AI War: Fleet Command PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 96
  2. Negative: 7 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Draxis
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    By a long way, the best RTS I have played in years. The learning curve is pretty steep - The tutorial does not cover a lot of important information, but there are comprehensive guides on the wiki that explains whats going on, and the other players on the forums are very friendly to newbies. There is no better 'co-op vs the AI' style game out there, especially with the ability to By a long way, the best RTS I have played in years. The learning curve is pretty steep - The tutorial does not cover a lot of important information, but there are comprehensive guides on the wiki that explains whats going on, and the other players on the forums are very friendly to newbies. There is no better 'co-op vs the AI' style game out there, especially with the ability to save and resume games, and add or remove players mid-game. Puts high-budget games to shame. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    AI War takes real time strategy to the extreme. I managed to make it through the tutorial and am now able to grasp the basic elements of structures and squads. It's a tremendous amount of detail, highly complex, and overwhelming for just about anyone, especially novices to this genre. Looking underneath all the complexity, one can clearly see the fundamental RTS elements: gather resources,AI War takes real time strategy to the extreme. I managed to make it through the tutorial and am now able to grasp the basic elements of structures and squads. It's a tremendous amount of detail, highly complex, and overwhelming for just about anyone, especially novices to this genre. Looking underneath all the complexity, one can clearly see the fundamental RTS elements: gather resources, build structures, create a military, and kill your opponent. It just takes place on a much grander scale than most.

    The game is quite intimidating because of the sheer number of options, the busy HUD, and the non intuitive user interface, but the game allows total control over every intricate detail and that is truly where the game's strength lies. You have the freedom to control ANYTHING. I can clearly see the long term enjoyment at this early stage, but it will take a lot of patience, persistence, and dedication to get there. Fair warning--this is not a game that offers instant gratification.
    Expand
  3. Goekhanb
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    At first I had some concerns regarding to the game. But after trying the demo, I immediately picked up the game. And I'm loving it. They'll soon implement a system for matchmaking, but till then, I recommend you using Steam AI War chat or irc to find some others to play. Later on in the game, you and your buddies need to develop plans in order to take the AI down. There At first I had some concerns regarding to the game. But after trying the demo, I immediately picked up the game. And I'm loving it. They'll soon implement a system for matchmaking, but till then, I recommend you using Steam AI War chat or irc to find some others to play. Later on in the game, you and your buddies need to develop plans in order to take the AI down. There aren't much games that combines 4X, RTS, TD together, so if you have concerns, give it a shot. I'm sure if you like any of the game types described above, you'll like it. If you are a TD player, you can take a defensive role on the border planets for example. As a RTS player, you can lead the battles. As a 4X player, you can develop the plans, which planets to take/leave and so on. Just give it a try, you won't be disappointed! Expand
  4. deMangler
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This has to by the only game I have ever given a 10/10. It completely lacks that 'something is missing here...again...' feeling that I get whenever I play any other strategy game. Somehow, in it's low-budget way it delivers on it's promise and exeeds not only my (somewhat lowered) expectations but manages to remind me what I was always looking for in this genre.... This has to by the only game I have ever given a 10/10. It completely lacks that 'something is missing here...again...' feeling that I get whenever I play any other strategy game. Somehow, in it's low-budget way it delivers on it's promise and exeeds not only my (somewhat lowered) expectations but manages to remind me what I was always looking for in this genre.... THIS! I want the developers babies, only they would probably just engage in practicing unexpected strategic flanking excersises behind my back and then look all innocent when I turn around. Anyway, as I said, 10/10. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    AI Wars does not shine with graphics. AI Wars does not shine with its interface. And AI War certainly did not reinvent the "build up army and then mow down the enemy" genre.

    AI Wars shines with its AI (the name of the game kinda gives that focus away). An AI that learns from you. An AI that you have to beat again and again, just 'cause you got it once does not mean that the same
    AI Wars does not shine with graphics. AI Wars does not shine with its interface. And AI War certainly did not reinvent the "build up army and then mow down the enemy" genre.

    AI Wars shines with its AI (the name of the game kinda gives that focus away). An AI that learns from you. An AI that you have to beat again and again, just 'cause you got it once does not mean that the same strategy will work again. Or that it will work anymore later in the game when the AI found out how you play and adapts. If you notice a plan works too well, it could well be that the AI lets you "win" a few non critical planets and think that your idea is great, only to set the trap for you on one of the more important key systems.

    Another thing that makes AI interesting is that you can't simply use the steamroller tactics that often give you the edge in such games, i.e. mass your forces and roll over the enemy, build a new front line, roll forwards... If you do that, you already lost because the AI gets more powerful depending on how many systems you invade and "liberate". Every time you take over a key system, you "give" the AI more "progress", which translates into more power it may use against you.

    In general an awesome game that only has one sore point: Multiplayer. No, it is actually stunning in multiplayer (seriously, playing this game with a few people is just plain awesome), since you co-op against the AI. What blows is that the game comes without any tool whatsoever for matchmaking. So either you have a few friends you play with or you can only hope to find someone on their boards that might want to play at the same time as you do, you talk it out and agree on a time... no "lobby" system to connect to and hop into a game with some other random player who wants to give it a spin.

    But if you and your friends happen to like challenging, co-op RTS games with a very challenging AI, by all means this is a great game!
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    What an absolutely brilliant game. AI War presents the player an impressive and even daunting challenge in a way I have never yet experienced before in an RTS. The one main reason why I love this game so much? It boils down to the decisions the player gets to make... a multitude of tough decisions that actually make a difference... and there are no right answers. DislikeWhat an absolutely brilliant game. AI War presents the player an impressive and even daunting challenge in a way I have never yet experienced before in an RTS. The one main reason why I love this game so much? It boils down to the decisions the player gets to make... a multitude of tough decisions that actually make a difference... and there are no right answers. Dislike micromanagement? The game design has your back. Or maybe you love micromanagement... manage away! The diverse array of strategies, tactics, weaponry, tech, etc. as well as a near infinite number of maps, game options, etc. will ensure that every game is not only different, but that every game will contain DEPTH. You will lose to the AI... a lot. This game puts the pain in growing pains, but it also makes success so so sweet. The expansions are a must. I highly suggest you read the Arcen AI War Wiki for getting started tips. There is so much to absorb and even after 50 hours of play I'm still learning. Chris Parks did a phenomenal job and I hope he continues to make such fantastic games... and ultimately I hope we keep seeing expansions for AI War. Worth every single penny spent, plus more. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    Very good, very detailed RTS with visually the bare minimum required to play the game. Extremely complex so if you prefer to get straight down to battle without micromanagement, this probably isn't for you,
  8. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    A bit complex at first, but the tutorial open you the doors to a world of pure strategy. The AI is really astounding (starting at difficulty level 7, which is considered where the real game begins) The game is coop-directed, so even if it can be appreciated in solo, you will only increase the fun exponentially to the number of friend you grab. Even more, ArcenGames supports feedback fromA bit complex at first, but the tutorial open you the doors to a world of pure strategy. The AI is really astounding (starting at difficulty level 7, which is considered where the real game begins) The game is coop-directed, so even if it can be appreciated in solo, you will only increase the fun exponentially to the number of friend you grab. Even more, ArcenGames supports feedback from the community; the game now can hardly be compared to what it was at the beginning. RTS lovers got to try the demo. Expand
  9. HowieG.
    Jan 29, 2010
    3
    Maybe I'm a complete idiot or something but I can't wrap my brain around this game. I've played for many hours and the instant I leave my home system I get obliterated every time by the AI even on the easiest setting. Seriously. I can't even dent them as if the game is bugged or something and they walk over me like I've got my head stuffed in a baboon's Maybe I'm a complete idiot or something but I can't wrap my brain around this game. I've played for many hours and the instant I leave my home system I get obliterated every time by the AI even on the easiest setting. Seriously. I can't even dent them as if the game is bugged or something and they walk over me like I've got my head stuffed in a baboon's backside... Most of the time I can barely comprehend what's going on and the sheer amount of management required to even get the ball rolling is overwhelming. Keeping track of what's going on in just one system is difficult and if I had ever succeeded in capturing another my overtaxed (and admittedly tiny) brain would probably have exploded... I don't really like this game much. Way way to much to keep (and lose) track of. Expand
  10. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    this game is not for anyone who wants quick strategy games. the trial on steam allows 3 hours on each game and sounds like a lot, but you won't even get past 1/4th of the game. unless you're a superhuman with unholy management skills you wont have a problem with finding a challenge in this game. i personally love this game, but i can see why it's not for everyone. you should probablythis game is not for anyone who wants quick strategy games. the trial on steam allows 3 hours on each game and sounds like a lot, but you won't even get past 1/4th of the game. unless you're a superhuman with unholy management skills you wont have a problem with finding a challenge in this game. i personally love this game, but i can see why it's not for everyone. you should probably download the demo just to see whether or not it's the right kind of game. Expand
  11. Jan 2, 2015
    0
    I was excited to try this game, but could not get 20 minutes in due to the fact the text on the interface and in all interactive windows is far too hard to read on 1950x1080 resolution. The game developers response to these complaints is always the same: we have no plans to fix this so change your resolution. I don't know about you but I'm in the over 90% of players that use an LCDI was excited to try this game, but could not get 20 minutes in due to the fact the text on the interface and in all interactive windows is far too hard to read on 1950x1080 resolution. The game developers response to these complaints is always the same: we have no plans to fix this so change your resolution. I don't know about you but I'm in the over 90% of players that use an LCD monitor. Changing to a non-native resolution makes it blurry and in my case it also stretched the graphics out of aspect. Only consider this game if you are playing on a very old monitor or a laptop. Expand
  12. FlyveHest
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    Had my first 7 hour campaign with a friend last night, great fun, very deep and involved gameplay, and a pretty fantastic AI, even when playing on the lowest level. Please note, this game takes a little effort to get into, but it is very much worth it.
  13. anonymous
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    Imagine Civilization in real-time, but without micromanagement. Executed really well. Incredibly good support and updates. The only downside for me is that the game is a bit on the technical side - learn which ship costs how much, how much damage it does, etc.
  14. TaylorS
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    An amazing game. The learning curve is longer than many modern games, but far from being too long, and 100% worth it. AI War is the best RTS I have ever played, and happens to be 100% my favorite gametype: Coop. Long, deep in strategy, and hooked with great AI, this game was one of my very few game purchases this year.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    Long learning curve. If you don't mind spending a lot of time reading explanations (in-game or on the wiki), the game is great. If you're looking for a lighter game, this is not it.
  16. Leomann
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This is a rare gem of a game, pure and simple. It demonstrates all the allure of an Indie game by staying true to what it wants to achieve rather than opting for maximum flashiness, and the result is exactly what it's supposed to be: an awesomely hardcore strategy game. Its non-bleeding edge graphics allow you to fight in truly epic battles against what is possibly one of the most This is a rare gem of a game, pure and simple. It demonstrates all the allure of an Indie game by staying true to what it wants to achieve rather than opting for maximum flashiness, and the result is exactly what it's supposed to be: an awesomely hardcore strategy game. Its non-bleeding edge graphics allow you to fight in truly epic battles against what is possibly one of the most advanced A.I's seen to date, and its mechanics are meticulously crafted, unhindered by unessential garbage that usually takes up system resources. For those that are seeking a true strategic and intellectual challenge on a wide range of systems, this game is nothing less than a miracle. Expand
  17. Brandon
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best RTS games I ever played. Not much in way of graphics, but gameplay before graphics, and this game has amazing gameplay.
  18. lulz
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    A very interesting and fresh look at the RTS genre. At first this looks like a Sins of a Solar Empire Clone (in itself not a bad thing) but then it develops into a whole lot more. For a start the player has an asymetric relation with the computer; your opponent owns the whole galaxy and is quite capable of wiping the player(s) out immediately. Of course, it accounts for this by A very interesting and fresh look at the RTS genre. At first this looks like a Sins of a Solar Empire Clone (in itself not a bad thing) but then it develops into a whole lot more. For a start the player has an asymetric relation with the computer; your opponent owns the whole galaxy and is quite capable of wiping the player(s) out immediately. Of course, it accounts for this by replicating alert levels for the computer, allowing the player to run lightning raids on important installations, possibly crippling the AI's means of reinforcements in a particular area, preparing it for a full scale assault. All this in additions to it being a wonderful multiplayer experience makes it well worth a purchase. Collapse
  19. Echo
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    Very solid blend of Creep Crawl, 4X, and Tower Defense, with a ton of ships, co-op play, and over 16 billion procedural maps. Also, probably the best AI I've ever seen in a game. If you are at all an RTS fan, buy this game!
  20. ChrisE.
    Mar 23, 2010
    9
    This game is mind blowing in scope. Simply put, nothing quite like this has ever been released before. The AI is intelligent and can be both reactive and aggressive depending on situation and settings. The combat scale is beyond anything, though thinking 'Supreme Commander' will help you understand what I'm talking about. A must play for any serious RTS player.
  21. zombiemaster
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    Good gameplay, awesome AI. Takes time to learn, but worth the investment. Some of my friends couldnt handle the simplistic 2d graphics, but for me, once i saw 1000 ships moving out, i think it was well worth the tradeoff (graphics vs units onscreen). Recommended for RTS fans!
  22. AlexO
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    I bought this game off of Steam last week. I have never played an rts game in my life before I tried this game. The tutorials and videos make everything so easy to learn and although one round takes many hours to play the time will just fly by. AI War has tons of settings you can change so the game is how you want it each time. It's a good multiplayer experience if you can find a I bought this game off of Steam last week. I have never played an rts game in my life before I tried this game. The tutorials and videos make everything so easy to learn and although one round takes many hours to play the time will just fly by. AI War has tons of settings you can change so the game is how you want it each time. It's a good multiplayer experience if you can find a partner. The support for this game is awesome. I've gotten answers to my questions and more from the IRC and the forums of Arcen Games. Expand
  23. JoshuaN
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    The AI doesn't really shine unless you hit standard difficulty levels (Difficulty level 7) and that can be a bit misleading. However, when you hit that level, you will be amazed by how challenging and fun the game can be.
  24. Mercurio
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    Kinda easy to learn if you really want to understand it, hard to master as the AI seems to always be one step ahead of you and it all has a feeling to it that no other game yet can provide. The only downpoint is the extremely outdated graphics, even though they add some strange nostalgic feeling to the game. Still its worth a try, considering the price and additional free content each Kinda easy to learn if you really want to understand it, hard to master as the AI seems to always be one step ahead of you and it all has a feeling to it that no other game yet can provide. The only downpoint is the extremely outdated graphics, even though they add some strange nostalgic feeling to the game. Still its worth a try, considering the price and additional free content each month, the extreme replayability and inventive co-op management. Beats most of the warcraft 3 or AOE clones with ease... Expand
  25. [anonymous]
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    This game is by far the most annoying game ever made. After 5 games with me and my friends the AI learned how to do and counter most of my friends strategies... I love it, finally an AI that thinks and makes me think too.
  26. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    This game works almost entirely because it throws away the standard RTS convention of trying to make the AI players act like human players. The AI in this game is an AI. It acts like an AI. It's deliberately designed to play differently then a human. As a result, a lot of the stupid cheating that other games do in order to make the AI a challenge while giving it the human's rules don'tThis game works almost entirely because it throws away the standard RTS convention of trying to make the AI players act like human players. The AI in this game is an AI. It acts like an AI. It's deliberately designed to play differently then a human. As a result, a lot of the stupid cheating that other games do in order to make the AI a challenge while giving it the human's rules don't exist here. The AI is not playing with the same rules you are, but it is playing a well defined set of rules. Exploiting the AI isn't cheesy in this game, it's virtually required on higher difficulty (and not as easy as it sounds, the AI gets pretty mean). The goal is to beat the AI while taking as few planets as possible, because the more you take the more aggressive the AI gets in response. Graphics are nothing to write home about. Soundtrack is good. Ship selection is good, and insanely huge if you have the expansions. Any serious RTS fan should give this one a try. Expand
  27. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    Great game, if you have the patience to learn it. As others have mentioned, the learning curve is steep. There are tutorials, and forums, and wikis and instructions, and you will need to reference them all many times to get a real sense of what is going on. In a nutshell, make progress, but don't cheese the AI off too much or you will die. You have to always be aware of the AI'sGreat game, if you have the patience to learn it. As others have mentioned, the learning curve is steep. There are tutorials, and forums, and wikis and instructions, and you will need to reference them all many times to get a real sense of what is going on. In a nutshell, make progress, but don't cheese the AI off too much or you will die. You have to always be aware of the AI's progress meter.

    The fun is in seeing how far you can push the AI before that happens, and if you get really good, you will win a game or two. If you can't stand losing, this is not your game. If you find losing is a part of the learning experience, you will enjoy this game.
    Expand
  28. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Although one of the more confusing games on the market, once you wrap your head around it, you will find it to be one of the deepest RTS games that you are likely to play.
  29. May 7, 2013
    10
    A very stratefic game that takes quite some time to get into. Please note that you have to invest quite a bit of time before you can actually enjoy this game, but the time spent is well worth it. AI wars is also constantly supported.
  30. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    AI War: Fleet Command is an excellent game that requires a lot of time to play and can be a bit overwhelming but the rewards for persevering through what can be very confusing at first is a deep and interesting game that mixes some of the best elements of 4x, RTS, and tower defense games together.

    The game is set for a team of 1-8 human players working together against an AI that
    AI War: Fleet Command is an excellent game that requires a lot of time to play and can be a bit overwhelming but the rewards for persevering through what can be very confusing at first is a deep and interesting game that mixes some of the best elements of 4x, RTS, and tower defense games together.

    The game is set for a team of 1-8 human players working together against an AI that responds to the players’ action by becoming angrier; sending out larger and continuously more powerful waves of units to attack the players as they try to reclaim the galaxy and drive both AIs out by taking out their 2 home systems. The game has a staggering array of units, some of which are AI or specific NPC faction only, others are basic and the players always have access to them, still others are acquired upon capturing facilities and via research. The plethora of things to play with is enjoyable even taken on their own, and more so once you get to use them in battle after battle.

    The game also lets you fine tune your experience to an incredible degree. The AI’s have a wide array of difficulties to set with random or player-selected personalities that determine their mix of units and general behavior patterns. You can also turn certain more advanced units on or off if you so desire, and if you have the expansions, which I highly recommend, you can even turn certain aspects of the packs on or off or even set them with variable levels of difficulty if you like. There are also other factions that can be turned on to add more challenge and diversity to your game. You can even alter certain portions of how the AI gets angrier at the players which is a key factor in the pace of the game.

    The game takes place in a galaxy whose parameters the game’s host sets before beginning, if playing a single player game, you are the host by default, and these parameters include the number of star systems as well as the topography of these star systems. The systems are linked via wormholes that become focal points of your strategy and you can set the style of the galaxy from a long single line of systems with minimal connections to webs of connections all over the place. In an interesting consequence of the way the game plays out, a moderate sized galaxy is actually the easiest to play. A small galaxy gives the player less research, which in turn means fewer units to use against the AI, while a large galaxy will take longer to play and the longer the game goes, the angrier the AI gets, and as the AI gets angrier, it attacks with larger and more powerful forces and its defensives get more formidable.

    The dynamic of the AI reacting to the players’ actions is the core of the game. Unless playing against a very easy AI, the players cannot take over every system, the AI will grow far too powerful as their anger grows from losing so many systems and their homeworlds will become too tough to crack. Some systems are far more valuable and your efforts to wrest systems from the AI should focus on these. A system with a lot of resources, with capturable labs or other facilities that allow new units to be built, old Golems that need to be repaired, and other various things that you want to take for yourself, all are good targets for conquest. A dead-end system with no real value should instead be screened and bypassed. It’s not worth the time and AI aggression increase to take less valuable systems. This guerilla warfare system is part of what makes the game what it is. It feels like a typical 4x game in many ways, but it plays out very differently, with the players having to balance the understandable desire to conquer the galaxy with the fact that the AI will become very nasty if you try.

    I heartily recommend this game, but it can be a daunting undertaking and takes a long time to play a full campaign. It’s quite inexpensive on Steam, the complete pack including all the expansions is currently 16.99 US dollars and even considering that very reasonable price it’s put on sale often as well. Even the demo can be made into the full game by purchasing a key and activating it, so you can try out the actual game for free before deciding to take the plunge. If you like detailed games with a lot of options and permutations, it’s a plunge you will very likely enjoy.
    Expand
  31. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Incredible game. It's one of the most rewarding and challenging strategy games I've ever played. There is a fairly steep learning curve, so be sure to use the tutorials (all of them!) and then the first game you play be sure it's got the 'beginner' script set up.
    I feel that many people may not be aware of many of the features designed to reduce micromanagement (for example, the "V"
    Incredible game. It's one of the most rewarding and challenging strategy games I've ever played. There is a fairly steep learning curve, so be sure to use the tutorials (all of them!) and then the first game you play be sure it's got the 'beginner' script set up.
    I feel that many people may not be aware of many of the features designed to reduce micromanagement (for example, the "V" shortcut key to automate most actions of any ship). If you choose to micromanage, you certainly can, but that cuts out most of the fun of the game.
    I strongly suggest you play this game, and given it's only $10 on steam (and it's often on sale for only $2.50), it's definitely worth the purchase.
    Expand
  32. May 11, 2014
    9
    Utterly engrossing, impossible to put down, just a fantastic game.

    There could be scope for improvements on the graphics side but there would be a danger or meddling with the sole of the game. I play on an Mac using the track pad just be wary as this can add a bit more difficulty to the game. The tutorial in itself takes time but is absolutely necessary to play through fully.
  33. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    It's a very fun 4x space strategy game where you compete not vs over similar civilizations (like in a classical space 4x game), but vs AI which have already been developed. You should plan you defences and plan your developement and attacks. The graphics and sounds and UI are not perfect (although definitely doing ok), but gameplay is! For those with modern displays the text is really tooIt's a very fun 4x space strategy game where you compete not vs over similar civilizations (like in a classical space 4x game), but vs AI which have already been developed. You should plan you defences and plan your developement and attacks. The graphics and sounds and UI are not perfect (although definitely doing ok), but gameplay is! For those with modern displays the text is really too small on high resolution, but it's easy to change resolution and set up your display not to stretch graphics and have fun. Expand
  34. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Features:
    An incredible amount of customization of difficulty, complexity and length of each playing session.
    Graphics on par with the latest AAA titles despite being released in 09. Second-to-none levels of optimization. Potentially thousands of units and weapon discharge effects on the screen at the same time with virtually no frame-rate loss. Hundreds, if not thousands of hours of
    Features:
    An incredible amount of customization of difficulty, complexity and length of each playing session.
    Graphics on par with the latest AAA titles despite being released in 09.
    Second-to-none levels of optimization. Potentially thousands of units and weapon discharge effects on the screen at the same time with virtually no frame-rate loss.
    Hundreds, if not thousands of hours of depth and gameplay.
    A very steep learning curve.
    The best AI you will ever play against (as the title implies).
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    80
    The heart of AI War is in its asymmetrical nature, but that uniqueness permeates the entire game, from the way each fight works to your overarching strategy.
  2. Expertly crafted resourcing and development tools prevent stagnation of the game's simple conquest objective, and the sheer scope of ships, maps and difficulty levels – not to mention co-op – is likely to keep this gem afloat for some time. RTS fans rejoice.
  3. Excellent space strategy. [Nov 2009, p.90]