Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 9, 2014
    77
    Age of Mythology still has a lot of value beyond nostalgia, then, but I’d wait for a discount before committing your cash, especially if you already bought it a decade ago. This isn’t a total remake, so don’t go in expecting one. The Extended Edition is still a really well-paced and entertaining RTS, one that revels in over-the-top imagery and remains a one-off in subject matter within the oeuvre of the sadly departed Ensemble.
  2. May 14, 2014
    76
    Age of Mythology is a good game. Even today. The mission design is still exciting, the balance between the people and the units is true, and thanks to the numerous combinations of gods and nations, there is always something new to try.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    70
    Extended Edition is addictive, but owes it to the brilliance of Ensemble (the developers of the original AoM), not SkyBox, who basically put their name under someone else’s work after introducing changes so marginal that you might not even notice them. [07/2014, p.70]
  4. 70
    The Extended Edition doesn't quite deliver on its potential. Still, it's a good chance to experience this classic if you didn't get to play it when it originally came out.
  5. May 19, 2014
    65
    Age of Mythology: Extended Edition is an excellent strategy game in its core. The scanty treatment it got for this Extended Edition makes this pretty disappointing. A few additions and graphical updates don't justify the high price tag.
  6. May 9, 2014
    60
    It's still a disappointment to see that, after so long, Age of Mythology doesn't quite hold up to modern RTS standards, but there's enough here - and likely enough coming - to warrant a look regardless.
  7. May 27, 2014
    40
    Such derring-do from developers. They grabbed an excellent strategy game, they broke the most important part of it, and they are selling its outcome for a ungodly price. A copybook remake of how to not redo the old games. It's a great disappointment indeed.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. May 10, 2014
    4
    Pretty sad bottom line for a remake. Adds nothing of value to the original. Having to pay $30 for the addition of community mods that arePretty sad bottom line for a remake. Adds nothing of value to the original. Having to pay $30 for the addition of community mods that are available for free is a disgrace. 8/10 for the game itself which is a pretty good RTS , 0/10 for the low move from MS studios. Buy the Gold Edition for less than $10 and save yourselves the trouble. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2014
    1
    Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time. This reboot, however, is simply pitiful.Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time. This reboot, however, is simply pitiful. Lets start off on price point. Paying $30 for a game that is 12 years old is pretty steep, but they claim to have done some work to it so I decided what the heck, I'll get it. Bad choice. Unfortunately several important units are now broken since clearly no one bothered to test the game after they made their changes. Some missions on the campaign simply cannot be beaten without using cheats now because of broken units.

    As for the changes themselves, the water does look pretty. But I probably wouldn't have even noticed changed it i hadn't already known. There is absolutely NO NEW CONTENT added, it is just a rehash. I would hope they would at least do something to the horrible path finding and unit commands but apparently they could not be bothered to do that much work.

    BIG DISAPPOINTMENT
    10/10 for the original game
    1/10 for getting people to pay twice for the exact same thing
    Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2014
    9
    Theoretically, anyone reviewing this game should be giving it two scores. One for those who have played Age of Mythology (AoM) before, and oneTheoretically, anyone reviewing this game should be giving it two scores. One for those who have played Age of Mythology (AoM) before, and one for those who have not.

    Keeping this in mind, I would give this game a 9/10 for those who have not played it before, and an 8/10 for those who have.

    AoM:EE is simply an updated HD remake of the original Age of Mythology. Similar to what happened with Age of Empires II HD early this year. If you are not interested in a better graphics, then this game is probably not wroth your money.

    EVERY single detail in this game is 100% the same as those in the original AoM. Nothing has been changed. This is simply a package that contains: Age of Mythology, Age of Mythology: The Titans and the Golden Gift Campaign. The only details that have changed are purely aesthetic.

    Don't get me wrong though this game is excellent. The graphics are much better than the original one (since the original AoM was released in 2002, it's not that hard to make the graphics better). New features include: Improved Visuals, Time of Day, Improved water, Shadows, Bump / Specular maps, Global Lighting, Antialiasing & Ambient Occlusion.

    Overall, if you enjoyed the original, you will enjoy this. If you have never played the original, this is a good game to buy (at least better than the original). You will find it much more pleasing.

    The only person I would not recommend this to, is one who has recently finished the original game and has a small budget
    Full Review »