things from Microsoft and its future updates on age of empires Expand
  8. Feb 4, 2017
    10
    Great game. Would recommend to any beginner RTS fans...........................................................................................................................................
  9. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    possibly my favorite game of all time and not even slightly due to sentimental value. When i first started playing it i absolutely loved it, even though i absolutely sucked (literally everyone beat me) only after playing for a while did i get competent. And i didn't start playing it till like a decade after it came out even still i found it an amazing game. It's just the way in which thepossibly my favorite game of all time and not even slightly due to sentimental value. When i first started playing it i absolutely loved it, even though i absolutely sucked (literally everyone beat me) only after playing for a while did i get competent. And i didn't start playing it till like a decade after it came out even still i found it an amazing game. It's just the way in which the different civilizations are balanced out and the awesome real time strategy.. its really just amazing. Realize though that if your just playing single player things could get highly repetitive to fully appreciate the game you really need atleast 6 people playing. Expand
  10. Sep 22, 2016
    3
    Game lan service is the worst service ever conceived, which may or may not work for everyone that purchases it. Also the game is very unstable, it may require many kinds of tricks to make it work as intended. The game was badly ported to new generation machines, even you have the newest generation hardware, it would still lags like hell (I can confirm that because it happened with me). TheGame lan service is the worst service ever conceived, which may or may not work for everyone that purchases it. Also the game is very unstable, it may require many kinds of tricks to make it work as intended. The game was badly ported to new generation machines, even you have the newest generation hardware, it would still lags like hell (I can confirm that because it happened with me). The game was a classic, but the way it was ported, disgust me. Expand
  11. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    It's based on the Age of Empire Games from the 1997 & 1998. While they contain many materials, content, and strategies that is just like those in the past, this one has addition buttons/tools to use that was absent before and that it would make your work a lot easier to do. They're smart and helpful.

    But, the biggest bonus about this game is the effects: it looks more beautiful than Age
    It's based on the Age of Empire Games from the 1997 & 1998. While they contain many materials, content, and strategies that is just like those in the past, this one has addition buttons/tools to use that was absent before and that it would make your work a lot easier to do. They're smart and helpful.

    But, the biggest bonus about this game is the effects: it looks more beautiful than Age of Empires or Age of Empires: Rise of Rome. I love the way they look. The dialogue or character talks was also a bonus that the previous games didn't include much.

    The content, strategy mode, and A.I. intelligence level is in the same style as the previous games. But, the game is more easier and more interesting than before.
    Expand
  12. May 29, 2016
    10
    Age of Empires 2 is a very good game overall. Basically, it's a fun game a lot, but Age of Empires I like most is the Age of Empires 2: The Conquerors Expansion. Age of Empires has good graphics for the time, and is one of the best strategy games in real world time. Its gameplay is excellent, and Ensenble Studios did work in both. In the game you have to lead a village to become an empire,Age of Empires 2 is a very good game overall. Basically, it's a fun game a lot, but Age of Empires I like most is the Age of Empires 2: The Conquerors Expansion. Age of Empires has good graphics for the time, and is one of the best strategy games in real world time. Its gameplay is excellent, and Ensenble Studios did work in both. In the game you have to lead a village to become an empire, have to make an army to attack your enemies and finish them. This is a type of game that calls me a lot my attention. I highly recommend this game, it is one of the games that will never get out of your head, and you will love forever. It will give hours of gameplay a game, and you will very difficult challenges to meet you, and this is a unique game. Expand
  13. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  14. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    one of the top 10 BEST EVER GAMES CREATED! I cant say anything else just fulfilling to upload it...None of the games that are being released nowadays will ever reach the mastery of this piece of art. (creating ur own campaign??? in which other game!?!?)
  15. Feb 29, 2016
    7
    By the time extraordinary strategic game. It might be the most nostalgic one of all time. Routing units, managing the background, all those factors helped make exceptional game.
  16. Jan 1, 2016
    10
    One of the absolute best PC games of all time, top 10!

    The gameplay is outstanding and balanced. Multiplayer and single player, as well as campaign.... all are near-perfect. The modding capability, the AI scripting possibilities, the sound, and even the 2-D graphics. Superb. With the recent updates to allow it to run on modern hardware, and new expansions, makes it unique in the
    One of the absolute best PC games of all time, top 10!

    The gameplay is outstanding and balanced. Multiplayer and single player, as well as campaign.... all are near-perfect. The modding capability, the AI scripting possibilities, the sound, and even the 2-D graphics. Superb.

    With the recent updates to allow it to run on modern hardware, and new expansions, makes it unique in the annals of PC gaming history.
    Expand
  17. Dec 10, 2015
    9
    One of the best RTS games with great multiplayer, excellent 2D graphics and a huge online community until it was sadly closed by Microsoft. By today's standards, it lacks automation and explanations. E.g. you won't easily find tips that pikemen are best against cavalry. And to create production queues for units you'd need to click the same button wildly many times. But for at least 7 yearsOne of the best RTS games with great multiplayer, excellent 2D graphics and a huge online community until it was sadly closed by Microsoft. By today's standards, it lacks automation and explanations. E.g. you won't easily find tips that pikemen are best against cavalry. And to create production queues for units you'd need to click the same button wildly many times. But for at least 7 years (somewhere between 1998 and 2006) it was one of the most played RTS games in LAN parties. If anything, you should check it out for historical/research purposes. And its graphics are drawn with so much care and detail, that if not the low resolution the game would appeal even to today's gamers. Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings, well has an average storyline, but you shouldnt buy it for the storyline, buy it for the awesome customised battles. Theres a few problems though: Its hard to record gameplay out of AoE 2, since OBS cant record it and Fraps FPS counter glitches and makes the game slow down, theres 3 different screen resolutions, one of the works, the other two go off myAge of Empires II: The Age of Kings, well has an average storyline, but you shouldnt buy it for the storyline, buy it for the awesome customised battles. Theres a few problems though: Its hard to record gameplay out of AoE 2, since OBS cant record it and Fraps FPS counter glitches and makes the game slow down, theres 3 different screen resolutions, one of the works, the other two go off my screen, but its from 1999 so its excusable. I will still give it a 10/10, because its so old, and were still playing it. Should you buy it? No. Buy the HD edition, it fixes all the problems above. Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest video game codes ever created. An undisputed God of computer games, and therefore gaming history. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
  20. Jul 19, 2015
    9
    It's a simple but at the same time sophisticated and intelligent game. The wide variety of different modes and scenarios you can choose from ensure that it never gets old of tired. Even though it was released almost 20 years ago, I still dust it off and pop it in for a few hours of fun on a rainy day. It really is timeless
  21. May 12, 2015
    9
    Graphics: 9.2 Sound: 9.5 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 9.0

    My favorite strategy game of all time. Nice graphics, nice online and LAN multiplayer. A must have RTS.
  22. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    This is the game that defined its genre. Even now a decade and a half later, it is still among the best RTS games available. If you're a fan of RTS games, then this is a definite must-have.
  23. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    It's a classic that must NOT die, even if its graphics are clearly outdated, it's fun and its AI is very intelligent (especially in Conquerors and Forgotten) though sometimes it's bugging and my enemies begin to build towers non-stop lol and sometimes they don't build artillery units but seems to be fixed in Forgotten.
  24. Nov 20, 2014
    9
    This game is the gold standard for historical real time strategy (RTS) games. I best remember it for its competitive multiplayer and elaborate defenses/sieges. Well-balanced, fun, and colorful.
  25. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    One of the best games so far, with much respect from me personally. It affected the RTS genre much and as can be seen from the huge community which still plays it, it is time-affection-less. In other words, AOE2 is one of the games you could enjoy in 2004,2014,2024 just as fair. In some aspects it of course got old compared to the new stuff, yet it doesn't push you away. Adding my ownOne of the best games so far, with much respect from me personally. It affected the RTS genre much and as can be seen from the huge community which still plays it, it is time-affection-less. In other words, AOE2 is one of the games you could enjoy in 2004,2014,2024 just as fair. In some aspects it of course got old compared to the new stuff, yet it doesn't push you away. Adding my own sense - AOE2 graphics are pleasing the eye more than AOE3 and most of the new games! :) Expand
  26. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    I spent many, many hours playing this as a kid and still go back to it to this day. I love the amount of civilizations (especially with the conquerors expansion), units, buildings and maps available and of course the addictive, easy to pick up and yet difficult to master gameplay. I'll always remember this game for its great soundtrack too. My only gripes were the population limit and howI spent many, many hours playing this as a kid and still go back to it to this day. I love the amount of civilizations (especially with the conquerors expansion), units, buildings and maps available and of course the addictive, easy to pick up and yet difficult to master gameplay. I'll always remember this game for its great soundtrack too. My only gripes were the population limit and how you had to manually get each farmer to start a new farm once it had expired (although this was fixed with the expansion). Regardless of these minor flaws this is one of those games I'll never forget. The visuals were great for the time, and the gameplay thoroughly addictive and fun. A classic, no doubt about it. I remember playing a lot of Red Alert and Total Annihilation but this is the game that always sticks out as the best. Expand
  27. Jun 1, 2014
    7
    Great LAN play. Mostly similar to AOE II which was a masterpiece of gaming. The addition of Gods is fantastic but a little more work probably could've netted better results.
  28. May 11, 2014
    10
    Well, to start: I don't believe how this game got less than some CoD ones, and less than those all crappy games that have only graphics.
    Age of empires II is one of the most creative games I've ever seen (suffered thousands of plagiarism after being released). It is basically two games in one! The scenario editor, a powerful editor which allows you to create your own world, your own game
    Well, to start: I don't believe how this game got less than some CoD ones, and less than those all crappy games that have only graphics.
    Age of empires II is one of the most creative games I've ever seen (suffered thousands of plagiarism after being released). It is basically two games in one! The scenario editor, a powerful editor which allows you to create your own world, your own game in any style (RPG, B&D, and whatever), and have the awesome multiplayer, in which you can load your own scenario, or play one of the several modes it have!
    It deserves a lot more than 9.0 (in my opinion should be awarded by a 9.5-9.8, because it's (if not the best) one of the best games ever! To summarize, I will write the positive and negative points bellow:

    POSITIVE POINTS
    - Awesome gameplay, and perfectly balanced;
    - Scenario editor with thousands of possibilities, letting you make anything!;
    - It doens't takes that much money from you (like those recent games, which any item costs around 10 Dollars);
    - Is the first one to have this theme (and well-succeeded);
    - Great graphics (for its time), overcoming many games made two or three years past it!;
    - Almost no annoying bug, just helpful bugs (like invisible unit trick, invisible tile trick, heal unit trick, etc);
    - It can be a noob game, for relax, or can be a fuqin hardcore game (depending the way you play it!);
    - Quite good ES campaigns;
    - Many sound effects of good quality.
    - Good voice actors;

    NEGATIVE POINTS
    - Some annoying pathfinding bugs;
    - Repetitive combat sounds;
    - Shadows aren't very realistic;
    - Water sucks;
    - ES campaigns are too lengthy, and sometimes boring to play;
    - Some not well done objects (such as Flowers 1,2,3,4, cracks, etc);
    - Too dumb AI (However you can design your own);
    - Stupid Villagers, that walks in a disorganized way and sometimes can slow your economy down;
    - Some bugs could be solved down before releasing.

    So those are all I think about AOK. Despite having some bugs, it still awesome and (IMO) the best game ever! (Better than those all recent overrated games).
    Play it by a whole before judging it just by the multiplayer/random map. One half of the game is in the scenario editor, DO NOT MISS IT!
    Expand
  29. May 3, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the best RTSs ever to exist. It has multiple factions from which you can choose from, and each one has its own technology and strategy. The campaign is a bit lame for my taste, so I kinda just play with my friends on Skirmish mode. It has multiple buildings and troops you can create and improve. Even though it's from '99, it has resisted time well, and a fullfilingThis game is one of the best RTSs ever to exist. It has multiple factions from which you can choose from, and each one has its own technology and strategy. The campaign is a bit lame for my taste, so I kinda just play with my friends on Skirmish mode. It has multiple buildings and troops you can create and improve. Even though it's from '99, it has resisted time well, and a fullfiling experience lies in here. Go and play it then! Expand
  30. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    It's just so goood. I enjoy playing this much more than any other RTS game, because it has more heart and soul and charm. Do you need fancy graphics to enjoy chess? Maybe if the pieces were ultra realistic statues that could move like in that Harry Potter movie. The AOE2 gameplay is perfect, love this game.
  31. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    A classic RTS, they improved from Age of Empires and just made it soo much better. I totally recommend this game to anybody. It's simple yet difficult but always extremely fun.
  32. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    This is the level of stupidity of RTS and No one is playing it 5years after release. This is because the multiplayer experience is still the same...crappy... The graphics are not anything special, but the gameplay is even worse, which is what really matters. So dont spare a single buck..
    BOREDOM UNLIMITED//
  33. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    This is not even close to a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions boooring and historically incorrect, it has nothing to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most badly-balanced game I have ever played in my career. It is also a lot of fun watching stupid people waste time on it, especially when they play multiplayer. The AI could use an additionalThis is not even close to a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions boooring and historically incorrect, it has nothing to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most badly-balanced game I have ever played in my career. It is also a lot of fun watching stupid people waste time on it, especially when they play multiplayer. The AI could use an additional difficulty mode, because the hardest mode isn't hard enough for real RTS veterans. I have to highlight the multiplayer again, because it is absolutely **** Expand
  34. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Booooooring game... If you are drunk, then getting out of your booze is simple.. Just play it..MUSTT PLAY!!
    he first i played this game it was like..OH GOD, Is this even a game? The second time, seriously i never played this the second time. Actually there are people who're jobless.. And yea. it's for them. I dont understand THIS UNREALISTIC SO CALLED STRATEGY GAME..
  35. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    worst game ever... play only if u have a whole time in the world .. please zuffuluzt. dont write fake comments..This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(aworst game ever... play only if u have a whole time in the world .. please zuffuluzt. dont write fake comments..This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), Expand
  36. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Reviewer is Universally acclaimed.
    I have seen people saying that this is the worst RTS game ever made.
    But these intelligent(and smart) people) dont even care about stupid thoughts of stupid AOE players.. If given a chance between death and playing AOE I would choose death(not real death, i mean death in Counter strike) Because all that precious time that you spent playing Age
    Reviewer is Universally acclaimed.
    I have seen people saying that this is the worst RTS game ever made.

    But these intelligent(and smart) people) dont even care about stupid thoughts of stupid AOE players..

    If given a chance between death and playing AOE
    I would choose death(not real death, i mean death in Counter strike)

    Because all that precious time that you spent playing Age of Empires, you did nothing.

    AOE fans say,
    There has never been such an addicting RTS game out there, so if you still don't own it, buy it! It is more than worth it. And if you already have it, go and play it again! It is really so much more enjoying than all the modern RTS games with fancy graphics but no substance

    Haa, surely he was drugged or drunk or i dont know.. nor i f-kin care
    Expand
  37. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Please dont believe a person who says this about AOE:
    More than a decade after it launched, I still enjoy a game of AoE 2. There's just something so incredibly gratifying about it. I wound up purchasing the reissued version on Steam, but truth be told it wasn't all that great of an update. If MGS and Ensemble would have just rebuilt it from the ground up with improved graphics and a
    Please dont believe a person who says this about AOE:
    More than a decade after it launched, I still enjoy a game of AoE 2. There's just something so incredibly gratifying about it. I wound up purchasing the reissued version on Steam, but truth be told it wasn't all that great of an update. If MGS and Ensemble would have just rebuilt it from the ground up with improved graphics and a rebirthed matchmaking system, I'd be much more likely to play JUST AoE2. This game is truly a classic.

    ALL HE WANTS IS TO WASTE YOUR TIME, DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY BY PLAYING THIS STUPID GAME

    SINGLE WORD DESCRIPTION:
    CRAP..
    Expand
  38. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    Review by a person who has played AOE(i mean , once..it gets so booring the second time you try to play)

    The gameplay lasted for about half an hour. Until my friend hammered my computer screen out of boredom. Worse than Hell GAME Reviews given by people who havent even played AOE: It’s not a significant improvement as far as gameplay and graphics, but it does help further the
    Review by a person who has played AOE(i mean , once..it gets so booring the second time you try to play)

    The gameplay lasted for about half an hour.
    Until my friend hammered my computer screen out of boredom.
    Worse than Hell GAME

    Reviews given by people who havent even played AOE:
    It’s not a significant improvement as far as gameplay and graphics, but it does help further the claim of AOE as a solid gaming title and a quality multiplayer game. The originality may be gone, but the idea lives on.
    I never got into the original game, yet I find AoE II enchanting. The sheer depth of the technology tree and evolution of the civilisation are always a surprise. I particularly like the intuitive logic that makes battles more tactical.
    Simply an awesome game - great in historical imagery, solid in sound and game play, and a lot of fun to play. The Age of Kings deserves its title.
    Expand
  39. Mar 1, 2014
    1
    The first i played this game it was like..OH GOD, Is this even a game?
    The second time, seriously i never played this the second time.
    Actually there are people who're jobless.. And yea. it's for them. I dont understand THIS UNREALISTIC SO CALLED STRATEGY GAME.. For AOE Fans RTS is Real Time **** ... Disappointed with Microsoft and Ensemble studios.. IF YOU ARE RICH and STUPID.....
    The first i played this game it was like..OH GOD, Is this even a game?
    The second time, seriously i never played this the second time.
    Actually there are people who're jobless.. And yea. it's for them.
    I dont understand THIS UNREALISTIC SO CALLED STRATEGY GAME..
    For AOE Fans RTS is Real Time **** ... Disappointed with Microsoft and Ensemble studios..

    IF YOU ARE RICH and STUPID..... and WANT TO BE POOR AND A RELATIVELY INTELLIGENT PERSON(most intelligent person of the world), THERE IS AN EASY WAY, BUY THIS GAME FOR EVERY PERSON OF THE COUNTRY AND LET THEM PLAY..
    NOW SILENTLY WATCH THEIR STUPIDNESS LEVEL RISE
    Expand
  40. Mar 1, 2014
    3
    Drugged Player:
    This game rules!!! I just can't stop playing it. It's addictive and a good choosing strategy game. After a while it gets boring, but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! The best part of this game is multi-player mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better.
    Translation(for normal humans): Oh these game rules..they're just stupid. I Just
    Drugged Player:
    This game rules!!! I just can't stop playing it. It's addictive and a good choosing strategy game. After a while it gets boring, but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! The best part of this game is multi-player mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better.

    Translation(for normal humans):
    Oh these game rules..they're just stupid. I Just can't stop playing it(once you play, your god-damn hour gets wasted..cant leave in between or you lose).. Its addictive(by addictive he means drugs and by no means this game) and a good chootiya strategy game. After a while it gets boring(he means after he presses the play button) , but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! (DRUG YOURSELF, energy increases.... but yea after a while, you will LOSE YOUR HIGH-Effect of drugs ceases) ..The best part of this game is multi-player mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better and we finally play CS whole night)

    I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GAME FOR ALL THOSE BARBIE&TWILIGHT FANS
    Expand
  41. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    Booooooring game... If you are drunk, then getting out of your booze is simple.. Just play it..MUSTT PLAY!!
    A review by a drunk guy:
    This is a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions fun and historically correct, it has lots to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most well-balanced game I have ever played. It is also a lot of fun, especially when
    Booooooring game... If you are drunk, then getting out of your booze is simple.. Just play it..MUSTT PLAY!!
    A review by a drunk guy:
    This is a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions fun and historically correct, it has lots to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most well-balanced game I have ever played. It is also a lot of fun, especially when you play multiplayer.

    Review after Playing the game,
    This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), the tech trees are needlessly large,

    Has given a new definition to RTS = Ruin Thy Stratergy
    Expand
  42. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    More than a decade after it launched, I still enjoy a game of AoE 2. There's just something so incredibly gratifying about it. I wound up purchasing the reissued version on Steam, but truth be told it wasn't all that great of an update. If MGS and Ensemble would have just rebuilt it from the ground up with improved graphics and a rebirthed matchmaking system, I'd be much more likely toMore than a decade after it launched, I still enjoy a game of AoE 2. There's just something so incredibly gratifying about it. I wound up purchasing the reissued version on Steam, but truth be told it wasn't all that great of an update. If MGS and Ensemble would have just rebuilt it from the ground up with improved graphics and a rebirthed matchmaking system, I'd be much more likely to play JUST AoE2. This game is truly a classic. Expand
  43. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    The best strategy computer game all over. And played since ages after beeing published! But multiplayer connection lacked a lots of time, but maybe you can't compare 1997 with 2014. I am very happy that this game exists and played it maybe more than 300 or 400 hours. Thanks!
  44. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    What is there to say about this one? Hands down the best game I have ever played. Fantastic atmosphere, great campaign, superb gameplay. Everything just clicked in this game. I was too young when it came out to explore the online part of the game, but the historical single player was something that would be impossible to find in today's RTS games. The nostalgia and happy childhood memoriesWhat is there to say about this one? Hands down the best game I have ever played. Fantastic atmosphere, great campaign, superb gameplay. Everything just clicked in this game. I was too young when it came out to explore the online part of the game, but the historical single player was something that would be impossible to find in today's RTS games. The nostalgia and happy childhood memories I get every time I think of this game is like nothing else. Expand
  45. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    One of the best RTS games ever made. Historical campaigns and lots of battles. This game was the first time I was really exposed to history and I am now a history major at college. With the release of Age of Empires II HD Edition definitely worth going back to.
  46. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    An ultimate masterpiece, that totally revolutionized the genre and putted the game in mainstream attention. Not only did it amaze me with it's possibilities of making strategy, but it addicted me with it's great progression of gameplay.
    This game can get complicated when you have full control of your army and your resources progression, but it feels immersive, because you feel like a
    An ultimate masterpiece, that totally revolutionized the genre and putted the game in mainstream attention. Not only did it amaze me with it's possibilities of making strategy, but it addicted me with it's great progression of gameplay.
    This game can get complicated when you have full control of your army and your resources progression, but it feels immersive, because you feel like a powerful strategist. It never felt in a game so rewarding preparing your army for battle, upgrading your buildings and progression, and, of course, performing the strategy that you planned.
    So, the core gameplay is like this: you choose what people you want, you collect your resources, you progress through ages providing you with new important upgrades for combat and ecomony, you build your army and then when the plan comes together, you attack. To do this, you need precise intelligence skills and great patience.
    Age of Empires II is the best strategy game ever made, that will definitely entertain you. (10.00)
    Expand
  47. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    It isn't the most strategic or immersive RTS out there, but it is simple, addictive and a lot of fun to play. It may not be the best RTS but it does come close.
  48. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Easily the best RTS game in history. Easy to get the hang of, impossible to completely master. Great gameplay balance, wide variety of gameplay options, lots of strategy involved, excellent campaigns based on real life events (I actually learned some cool stuff while playing this!) great graphics, especially considering the face that this thing is 14 years old, surprisingly good AI, and aEasily the best RTS game in history. Easy to get the hang of, impossible to completely master. Great gameplay balance, wide variety of gameplay options, lots of strategy involved, excellent campaigns based on real life events (I actually learned some cool stuff while playing this!) great graphics, especially considering the face that this thing is 14 years old, surprisingly good AI, and a very easy to use map editor for creating custom campaigns and scenarios. Combine all this with a devoted fanbase and a huge list of great mods to try out, and AOE II is a perfect game. Expand
  49. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Years and years later and this is still the best RTS out there! If you're looking at buying the HD edition do it. Let's just say this game is so good that a community for it exists years and years later, and there was enough outcry that they remade it.
  50. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    first computer game I ever played, at the time my parents computer could barely handle it. picked it up at Wall-Mart for 10 bucks a while back just for some good memories. STILL love this game, the bad graphics and music/sound affects was exactly what I was looking for. think in 10 years I could play it and still be thrilled. not a bad pick up for the money if you want a classic RTS, easyfirst computer game I ever played, at the time my parents computer could barely handle it. picked it up at Wall-Mart for 10 bucks a while back just for some good memories. STILL love this game, the bad graphics and music/sound affects was exactly what I was looking for. think in 10 years I could play it and still be thrilled. not a bad pick up for the money if you want a classic RTS, easy to play and you will be able to dump hours and hours into gameplay. WARNING!! if you have trouble playing with windows 7 look it up on Google or whatever because its a real easy fix. happy gaming Expand
  51. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    I kinda feel like a pessimist, giving this an 8/10 while everyone else gave it 9 and 10, but I don't think it's that great. I like it. It has a good feel. And The Conquerors expansion is a great addition. The only problems I have with this game are the singleplayer campaign and the sound. The singleplayer campaign just isn't that interesting, I found. I prefer going on a randomly generatedI kinda feel like a pessimist, giving this an 8/10 while everyone else gave it 9 and 10, but I don't think it's that great. I like it. It has a good feel. And The Conquerors expansion is a great addition. The only problems I have with this game are the singleplayer campaign and the sound. The singleplayer campaign just isn't that interesting, I found. I prefer going on a randomly generated map and fighting bots. And as for the sound, well, the music is great. But the rest of the audio really isn't something I would expect from a game released in 1999. Another thing that brings this game down, for me, is that I'm not a very big RTS fan. Now, don't get me wrong. I really do like this game. And if it wasn't an RTS it would not work AT ALL. But if you like classic PC games, you need this. Expand
  52. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Great game. I got this game last year and it is just soo fun. The graphics are nothing special but the gameplay is very good. If you get the conquerors expansion it just gets better. They are making Age of Empires 2 HD for steam so you should get it when it comes out. It will revive the awesome multiplayer
  53. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    This is the first strategy game i've and let me tell you it is also the best. Creating your own army and destroying other cities gives you a great pleasure and becoming stronger and stronger till you dominate the world!
  54. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This game is perfectly-balanced tactical game that i kept playing for almost 13 years.. There's only a few other RTS that simple and fun. Although its graphics are obsolete, units still can be differentiated from one another unlike many of modern strategy games. It's a milestone in RTS World. If it were served in a higher resolution like 19200x1200 i could be still playing it today..
  55. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is definitely the best RTS of all time! Great graphics,excellent gameplay,great balance between the factions and it's historicly correct! Too bad the sequels were crappy...Age of Empires III was good,but Age of Empires Online is very,very bad... What were they thinking?!
  56. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    An amazing strategic game, that will grow on you. It's just perfect, because it doesn't have a single problem, and It's fun, really fun. Both, single player and multiplayer are amazing. And I had fun in Map Editor, making your own mission is awesome. 100 out of 100.
  57. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    best rts game eVER!!!!!!!!!. I start play this game 2000 and i still play this game with my friends. i dont are pro in this game but i dont are still full noob =). i play today with Conquerors expansion it better.sorry very bad english
  58. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    The best strategy game of all time. Graphics are telling of 1990's but the RTS element in this game is second to none. Several campaigns, especially with the expansion pack. Delivers one of the best single player experiences I have ever had along with a stellar multiplayer. The ultimate RTS classic and an inspiration to the genre. R.I.P. Ensemble Studios.
  59. May 20, 2012
    10
    There are things you never forget and this game, at least for me, is one of those. Outstanding graphics, which are pleasure to look at even today, perfect game play, great campaigns and lovable units. I am proud to have Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings and its expansion Conquerors between my TOP3 RTS games together with first Stronghold and Starcraft.
  60. May 18, 2012
    10
    10 years have passed since I lead Japanese nation towards victory against the Vikings and the Persian. I decided to play this game after so many years have passed. It reminds me how this game could make hours of my weekend vanished. Nothing could expressed my admiration to this game. Best RTS game of all time? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes.
  61. May 11, 2012
    9
    Hours of fun? Yes. Masterpiece? Yes. Age of Empires 2 is a RTS that rocks, in many ways. The game haves a really great strategy, and the graphics are great. It is classic, and extremely fun. A great sequel and a masterpiece. (9.9)
  62. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best of all times! I still want to play even now. Multiplayer experience was unbelievable. It will never be forgotten. %100 well balanced gameplay.
  63. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This is a great game made by Ensamble Studios and Microsoft Company.Graphic was perfect in time when it had been released.I've spent hours and hours playing campaigns and custom scenarios.Good web site for this game is www.aokheaven.com where you can find a tons of mods,custom scenarios and custom campaigns.Game campaigns are made by real history persons and happenings but on mentioned webThis is a great game made by Ensamble Studios and Microsoft Company.Graphic was perfect in time when it had been released.I've spent hours and hours playing campaigns and custom scenarios.Good web site for this game is www.aokheaven.com where you can find a tons of mods,custom scenarios and custom campaigns.Game campaigns are made by real history persons and happenings but on mentioned web site you will find some custom campaigns which had been made by etc. Britain so it says that Sir John Fastolf won all of his battles against Joan of Arc but in real history he died in first of his comanding his cavarly and in Age of Empires II : The Age of Kings , in Joan of Arc's campaign that is in 3rd scenario which is very very hard. Expand
  64. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    The fact that I still play it today with friends and still have an awesome time shows how amazing this game is. And yes I got it in 1999 for my birthday. Every area of the game is superb. Lots of campaigns, map editor, easy LAN play. It is much better with the Conquerors expansion of course but is still one of the best games I have ever played.
  65. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This game is a classic. Even though its one of the older games in the series I still think it is the best. Absolute gem of a game. There have been many games of this type brought out since its release and very few have come close, even with todays superior graphics not much has touched this game in this genre. If you havent played this go and get it now.
  66. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This has to be the best age of empires. I am able to build walls around half the map,(i have done it),the graphics may be sloppy. but game play is AMAZING!!!!!!
  67. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best RTS games of all time. First it is very stable and had fairly good graphics for its time. Age of empires 2 has plenty of cultures to choose from and the many different options for Armies. It has the 5 Campaigns which are highly historically accurate and Fun. The Great Map editor that comes with it, makes customization easy. Great game.
  68. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Probably the best designed RTS in the history of gaming. Age of Empires was good, Age of Kings is a vast improvement. The campaign in of itself is awesome and perfectly cinematic. But the real beauty is the map editor, which is so simple to use, even a novice can create their own maps. The modding community has created some of the most breathtaking campaign stories I've ever seen in all ofProbably the best designed RTS in the history of gaming. Age of Empires was good, Age of Kings is a vast improvement. The campaign in of itself is awesome and perfectly cinematic. But the real beauty is the map editor, which is so simple to use, even a novice can create their own maps. The modding community has created some of the most breathtaking campaign stories I've ever seen in all of gaming, hell, they've made RPGs out of this game's engine. Even a decade later the community is still strong, hundreds of players are online every day for matches. Expand
  69. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games you will ever play. It is fun, addictive and even historically accurate! Its got unique historical civilistations all with their own unique unit and civ bonus the map editor give the potential to wages seiges against castles and make your own fun maps. The graphics ever though they are older don't let the game down in anyway. A very balanced game the cityThis is one of the best games you will ever play. It is fun, addictive and even historically accurate! Its got unique historical civilistations all with their own unique unit and civ bonus the map editor give the potential to wages seiges against castles and make your own fun maps. The graphics ever though they are older don't let the game down in anyway. A very balanced game the city building and civilasation evolotuion is just as important as burning you enemy to the ground. This game is a must buy forget age of empires 3 thats good but this is better! when i say this i a must buy i mean it go on amazon now and buy it! i comand you! Expand
  70. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    The greatest RTS game ever made, by far. The game play is excellent and it fails to make me bored of it. This is a game that must be played by anyone who enjoys RTS games. Graphics do not mean anything in a game, however for its time the graphics are nice and are fine even for this day and age. If the random map games get boring for some strange reason, there is also a very large amount ofThe greatest RTS game ever made, by far. The game play is excellent and it fails to make me bored of it. This is a game that must be played by anyone who enjoys RTS games. Graphics do not mean anything in a game, however for its time the graphics are nice and are fine even for this day and age. If the random map games get boring for some strange reason, there is also a very large amount of campaigns between AoK and the expansion to keep you occupied. Expand
  71. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This has to be the most complete game ever made. It's entertainment factor is off the charts, it's educational, it's historically accurate, appropriate for all ages and still perfect for anyone to play. It's old, but who cares, it's great. We can't count the entertainment life of this game in hours, it has to be counted in years. I've been playing this game for over 10 years, on and offThis has to be the most complete game ever made. It's entertainment factor is off the charts, it's educational, it's historically accurate, appropriate for all ages and still perfect for anyone to play. It's old, but who cares, it's great. We can't count the entertainment life of this game in hours, it has to be counted in years. I've been playing this game for over 10 years, on and off through other games but I never get bored. It's also not very demanding and cheap so it's essentially available to anyone. Honestly this is the only game that deserves a perfect note because everything is perfect about it: Single Player, Multiplayer, Map editor, Entertainment factor, Game life, Educational values, Soundtrack and A.I.

    Buy it, hell buy 3 copies of it only to encourage its wonderful producers.
    Expand
  72. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    One of the best PC games ever! It's fun, historical, and the music is epic! I always play it whenever I have the chance these days to forget about that awful Age of Empires III game.
  73. DesmondLo
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    I think this game is "best of 2D RTS game all time" not best RTS all time, is nearly prefect. I found a fewer bugs and it's graphics is prefect expect dead and decay graphics (framrate problem). I recommended to play this RTS game, a historical RTS. (Today, I am still play it). -2009
  74. mikebare
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    This game had me spending a lot of hours on it when i was in middle and high school (when the game was even 5 years old). It was purely addicting, and playing online was a blast even when i got my a$$ handed to me often. if you've never played it and don't mind playing aged games, give this a try for sure.
  75. KevinB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    One of the best RTS's of all time, if not the best. Absolutely perfect. Extremely replayable (I still play a couple hours a week almost 10 years later), very addictive. The only downside is that Microsoft no longer provides online services, and I can never seem to get one of the new clients (such as IGZones) to work, but that doesn't take away from the fact that this is an amazing game.
  76. SimonF
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    This is a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions fun and historically correct, it has lots to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most well-balanced game I have ever played. It is also a lot of fun, especially when you play multiplayer. The AI could use an additional difficulty mode, because the hardest mode isn't hard enough for real RTS This is a masterpiece. Not only are the singleplayer missions fun and historically correct, it has lots to offer to new RTS players, as well as old RTS players, and is the most well-balanced game I have ever played. It is also a lot of fun, especially when you play multiplayer. The AI could use an additional difficulty mode, because the hardest mode isn't hard enough for real RTS veterans. I have to highlight the multiplayer again, because it is absolutely fantastic. You can have the most amazing and epic battles with sieges from multiple sides on your opponents castle et cetera. Playing with eight players is an amazing experience because of the importance of alliances, that can be really fragile, especially if you turn on the last man standing mode. This is a wonderful game, and an absolute classic. Expand
  77. ZuffuluZT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best RTS game of all time. Period. ;) Seriously this game has everything you ever wanted in an RTS game. The graphics may not be up to date anymore but since it's 2D it doesn't grow old as fast as 3D titles do. (look at 3D games of that time and you know what I mean ...) The gameplay is just awesome, because it has such a great balance between economy and warfare, which allows Best RTS game of all time. Period. ;) Seriously this game has everything you ever wanted in an RTS game. The graphics may not be up to date anymore but since it's 2D it doesn't grow old as fast as 3D titles do. (look at 3D games of that time and you know what I mean ...) The gameplay is just awesome, because it has such a great balance between economy and warfare, which allows you to build huge cities and train enormous armies to besiege them. Besides that there is just an endless amount of stuff to do in this game, because there are so many different factions, units, strategies, campaigns, scenarios and probably the most easy to use map editor of all time. It is already 9 years old and I am still playing it every now and then, because it just has so much more to offer than all the other RTS games that were released since then, especially AOE3, which was really disappointing to me. There has never been such an addicting RTS game out there, so if you still don't own it, buy it! It is more than worth it. And if you already have it, go and play it again! It is really so much more enjoying than all the modern RTS games with fancy graphics but no substance. Collapse
  78. SrikanttM.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    One of the finest RTS Games ever. Has a great replay value and endless scope,making it a great game. Even after the advent of so many new games, this game stands out for its unique gameplay and strategy.
  79. CedricT.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    It's pointless to hate this game, because at first look your realize the work put into this. The Cathedral alone is example enough to display its excellence in graphics. The gameplay is moderate to control, the campaigns can be challenging, overall it was the best game in its time and still needs be recognized a classic. I still catch myself installing it to play a couple missions. It's pointless to hate this game, because at first look your realize the work put into this. The Cathedral alone is example enough to display its excellence in graphics. The gameplay is moderate to control, the campaigns can be challenging, overall it was the best game in its time and still needs be recognized a classic. I still catch myself installing it to play a couple missions. Masterpiece. Expand
  80. PabloS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the greatest RTS of all time in my opinion even better than starcraft, everything in the game is great the graphs the GAMEPLAY the story lines of campains ... just a revolution on RTS Genre.
  81. DanC.
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Brilliant game. Hot graphics, and an amazing level of depth to the strategy.
  82. CameronM.
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most balanced game I have ever played. I still (it is 2008) play this game with my friends via lan. I cried when it left the zone and the zone was disbanded. The civs have plenty of diversity and the random map generator is far better than premade maps (see warcraft, starcraft etc). I personally consider this the best video game ever made.
  83. JeffC.
    Mar 18, 2007
    0
    This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), the tech trees are needlessly large, and there are too many This has to be the worst RTS ever. There is no element of strategy whatsoever. There are 10 different factions and they are all exactly the same! At least in Starcraft there are differences between the races and makes need for some strategy. The units move ridiculously slow(a king with a pot-belly outran my mounted knights!), the tech trees are needlessly large, and there are too many types of resources Don't buy this junk. Expand
  84. FredB.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. The gameplay is highly enjoyable, the graphics are beautiful, and the user friendly scenario editor adds a substantial modifiabiliy factor that has maintained this game's popularity through the years.
  85. Avenger
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    The civilizations and tecnology trees for each are dynamic, there are so many different stratergies for victory that I'm still finding new ones 7 years on. LONG LIVE AOEII!
  86. SpartanS.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    This game rules!!! I just can't stop playing it. It's addictive and a good choosing strategy game. After a while it gets boring, but once you get back on, you'll have the energy to play more! The best part of this game is multiplayer mode. Then I take on my friends to see who's better.
  87. WalterR.
    Apr 19, 2006
    9
    Simply the best game I have ever played for the PC...hands down. Only Cossacks comes close.
  88. KelvinL.
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    This is the king of RTS and I am still playing it 5years after release. This is because the multiplayer experiance changes every time. The graphics are not anything special, but the gameplay is excellent, which is what really matters.
  89. JohnF.
    May 27, 2004
    10
    The best real-time strategy game ever!
  90. Kevin
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. Completely enjoyable and playable over and over again. Easy to learn, but deep in information and challenges.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Simply an awesome game - great in historical imagery, solid in sound and game play, and a lot of fun to play. The Age of Kings deserves its title.
  2. It’s not a significant improvement as far as gameplay and graphics, but it does help further the claim of AOE as a solid gaming title and a quality multiplayer game. The originality may be gone, but the idea lives on.
  3. I never got into the original game, yet I find AoE II enchanting. The sheer depth of the technology tree and evolution of the civilisation are always a surprise. I particularly like the intuitive logic that makes battles more tactical.