Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Age of Mythology transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortal men. Players wage war using human armies and diplomacy, progress through development ages, enhance military and economic performance withAge of Mythology transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortal men. Players wage war using human armies and diplomacy, progress through development ages, enhance military and economic performance with improvements, and manage economics through resource gathering and trade. Mythology enters the mix when players call upon the gods to act on their behalf or reinforce their armies with more than 20 mythological creatures. Ensemble Studios' new 3D engine adds a deep richness of graphical detail and creates a unique new title based on the ancient cultural history of the Greek, Norse, and Egyptian cultures, which are divided into nine detailed civilizations. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    The balance between the powers, the factions, the troops, and the monsters lends the game tremendous depth and replay value.
  2. 100
    It's certainly the closest I've ever gotten to a perfect gaming experience with an RTS game.
  3. Drives the gameplay stake through the heart of this genre, and keeps on stabbing. [Jan 2003, p.116]
  4. The unit AI is good enough that you can give broad orders without worrying about your men and monsters doing too many dumb things. [Jan 2003, p.60]
  5. Games feature furious battles over centrally located resources, enormously powerful mythological units wreaking havoc, and players competing for the favor of ancient gods. The result is fantastic, fun.
  6. Felt tired in its singleplayer campaign – though it was still far better than "WarCraft III."
  7. My experience with Age of Mythology was one of apathy and boredom... Think of AoM as Led Zeppelin’s "Stairway to Heaven." Sure, it’s a great song, but do you really want to hear it over and over again?

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 4 out of 61
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8 years later still the best looking RTS in my opinion. gameplay is perfectly balanced soundtrack is outstanding there is so much content in the game, it could last me forever. it is so good i have bought it 4 times and 3 times was for myself. Expand
  2. SnoopyM.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    This is probably the single best game i've ever played. It's got great replay value, good story, and fun online play.
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game this game is my childhood i will buy this :D i love this game soooooo much thanks for bring this game to us :D :D Expand
  4. Caleb
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    Perfect score. Best game ever, get this game. Sweetest thing I ever played, better than "Warcraft III."
  5. May 7, 2014
    9
    This is my favorite game. I cannot review it honestly because our history together, but I would sell my soul to the devil to play Age ofThis is my favorite game. I cannot review it honestly because our history together, but I would sell my soul to the devil to play Age of Mythology for the rest of eternity. From its simple, beautiful aesthetics, to the balance and level of complexity of its multiplayer metagame, everything about Age of Mythology enthralls me. As a fan of the first 2 Age of Empires, I purchased the original AoM game in 2002 on not much more than a whim, but since then I have yet to find any other game that has sucked up as many hours of my life. To this day it remains one of my go-to games even after the collapse of its multiplayer. I highly recommend it to any fan of Age games, or strategy games in general. Expand
  6. MichaelL.
    Apr 16, 2006
    9
    An excellent RTS. With elements from Age of Empires with monsters and incredible God powers thrown into the mix, you're left with a An excellent RTS. With elements from Age of Empires with monsters and incredible God powers thrown into the mix, you're left with a deep, fun, and fulfilling experience. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    1
    Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time.

    This reboot, however, is simply
    Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time.

    This reboot, however, is simply pitiful.

    Lets start off on price point. Paying $30 for a game that is 12 years old is pretty steep, but they claim to have done some work to it so I decided what the heck, I'll get it.

    Bad choice. Unfortunately several important units are now broken since clearly no one bothered to test the game after they made their changes. Some missions on the campaign simply cannot be beaten without using cheats now because of broken units.

    As for the changes themselves, the water does look pretty. But I probably wouldn't have even noticed changed it i hadn't already known. There is absolutely NO NEW CONTENT added, it is just a rehash. I would hope they would at least do something to the horrible path finding and unit commands but apparently they could not be bothered to do that much work.

    BIG DISAPPOINTMENT
    10/10 for the original game
    1/10 for getting people to pay twice for the exact same thing
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews