Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The MMORPG Age of Wushu recreates an ancient Chinese world of Kung Fu. If words like Wushu are new to you, fear not. In such martial arts movies as Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragonor Hero, heroes leap from rooftops and display death-defying feats of martial prowess. In Age of Wushu, you can perform all these unbelievably powerful skills and become a legendary Wushu master. [Snail USA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    82
    There are many cosmetic quirks that clearly indicate the smaller budget Snail Games has at their disposal, but overall this is a successful blend of familiar MMO concepts with plenty of unique twists.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    77
    Age of Wushu is successful for what it is and it has a community of players who enjoy the game and developers who actually care about their community. The translation is iffy, combat can be awkward, and there are some confusing elements to the game, but it does encourage interaction with other players and has plenty of content.
  3. May 2, 2013
    70
    While there’s no doubt that AoW has levels of intricacy that are unusual in MMOs today, those intricacies are numerous, and the localization an ongoing effort, making the whole experience difficult for many. Not everyone has the time or the patience to read through scads of text, assimilate and apply those many, many lessons. For those that do, power to you. Here’s hoping you find plenty of gold at the end of that complicated, text-heavy rainbow.
  4. May 7, 2013
    70
    As a PvP-focused game, its time-limited cash shop and cultivation skill system makes it inhospitable to free players, yet Age of Wushu brings fresh life to stale genre features, and even gives your character an intriguing, danger-filled life when you're offline.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 41
  2. Negative: 20 out of 41
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This game is probably the best sandbox I have ever played. Steep learning curve, but worth it. The pvp is excellent, the criminal system is top notch. The combat is outstanding. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Decent pvp system
    Big Adventure, Tons of Fun
    Free PK

    In this we are left to run Character we will. Although there is Story Quest (there
    are 4 main story lines to choose from, it affects our Starting early Town) and 8 universities (Shaolin, Emei, Wudang, Beggar, Scholar, Tangmen, Wanderers Valley, Royal Guards) we can still play Character us at will.

    One of the interesting things in Game Play AOW is any university which basically select Skill can still learn from other universities. because in this game there are Event (6 times a week) that allows us to steal pieces of the Book of Libraries another university. If we could get a piece of the book, then we can learn Skill other universities belong.
    Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This game gives me a chance to touch ancient Chinese background. Few westerners know what real Chinese Kung fu looks like before entering Age of Wushu. To be honestly, I don't know exactly what to do from the moment I log in. Gradually as I walked deep into the story line, I get addicted. Great game! Collapse
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    6
    First of all I would like to say that the concept of the game was very unique and attractive. I'm giving this game a score of 6 because of its mixed blending of cons and pros. The cash shop items is untouchable for its high price. If you are f2p I will say just stop playing. Hardcore playing won't give you good result. Though u can level up your skills fast but u can't level up meridians in few years which will make a huge difference between players.VIP players level up 5 times faster which is unacceptable. Company trying to make money by publishing incomplete games in different languages and regions. Beginners will must confuse at beginning and that's guaranteed. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    This game had a lot of potential. However it was completely overshadowed by a western release that has been catastrophically badly handled. At current, the game is completely overrun by gold farmers and their bots. Any resource nodes are camped 24/7 by characters with names like ibuyg0ld57. All chat channels are constantly flooded with 20+ different spam bots making communications almost impossible. The economy, by effect is so bad the smallest thing is ridiculously overpriced and making money as a non-bot crafter is near impossible. A huge population of the players on the western servers don't speak English. All of this is all but ignored by Snail games who seems to think that all the responsibility for these issues falls on the shoulders of the player base making us put them on ignore rather than deal with the issue.

    Communication with the western publish team is hit and miss at best and the business model is a crime. All items purchased are extremely expensive and 'rented'. Your real money disappears as you are forced to shell out more for more rented items. You don't get to keep anything you buy on your character. It was really too bad too because a good sandbox with a martial arts theme could have done really well in a western market. As it stands now, the only thing in 6 months that will be western about this game will be the server locations.
    Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    3
    If you go into Age of Wushu thinking you will be playing an MMO version of Street Fighter or Tekken, boy are you going to be disappointed.

    Age of Wushu is developed along these lines, but with poorly responsive controls, clipping issues galore (I can't count how many tables I could walk clean through in a town), a 'real time' transport system between towns which takes forever if you don't have them marked as teleport points, and other issues, I absolutely cannot recommend this game.

    Add to this open world pvp with no controls, and you'll find yourself dead in the middle of a major city if you get up to go to the bathroom. Not cool, not fun. Add in a mix of Engrish in poor translations, very poor pathing and even mistaken locations on the map where quests exist and I gave up on the game.
    Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    A brilliant concept for a game that is unfortunately overrun with hackers and bots that ruin much of the experience of the game. To top it off, speaking from US server, the staff barely speaks English well enough to understand your reports, and follows a script to dodge rather than deal with in game issues. Also many of the quests are near impossible do, due to translation issues. One quest could have three different translations of the same item and you are forced to play a guessing game. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews