User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 179
  2. Negative: 68 out of 179

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    4
    Competitive player review incoming. First things first, let's get 'free' out of the way. This game is not free. The DEMO is free, that is, the two somewhat playable races are free, the two lowest level gear tiers are free (common/uncommon), and mind numbing PvE is free. This game does do what it sets out to do, however. It was designed to be casual, to be easy and thoughtless and to make a ton of money, and it will likely succeed in all areas. It's not a 'free' game for anyone who enjoys PvP or balance for that matter. It's not a game for anyone who LIKES MONEY, since each race costs what the price of the entire game should be, $20 dollars. Worse yet, unless I am missing something while I painstakingly searched all the controls and settings, they don't even provide hotkeys outside of opening up the settings and controls and digging around for them. No, that barracks you want to build, there is a hotkey but you're too stupid to be told what it is, just click on it. That is the tone of the entire game, a casual, boring, anti-competitive money sink. Cannot recommend this to like-minded tryhards like myself, or anyone who enjoys a challenge for that matter. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    5
    AoE online is an okay RTS. The problem is, it's the most expensive okay RTS out there. Be warned if you're playing on an internet connection that isn't 100% stable too - as this game will boot you to the menu screen as soon as you experience even the slightest drop out.
  3. Aug 21, 2011
    3
    AOE: Online is one of those games that deserves 2 scores in a review. One for what it sets out to do, and one for what it does. At the core of the experience is a highly addictive, fun and competitive online RTS game. Mixed into it are RPG elements such as quests, loot, upgrades and epic items. These let you customize your army to your hearts extent. The upgrades are significant, able to buff the strength of a unit by more than 50%. It makes every match different as you'll encounter players with different items and units at their disposal. While there are still the expected balance issues, it's a fantastic experience.

    But there are negatives to this game, unfortunately a lot of them. The main problem is it's payment model. It claims to be a micro-transaction game but nothing could be less true. The cheapest items you'll find are $7.50 each, and consist of a pack of trees or statues to place in your capital for decoration. Seems pricey? Wait until you see the rest. A premium Civilization will set you back $20 for each one you buy. If you want to purchase everything there is for the next six months, it'll cost you $100. But it's free to play right? No. Unlike other similar F2P Microtransaction titles, Age of Empires cripples its free players. If you don't pay, you have no Advisors (which buff your units), you cannot get equip rare or epic items, and some units will simply be locked out entirely. The power of the locked out units is far greater than the default ones, as demonstrated early on when the game gives you a few of them to mess around with in a PvE scenario. Lacking units plus loot, a free player will NEVER be able to beat a paid subscriber who knows what he's doing. The advantage is just too big, meaning it's pay2win.

    That set aside, there are plenty of issues with the game balance itself as well. For starters, matchmaking is downright broken. When you first set foot in PvP, you'll be level 6. Without hesitating, the game will match you against level 20+ players time and time again. Not only will their identical units be twice as powerful as yours, they'll be able to tech up to an age you don't have access to. You'll be pounding his Tier 3 reinforced stone fortress to no avail with your Tier 1 Spearman as you realize that no matter how many units you produce, you have no way of winning. The RTS games themselves are slowpaced. Your Town Hall, the village-producing default building, comes with a free turret inside it and a crapload of health. Rushing and harassing is impossible here as it chews up tier 1 units and puts the hurt on tier 2 as well. That means the first 5 minutes of every match are the same. Make villagers, get resources, tech up and build units. It becomes tedious fast. Unlock more modern RTSes, there's no constant back and forth here. You want a surefire way to win? Keep your army in 1 place, wait until your ready and storm the opposing army. Expanding beyond your main base is unneccessary and pointless the first 40 minutes and will rarely come into play.

    The PvE factor, the only content available for free players, is downright boring. The first 4-5 hours consist of only tutorial missions. There's no story here, no voice acting or cutscenes. It's build your base and destroy the opposing base. It wouldn't be so bad if the AI gave you any resistance at all, but it doesn't. They send the same 4-5 men to your base every 5 minutes, and your town hall alone is usually sufficient to fend them off. These missions would be over in minutes were it not for the enemy towers placed everywhere that chew up your units. Again, boring, and repetitive.

    It all adds up to a very flawed experience. There's some great fun here. The loot system is unique and addictive. The PvP can be very satisfying, and CooP PvE is still fun as always. The horde-like Crete addon you can purchase is engaging and challenging. But the payment model is unfair to freeloaders. Without those, your community will crumble due to the lack of players. Microsoft has overpriced their content by at least 50% here and made some very poor choices as to what to give to free players. Make no mistake, this game is not free to play. You get a stripped down demo as a free player and have no chance to win. It's a business model that leaves a very sour taste, and I hope that the game fails miserably because of it. So in what it tries to do, I'll give it a 9/10. It's addictive and can be great fun.
    But for what it accomplishes, a 3/10 is generous, and I'm feeling generous today.
    Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2011
    3
    First off, I'm pretty sure the concept of Free to Play and Micro-transaction games have been lost. Free to Play means exactly what it sounds like. FREE. Full content available to you for the low price of $0. Micro-transaction means the full game is available, but different things are available to individuals for a dollar or two. Different models and skins are available to buy along with experience boosters and cash to in-game money transactions are allowed as well for the more casual gamer who wants to be on equal footing as the more hardcore gamer without putting in equal time. In no way should this give someone a competitive advantage who would normally be on equal footing with someone else. Age of Empires Online misses this. The game is incomplete unless you start handing your paycheck over to Microsoft.

    Now for the actual game (or at least what's available). There's nothing wrong with cartoony graphics on a "Free to Play" game. The missions are mind-numbingly repetitive and the MMO aspect is a far stretch. The idea to try to mix an RTS with the permanent aspect of an MMO is brilliant, but AoE:O only succeeds in adding items and a chat box.

    To sum up my feelings on this game: Brilliantly incomplete. I'll give half the score they could have had for half the game they gave me minus a point for lying about it being F2P/Micro-transaction. (8/2)-1= 3
    Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    The PvP in this AoE series is by far the best. The customizable tech tree means you essentially can make your own civ and it is the most fast paced AoE series out there (which imo is good thing). The two civs are also totally unique which is a nice take on the series (instead of having dozens of identical civs), and they have already confirmed 2 more civs this holiday + more to come after. Lastly, the fact this game is an evergreen model means it is just going to grow with more and more features being added - the game is still young at the moment with a development cycle of only 1-2 years. There is one negative however, which is that the "PvE" (single player) part of the game is rather boring (for me personally). However you only need to get to level 5 to PvP ,and then you can bypass that whole section. Give it a try

    P.S - @Chapy, the guy who spent half the time complaining at how you cant change the hotkeys. If you go to options there is a huge button which is labelled hotkeys. You might want to click it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    I'm really enjoying this new take on Age of Empires. The depth of each Civ is amazing and the fact that I can play all the way to level 40 - for free - is awesome. Can't wait for more Civs to come out. I'm likely going to buy the premium content since I really like the bonus items that come with owning more than one civ. My week is shot :-)
  7. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    Age of Empires is a great RTS that I remember playing 10+ years ago. Age of Empires Online offers essentially a free game experience that users can test out and then decide if they like it and purchase components rather than the full box. I really like the RTS/MMO elements of gearing up your civilization and going to battle. Ranked PvP boards are nice as well. Graphics are very detailed and fun. Defense of Crete booster pack offers a different type of game play where people partner (or go solo) and defend their city for as long as possible through waves of enemies - lots of different levels. Pretty innovative for the RTS genre which is lacking lately.

    Lots of future content coming and booster packs - should be interesting to see how it goes.
    Expand
  8. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    what the **** was that b.s.no no no no .that bs is not ****ing age of empire.oh hell no . dose any one reminder the real age of empire. u know Age of Empires the Asian Dynasties of Age of Empires the War Chef the **** was the bs
  9. Sep 1, 2011
    0
    This may just be the worst MMO I've ever seen in my life. $20 per civ, a pay-to-win system, and wonky gameplay compared to previous Age of Empires games are signs that this game won't survive long. I find it hard to believe this was even meant to be a serious game and not an attempt to just see how far you could take microtransactions, and how much you could charge for them. A season pass alone is $100. Expand
  10. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    The best part of Age of Empires Online is that it feels like an Age of Empires game. Fans of the series know what I mean by that. There is just something about the overall feel when you start your very first quest, you know you're playing Age of Empires. I've played the beta and early release, and have been enjoying the game a great deal. Now that my friends have joined me, it's even better. While the art style first had me wondering what the hell the developers were thinking, it now seems like the obvious choice. I initially thought that graphics along the lines of Medieval II would have been better, but with the community of the MMO portion of the game, Iâ Expand
  11. Aug 18, 2011
    3
    Microtransaction model ruins balance, and has changed the gameplay mechanics into something worse. It's supposed to be a strategy game, but this economic model seems to have greatly harmed that. Crappy AI, especially on water maps. Very generic quests. No MMO. It's a multiplayer game, with global chat possibilities, and other players can see your home town. That graphics themselves aren't that big of an issue. What I don't like though, is that combat lacks any sense of fierceness. It feels just as cartoonish as the graphics. It kinda sounds like they're fighting with training weapons. Collapse
  12. Aug 21, 2011
    4
    The Age of Empires series has been on a slope which peaked with the release of Age of Mythology. The Titans, Age of Empires 3 + Expansions have all been falling down that slippery slope. Unfortunately, the valley is nowhere in sight with Age of Empires online and the true fans of the game will find that this slope also comes with many toll stops. The game does present some new and enjoyable features, like a campaign with many missions, customizable units, well-balanced game-play and the online feature is also well instigated. However, even though the free version is free, you get a small amount of material (less than 5 hours of game-play). You are also blocked from many technologies, units, buildings, and civilizations. It would be more accurately defined as a generous demo than a game. The main flaw of this game is the huge price tag for the entire content, $100 for all the civs. There has been a recent trend of many games studios to release DLCs instead of an expansion or new game, the reason being that fans will pay $10 for a glittery new feature but will only pay $20 for an entire expansion. The cost of the entire version of AOE Online can reach $100 but even with all the premium content you are still looking at a game which feels incomplete. Then the realization appears that a huge amount of content has been withheld for the DLC goldmine. This is where the evil Microsoft monster rears its ugly head, squeezing every nickle and dime out of a game that who best be described as "family friendly". Thats right, all of the fans out there who have enjoyed the game since its humble beginnings do not even have a challenge worthy of their time, but at least there kids will be occupied with 10 hours of content at $10/hour. My prediction right now is that by the end of the year enough DLCs will be released to increase the full content price by 50%. My advice, go with Starcraft 2, even though Blizzard is raking in as much money as god with WoW they still had enough respect for their fans to release a complete game, and at half the cost of AOE Online. Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2011
    0
    I have bought every Age of xx game there have been up to now. This is not one. This is a sad sad farmvillized clone perpetrated by the suits of Microsoft that tries to dime and nickle you into boredom. Don't bother, there are so much better RTSs out there. I just wish they hadn't pissed all over the name of this once great franchise.
  14. Aug 28, 2011
    5
    "Meh" is the word that best summarises my experience with Age of Empires Online. The game essentially feels as if the developers took Age of Mythology (minus the Norse), took out all of the interesting differences within the civilisations, chopped the tech tree up into segments that require levels and talent points to unlock and "updated" the graphics style. The quests consist of playing small mission-based maps in lieu of an actual campaign which tend to be fairly droll and repetitive; especially since you'll have all of your tech limited due to level constraints. I've not touched the PvP but I do know it's limited to 1v1 and 2v2; fairly restrictive for an RTS. The biggest positive is that this is all, of course, free, but be prepared for constant bombardments of reminders to visit their RMT store, and unless you spend at least $20 for a Premium Civ unlock ($20 per, mind you) you'll be fairly limited in what units you can build or items you can use. Expand
  15. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    I was very impressed with Age of Empires Online. I was skeptical when I first saw its visually cartoony style, but I'm glad to say that the core Age of Empires formula that I love dearly is still there. Seeing that it's for free at the start, I thought it was a deal too good to be true, and unfortunately it is. You only get two civilizations (Greece, Egypt) without paying, which is fine, but only a fraction of them is given if you choose not to pay (units, missions, buildings are missing). Again, fine, I wouldn't mind paying a little for the full experience, BUT, it's $20 a piece! Just to complete the other half of a civilization. That means to get both Egypt and Greece fully would be $40! That's almost the price of a full retail game, but only with 2 civilizations! Nothing compared to past AoE games. That's not including the Crete Booster Pack or the upcoming civilizations. There is an option to buy a full season1 pass, that includes all features and those upcoming for 30% off, but again, it's $99! Seriously, I could buy two brand new PC games for that price, and, only for 4 civilizations (Greece, Egypt, Persia, Celts). I would still recommend this game if the free version was outstanding, and while the mechanics of the game are great, the free part of the game is only a glorified 'demo', which doesn't allow one to initiate online matches or advance past a certain part of the main game. I'm highly disappointed, the Age of Empires series is my favorite on the PC. Expand
  16. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    It's really easy, but I'm still in kind of tutorial part of the game, when it's foolish to expect a great deal of challenge. It's getting better and better though, especially now when I reached level 2 and unlocked the option to upgrade units. The system is pretty simple - you have 3 tabs: Economy Units (town center, villagers, storehouse etc.), Military units (Barracks, Spearman) and Utility units (Scouts, Houses). On the right side of the unit's icon, you have slots in which you can put upgrades that you get by doing quests. For example, next to the Barracks you have two slots: one for boosting the armor of the structure and one for boosting abilities of the structure (I'm guessing that is for boosting the building's efficiency). Also, you have another tab which displays all of your available units. This game is givinig me a great deal of satisfaction. I really like it so far but there is one problem and that is regarding PvP - lack of balance. Today I played against a guy that was level 7 while I was only level 4. I had better tactics, was faster and if this was Starcraft 2 I would had pwned the guy, but since he had higher level (therefore was better equipped), he dominated 10 of my soldiers with only a fist-ful of archers. Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    I'm hooked! Age fans can breathe a sigh of relief now that Age Online has launched. The game stays true to the Age Franchise while delivering a free experience as well. Gameplay is similar with lots of quests and competitive matches. The capital city is a whole new element that you can customize to reflect your personal taste and game strategy. This game is going to keep me up for many nights to come... Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2011
    1
    Well I was looking forward to this game. I downloaded it the first day and decided after the first day to get the $40 content DLC. Well I was fighting random game crash after game crash since i started. I decided to reinstall the game to hopefully fix the problem. And now I can't even start the game up. So the time I did get to play it was a good game but again the word is "get to play" Going to try and get a refund but i am not holding my breath and then wait until they fix the bugs (if they do) not really seeing a lot of info on Microsoft side on the forums. Good luck with the game. Expand
  19. Aug 19, 2011
    1
    As some others have already said, there is nothing "free" about this game whatsoever. You can actually join the game and level all your way up to level 40, which is really boring as the quests are really repetitive. Nevertheless, you can do it if you want to.

    On the other hand, the "PvP" which should be the main part of the game as any other AoE game is highly restricted to free players,
    you can't even play against a friend, nor choose your ally when playing 2v2 matches.

    With the extremely abusive prices, $20 for one civ, and future features which should be in the game in the first place and for free were already announced, and they will charge for them.
    I played through the beta so I know how the game is like, it is fun in "PvP" when you have all the implemented features (despite many bugs after public release), but again, you'll have to spend **** of money to actually get the full game.

    In the end, it could be great. However, it is clearly targeted on MMO and RPG players, as people are treating those boring quests as the actual game, when the multiplayer ("PvP") should be everything the game is about. This should be a RTS game after all. I guess.
    Expand
  20. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    MMO + RTS = AoE Online. I have been enjoying leveling and questing in the AoE RTS style. It has the great feel of the older AoE RTS games with the new added MMO elements. The graphics are fun and entertaining. The cartoon look reminds me of TF2. The game is free to play but there are options to pay which give more gear and content. For me since I have been enjoying the game the $20 was a no brainer. Overall a great game. Give it a try it is free. Expand
  21. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Fantastic and enjoyable MMO/RTS. I've been waiting for an MMORTS game like to come out for a very long time and it doesnt dissapoint. The game sticks true to the series and it very much feels like an age of empires game. Building up your capital city is also very enjoyable and definitely has an effect on questing (the traditional RTS side). My only gripe with the game is that its dependant on Games for Windows Live and has caused alot of confusion and network errors when trying to connect to my PC that took a while to fix. Otherwise, an excellent game. Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2011
    4
    The gameplay is somewhat fun and do not mind the nice,low-poly-so-it-runs-on-everything artstyle that is now featured in so many games. The price structure on the otherhand is not okay. The free is content is nothing more then a demo which would be okay. But the cost to buy content is very overpriced. This doesn't even deserve the name "micro"transactions anymore, what they're asking for are macrotransactions. Yes, there's some free content, but to me personally, this feels like the biggest rip-off since the infamous horse armour, and I am not one to complain about game prices usually. If you want something that comes close in content to what an RTS gave you in the past, you'll pay a multiple. What's worse, they're testing the waters with this, obviously. It pains me to say so, but I hope this experiment - with its current pricing structure fails spectacularly. Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I have been enjoying AoE Online as a free player since launch and so far have been loving it. The free content alone is a similar experience to playing the old Age of Empires retail game, but with a huge graphical upgrade. One day I may upgrade to a Premium civ but for now my free civ is providing me with with hours of fun reminding me of my teenage years of AoE and AoE 2.
  24. Sep 5, 2011
    5
    It seems like a nice update on the originals but having to folk out well over £70 to unlock all the tribes is beyond a joke... no thanks, can buy all the originals and save £50
  25. Oct 2, 2011
    0
    I loved AoE 1 and AoE 2, and also i loved Microsoft for making one of the greatest RTS in history. No More. This game is a demo, because you can only play with 2 races. You must pay to gain access to the other races that are more OP than the free races. So basically this game is another attempt to gain money squeezing a good franchise. Don't even play it, please.
  26. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    This brings me back to the good ole days of RTS. Not overly complex with fluff and useless tools. As your progress the AI gets pissed and it will produce a challenge. PvP is pretty fun nothing great but sometimes that's can be the best. I normally hate ALL play for free games as they seem to always be play to win bull. This game however just lets you unlock things that you STILL have to earn/make which is nice. There is a lot to do and is quite fun to play. So far the only issue (no a big deal at all) is the price for the "season one" pack is a little ridiculous, but than again you DON'T have to get it. Try it out its FREE! Expand
  27. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    Loved AoE 2 and definitely looking like I'm heading for lot and LOTs of sleepless nights playing Age of Empires Online. Beyond capturing a core Age2 gameplay I remember so fondly, it's like the devs put together a game where Age2 had a baby with WoW, and this AoEO is the resulting baby. Very much love the additions of leveling up by questing, working through the tech tree, crafting, and of course being able to share the experience with my son via playing co-op. Would type some more by have my eye on level 15 tonight, checking out the Defense of Crete addon. Expand
  28. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Brings back great memories. This game is sweet, will only get better with time. I can't wait for the new races. I was always a viking/celt kind of guy.

    Anyway, glad its back and the gameplay is nice.
  29. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Age of Empires Online, bottom line, is a fun and addicting game. I, like many, have played the AoE pantheon of games and enjoyed them. When I heard that this would be coming out I was pleased that one of the best franchises in gaming was getting a reboot. I played the beta and had a great time doing so. That's why I was amazed at some of the very negative reviews on here. I felt I needed to write my own review and clear up what I feel are some misconceptions. First off, the game is free to play. Those that say it is not don't understand the concept. Choosing to play either the Greeks or the Egyptians, you can level all the way to 40 without paying a dime. I love how people moan and groan "but I don't get any of the cool stuff!" That's like getting a brand new car for free and complaining that it doesn't have the latest gps or sound system. I have no problem having to pay some money to experience the premium content of the game. But the point is I don't have to if I don't want to.

    That brings me to my next point, cost. I do feel that $20 to unlock all the content for one civilization is a bit pricey. I would have gone with 10-12 bucks for each one, but all in all it's not too bad. Considering if you went out and bought a traditional box game for $60 bucks, then paid 5-10 dollars for each dlc, $20 for all a civilization has to offer is probably a decent deal. Where MS really missed the boat however is the $100 Season Pass. Any and all content that is released in a 6 month period is yours to keep for $100. Whoever came up with this one at MS needs to take Econ 101 again. If MS wants to retain a good player base for years to come they need to rethink how they charge for blocks of content. When I saw that $100 dollar price tag, and for 6 months? Try again MS.

    All in all, I feel AoEO is great fun and has a lot of potential to improve. I actually like the graphics, even though some people think they are too cartoony....I heard the same thing when WoW came out and look how that has done. There is a lot of stuff to collect, missions to do, as well as improvements to your home city and to your units you can do. Again, if you want to see ALL that the game as to offer you will have to open your wallet. My guess is it took 40-50 million dollars to make this game, in addition to the cost of continuously adding more content. But then again, you can play for free as well. It's up to you.

    I recommend giving AoEO a try. If you are like me, you will find the game fun enough to want to spend some money to unlock all the goodies available with the civilization of choice, in my case the Greeks. But the beauty is you don't have to spend any money if you do not want to.
    Expand
  30. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Yes, this game is not *free*, but its cheaper than every other browser MMO. Game costs only 20$ for premium pack for one civ. It's cheaper then buying indefinite amount of buffs, items and other perks as it is in other FreeToPlay MMO games. This premium pack assure that in the PvP all players is equal. It is not possible to buy in-game items and other stuff to gain power in the PvP. Art style is pretty neat and overall gameplay isn't changed from previous series. Expand
  31. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    10/10. As an old AoE player I was skeptical about this release, but actually this is one of the best games I've played in a while. If you enjoyed AoM, you'll like this game. It's not overly ambitious with the MMO stuff, but there's enough to make it interesting. People complaining that the game isn't 100% free should stop trolling; you really thought they'd just give you a free game? There is lots of content available without spending a cent.

    Are you telling me you think $20 for a civilization - (so... $20 + $20 + $10 + $10 = $60 for the two civs and the two bonus gameplay modes) is too expensive? Compared with the price of other MMO games this is cheap; and compared with Starcraft 2 it's a bargain.
    Expand
  32. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Honestly for $20, there is plenty of fun with this game, just because you could spend more doesn't mean you have to. I played during the beta as well, overall, I really like this game and have felt the $40 (bought both egypt and greek premium) were well worth the value. I've already played more hours here, than I did with SC2, which was $60!

    The co-op missions during the campaign are
    great fun. I like this game better than AoE3, game balance feels more like AoE2. The crafting is a bit cumbersome as are always running out of inventory space for crafting materials, but I didn't really play this game for the crafting... The only real -1 I have is that skirmish mode should have been included at launch, so you can have more than 2 people in co-op. I don't like that it forces you to go through a number of single player quests (and being level 3) before you can co-op, but it's not that big of a deal to mark it down. I'd rather they had an option for advanced players to "skip the tutorial" quests and go right to co-op. Anyhow, I'd give it a thumbs up! Expand
  33. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    I have been playing for free so far and I admit it has been fun. I don't know whether paying for things will be worth it or not. Time will tell I guess. Looking forward to the Celts. :)
  34. Sep 7, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. age of empires feels s lot more as a limited demo then even close a f2p or even pay one or more time(s) for the first 10 levels you stuck with tutorial quests with can only get skipped if you have the done it with the same civilization. after that the quest get someting of interest and there after gets repeatable un till you reached a sertan lvl but then again some new quest with alot of repeatable and before you know if you held long enough . then you will already reached the max lvl of 40 shortly. and you will ask yourself how long am i going to play it? for f2p you will be on a very short least of wat you need like a good balance vs premium, store space, and resource gathering in you capital, and limited buildings for in your capital and a limits every were and a constant reminder to get premium *if* you decide to get premium (with it rather had needed at lvl 20 or higher) you find yourself rather scammed for wat you receive the price you paying for even the smallest things (its about 50-75% overpriced) f2p members risk getting items on quest witch the cant discard unless they go get premium wat is disturbing because you already far to limited on the storage space. you got. don't, expect *free* pvp or a sandbox game like you could at the previous age of empires. keep you 20 USD or euros in your pocket for something else, this game isn't worth it even for its f2p Expand
  35. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    AoE Online is fun. I'm seeing reviews complaining about the pricing of the addons. You can play for free and get a good chunk of content. 20 bucks will get you a premium civ which gives you quite a few perks. They offer a Launch pack that's 50 and covers all release content (which is really just 2 civs, a mission pack, and some decorative stuff.) They also have a 100 dollar pack that gives you all coming content for the next 6 months.

    "You only get two civilizations (Greece, Egypt) without paying" - those are the only 2 civs available right now, even if you pay.

    I see a complaint about it being casual - know what? That's EXACTLY what I need. I have kids and a life. I'm not competive - I just want to log in here and there and play some light RTS.

    It's like an mmo - you level up your civilization to get better items, units, buildings, etc. You can get by just fine if you only want to spend 20 for a single civ. It's not like the old AoE games where you pick your race for each round - you kind of WANT to stick to just one to get it leveled up.

    Yes, the prices could be lower, but they're hardly worth complaining about IMO. As a standalone game I would say it's worth 30-40 bucks, so I'm willing to put that much into it. If they keep adding new content then I don't see why it's such a sin to chuck in a few bucks here and there. Anyone that's played a subscription mmo shouldn't have a problem with it.

    I have not once been disconnected, the gameplay is good, graphics are good, prices could be a little lower. Overall, AoE is a solid game that has so far entertained me more than Starcraft 2 has.

    Just be warned, do NOT tie it to the live account you may have for your xbox 360. Made that mistake in beta and I kept kicking my kids off Netflix when I logged into the game.
    Expand
  36. Aug 29, 2011
    6
    I have spent several hours with this game and find it to be a wonderful "free" game. The basics are all there for all to play and the game teaches you how to be competitive and shows you units through a forced story mode. The leveling system is interesting and reminds me of the Total War series research, but over a long period of time.
    Honestly the best part of this game is the pay
    system IMHO. It allows you to play for free vs other people in NON-ranked modes, but if you pay ~$20-$40 (in microsoft points... BLEH) you can play this game ranked against other people. As you play you get items you can equip onto your units that make them have bonus % to different areas of there game, this allows for variability other RTS games don't provide.
    Overall this game is fun, I mean lets be honest here, its Age of Empires! But personally I don't see myself dropping money into this game with competition like the super well made Starcraft 2 already bought.
    Expand
  37. Sep 4, 2011
    1
    Rip off for money. There is your another f2p / microtrransaction rip-off system that is widespread in mmorpg's and now it's coming for other genres. Sure you can try to play for free , but it is nothing more like a handicapped demo. People that had spend $ will roll over you with no problem, they just have advantage over free player. Like in all f2p games.
    But maybe so want to pay? Then
    you will get 2 civilizations for 40$ + if you want to be competetive you need to spend another ~20$ for civilization booster packs + there are still separate items in item store for additional $. Then new civilization will come for and each is at least 20-30$. Remember item store is still offering more. Previous AoE games shipped with alot of content and with like 8-12 civilizations each for one time expense of 40-50$. Really AoE Online is a rip-off compared to it.

    Add a graphics that resemble cartoons for 6 year old kids , bad AI , boring missions and that game give a feeling like go spend spend $ = win then you have full view.

    Vote with your wallet and buy & play games that don't use microtransactions , item stores and things like that , which will cost you way more than your usual flat-rate game that you buy for 50$ or eventually 40-50$ + subscription.
    Expand
  38. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    I am an RTS fan in general, and have fond memories of playing Age Of Empires and Age of Empires 2 as a kid. In my humble opinion, this is a good game. The in-game gameplay is what we have come to expect from an Age of Empires title, given a unique graphical update that I find fun and refreshing.
  39. Sep 30, 2011
    2
    The game started out poorly and has only gone downhill since. More then 6 weeks after launch we finally got the first patch. The patch did not fix a single issue people had been complaining about since launch. In fact the only thing it did was make game balance worse then prior.

    Avoid this game at all costs, the developers are running this historical franchise into the ground.
  40. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    To be honest when the game came out back in August it seems that a lot of bad decisions were made and the game itself was incomplete but the modifications that are being made gave a breath of air. And the following patches will be crucial because they contain a mode that will please a lot of users.
  41. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    I have played all the AOE games and this one is uniquely different in that it is purely online, partly RTS and part MMMO. It can be F2P but I have not played it that way because I really beieve you get what you pay for in the end. I call this a flawed gem of a game. I have enjoyed the first 3 months but is has also been frustrating. The PvP experience at present has been poor but I have enjoyed the questing, trading and even haven't minded the grinding.
    Today they patch the PvP side which will improve that experience. Each month they have been patching, adding new content and generally improving the game. If this continues and it should because the Celts and Skirmish mode have been promised for December, this game will start to reach its full potential and become as good (I believeit has the potential to be better than the previous games) as its predecessors.
    Expand
  42. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    I have to give this game a zero. I downloaded the game through Steam as they had the All-In-Wonder Bundle for 66% off. But unlike other Steam games, I can't just simply download the game and play it. This "Games of Windows Live" App keeps popping up and I've tried several times to register, create a profile, download patches, etc.. and nothing I do seems to please it. So since Games of Windows Live won't let me log into the game, it's a fail. Too bad, because I absolutely loved the first three AoE games. Expand
  43. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    As others have said, I was rather skeptical with the cartoon style of AoEO. However, I gave it a try and it was decent. But the more I played, I noticed a lot of aspects of the game were missing. How to get them? Paying. Unless you were expecting to get the whole game for free, it'll satisfy any AoE fan out there for a while.
  44. Feb 25, 2012
    3
    The destruction of a once mighty franchise, this game defecates on its predecessors. The Games for Windows LIVE client will also try its best to prevent your play. This franchise deserved better, if you want to play Age of Empires stick to the original trilogy or Cossacks.
  45. Oct 10, 2011
    2
    Terrible. complete waste of time. Quests are repetitive, and usually amount to "go here and destroy a Hut" I got to level five and cant say anything has been the least bit satisfying. Almost no strategy like in previous AOE.The game actually wont let you build certain unit types unless you purchase premium content. This was marketed as a FREE GAME, the premium content should have some perks yes, but PERKS, not core game play elements. Its like giving a FPS away for free but you have to pay 60$ to use anything bigger than a pistol. It even goes as far as to "reward" you with gear that you cannot utilize unless you pay Microsoft real money. This game is a pure Cash-grab, they don't care how fun it is. but i guess there are those who will actually pay. Expand
  46. Oct 2, 2011
    0
    "Worst Age of Empires game in the franchise" is a bit of an understatement. "Worst RTS release of the past 5 years" is more suitable.

    I waited until after the first patch was released before posting any sort of review anywhere online, and wow, I'm glad I waited. The "Patch" that was supposed to fix major bugs and add new 'Legendary' content to the game didn't do much more than introduce
    game-crushing lag, 2 new Dupe exploits, and recycled end-game Quests with the difficulty dialed up to 11. No new content, just new bugs and new reasons to never play this game ever again.

    To make matters worse, the GPG/MS team has decided to take the ever-popular stance of banning players who are critical of the game on their forums.

    Adding to all of this is the ridiculous pricing model which has the stink of Microsoft all over it.

    Stay very far away from this game.
    Expand
  47. Oct 12, 2011
    2
    Lets start with the obvious. This game is not good. You can get a very small amount of enjoyment in a few missions, which is why I gave it a 2 instead of a 0.

    Okay now for the reasons for my score.
    1. RTS = Real Time STRATEGY but there is no strategy in the missions. You simply attack some random target with a mass of troops.
    2. The campaign is not really a true campaign but a bunch
    of random missions where you do unimportant attacks in order to gain levels (in a killing boars in WoW kind of way).
    3. The story is quite bad. In previous AOE games, the stories were great, for instance I remember the Ghengis Kahn mission being excellent. The story in this game is quite thin.
    4. The PvP (unranked) is quite bad. You can be level 8 or 10 and play someone that's any level at all. They have no level comparison. This means that you could potentially have 3 or 4 units TOTAL and you're playing against folks that have everything. Why bother doing PvP? The previous AOE games were significantly better with multiplayer.
    5. I understand that they are trying to sell premium civs but seriously, do they have to mention it every 10 seconds?

    I could go on but I've probably already lost 75% of the readers. Suffice it to say, this game is pretty bad but the single player campaign is (believe it or not) more boring than bad. This game literally makes me want to go to bed in the middle of a mission. The only actual good thing about AOEO is that if you care about achievements, you can get some in this game after just a few short hours of gameplay and not pay for the game to get them.
    Expand
  48. Oct 15, 2011
    0
    I gave AoE:O a try, but sadly technical glitches stopped me getting over the first hurdle. I can start the game, sign into GFWL, but after choosing my civ the game dies with a BND022 error. No help from the forums. Epic fail. There's hundreds of games on Steam that work - go there instead.
  49. Jun 4, 2012
    5
    This is a clone of AoE 2, adapted in a way to earn the developers tons of cash. You gain every upgrade, and by upgrade I mean the sames as AoE 2, and very few, for your civilization one by one through endless quests giving you endless missions which are all really easy and pointless. Through this you gain a sense of progression and get brainwashed to play more. when you get a good item, you need to pay real cash to unlock the ability to use it. Despite the fact that the item is useless in a gameplay stand point if you want to play multiplayer you'll have to unlock it or else get raped by those who have it. To gain full access to most civilizations, you have to once again pay. Do yourself a favor and buy Age of Empires 2 for 5$, if it's even sold anymore, and get a better experience than this. The actual gameplay and game itself is equally good than AoE 2, so therefore it's good..I can't deny it. But it's still the same game adapted to be a money vortex. Expand
  50. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    Avoid this game, avoid this game at all costs. it requires games for windows live to work. its a free game that requires a cd key, so to get it working you have to go to "buy" it from xbox.com because games for windows live doesn't exist anymore and have to put in billing information to secure your 0$ purchase. This problem has been around since March 2012 and nobody(not least the developers or Microsoft) wants to fix it. so after you install the game you have to search through forums in order to make it work at all. and after all that if you bought dlc on steam you are fresh out of luck because nobody has an answer as to how to redeem that dlc.
    Nobody will help you with the fundamentally broken GFWL. They have your money they don't care what you think of them. I cannot comment on the game itself because after two hours of trying to get it working I've pretty much given up on any hope that it actually exists.
    Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Giving this game a zero is just wrong. Yes maybe it is more fun against the computer than competitively but it is a much better experience than Starcraft 2. I play Starcraft 2 until the end and yes that was fun but then thats it. I don't like to play against Koreans online so in one month the game is over. Age of Empires is fun for the whole family and various difficulties. It needs two things. Heroes like Warcraft 3. And a better level 40 experience. It is very hard to get the gear that is strong enough for the legendary and level 40 missions. Other than that it is my favorite RTS since Warcraft 3. In ways it is much better. You feel a connection to each empire. Expand
  52. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    having played all the AOE series
    il say this is the best
    top graphics , quests ,pvp all in one
    there are some issues for few peeps with online pvp connections etc but
    thats to be expected
  53. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    I decided to wait a while to play this game after reading the initial reviews. I wanted to wait until the DLC stuff became cheaper.

    Been playing it now for a month and it is actually really fun. It’s no worse or better than SC2 or any other RTS out there.

    On steam right now, you can purchase your race upgrade for $10.00 and the skirmish pack for $5.00. And with those two options you
    have tones of quests and skirmish games ahead. So basically you can have hours of fun for just $15.00.

    The game combines city building, mmo style level/gearing and of course, RTS. It doesn’t take itself so seriously and is really amusing to play.

    I understand the low scores at initial release, but right now I would recommend it.

    Oh, and some people complain about the Games for Window login. I just don’t get it. It took a whole of “count to thirty” to figure out I had to make an GWFL account and figure out how to log in.
    Expand
  54. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Absolute awesomeness! The only drawback is that to unlock everything you must spend a little bit of money. Other than that this game is amazing! That's all I have to say about this game.
  55. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Yes, this game requires payment to fully unlock civs ($10 per civ), thus allowing better gears to be equipped. However, if you play this game patiently, you could do many daily repeatable quests and non-combat quests to get to level 40. Then join the alliance wars, and just either donate materials or do some of the easy alliance quests to get alliance points. It will convert into Empire Points every 24hours, as well as accumilative 7 days and 30 days. Within a month, you would be able buy premium content with the "farmed" Empire Points. After I bought my first premium civ using EP, I was able to create a lot more materials at a time, and from then on, all i did was collect the mats and donate them for points everyday. Sometimes I cbf, but either way, I've "farmed" at least $50 of EP just by doing that. Then yes, unlock more premium civs more mats more donation to npc more EP. It's like a business, starting out small and becoming successful. Isn't that the most satisfying thing in any game?
    Now, I don't know what to do with my over-abundance of EP... awks.. lol i started buying vanity :/
    P.S On average, it should only take about 1.5 to 2 months to farm that 900 EP to unlock a civ. From then on, it takes far less and so on.

    Gameplay wise, the sound effects are great, combat is pretty okay, love the versatility of the skirmish room, but i wish there could be more than just 4v4. Defence of Crete is BEAST. And yes, gotta unlock all that with EP ^.^

    This game gets an 8 because of the "long" initial phase of getting a premium civ. Everything else is awesome
    Expand
  56. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    I made my original review of this game back in August 2011. I scored it as a 5. The score was based on Gameplay vs. Cost. At the time it would have cost somewhere in the region of £90 to play this game with the premium DLC's I felt were an integral part of the game, and after playing a few missions with the free but severely limited content I felt the score was justified and 9/11 people who read my original review seemed to agree......... So, now the game has had a big revamp in Spring '12. A big patch to address some major issues, a reduction in the price of the premium DLC packs, but most important of all, a release on Steam with a special "Wonder" bundle for just £9.99 - a 10th of the original cost....... Needless to say, I immediately bought the wonder bundle and began to play the game with all the premium content installed. I even went to the GFWL marketplace and bought a couple of the aesthetic DLC packs (which will work on the steam version once you have updated your downloads via the GFWL application).......... I have already ploughed 25+ hours into the game in less than a week and I'm enjoying every minute of it. The game lets you play it at your own pace, so should you find it difficult to beat some of the missions, you can create your own skirmishes vs the AI at a difficulty level you like until you eventually level up enough to take on the missions you were failing at....... The online aspect of the game is quite good with being able to trade and play vs or co-op with others in your server, giving it a slight MMO feel. It could do with a fully functioning Auction House to add to the economic side of things, but at the moment it seems ok. Graphically the game is nice, and everything loads in really fast and doesn't seem to tax my slightly ageing PC................ Overall I now score the game as a 9/10 and I feel it now justifies the score. Sure it is quite different to its predecessors, and there will no doubt be a proportion of the AoE fanbase who won't like this version. If you are new to the series, or even new to RTS, this game is one that you should give a lot of consideration to. Expand
  57. Jul 5, 2012
    2
    This is an Age of Empires MMO in 2D graphics. Not really good game. You can't do a lot of things, without paying for it. I hate that game, where u need to pay to be much better. I know that this is a F2P game, but its not cool.
  58. Nov 26, 2012
    5
    Graphics are OK and gameplay is very straightforward, but unless you're prepared to either grind or pay up there's nothing you can really do here. You can only get around 5 achievements at most without paying in a reasonable amount of time and the rest you have to pay. It's not a bad idea but there's no real motive to play the game. Sure, there are a lot of quests, trading to be done, ranking up, building stuff, getting achivements etc. and the co-op is pretty good. However, the lack of anything innovative and the unpolished nature of the game mean it's not something which is worth playing unless you're prepared to pay something. It may be free to play but there's nothing to do. It's pretty much pointless this game but at least it's free to download and try out and if you're still interested you can start buying stuff. Otherwise there's nothing to see here.Just an MMORTS which most certainly IS NOT FREE. Expand
  59. Jan 14, 2012
    1
    I do not know where to start. I love Age of Empires series, I have played all of them for countless hours, because they were and still are, one of the best series of real time strategy. But THIS game is not Age of Empires! Developers just took the name of the famous series to make more money. I am writing this review in January 2012. The game has been released 6 months age. Majority of the features that every AoE had in day 1, AoEO does not have, they just now released option to play a skirmish. Which is still incomplete. You cannot play ranked 2v2 with your friend, there is no campaign, only the same boring missions again and again, every new civilization is priced 20 dollars, and actually the skirmish will be paid too.....I could continue, but I think you got the picture. I give this game 1/10. You may ask why? Well, I do not know, maybe it is a spark of hope, that after one year, we will get a proper AoE game, but not this, not this. Expand
  60. Sep 4, 2012
    4
    An RTS game with elements of RGP, and I must admit its a great idea and could be put to good use, however, its not what happens. They build a mode called pvp champion where pure RTS players can play against another players without any element of RPG, it means all civs and players should have the same chance to win, but unfortunately it doesn't happen because the new civs (Pros) are much stronger than the free civs, which makes the game totally unbalanced to play. The funy thing here is that they have a entire "balance team" working to make this game balanced, but the game is becoming to be the opposed of it... About the RPG elements, it also is exploited poorly, there is not a ranked or reward for players that wants to play against another players in this mode making it borring, the only think that can be done here is to play against computers. To get it worse, the game appears to be in development, and all new updates make the game less fun. Its a shame they have only bad ideas, and the only thing that works is what they copy from another games... Expand
  61. Apr 19, 2012
    6
    This game is an interesting blend of MMO and RTS. The graphics are cartoony without being too silly, the RTS part of the game is solid (which can be expected of a game that comes from a rich RTS background). However, the pieces that make it an MMO don't necessarily add to the experience. And the fact that the 'levelling' still takes quite a bit of time makes the game become a bit boring quickly. The missions try to be varied, but due to how slow you progress between the ages it's a bit redundant: how many times can we go and build boats to destroy the other side's fishing vessels? On the flip side, when you do get to the next age, you get a boatload of new features that you may or may not use; perhaps introducing them gradually would have been a better approach. It's an interesting concept, but perhaps one that isn't as good in practice. I wound up playing for about 10 hours, and buying the whole version due to the sale. I didn't experience a big difference and quit shortly thereafter - I should have stayed free-to-play. Expand
  62. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    Obligatory 0 for using Games for Windows Live. An unforgivable offence, as GfWL is Microsoft's attempt to kill PC gaming in favor of the Xbox. And this being an MMO-style game, I can't even pirate it, so I have no way of playing it at all. Then again, looking at the other reviews, that's probably a good thing.
  63. Mar 28, 2012
    4
    I know it's hard to complain about a free game, but in this case I felt I had to. I would have much rather paid $50 to have a full version age of empires IV that stayed true to the first three. (I still to this day play age of empires III all the time.) After playing this game with several other friends for 2 days we all grew tired of it and quit playing.
  64. Aug 21, 2012
    4
    This game was really bad! It didn't look like an Age of Empires game at all! Bad cartoony graphics, pay to win system and only 2 civilizations which were basically the same. They wanted to make a casual game,but a good Age of Empires will never be a casual game! The game was, in one word-CRAP!! Then Gas Powered Games took over and game started to become better but it was too late. They can't change the graphics from cartoony and crappy (like other kids and indie games) to amazing and realistic (like every other Age of Empires and every other good game with high budget), they can't change the whole game!! The best thing to do is to throw this game in the trash and start a new project like Age of Empires 1 HD or Age of Empires 4 but not in the next age (world wars) because we all know what happened to Age of Empires III with rifles, they need to make a game in Medieval times like Age of Empires II , or like Age of Empires I in Ancient times. Expand
  65. Sep 4, 2012
    0
    One of the worst games I have ever seen. It claims to be free to play, yet is incredibly difficult to even start, and then once you start it you find out that it's just a demo, and then a game that costs upwards of 200$. The "micro"transactions range from 7.50 all the way to 100$, and if you don't buy anything, then the main element of the game (PvP) is just you getting beaten by everyone who pays for the game. Even if it was the best RTS player in the world playing against one of the worst, if the worst paid for everything and the best paid for nothing, the worst player would easily be able to win, as the game is pay-to-win rather than pay-to-have-nicer-looking-things like normal f2p games. Expand
  66. Mar 6, 2013
    3
    I played it 2 years ago and it was not a F2P game at all. It was totally a Pay 2 Win game, playing free unbalanced game. So disappointing game, made me lose a lot of time to give him a chance (did like 15 first missions). I would give it a 3 in case someone enjoys playing a game with 0 chances as a free player.
  67. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    From what I've played of it, I find that Age of Empires Online has 3 huge flaws. Number 1 is that buildings are incredibly weak. In previous age of empires games, you could wall of your villagers/economy so it doesn't get decimated. In this game, walls and buildings are destroyed really fast by pretty much any unit. Number two on my list is that siege is very overpowered. Catapults and ballistas do no friendly fire, but they do massive damage to enemy units. You can just spam cavalry or infantry to defend them, and they'll tear through foes. Also, they'll demolish buildings in practically seconds, so any attempt to build defensive towers and fortresses is useless. Finally, there are way too many microtransactions. Do you want to play a different civilization? That will be $10 more dollars if you want to do anything with it. Do you want to give yourself free resources instantly in quests and unranked matches? More cash down the drain. Besides these flaws, it is a solid game if you don't mind the cartoon graphics, which is why I'm giving it a 5/10. Expand
  68. Feb 23, 2013
    1
    Don't know what the point of the game is, as I was unable to create units, power up, do anything. Even though it's 'free', it's still a ripoff because it cost me time to figure out that this is a total dud. If you're a fan of the Age of Empires franchise, you'll be deeply disappointed
  69. May 9, 2013
    3
    I'll keep this short as I really do not have much to talk about here...

    While it may seem colourful and good-looking and "oh, it's the age of empires"...
    This game in uninspiring and straight-forward boring.
  70. May 21, 2013
    0
    OMFG This is NOT a free game. I was looking for a good construction game in the category "don't hustle me for my money", this wasn't it. If you want a half descent game you will have to buy the "starter pack" and the "booster bundle" which comes to 37,98 EURO!!!
  71. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    One of the best RTS games ever. Best game in the AOE series. Some say that the graphics look cartoonish. But it enables you to quickly identify the buildings units and allows the game to load on older machines. (I ran the game in 2007-sih old laptop with reduced resolutions.)

    Downsides:
    1. Microsoft stopped developing the game any further. What was implemented so far is all that one
    got.
    2. Had to buy one premius civ to make my time worth it. ($10 during promotion.) Even then it needs lot of time in PvE to raise to level 40. Now on hindsight I would have skipped PvE and just would've gone for PvP.

    Positives:
    1. Very fast paced game. You should check the vidoes provided in youtube streams of community manager IamPrezSteve and in twitch.
    2. Still active PvP gamers. And if you read the official forums, lot of experienced gamers still discuss balancing the civilizations.
    3. Each civ is unique and differs quite "substantially" from other civs. They have unique gameplay and are enjoyable if you perform the same quest but with different civ.
    Expand
  72. Jun 5, 2013
    2
    I will try and make this short and sweet this game will lure you in with very easy starting missions and tries to show it is actually playable for free. After you play for a couple hours however you realize THIS IS THE MOST SATANIC FTP GAME EVER! i have never seen a game be so cruel to the FTP player in my life. Heres a quick rundown of why. After those first couple hours the enemies will greatly outpower your own with gear you cannot beat because you cannot get any gear better than common/uncommon which is absolutely and instead of having to pay once to get the premium civilizations you HAVE to buy them all separate and if you dont you have the choice of 3 civilizations which are free, instead of 6 which you have to pay for. Even after all of that and you get the premium unless your absolutely amazing at strategy games and i mean REALLY REALLY amazing your gonna have to buy instant spawn units from the real money shop to stop your base from being immediately zurg rushed by enemy units. i unfortunately cannot tell you how the pvp is you'll have to look at another review to see that but if your not a hardcore pvp player and want a nice cheap good strategy game just buy the others in the age of empires franchise. Expand
  73. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I have to say that the concept of MMO+RTS becomes highly enjoyable in this game. In early game, you can do simple tasks to learn the basis, upgrade and loot some start-up gear. While reaching lv15, you'd get access to all the four ages and many useful upgrades in the tech tree. Slowly after lv30, challenging tasks are out there for you to conquer.
    Now you're at lv40 and you'd realise the
    fun has just begun. You could choose to join any of the three alliance to do even more interesting and challenging quests with other online players, earn large amount of gold and empire points, and loot amazing gears to power up your civ. The legendary gears sold in stores are very useful too as long as you earn sufficient golds. The late game never ends so long as you are still anxious to improve your gear to the ultimate.
    Yes you may need to pay at least 10 bucks to your first civ, but after fully upgrade it to lv40 and start the alliance war, reward can be fairly satisfactory. After some while you can totally afford the other contents that need purchase. Believe me there's tons of fun in this game, skirmish, legendary quests, defend of Crete, interaction with other players, etc. You can't find them all in any of the other existing games.
    Expand
  74. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    First of all I would like to state that this game does not live up to the standards that the original series laid out. The graphics are not up to par with any strategy game of 2011; the smooth cartoon theme is to blame for this. Additionally after extensive play, and conversing with several long time AoE fans, along with other RTS/MMO communities, I've discovered that the MMORPG communities look down on this games repetitious quests, while the RTS communities look down on the lack of detail, realism, and strategy involved in this childrens game. Additionally the free to play aspect of this game is a complete lie, it is not free to play, it is similar to a demo because of the LIMITED CONTENT PROVIDED TO ADVERTISE AND INFLUENCE THE SALE OF THE FULL PRODUCT. Hence the meaning of "Demo". I would not recommend this game to serious RTS or MMORPG players, however I would recommend this game for younger individuals, or non-serious gamers. Expand
  75. Oct 5, 2013
    2
    I actually expected Microsoft to do things right, but I was wrong. They turned the AOE franchise into a Pay2Win game with confusing mechanics, bugs and lots of problems....
  76. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Way to ruin a fantastic RTS series Microsoft! Coming from an Age of Empires 3 competitive player and a great fan of the series, this game was garbage. Cartoon graphics, micro transaction, buying civs? Half mmo/half rts, what kind of a concept is that? And now that Games for Windows Live is shutting down in 2014. the game will end anyway, great way to treat loyal fans, if the game had any. I still hope that some day, someone will make a true successor to the series, a real Age of Empires IV, the kind that we all love. We can only hope. Expand
  77. Aug 18, 2011
    0
    Microtransaction model ruins balance, and has changed the gameplay mechanics into something worse. It's supposed to be a strategy game, but this economic model seems to have greatly harmed that. Crappy AI, especially on water maps. Very generic quests. No MMO. It's a multiplayer game, with global chat possibilities, and other players can see your home town. That graphics themselves aren't that big of an issue. What I don't like though, is that combat lacks any sense of fierceness. It feels just as cartoonish as the graphics. It kinda sounds like they're fighting with training weapons. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    67
    In the end, Age of Empires Online works well as a demo rather than a F2P game. There just doesn't seem to have been enough thought about what each element from the MMO and RTS genres bring to the party. Instead, they've just been thrown together.
  2. 70
    Online sequel to the legendary strategic series focuses on a different target group than its predecessors and promises to become a global phenomenon. [Dec 2011]
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    60
    To use its whole potential you have to dig deep into your pockets to unlock premium content. The only thing left for the fans of the series is to hope for Age of Empires IV. [November 2011, p.80]