Age of Mythology: Extended Edition Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The classic real time strategy game that transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortals. Use mythological creatures like Minotaurs and Cyclopes to bolster your armies' strength. Call upon the gods for assistanceThe classic real time strategy game that transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortals. Use mythological creatures like Minotaurs and Cyclopes to bolster your armies' strength. Call upon the gods for assistance in flattening enemy towns with meteors or scatter opposing troops with lightning storms.

    The Extended Edition includes:
    Age of Mythology
    Age of Mythology: The Titans
    Golden Gift Campaign
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. May 9, 2014
    77
    Age of Mythology still has a lot of value beyond nostalgia, then, but I’d wait for a discount before committing your cash, especially if you already bought it a decade ago. This isn’t a total remake, so don’t go in expecting one. The Extended Edition is still a really well-paced and entertaining RTS, one that revels in over-the-top imagery and remains a one-off in subject matter within the oeuvre of the sadly departed Ensemble.
  2. GameStar
    May 14, 2014
    76
    Age of Mythology is a good game. Even today. The mission design is still exciting, the balance between the people and the units is true, and thanks to the numerous combinations of gods and nations, there is always something new to try.
  3. 70
    The Extended Edition doesn't quite deliver on its potential. Still, it's a good chance to experience this classic if you didn't get to play it when it originally came out.
  4. CD-Action
    Jul 25, 2014
    70
    Extended Edition is addictive, but owes it to the brilliance of Ensemble (the developers of the original AoM), not SkyBox, who basically put their name under someone else’s work after introducing changes so marginal that you might not even notice them. [07/2014, p.70]
  5. May 19, 2014
    65
    Age of Mythology: Extended Edition is an excellent strategy game in its core. The scanty treatment it got for this Extended Edition makes this pretty disappointing. A few additions and graphical updates don't justify the high price tag.
  6. May 9, 2014
    60
    It's still a disappointment to see that, after so long, Age of Mythology doesn't quite hold up to modern RTS standards, but there's enough here - and likely enough coming - to warrant a look regardless.
  7. May 27, 2014
    40
    Such derring-do from developers. They grabbed an excellent strategy game, they broke the most important part of it, and they are selling its outcome for a ungodly price. A copybook remake of how to not redo the old games. It's a great disappointment indeed.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 10 out of 23
  1. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game... for those reading the large bulk of these negative reviews, know that the game was released a bit before it was truly ready.Fantastic game... for those reading the large bulk of these negative reviews, know that the game was released a bit before it was truly ready. However, the game is now completely functional and lag free. The new competitive ladder system is awesome, and the new graphics look beautiful.

    I must repeat again, a month ago, these negative reviews are understandable. The game in it's current state is now patched and flowing extremely smooth making a wonderful competitive RTS for fans and new players alike.
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2015
    9
    I bought it on sale $7.50 and am happy with it. I don't understand why people expect it to be a "new" game or have additional content. If youI bought it on sale $7.50 and am happy with it. I don't understand why people expect it to be a "new" game or have additional content. If you read the description you know what you are getting.

    I haven't tried the multiplayer extensively, but single player works great, brings back good memories of AoM.
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2014
    9
    Theoretically, anyone reviewing this game should be giving it two scores. One for those who have played Age of Mythology (AoM) before, and oneTheoretically, anyone reviewing this game should be giving it two scores. One for those who have played Age of Mythology (AoM) before, and one for those who have not.

    Keeping this in mind, I would give this game a 9/10 for those who have not played it before, and an 8/10 for those who have.

    AoM:EE is simply an updated HD remake of the original Age of Mythology. Similar to what happened with Age of Empires II HD early this year. If you are not interested in a better graphics, then this game is probably not wroth your money.

    EVERY single detail in this game is 100% the same as those in the original AoM. Nothing has been changed. This is simply a package that contains: Age of Mythology, Age of Mythology: The Titans and the Golden Gift Campaign. The only details that have changed are purely aesthetic.

    Don't get me wrong though this game is excellent. The graphics are much better than the original one (since the original AoM was released in 2002, it's not that hard to make the graphics better). New features include: Improved Visuals, Time of Day, Improved water, Shadows, Bump / Specular maps, Global Lighting, Antialiasing & Ambient Occlusion.

    Overall, if you enjoyed the original, you will enjoy this. If you have never played the original, this is a good game to buy (at least better than the original). You will find it much more pleasing.

    The only person I would not recommend this to, is one who has recently finished the original game and has a small budget
    Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2016
    6
    This is an old RTS game from 2002
    I usually refrain from buying old games that were released before 2007 as most have been a terrible
    This is an old RTS game from 2002
    I usually refrain from buying old games that were released before 2007 as most have been a terrible disapointment. Even though the graphics look old, out dated and haven't been improved much at all, the game is ok to play.

    I find the game mostly enjoyable to play even though it is an ugly game with graphics from 2000. And with AOM Extended Edition, doesn't seem like much has been added or changed/improved. It says improved graphics, but it doesn't look like it, all that seems to have improved is a bit of water texture, shadow and some lighting and it's still ugly old outdated textures.

    I like how there is a mythological aspect to the game, it makes it more interesting for me, to choose a god and have various powers you can evoke, though rather limited, powers such as call down a bolt of lightning to instant kill a enemy. And a devastating meteor that will destroy a small area. These powers are very limited though, only being able to use once per map, so should be used wisely.
    I also like that there are heroes and myth units, creatures like minotaurs and hydra that become stronger and grow another head after a kill.

    I get bored playing too much, usually after a couple of hours, as all it is, is fighting and nothing much else. And I feel happy when I complete a campaign scenario and then feel disapointed that there's another one to complete. So I probably don't like the campaign game much as it drags on and on.
    The campaign takes way too long to complete, usually I like lengthy games, but not when the story involved is rather boring and the scenario missions don't differ much as every one is mostly just build your base up, build army, attack and defeat. I just want it to hurry up and be over already. The campaign should be 15 to 20 scenarios at most, not 32. I prefer to play just random maps in short bursts.

    And it's frustrating when you get halfway through a scenario, only to have the game crash and you try and reload a recent save but the save file is stuffed and wont load so have to start the scenario from the beginning again.

    I liked the game over all and say it's worth getting and playing at a discounted price for $10 or less, but not for full price as it's just an old rehashed game which has out dated graphics and not many improvements. Nothing that modernises or makes it feel worthy of the so called Extended title.
    Expand
  5. May 10, 2014
    4
    Pretty sad bottom line for a remake. Adds nothing of value to the original. Having to pay $30 for the addition of community mods that arePretty sad bottom line for a remake. Adds nothing of value to the original. Having to pay $30 for the addition of community mods that are available for free is a disgrace. 8/10 for the game itself which is a pretty good RTS , 0/10 for the low move from MS studios. Buy the Gold Edition for less than $10 and save yourselves the trouble. Collapse
  6. Jan 3, 2015
    4
    Another low budget piece of junk from Ensemble Studio. I have computer science education and have near 20 year experiences playing RTS gamesAnother low budget piece of junk from Ensemble Studio. I have computer science education and have near 20 year experiences playing RTS games and let me tell you why this is a low budget piece of junk. I have played so many RTS games and never have seen a game where the hardest level is unplayable to me. It is obvious the game designers have never played the Titan level because it is simply not playable. This is due to the low budget nature of this game and the developers have not enough time to test the game's balance. Normally within 5-10 minutes of the game, you are rushed with pre-built(not built within time frame of the game) large group of enemies, which is all but impossible to beat due to the short time frame. What is worse, sometimes this large group of enemy appears within about 5 minutes, in which time you have built less than 10 workers! To make things worse, the AI has infinite resources and every 5 minutes it sends you a large group of enemies, but on your side, you have finite resources which means even if you manage to beat the first few waves, you exhaust your resources within less than 30 minutes but AI has infinite resources, the waves the AI sends you are infinite. The whole thing is ill designed.

    Also, the games has appalling routing algorithm and units often get stuck on map. Also controlling the units are very clumsy, for example the "attack move" move which is the bread and butter of the RTS games does not seem to work. It either worked like normal move or gets the units stuck. From these details you can definitely tell this is a low budget rushed product. Age of Empire 3 from the same company is about the same type of low budget junk.
    Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    I was about to buy this until I read the reviews. I have bought loads of games from steam but these makeovers do tend to be very superficialI was about to buy this until I read the reviews. I have bought loads of games from steam but these makeovers do tend to be very superficial and the games have serious problems as described. I liked the original but unless this game is patched I will keep my money as recommended by some critics here and on steam. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews