Age of Mythology PC

Age of Mythology Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Age of Mythology transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortal men. Players wage war using human armies and diplomacy, progress through development ages, enhance military and economic performance withAge of Mythology transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortal men. Players wage war using human armies and diplomacy, progress through development ages, enhance military and economic performance with improvements, and manage economics through resource gathering and trade. Mythology enters the mix when players call upon the gods to act on their behalf or reinforce their armies with more than 20 mythological creatures. Ensemble Studios' new 3D engine adds a deep richness of graphical detail and creates a unique new title based on the ancient cultural history of the Greek, Norse, and Egyptian cultures, which are divided into nine detailed civilizations. [Microsoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    The balance between the powers, the factions, the troops, and the monsters lends the game tremendous depth and replay value.
  2. 100
    It's certainly the closest I've ever gotten to a perfect gaming experience with an RTS game.
  3. Game Informer
    95
    Drives the gameplay stake through the heart of this genre, and keeps on stabbing. [Jan 2003, p.116]
  4. Computer Games Magazine
    90
    The unit AI is good enough that you can give broad orders without worrying about your men and monsters doing too many dumb things. [Jan 2003, p.60]
  5. Games feature furious battles over centrally located resources, enormously powerful mythological units wreaking havoc, and players competing for the favor of ancient gods. The result is fantastic, fun.
  6. Felt tired in its singleplayer campaign – though it was still far better than "WarCraft III."
  7. My experience with Age of Mythology was one of apathy and boredom... Think of AoM as Led Zeppelin’s "Stairway to Heaven." Sure, it’s a great song, but do you really want to hear it over and over again?

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8 years later still the best looking RTS in my opinion. gameplay is perfectly balanced soundtrack is outstanding there is so much content in the game, it could last me forever. it is so good i have bought it 4 times and 3 times was for myself. Expand
  2. JoeS.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Quite possibly the best and most addictive RTS to date, this game has me captured the instant I loaded it up for the first time. Major Quite possibly the best and most addictive RTS to date, this game has me captured the instant I loaded it up for the first time. Major improvements from AoE and AoE 2: AOK. Simply beautiful. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Um um dos jogos maravilhosos do meu passado! A minha avaliação é baseada na versão antiga, que era perfeita! Agora com essa nova versão comUm um dos jogos maravilhosos do meu passado! A minha avaliação é baseada na versão antiga, que era perfeita! Agora com essa nova versão com gráficos remodelados, imagino que o game vai ser sucesso novamente com a nova geração de jogadores. Algo que me desagradou foi o preço, a Steam deveria colocar esse game bem mais barato, acho que todos nós deveríamos cobrar isso deles! Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Very simple and easy to understand. It's fun, and the best thing is that it's so varied in terms of the campaign's levels and maps. Greek,Very simple and easy to understand. It's fun, and the best thing is that it's so varied in terms of the campaign's levels and maps. Greek, Egyptian and Norse each have three gods with different abilities. The gameplay is simple, fun and to add to the compelling story is the beautiful soundtrack. The levels have great variety and complement the story. It's not copy and pasting the same mission or objective over and over. I don't like the RTS genre but Age of Mythology couldn't be improved in any way or make the genre more appealing if it tried. There is a world creator which allows you to create your own levels and use all items and characters available. The skirmish mode is quick and easy to set up, and very fun to play regardless of your skill level and how you play the game. The campaign is by far the best part of this game though. Not only are the characters done well and the story being long, engaging and a varied adventure, but the level design, gameplay and of course, the excellent and fitting soundtrack come together to deliver one of the greatest gaming experiences- for 2002 anyway. I highly recommend this game even today, since graphics aren't that important in RTS, but Age of Mythology does have good lighting, but poor textures. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play:Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 6 out of 10, Value: 9 out of 10 Expand
  6. MichaelL.
    Apr 16, 2006
    9
    An excellent RTS. With elements from Age of Empires with monsters and incredible God powers thrown into the mix, you're left with a An excellent RTS. With elements from Age of Empires with monsters and incredible God powers thrown into the mix, you're left with a deep, fun, and fulfilling experience. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    1
    Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time.

    This reboot, however, is simply
    Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time.

    This reboot, however, is simply pitiful.

    Lets start off on price point. Paying $30 for a game that is 12 years old is pretty steep, but they claim to have done some work to it so I decided what the heck, I'll get it.

    Bad choice. Unfortunately several important units are now broken since clearly no one bothered to test the game after they made their changes. Some missions on the campaign simply cannot be beaten without using cheats now because of broken units.

    As for the changes themselves, the water does look pretty. But I probably wouldn't have even noticed changed it i hadn't already known. There is absolutely NO NEW CONTENT added, it is just a rehash. I would hope they would at least do something to the horrible path finding and unit commands but apparently they could not be bothered to do that much work.

    BIG DISAPPOINTMENT
    10/10 for the original game
    1/10 for getting people to pay twice for the exact same thing
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews