Aion PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Sep 22, 2009
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2011
    7
    For the first 20 hours or so, this game is fantastic. Probably the best MMO I've yet played (besides WoW of course). After 20 hours or so you start to realize you're just doing the same thing over and over and over and it gets so awfully repetitious. Graphics in this game are SUPERB though.
  2. JasA
    Sep 27, 2009
    7
    If you like FF11 and L2 or similiar, you'll definately like this game, but for the others. Stick to WoW or WAR for now. I didn't like the crafting system. You have to spent countless of hours to gather the needed materials and when you get to the crafting, you hardly ever get skill ups, and you have a chance of failing the crafting losing materials in the process. Leveling is If you like FF11 and L2 or similiar, you'll definately like this game, but for the others. Stick to WoW or WAR for now. I didn't like the crafting system. You have to spent countless of hours to gather the needed materials and when you get to the crafting, you hardly ever get skill ups, and you have a chance of failing the crafting losing materials in the process. Leveling is very slow, it almost feels like work, since the quests aren't that complex (run 10 min, kill XX mobs, run 10 min), and you don't get much exp doing so. So my conclusion: simplify crafting, make quests more rewarding, lower the exp needed to level. And i really see point on having "flight time counter" it's just annoying. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2012
    7
    I was curious about Aion when it first came out, however I never actually bought it because of the bad reviews and, mostly, because I hadn't enough time to play too many games back then. After 3 years the game becomes F2P and I decided to give a look and I must admit that I left an impression on me, both good and bad. The game lets you choose 2 factions and once you make that choice youI was curious about Aion when it first came out, however I never actually bought it because of the bad reviews and, mostly, because I hadn't enough time to play too many games back then. After 3 years the game becomes F2P and I decided to give a look and I must admit that I left an impression on me, both good and bad. The game lets you choose 2 factions and once you make that choice you can't undone it unless you play in another server, which can be bothersome. There are 4 classes (warrior, scout, mage and priest), and each one can split into 2 sub classes which resembles a specific talent (Templars are tanks, Clerics are Healers, Gladiators are damage-dealer warriors, and so on). Once you make this choice and after passing a very wide and detailed customization screen (so those who like to make abominations, you're welcome here). Finally you start the game, and from here it's basically the same as many other mmorpg: you do quest, sell trash, gain level (60 with the new patch) and hopefully more gear; there's basically everything from any other mmorpg, including instances, pvp, professions, pets. ingame customization (we'll get to that later), and surprisingly even houses for those who like to chat in private rooms and etc: these are actually nice things and I really got impressed by the amount of things you can do at the beginning. The game is very similar to others in fighting style, but it adds a small mechanic based on chains, where basically whenever you use a skill others may or not activate, making more consecutives attacks and so on: not a bad idea and can easily "thin" the skillbar from the huge amount of skills by putting only a few of them (since some chains are also activated by clicking the icon near the character). As far as I can go, there is a lot of good in this game, and I really enjoy playing it...but this is a F2P game in europe (not sure in america), and eventually this detail comes up with negative points that I could not avoid. I want to tell though that I understand this is a F2P so I DO know it's normal to pay for stuff in game, so I won't complain that in general, but the problem is that when you start the game as a "Starter" (the f2p version), you are so....SO limited! And I mean a LOT. First off, you have only 2 slots available (in ALL the game) and that's cruel considering there are 8 classes; you're limited in how many pieces of items you can gather (like iron, herbs, etc) by 150, which it seems a lot but later it can be easily reached considering that professions require a huge amount of materials grinding; you cannot trade with other characters, which means you're on your own all the time; you cannot whisper anybody in the game (but you can be whispered); you cannot use the generale channel, which means you cannot ask for help nor ask for informations about anything. And most brutal of all, you cannot use the auction house, meaning that your attempts to get some gold by selling some stuff will be totally useless, since the only item you can buy (I think), it's the gold pack...which is the whole point of the f2p version, since the shop itself hasn't a very huge variety of goods except for the customization tickets (not costy, and this is coming from an old WoW player), some motion feature (which is NOT permanent....) and other items like extra wings, pets, etc (all the basics). Honestly, the game is basically all around the gold pack, because it's like a subscription: it removes the limitation I just mentioned and basically gives bonuses to the player, making this game into a pay-to-win instead of a free-to-play; even though it's not costy (it's cheaper than asubscription) and can be bought in game (but it's so costy that you won't be able to afford it), the point of a f2p is buy additional content, NOT to limit the content...my guess it that they had to remove some features since the shop has almost nothing useful (except the previous things) and the game would be virtually the same as the retail version, less the subscription, but I didn't like all of this limitation: I've played f2p before and the point in those game is to give additional content without actually removing content...so I'll give it a 7 mainly because it's NOT a bad game and I actually enjoy it a lot, but the limitations "limits" the fun factor and the will of continuing the game because someone might be discouraged to go on considering the limitations until they either buy a goldpack or just stop completely. And that's all I can say. Expand
  4. RobbyM
    Oct 22, 2009
    6
    Visually fantastic
  5. LeahR
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    Grind, with occasional gank. That is Aion. I played the first two months and leveled to 50, cleared every dungeon, PVPed daily, mastered a craft, and went to (as well as organized) nearly every fort siege on my server. Ultimately, I quit because the game remained the same shallow, mindless grind it was from the start, and because the PVP never evolved from the cheap ganking and zerging Grind, with occasional gank. That is Aion. I played the first two months and leveled to 50, cleared every dungeon, PVPed daily, mastered a craft, and went to (as well as organized) nearly every fort siege on my server. Ultimately, I quit because the game remained the same shallow, mindless grind it was from the start, and because the PVP never evolved from the cheap ganking and zerging you'll encounter as soon as you step foot into the Abyss. Aion lacks any true endgame, and simply substitutes a gear/rank grind once you hit max level. The game feels frustratingly unfinished: there's an excellent combat engine and solid PVP mechanics underneath, but instead of putting them to good use, Aion resorts to simplistic sieges that end up being mindless, laggy zergs, or Abyss PVP that consists of ganking players who are grinding mobs. The endgame PVE content is more of the same, with too much trash to clear for too little reward. I knew the game was a Korean grinder going in, but was hoping the PVP would be good enough to keep me hooked. It isn't. Polished, pretty, and empty--don't expect more from Aion than the mindless grind from 1 to 50 and beyond. Expand
  6. ChristopherB
    Nov 30, 2009
    7
    Graphics are very good. Gamplay is fun. There isn't much to complain about in my opinion. Most of the people here that complains about this game is WOW related. Saying its a ripoff and so on. Aion isn't the best game but its very fun.
  7. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    5
    Beautiful game with superb character models and animations. Also the ability to flight. The potential was there, but that's it. Never realised. Flight time is too small, in specific areas only, too much grinding required and demanding cash shop. This game could have been so much better.
  8. LukeG
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    This game has the potential to be great but NCsoft need to pull their fingers out of their asses and fulfil that potential.
  9. StephenW.
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    Great graphics but Grind Grind Grind. Im a FAN of the Guild Wars series as you follow a story and become quite immersed. Aion however fails to captivate once the visuals have impressed. Im a huge anti Grind. So sorry NCsoft, I'm going to have to give this a miss.
  10. ReggiW
    Dec 1, 2009
    7
    Aion is a MMORPG i would recomend aquiring, gorgeous visuals, delightfull music. One of the best character creation there is around, interesting options for weapons (like the ability to take the stats from a good weapon and place them on a better looking one), flying ability is not new but its interesting, good character class choices (Best healer class i ever played on a MMORPG). Finnaly Aion is a MMORPG i would recomend aquiring, gorgeous visuals, delightfull music. One of the best character creation there is around, interesting options for weapons (like the ability to take the stats from a good weapon and place them on a better looking one), flying ability is not new but its interesting, good character class choices (Best healer class i ever played on a MMORPG). Finnaly a MMORPG in where we dont mana drain after using 4 spells and we can simply sit for heal/regen mana without the need of having hundreds of potions using up inventory space, and so not depending on those too much when adventuring away from a shop. As for those that stubbornly compare Aion to WoW, they are diferent games, Aion is Aion, WoW is WoW. Grinding? All MMORPGs have it. Same quests over and over? Most MMORPGs have them. Aion has bad PvP? WoW has THE worse PvP i have ever experimented upon! Simply... no. Moneysellers, a lot. Dont WoW have those too? Gets somehow boring overtime? All MMORPGs or even normal single player or multiplayer games get through that feeling (Yes, i got bored of grinding for leatherworking in WoW). Bottomline, Aion is an overall good game. Yes, it has some flaws, as any other MMORPG around, but its fun anyway, as WoW is (except for PvP). If you play Aion as Aion, you will surelly like it, if you start thinking too much about flaws, and end up comparing it to every other MMORPG there is, you will utterly end up anoyed and bored. Want complications? Play EvE online (a very good space MMO game). Expand
  11. May 15, 2012
    7
    Since patch 3.0, and the game going free to play, Aion has become a very well rounded MMO. Graphically, using the cryengine, things are stunning. The PVP is extremely enjoyable. Still a bit "grindy", but overall very impressive. Worth taking a look.
  12. NateS
    Oct 6, 2009
    5
    The first week with this game was terrible. The 2 day head start would always start with a 3 hour queue time during peak hours, and that queue would continue through out the week. Second week I was able to play without waiting and while the experience was great, the game still just feels like other typical MMOs e.g. Kill 20 of these, pick 15 of these, find this guy then come back to me. The first week with this game was terrible. The 2 day head start would always start with a 3 hour queue time during peak hours, and that queue would continue through out the week. Second week I was able to play without waiting and while the experience was great, the game still just feels like other typical MMOs e.g. Kill 20 of these, pick 15 of these, find this guy then come back to me. The game is pretty polished, animations are smooth, but it feels like they didn't put any effort in creating something unique. This is apparently a PvP centered game, but most of the PvP doesn't start until around level 25, so you would have to tough it out through the boring grind from 1-25 just to see and PvP action. If you are the type to enjoy grinding and are able to handle that repetitiveness then this is probably a game for you. If you hate that type of experience then steer clear from this. This game is most likely going to end up like all the other previous MMOs before it, even though i quit World of Warcraft years ago, even i could tell that this game will not knock Blizzard off their throne. Expand
  13. MacM
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    Those comparing this to WOW or proclaiming this to be the next big thing are somewhat deluded. Firstly, WOW does not force PvP which puts off a lot of players. Any truly successful MMO will always offer the option for those who don't like PvP to not have to. Aion does not have this, and when you get past level 30 you are forced into areas that are compulsory PVP flagged zones. This Those comparing this to WOW or proclaiming this to be the next big thing are somewhat deluded. Firstly, WOW does not force PvP which puts off a lot of players. Any truly successful MMO will always offer the option for those who don't like PvP to not have to. Aion does not have this, and when you get past level 30 you are forced into areas that are compulsory PVP flagged zones. This is where Aion will ultimately fail. I pre-ordered this game and participated in it's beta events. Troubled by hours and hours of queing just to get into the game, Aion's launch has been somewhat of a mess so far, with lots of downtime without warning, you would think that a game that has already been out there (Korea) for a long time, would have been easy to convert to a smooth release in the West, sadly it wasn't. The game may look beautiful, and it's presentation and combat system are a novelty at first, but just like other MMO's who have tried to implement new systems for the genre, it will likely fail in the long term. The quests in the game are all "samey" and have been done to death in other MMO's. Kill 10 of this and 10 of that, collect 10 of these and 10 of those. Whilst players who haven't researched this game properly will find is that doing these quests whilst being ganked by a bunch of players from the air, it soon gets frustrating and will result in a lot of players used to the comfort of previous zones, leaving the game. If you play MMO's for PvP, and enjoy ganking others, then this game is for you. If you prefer the comfort that PvE provides, then steer clear. Expand
  14. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    Too much grinding. Visually, Aion is probably the best MMORPG out there, but the gameplay is nowhere near on par with its graphics. This game is designed to be a timesink.
  15. ethanDuysen
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    once you get past the shiney look you see that it's really nothing more run another NCsoft game. you get customization yes but somewhat of a grind bot. you realize it's really nothing more then guild wars meets a pay per month mmo like wow or war. nothing really impressive, save your money for guild wars 2
  16. JordanP.
    Oct 7, 2009
    6
    Aion is a nicely polished game, but in the end just simply does not deliver anything new to the genre, and is also quite simply not worth the purchase and fees for something that already is, or can be acquired for no price at all. Still, it holds some innovations to be highly commended for, but nothing game changing to shape this game as a success in the genre of high expectations.
  17. JoshuaA.
    Oct 9, 2009
    6
    Aion is a wonderful looking game and is full of great animations beauty and its such a shame to see that the game is very simple and lacking in depth.The Quests are boring as they are your typical MMORPG rubbish, Grind or Collect Quests(Many of which are repeatable which is horrible). If only they had some inventive quests like some of ones i've seem on World of Warcraft or Warhammer Aion is a wonderful looking game and is full of great animations beauty and its such a shame to see that the game is very simple and lacking in depth.The Quests are boring as they are your typical MMORPG rubbish, Grind or Collect Quests(Many of which are repeatable which is horrible). If only they had some inventive quests like some of ones i've seem on World of Warcraft or Warhammer Online.The Worst thing is that with the flight element there could of been some fantastic quests but the developers have seen fit to basically make a lot of the PVE Zones a "No Flight" areas which completely ruins one of the games best parts. The Game is also too contained and linear as it is very low on zones and you just work your way around one and then another and another..... etc.The One Feature i do like about the game is the PVP or as it is in aion PVPVE which is essentially a huge never ending battlefield known as the abyss where your in a constant battle against an AI and Player race where you attempt to capture Artifacts (Which can be used to unleash great powers to either benefit the controlling race or destroy there enemy's.The Abyss allows flight so combat can be interesting and fun.The Abyss also allows you to get points to buy the very powerful Abyss gear. Another Problem is the game does not get very interesting until after level 25 as this is when you can enter the abyss and start doing instances but i fear that many players will get bored before they reach that level and quit without fully experiencing what the game has to offer. Another nice feature is the Stigmas which are items that when attach to the character allow them to perform powerful spells. A character can only use a certain number of stigmas at a time and must equip them at a Special NPC who will charge them Stigma Shards to Equip. Character Creation is also an enjoyable part of the game as they are many options to choose from a palettes for parts like hair colour, eye colour, skin colour etc but as noted by PC Zone, Way to many Emo Haircuts.There are many improvements this game could use including some inventive quests, more zones, more pre-25 content and an addition of land mounts to name a few. Aion has heaps of potential and needs some major changes to fulfill it. Hopefully it's developers will see the light and make appropriate changes either in the form of content updates or an expansion pack.Though i will kill NC-Soft if they don't get some decent bot protection and a report button for gold sellers. Expand
  18. ScottB
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    For those who have played WoW, this is ofcourse a breath of fresh air. However, if you don't intend on playing a PURE grinder, then this game is not for you. Korean-style RPG's are grinders, take it or leave it.
  19. JohnnyR
    Sep 23, 2009
    6
    Aion's visuals are stunning. The animation is well done. However, the main aspect of the game is where Aion starts to fall off. The class specialization occurs too early to make an informed decision and with no way to back track forces you to start again. The flight combat is nice, but with latency issues it will be harder to fight in air than it would be on the ground if Aion's visuals are stunning. The animation is well done. However, the main aspect of the game is where Aion starts to fall off. The class specialization occurs too early to make an informed decision and with no way to back track forces you to start again. The flight combat is nice, but with latency issues it will be harder to fight in air than it would be on the ground if someone's connection is not up to par. I can agree Aion is a bit of fresh air from the classic MMOs that have been reigning the PC for the past couple of years, but ultimately will become another Age of Conan or Warhammer Online, a forgotten memory. Expand
  20. EthanD.
    Sep 27, 2009
    6
    Lineage 2 meets Guild wars, good concept but another Korean grind bot courtesy of NC soft, save your money for guild wars 2 if you want a good NC soft game, Aion brings a well polished gaming experience and massive amounts of customization, just like Guild Wars, however fails to prove that NC soft can do more then just a grind bot. Sadly not the "WoW killer" everyone was hoping, one of Lineage 2 meets Guild wars, good concept but another Korean grind bot courtesy of NC soft, save your money for guild wars 2 if you want a good NC soft game, Aion brings a well polished gaming experience and massive amounts of customization, just like Guild Wars, however fails to prove that NC soft can do more then just a grind bot. Sadly not the "WoW killer" everyone was hoping, one of the better ones maybe, but there needs to be more content to prove that it can stand up. If you are looking for a new gaming experience without having to grind till you get cramps pick up Warhammer, EvE or wow. Aion lacks in the pve but in customization it acceles, much like Guild wars. Sorry NC soft, its the truth. Expand
  21. BrandonR
    Sep 30, 2009
    5
    The other moderate reviews are accurate. The game is good looking, but the MMO part is not developing. Currently lvl 12 and its been all grindage and no group questing. Nothing. Gents we live in a post WOW world; got to get the MMO going good or you might as well stuff the monthly fee and play it on a counsel. I might think differently later, then again is it worth the $15 a month to find out?
  22. JonC
    Nov 20, 2009
    5
    Aion has a lot of potential but suffers from a number of issues that NCSoft do not appear to be fixing. the lore of the world is poorly told and hard to get into, travel between regions is difficult and costly, and restoring XP upon death is also costly. these expenses wouldn't be so crippling if it wasn't for the fact that it's very hard to make money in aion and the Aion has a lot of potential but suffers from a number of issues that NCSoft do not appear to be fixing. the lore of the world is poorly told and hard to get into, travel between regions is difficult and costly, and restoring XP upon death is also costly. these expenses wouldn't be so crippling if it wasn't for the fact that it's very hard to make money in aion and the economy of the game has been ruined by bots and gold spammers. Expand
  23. MarcF.
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    Aion is a well polished game, but suffers from obvious bouts of laziness of the developers. The level design is incredibly linear and does not make the player immerse themselves well into the game world, making the game feel less MMORPG and more of an online adventure game. Gathering animations are the same for everything, whether it being fishing, mining, gathering herbs, gathering wood, Aion is a well polished game, but suffers from obvious bouts of laziness of the developers. The level design is incredibly linear and does not make the player immerse themselves well into the game world, making the game feel less MMORPG and more of an online adventure game. Gathering animations are the same for everything, whether it being fishing, mining, gathering herbs, gathering wood, etc. This is justified by saying that daeva's are magical and thus gather without getting their hands dirty, but it's frankly obvious what the attempt was. On that note, being a daeva is somewhat disappointing. If you're supposed to be a badass, immortal god-thing, then you're not going to be too impressive, because everyone else is the exact thing you are. If everyone is 'epic' then no one is 'epic' as I might add. The classes lack any originality and are not very exciting, but the combat is as close to the refinement that WoW accomplished as you're going to get these days. Overall, the game is good and polished, but it leaves you wanting more. I would not recommend. Expand
  24. Nov 13, 2010
    6
    It's a decent game, it's not very original, but it does a good job being a standard MMO. Ganking is a pretty big problem, because between levels 20 and 50 you can't really do anything against it. Personally it felt like I was just playing on autopilot the entire way, wasn't until I got to my 40s and could start doing semi-serious PvP it got any fun. It still takes too long to find partiesIt's a decent game, it's not very original, but it does a good job being a standard MMO. Ganking is a pretty big problem, because between levels 20 and 50 you can't really do anything against it. Personally it felt like I was just playing on autopilot the entire way, wasn't until I got to my 40s and could start doing semi-serious PvP it got any fun. It still takes too long to find parties in my opinion, unless you have at least a couple of hours of constant playtime you can't really do anything but solo grind.

    tl;dr PvEs very grindy, PvPs fun but requires a **** of PvE grinding.
    Expand
  25. Aug 13, 2011
    6
    Aion isn't for everyone. However, if you have a ton of time on your hands and love PvP it could prove to be somewhat rewarding. The leveling process is very slow, it's all grinding. the game starts opening up to you once you hit level 25 which is a real pain to get to. One thing I loved about the game is the character customization and the graphics, definitely amazing. To this day the gameAion isn't for everyone. However, if you have a ton of time on your hands and love PvP it could prove to be somewhat rewarding. The leveling process is very slow, it's all grinding. the game starts opening up to you once you hit level 25 which is a real pain to get to. One thing I loved about the game is the character customization and the graphics, definitely amazing. To this day the game tends to be extremely lifeless and filled with gold farmers. It's worth a try.. but you'll most likely turn the cold shoulder away from Aion. Expand
  26. Dec 31, 2011
    6
    One of the same boring asian mmorpg. Grinding, grinding and grinding. The game has nice graphics and the same ncsoft style of his game but the same boring gameplay in an world with instances
  27. Apr 22, 2012
    5
    The atmosphere is great, the music is great, the visuals are great, but the game itself is average. Combat gets boring quickly, and too often feels like the bad kind of grinding. Flying around with your character is a novelty that doesn't end up working that well. Still, the Truly Free model that Aion recently adopted offers great value, and this game is much better than most otherThe atmosphere is great, the music is great, the visuals are great, but the game itself is average. Combat gets boring quickly, and too often feels like the bad kind of grinding. Flying around with your character is a novelty that doesn't end up working that well. Still, the Truly Free model that Aion recently adopted offers great value, and this game is much better than most other "free" MMOs that are out there right now. Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Something that I was curious about after playing WoW for some time.
    I touched Linage 2 and didn't like it for game play and art style.
    When buying Aion I was a little afraid that the art style of the game will be the same of Linage and I was right.
    Aion doesn't discover anything new but at the same time doesn't improve anything.
    Game play was OK but art style wasn't something I liked.
  29. May 13, 2014
    7
    I started playing Aion when it just started 4.0 build. So I don't know how much changed from the previous version so don't get anger that some parts were ruined or gotten better. I am just stating what kind of impression I got from this game. It could good and bad, you can play it or not that is your choice.

    1) Gameplay = The combat system is rather average with not a lot of depth to it
    I started playing Aion when it just started 4.0 build. So I don't know how much changed from the previous version so don't get anger that some parts were ruined or gotten better. I am just stating what kind of impression I got from this game. It could good and bad, you can play it or not that is your choice.

    1) Gameplay = The combat system is rather average with not a lot of depth to it at all. I have played Gunslinger and Cleric till lvl 50 and realize there isn't much to it. It is like every other MMORPG out there which isn't bad to those who might enjoy these kinds of combat but doesn't mean it's good. The skills do get flashier and flashier as you level up and replacing older skills with the updated ones makes it look more appealing but I hardly notice a difference in usage. They have chain skills which isn't that extensive but it's there and it can be convenient(less buttons to click). The flight mechanic is surprising done well, the controls don't feel awkward and it is very responsive. The only gripe I can say about it is the lack of flight locations, you feel very restricted to the ground often. If you aren't grounded, flying around is pretty neat and I wished for more flight campaigns rather than PvP uses. The PvPvE is somewhat annoying if you aren't prepared for it but luckily you can avoid most of the PvP when you stay in the Fast-Track Servers and stay away from Standard Servers. 6/10 (
    Expand
  30. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    very similar to World of Warcraft in many ways : quests, craft, leveling, potions
    good things : graphics better then WoW or Guild War 1, character speak when casting a spell, wings used during flight, cities architecture, flight into circles to enter Balaurds homeland, flight in some dungeons
    less : quests annoying, timed flight, need potions between fights, not too many dungeons, enemy
    very similar to World of Warcraft in many ways : quests, craft, leveling, potions
    good things : graphics better then WoW or Guild War 1, character speak when casting a spell, wings used during flight, cities architecture, flight into circles to enter Balaurds homeland, flight in some dungeons
    less : quests annoying, timed flight, need potions between fights, not too many dungeons, enemy infiltration, exploring enemy world, world vs world, world vs Balaurds

    it is free now with many updates, patches and expansions.

    Game play : 5/10, graphics : 7/10, background : 5/10, lifetime : 7/10, sound : 7/10, community : 6/10
    Expand
  31. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    Feels like too much grinding. However, past that issue, I feel like it is still one of the best MMORPGs out there. I play solo, I feel that I have to buy things in order to progress. The coin system to get better armors seems frustrating and repetitive.

    Saw lots of bots in lowbie area. :(
  32. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    I really love this game, its a beautiful game, great graphics, great game play...sometimes. You can almost never socket successfully, and you get disconnected from the moment you start playing a lot of the time. The lag is quite real as well. If they can fix this problem then my review can change, but this is the highest i can give it right now.
  33. May 11, 2016
    5
    You can fly! Oh, wait, you can't really fly in most places.

    There's cool classes! Oh, wait, you can't even change from a cleric to a chanter if you chose priest. You can transfer your account from the US to/from EU versions! Oh, wait, you lose everything, including all your characters. You can solo/duo dungeons! Oh, wait, they're still boring and give terrible loot. There
    You can fly! Oh, wait, you can't really fly in most places.

    There's cool classes! Oh, wait, you can't even change from a cleric to a chanter if you chose priest.

    You can transfer your account from the US to/from EU versions! Oh, wait, you lose everything, including all your characters.

    You can solo/duo dungeons! Oh, wait, they're still boring and give terrible loot.

    There are some cool ideas here, but the gameplay itself is too tedious.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. 90
    Without a doubt, Aion is an incredibly polished experience that refines the best aspects of the genre and creates a spectacular new world. As a fan and critic of the genre, I wholeheartedly recommend Aion to both casual and experienced gamers.
  2. A streamlined, structured, gorgeous grind, an addictive and even rewarding grind if you're that way inclined, but a grind nonetheless. An ultimately grim and unvarying pursuit.
  3. Aion has definitely more potential than other most recently released MMOs. Its already quite a polished game, but lacks still some content especially for the high level range.