Aion PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Sep 22, 2009
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 424 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2012
    7
    I was curious about Aion when it first came out, however I never actually bought it because of the bad reviews and, mostly, because I hadn't enough time to play too many games back then. After 3 years the game becomes F2P and I decided to give a look and I must admit that I left an impression on me, both good and bad. The game lets you choose 2 factions and once you make that choice youI was curious about Aion when it first came out, however I never actually bought it because of the bad reviews and, mostly, because I hadn't enough time to play too many games back then. After 3 years the game becomes F2P and I decided to give a look and I must admit that I left an impression on me, both good and bad. The game lets you choose 2 factions and once you make that choice you can't undone it unless you play in another server, which can be bothersome. There are 4 classes (warrior, scout, mage and priest), and each one can split into 2 sub classes which resembles a specific talent (Templars are tanks, Clerics are Healers, Gladiators are damage-dealer warriors, and so on). Once you make this choice and after passing a very wide and detailed customization screen (so those who like to make abominations, you're welcome here). Finally you start the game, and from here it's basically the same as many other mmorpg: you do quest, sell trash, gain level (60 with the new patch) and hopefully more gear; there's basically everything from any other mmorpg, including instances, pvp, professions, pets. ingame customization (we'll get to that later), and surprisingly even houses for those who like to chat in private rooms and etc: these are actually nice things and I really got impressed by the amount of things you can do at the beginning. The game is very similar to others in fighting style, but it adds a small mechanic based on chains, where basically whenever you use a skill others may or not activate, making more consecutives attacks and so on: not a bad idea and can easily "thin" the skillbar from the huge amount of skills by putting only a few of them (since some chains are also activated by clicking the icon near the character). As far as I can go, there is a lot of good in this game, and I really enjoy playing it...but this is a F2P game in europe (not sure in america), and eventually this detail comes up with negative points that I could not avoid. I want to tell though that I understand this is a F2P so I DO know it's normal to pay for stuff in game, so I won't complain that in general, but the problem is that when you start the game as a "Starter" (the f2p version), you are so....SO limited! And I mean a LOT. First off, you have only 2 slots available (in ALL the game) and that's cruel considering there are 8 classes; you're limited in how many pieces of items you can gather (like iron, herbs, etc) by 150, which it seems a lot but later it can be easily reached considering that professions require a huge amount of materials grinding; you cannot trade with other characters, which means you're on your own all the time; you cannot whisper anybody in the game (but you can be whispered); you cannot use the generale channel, which means you cannot ask for help nor ask for informations about anything. And most brutal of all, you cannot use the auction house, meaning that your attempts to get some gold by selling some stuff will be totally useless, since the only item you can buy (I think), it's the gold pack...which is the whole point of the f2p version, since the shop itself hasn't a very huge variety of goods except for the customization tickets (not costy, and this is coming from an old WoW player), some motion feature (which is NOT permanent....) and other items like extra wings, pets, etc (all the basics). Honestly, the game is basically all around the gold pack, because it's like a subscription: it removes the limitation I just mentioned and basically gives bonuses to the player, making this game into a pay-to-win instead of a free-to-play; even though it's not costy (it's cheaper than asubscription) and can be bought in game (but it's so costy that you won't be able to afford it), the point of a f2p is buy additional content, NOT to limit the content...my guess it that they had to remove some features since the shop has almost nothing useful (except the previous things) and the game would be virtually the same as the retail version, less the subscription, but I didn't like all of this limitation: I've played f2p before and the point in those game is to give additional content without actually removing content...so I'll give it a 7 mainly because it's NOT a bad game and I actually enjoy it a lot, but the limitations "limits" the fun factor and the will of continuing the game because someone might be discouraged to go on considering the limitations until they either buy a goldpack or just stop completely. And that's all I can say. Expand
  2. May 11, 2016
    5
    You can fly! Oh, wait, you can't really fly in most places.

    There's cool classes! Oh, wait, you can't even change from a cleric to a chanter if you chose priest. You can transfer your account from the US to/from EU versions! Oh, wait, you lose everything, including all your characters. You can solo/duo dungeons! Oh, wait, they're still boring and give terrible loot. There
    You can fly! Oh, wait, you can't really fly in most places.

    There's cool classes! Oh, wait, you can't even change from a cleric to a chanter if you chose priest.

    You can transfer your account from the US to/from EU versions! Oh, wait, you lose everything, including all your characters.

    You can solo/duo dungeons! Oh, wait, they're still boring and give terrible loot.

    There are some cool ideas here, but the gameplay itself is too tedious.
    Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    3
    This game is very fun at first. The combat is soothing and the graphics are incredible! BUT, The quests are the same old BS. Kills this collect that, Kill 335 of these things to get 1 drop ect ect. But it gets worse folks. After that annoying grind you get to run ALL the way back to base to turn in the quests. Wait, did you say use your mount? Well you have NONE! No Mounts in the game! andThis game is very fun at first. The combat is soothing and the graphics are incredible! BUT, The quests are the same old BS. Kills this collect that, Kill 335 of these things to get 1 drop ect ect. But it gets worse folks. After that annoying grind you get to run ALL the way back to base to turn in the quests. Wait, did you say use your mount? Well you have NONE! No Mounts in the game! and only 1 minute. Thats right 1 minute of flight time and you think flying is cool? Well sorry! You get to only fly in DESIGNATED AREAS. haha! Oh wait you can increase your flight time with enchants, new items ect? Well by the time to get those items or a high enough level you will be so sick of all the boring grinding you will be balled. Also why would i enchant my armor to fly longer when i can get an extra +12 critical strike rating and you cant change armor if you pull aggro while flying. Thank god i bought this game+exsp for only 7 bucks. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    5
    The atmosphere is great, the music is great, the visuals are great, but the game itself is average. Combat gets boring quickly, and too often feels like the bad kind of grinding. Flying around with your character is a novelty that doesn't end up working that well. Still, the Truly Free model that Aion recently adopted offers great value, and this game is much better than most otherThe atmosphere is great, the music is great, the visuals are great, but the game itself is average. Combat gets boring quickly, and too often feels like the bad kind of grinding. Flying around with your character is a novelty that doesn't end up working that well. Still, the Truly Free model that Aion recently adopted offers great value, and this game is much better than most other "free" MMOs that are out there right now. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2011
    6
    Aion isn't for everyone. However, if you have a ton of time on your hands and love PvP it could prove to be somewhat rewarding. The leveling process is very slow, it's all grinding. the game starts opening up to you once you hit level 25 which is a real pain to get to. One thing I loved about the game is the character customization and the graphics, definitely amazing. To this day the gameAion isn't for everyone. However, if you have a ton of time on your hands and love PvP it could prove to be somewhat rewarding. The leveling process is very slow, it's all grinding. the game starts opening up to you once you hit level 25 which is a real pain to get to. One thing I loved about the game is the character customization and the graphics, definitely amazing. To this day the game tends to be extremely lifeless and filled with gold farmers. It's worth a try.. but you'll most likely turn the cold shoulder away from Aion. Expand
  6. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    5
    Beautiful game with superb character models and animations. Also the ability to flight. The potential was there, but that's it. Never realised. Flight time is too small, in specific areas only, too much grinding required and demanding cash shop. This game could have been so much better.
  7. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    If you're the type of MMO gamer that enjoyed Lineage 2 or any number of other traditional Korean MMOs, then this is the next step up. Graphically-speaking, nothing else can match the beauty of this game compared to any other MMO. The effects and detail are astounding (I say this after patch 2.5 and playing on a machine that can max out every setting). Gameplay-wise, it falls in to someIf you're the type of MMO gamer that enjoyed Lineage 2 or any number of other traditional Korean MMOs, then this is the next step up. Graphically-speaking, nothing else can match the beauty of this game compared to any other MMO. The effects and detail are astounding (I say this after patch 2.5 and playing on a machine that can max out every setting). Gameplay-wise, it falls in to some common ground with too many other MMOs in delivering very uninspired quests and backstory. The good thing is there is enough detail given to other mechanics in the game that the detail of some of the content doesn't matter as much as how much fun you have just playing your character and exploring the world. It's definitely not for everyone in this regard. In particular for me, combat felt a lot slower then I expected until you gain enough skills to be firing off constant combo moves (improves after level 20). It's also a very linear leveling experience due to a lot of restrictions in place with where you can go and how long you can fly (if at all). The mechanics for flight are a fun distraction to me, although often times you'll be restricted to 'gliding' instead. All in all, it's well worth a try and available with a free trial. After some disappointment from WoW:Cataclysm, this has become my preferred MMO at least until I get to try SWTOR and see if it's better. Expand
  8. Sep 27, 2014
    8
    I think Aion online is still improving.This is one of my favorite mmo's due to pvpve system, the character customization , item enchanting and game play. The details are beautiful and the creatures are unique.while in combat,zoom the camera in and check out by yourself.It's much like WoW but with better graphics and few new features.
  9. Dec 31, 2011
    6
    One of the same boring asian mmorpg. Grinding, grinding and grinding. The game has nice graphics and the same ncsoft style of his game but the same boring gameplay in an world with instances
  10. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    Aion has kind of improved. There's much less grinding, you can level your character from 1-65 in like a week. The community is still terrible and so is the NCsoft support. There are still ganks and PvP is unbalanced, but isn't that the case in almost every MMO?
    I think you should definitely try the game, though. The character customisation is great, the music and the landscape (especially
    Aion has kind of improved. There's much less grinding, you can level your character from 1-65 in like a week. The community is still terrible and so is the NCsoft support. There are still ganks and PvP is unbalanced, but isn't that the case in almost every MMO?
    I think you should definitely try the game, though. The character customisation is great, the music and the landscape (especially the new places) are beautiful. It involves much more group questing than it used to and it's much easier to acquire good gear.
    Expand
  11. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    very similar to World of Warcraft in many ways : quests, craft, leveling, potions
    good things : graphics better then WoW or Guild War 1, character speak when casting a spell, wings used during flight, cities architecture, flight into circles to enter Balaurds homeland, flight in some dungeons
    less : quests annoying, timed flight, need potions between fights, not too many dungeons, enemy
    very similar to World of Warcraft in many ways : quests, craft, leveling, potions
    good things : graphics better then WoW or Guild War 1, character speak when casting a spell, wings used during flight, cities architecture, flight into circles to enter Balaurds homeland, flight in some dungeons
    less : quests annoying, timed flight, need potions between fights, not too many dungeons, enemy infiltration, exploring enemy world, world vs world, world vs Balaurds

    it is free now with many updates, patches and expansions.

    Game play : 5/10, graphics : 7/10, background : 5/10, lifetime : 7/10, sound : 7/10, community : 6/10
    Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2010
    6
    It's a decent game, it's not very original, but it does a good job being a standard MMO. Ganking is a pretty big problem, because between levels 20 and 50 you can't really do anything against it. Personally it felt like I was just playing on autopilot the entire way, wasn't until I got to my 40s and could start doing semi-serious PvP it got any fun. It still takes too long to find partiesIt's a decent game, it's not very original, but it does a good job being a standard MMO. Ganking is a pretty big problem, because between levels 20 and 50 you can't really do anything against it. Personally it felt like I was just playing on autopilot the entire way, wasn't until I got to my 40s and could start doing semi-serious PvP it got any fun. It still takes too long to find parties in my opinion, unless you have at least a couple of hours of constant playtime you can't really do anything but solo grind.

    tl;dr PvEs very grindy, PvPs fun but requires a **** of PvE grinding.
    Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Something that I was curious about after playing WoW for some time.
    I touched Linage 2 and didn't like it for game play and art style.
    When buying Aion I was a little afraid that the art style of the game will be the same of Linage and I was right.
    Aion doesn't discover anything new but at the same time doesn't improve anything.
    Game play was OK but art style wasn't something I liked.
  14. May 13, 2014
    7
    I started playing Aion when it just started 4.0 build. So I don't know how much changed from the previous version so don't get anger that some parts were ruined or gotten better. I am just stating what kind of impression I got from this game. It could good and bad, you can play it or not that is your choice.

    1) Gameplay = The combat system is rather average with not a lot of depth to it
    I started playing Aion when it just started 4.0 build. So I don't know how much changed from the previous version so don't get anger that some parts were ruined or gotten better. I am just stating what kind of impression I got from this game. It could good and bad, you can play it or not that is your choice.

    1) Gameplay = The combat system is rather average with not a lot of depth to it at all. I have played Gunslinger and Cleric till lvl 50 and realize there isn't much to it. It is like every other MMORPG out there which isn't bad to those who might enjoy these kinds of combat but doesn't mean it's good. The skills do get flashier and flashier as you level up and replacing older skills with the updated ones makes it look more appealing but I hardly notice a difference in usage. They have chain skills which isn't that extensive but it's there and it can be convenient(less buttons to click). The flight mechanic is surprising done well, the controls don't feel awkward and it is very responsive. The only gripe I can say about it is the lack of flight locations, you feel very restricted to the ground often. If you aren't grounded, flying around is pretty neat and I wished for more flight campaigns rather than PvP uses. The PvPvE is somewhat annoying if you aren't prepared for it but luckily you can avoid most of the PvP when you stay in the Fast-Track Servers and stay away from Standard Servers. 6/10 (
    Expand
  15. Nov 7, 2010
    2
    This game is a joke They cant control the bots and gold farmers that have hacked their own game It is overridden with GOLD FARMERS AND BOTS LIKE EVERY OTHER NCSOFT game. It's still a grind. They may have upped the experience gain but that doesn't change the grind involved only lessens the time to gain a level! Asian MMO developers still haven't given up that grind 2 play mentality. WhichThis game is a joke They cant control the bots and gold farmers that have hacked their own game It is overridden with GOLD FARMERS AND BOTS LIKE EVERY OTHER NCSOFT game. It's still a grind. They may have upped the experience gain but that doesn't change the grind involved only lessens the time to gain a level! Asian MMO developers still haven't given up that grind 2 play mentality. Which is not only dumb but also a shame as this game could have been great. Expand
  16. May 27, 2011
    7
    For the first 20 hours or so, this game is fantastic. Probably the best MMO I've yet played (besides WoW of course). After 20 hours or so you start to realize you're just doing the same thing over and over and over and it gets so awfully repetitious. Graphics in this game are SUPERB though.
  17. Feb 29, 2012
    2
    If you like Grinding, this is the game for you. I have played many MMO's and many of them did one particular thing better than the others. Aion online does nothing better than any other MMO I've played. To all those people giving this game great reviews: If you like this game then there are other games you would absolutely love a whole lot more...
  18. MTR
    Jan 23, 2013
    0
    Warning to all new European users! This game at 23/01/2013 is a P2P, you must use real money to buy each month "1 gold pack". Without this item you cant do basic actions like buy/sell in market (broker) and have others big limitations that make impossible to play at level 20+.
  19. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Today Aion is the best MMORPG game around. if you reach 50+ level with your character (1-2 week) you will see how Aion is great ;)

    i played so many mmorpg (gw2, wow, lineage etc.) aion is the best so far.

    Im gonna keep play this beauty untill Archeage come out for EU :)
  20. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    Too much grinding. Visually, Aion is probably the best MMORPG out there, but the gameplay is nowhere near on par with its graphics. This game is designed to be a timesink.
  21. XJT
    May 24, 2015
    3
    The game is quite bad, and I was pretty surprised for an old title like this. Initial leveling is fast and then it just bogs down and gets aweful. I couldn't figure out where I was supposed to go to grind and level - so I either ended up killing mobs over my head and then dying or killing trash for no xp. So many people wrote guides on where to go, but they are obsolete after 1-2The game is quite bad, and I was pretty surprised for an old title like this. Initial leveling is fast and then it just bogs down and gets aweful. I couldn't figure out where I was supposed to go to grind and level - so I either ended up killing mobs over my head and then dying or killing trash for no xp. So many people wrote guides on where to go, but they are obsolete after 1-2 years. I gave the game a full 2 weeks, but it was just to horrible to carry on any more. I can't imagine how miserable end game must be. Good luck to anyone to tries to play this horrid game. Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a grinder. It is freaking beautiful! I have played 4 MMOs (IMO major oones), and am happy with it quite allot. The only thing I miss is addons. The quest sysem is great, but finding the objectives can be a little confusing for some of the quests. After you get used to the UI (learning curb is a standard thing in MMOs), you get addicted. I have yet to be flatlined on my enthusiasm, and I have logged over 40 hours so far in it! Love it may be a too strong phrase, but I am on the virge of loving it!, just need to get higher lvl and start using more of the flight aspect in the grind Expand
  23. May 15, 2012
    7
    Since patch 3.0, and the game going free to play, Aion has become a very well rounded MMO. Graphically, using the cryengine, things are stunning. The PVP is extremely enjoyable. Still a bit "grindy", but overall very impressive. Worth taking a look.
  24. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    It's a good M.M.O.R.P.G. with both PvE and PvP content that offers a. awesome. experience.......
    It offers a .lot of fun for a variety of users........
  25. May 29, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is much much better than Diablo 3. At least it is not pay 2 win. You get housing too. It feels like sims online! Sims online + WoW ish game play you have something that is got to be 10/10.
  26. May 16, 2011
    4
    It is a beautiful environment. For me that is where the good ends. It is a grinder pvp fest. The gear is nothing to write home about due to the poor customization. Gold farmers are present above a level that I am comfortable with. The class system is more of the same. It is a overly gear gear dependent game. The crafting system needs some work as well due to the overall issue withIt is a beautiful environment. For me that is where the good ends. It is a grinder pvp fest. The gear is nothing to write home about due to the poor customization. Gold farmers are present above a level that I am comfortable with. The class system is more of the same. It is a overly gear gear dependent game. The crafting system needs some work as well due to the overall issue with usefulness at lower tiers. When you get in to making gold items then it becomes useful. It is heavily dependent on group play for survival. If you like to mix it up between solo and group play this might not be the game for you. Expand
  27. Jun 18, 2011
    2
    Quite a fun MMO up till about level 20.. then BAM grinding smacks you in the face.. takes wayy to long to level and there are not enough quests.. graphically the game is very nice combat is nice but you can get past the grinding. People in the game are also a bunch of jackasses, there are no helpful people in the game (thats if you can find them)
  28. May 29, 2012
    10
    #1 game in Korea. Why ? because it's awesome. with the 3.0 update there are so many features. Unlike the grindy diablo 3 this game actually feels fun. And guess what it's free and NOT pay to win loool.
  29. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    WoW! This is the best MMO-RPG! In everything: the characters , leveling, combat, the world , everything! This is compared with 4story by Gameforce. There's the best MMO-RPG ever. Thurst me and play it!
  30. Dec 7, 2016
    9
    A lot of things has changed in Aion, since I started to play 8 years ago. And let's be honest.. Gameforge completely wasted this game and changed Aion into their another, money digging MMO with restrictions and empty servers. Shame on you, Gameforge for ruining Aion in Europe.
    NCSoft NA version, is the only one I can recommend (beside Korean).
    What you should know before joining Aion and
    A lot of things has changed in Aion, since I started to play 8 years ago. And let's be honest.. Gameforge completely wasted this game and changed Aion into their another, money digging MMO with restrictions and empty servers. Shame on you, Gameforge for ruining Aion in Europe.
    NCSoft NA version, is the only one I can recommend (beside Korean).
    What you should know before joining Aion and what changed during 8 years:
    For now Siel is the most populated server, followed by Israphel. Plus I've heard rumors about server merging. Events happens basically every week or two. Every 10 levels, starting from level 5, you are getting free stuff, such as armors, weapons, wings or other useful items, which is a big help for newcomers. You can play without pvp till level 65 on fast-track server. After that you will be spending time struggling with your race enemies (beside arenas, sieges in Abyss, or battlefields earlier), so there's a lot of time to learn the basics. Maps on standard server are unfortunately empty, because most of players prefer to play on fast-track server. It might be a plus for some people, or minus for others. Everything is about new maps - Iluma (Elyos) and Norsvold (Asmodian). And while leveling till 65-66 might be easy, since 67-75 it takes months if you're not a hardcore player.
    ** Economy isn't really stable, mostly because of constant events, but many items have own stable price. You can get kinah (in-game currency) in many ways, such as: crafting (first you should learn prices and know what sells the best or what is desired), extracting armors from quests/selling coins/manastones/potions/or other tradeable stuff from quests/grinding, events, participating in Taki's mission and collecting crystals then crafting items in Luna Shop or by finding your own sugar daddy. Yes- you will need a lot of kinah if you dont want to be a training dummy in PvP.
    ** It's not hard to find a party for popular instances such as early (or endgame) ADMA or THEO, ORB, DR, Sauro, Upper Abyss Barracks or camp-switching runs in Levinshor and many other. Many new instances has been added. Many of them are pretty challenging, because rewards will make you a billionaire.
    ** There's no queues anymore.. You don't have to buy additional content, everything is unlocked. You are not forced to buy items from cash shop, since, as you can read above, there's a lot of possibilities to make kinah. You dont have to grind coins anymore (plat, gold, silver, bronze) for weeks to get a gear. You can shapeshift into one of four elements now - Fire, Water, Wind or Earth, thanks to new essence system, available for Archdeavas. There's new crafting option for Archdeavas - Aetherforging.
    Plus A LOT OF NEGATIVE REVIEWS HERE ARE OUTDATED. If you decided to quit Aion from any reasons, give it another try. You won't regret it, since Aion have changed. For good, of course.
    Expand
  31. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    This game is a massive turd.Massive I say. I logged in and accepted the first quest in the tutorial and it was "kill 3 ..." I thought it was a quest for the purpose of teaching how the combat works, but that was already it. Thats the whole game play. It starts with the first quest and it never ends. Kill X of X, that is it. Everything in his game, and by everything i mean EVERYTHING isThis game is a massive turd.Massive I say. I logged in and accepted the first quest in the tutorial and it was "kill 3 ..." I thought it was a quest for the purpose of teaching how the combat works, but that was already it. Thats the whole game play. It starts with the first quest and it never ends. Kill X of X, that is it. Everything in his game, and by everything i mean EVERYTHING is grind. This game is so bad, it goes to the point that I can not give even a rating of 1/10 for the graphics because this has no purpose. **** is **** and it wont stop being **** if you color it. And tbh ths grafics suck, you zoom in and you see how bad it is. Its just a cruel mix of random colors, looks like greenish brown vomit. Every single texture looks the same, mobs a being reused over and over again until the end of time and space. You are standing in a pool of piss up to your neck and there is a boar trying to take a diarrhea dumb on your head and you have to decide to take a dive in the piss to avoid being **** on or you put up with the diarrhea and take a nice long bath in the piss to wash it off. It was already a failure the moment somebody in NC Soft got the idea to create this game. Expand
  32. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    Feels like too much grinding. However, past that issue, I feel like it is still one of the best MMORPGs out there. I play solo, I feel that I have to buy things in order to progress. The coin system to get better armors seems frustrating and repetitive.

    Saw lots of bots in lowbie area. :(
  33. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Aion is a visually stunning world with captivating story and combat. The grind at launch has since long been fixed and is now a stand MMO with flight, PvPvE content, content patches every few months and one of the best customer support around. I've played World of Warcraft and Rift and I cannot say how much better Aion is in customization, story telling, combat and visuals. The world ofAion is a visually stunning world with captivating story and combat. The grind at launch has since long been fixed and is now a stand MMO with flight, PvPvE content, content patches every few months and one of the best customer support around. I've played World of Warcraft and Rift and I cannot say how much better Aion is in customization, story telling, combat and visuals. The world of Aion is something that you must not miss and there is no reason to with the free trial. Breathing a breath of fresh air into the genre, Aion revolutionizes everything we think is possible in an mmo. Crafting, Combat, Flight, Graphics, all rich in detail and webs intricate patterns into the game that will not be looked over.
    This game is definitely a game that you must play if you are waiting for a game or wanting a game to call home.
    Expand
  34. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    Visually fantastic, visually alot better than world of warcaft, star wars the old republic. UI is somehow challencing for many players tries it. In europe it's F2P nowadays, I guess it's best F2P mmo I know, worth to try atleast!
  35. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Aion is a excellent game, but the western staff has done everything to kill the western playerbase.

    I've been playing this game for over 3 years, and I've been banned a total of 3 times. Players tend to report others simply because they got killed on PvP. The support staff is incompetent, often they refuse to give answers or reasons as why players get banned and they simply ignore
    Aion is a excellent game, but the western staff has done everything to kill the western playerbase.

    I've been playing this game for over 3 years, and I've been banned a total of 3 times. Players tend to report others simply because they got killed on PvP. The support staff is incompetent, often they refuse to give answers or reasons as why players get banned and they simply ignore evidence.

    Currently the game has no active Community Managers, they got fired since the Seattle Offices were closed, leaving the players clueless about updates and events.
    Expand
  36. May 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite mmo's due to the character customization and game play. The details are beautiful and the creatures are unique. Those that say that Aion isn't a awesome gaming experience haven't truly gotten into it. It's much like WoW but with out the Creature Race's.
  37. Aug 9, 2013
    3
    Took me ages to decide to check this one out and I am glad I didn't when it was still pay-to-play. After few months of playing I can say that out of big MMOs it's probably one of the worst. Sure it still looks gorgeous compared to most but graphics are not all. Most of the elements of this game are just bad. PvP is weird and forcing it on people trying to do regular quests makes bunch ofTook me ages to decide to check this one out and I am glad I didn't when it was still pay-to-play. After few months of playing I can say that out of big MMOs it's probably one of the worst. Sure it still looks gorgeous compared to most but graphics are not all. Most of the elements of this game are just bad. PvP is weird and forcing it on people trying to do regular quests makes bunch of them quit the game. It's too chaotic. PvE is boring and reduced to mindless grinding same missions 10, 30, 100 times. Classes are not balanced at all. Some depend on gear, some not. The fact that there is actually a PvP gear and you may want to have PvE AND PvP set is ridiculous. Rewards for missions are disappointing. The game is no newbie friendly. I see people having problems pretty often and not all of them are classic dumb noobs. There is bot infestation on every server and reporting does nothing cause nobody cares or checks those reports. Community is one of the worst things in this game though. Most of high level people are self entitled elites who call everyone a noob and refuse to associate with people outside their group of friends/legion (getting a group for instances for example is nearly impossible). And the lowbies are people who will most likely quit after getting ambushed by enemy faction for the first time while they are trying to get Essencetapping skill higher fro 10 hours straight. Cause that's the most important thing in the game along with getting crafting skills high which takes days of pointless standing and wiggling your arms around. Even grinding same stuff in Diablo 3 over and over again isn't as boring and pointless as most of the things in AION. Disappointing. Expand
  38. AnonymousMC
    Oct 7, 2009
    4
    I've only reached level 20 (of 50) with a couple of characters, but Aion is promising to be another grindfest. A complete failure regarding innovation: travel, kill X mobs, use exactly identical attack sequence, repeat. The much touted flying dynamic is horribly limited and underwhelming. The graphics are well done, and there aren't too many in-game bugs for a brand new MMO (norI've only reached level 20 (of 50) with a couple of characters, but Aion is promising to be another grindfest. A complete failure regarding innovation: travel, kill X mobs, use exactly identical attack sequence, repeat. The much touted flying dynamic is horribly limited and underwhelming. The graphics are well done, and there aren't too many in-game bugs for a brand new MMO (nor should there be). Expand
  39. BobbyP
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    Tried to get excited about this after they said the typical Korean MMO grind had been removed / reduced but it's just more of the same and after seeing how NCsoft treated it's staff and customers in Europe earlier this year, not going to support the company any more.
  40. MarvellT
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    I'm new to the MMORPG genre and to be completely honest; this game is absoluely great for first timers like myself looking to get into the genre. Compared to some other titles that I have seen, Aion is simply the best in my eyes and I look forward to future expansions!!!
  41. LukeG
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    This game has the potential to be great but NCsoft need to pull their fingers out of their asses and fulfil that potential.
  42. JasonF
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    For a beta or recent release this game is beautiful and polished. All the reviews with a zero score are really offensive. This game looks better than WOW, and WOW is just as much if not more of a grindfest. Is this game breaking the mold or innovative? No one can say just yet, we haven't seen the endgame. At least for me, this is in many ways an improvement over WOW, and very much a For a beta or recent release this game is beautiful and polished. All the reviews with a zero score are really offensive. This game looks better than WOW, and WOW is just as much if not more of a grindfest. Is this game breaking the mold or innovative? No one can say just yet, we haven't seen the endgame. At least for me, this is in many ways an improvement over WOW, and very much a welcome change. I'm confident they will add more areas and that there will be more places to fly later on... WOW went through millions of patches to get where they are now. I think this game deserves a chance. Expand
  43. AidanW
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    If you've run out of things to do in WoW and Lotro/AoC/WAR/CO etc. didn't quite cut it as a suitable replacement then take a look at this game. Graphically this game is a treat, performance is good, gameplay is more immediate, challenging and visually rewarding than most. This ticks most boxes for your standard MMORPG, adding a few new and enjoyable features while not breaking If you've run out of things to do in WoW and Lotro/AoC/WAR/CO etc. didn't quite cut it as a suitable replacement then take a look at this game. Graphically this game is a treat, performance is good, gameplay is more immediate, challenging and visually rewarding than most. This ticks most boxes for your standard MMORPG, adding a few new and enjoyable features while not breaking the mold. For me, having sucked every last bit of joy out of my favourite MMO and not considering going back until the next big expansion a year or so from now Aion has proved a godsend. Not without it's faults, but then there are not enough of those to prevent me from enjoying this more than I've enjoyed any of the alternative MMOs I've tried in the last few years. Expand
  44. RayK.
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    Aion has beautiful zones, great character customization, solid gameplay and great lore. It suffers from a few drawbacks and some clunkiness at times from the UI (odd mouse things), but overall it is a very beautiful and fun game. No one expects it to kill WoW and it won't, but it's a fun alternative for people who are burned out on WoW and it's lack of innovation.
  45. OswaldK
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    I see Aion as the basis "starting point" for a great experience. Im enjoying the game in its current state, however, it needs what ill define as "more". More quests, items, lands etc. Its fun, looks great and at times I don't realize im playing to level, which is great, since we should be playing to have fun right.
  46. DarranA.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    I give this game a ten, Why?, By not comparing it to a well established MMO, i am rating this as a launch product and by that simple fact it deserves a ten because of how polished and bug free the game really is. I closed beta tested this , then open beta, and now enjoying the live game immensely. Graphics scale well ona basic maching and still look great, they also look out of this world I give this game a ten, Why?, By not comparing it to a well established MMO, i am rating this as a launch product and by that simple fact it deserves a ten because of how polished and bug free the game really is. I closed beta tested this , then open beta, and now enjoying the live game immensely. Graphics scale well ona basic maching and still look great, they also look out of this world on a high end machine. I come from 4 years of WOW and this comes as a breath of fresh air for me and a good replacement for the WOW machine. Its Charming , exciting, complex and thoroughly enjoyable. Give it a try Graphics 10 Sound 8 Gameplay 9 Polish 10 Community 8. Expand
  47. NickB
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    It has the feel of Final Fantasy 11 with the ability to solo and enjoy the game without waiting hours for a group. GREAT class defenition each class has it's own feel and play style. The graphics are amaising and the art style is just beautiful. It's a world that is easy to move around in while still providing a good challenge. I can't wait until end game to see how the It has the feel of Final Fantasy 11 with the ability to solo and enjoy the game without waiting hours for a group. GREAT class defenition each class has it's own feel and play style. The graphics are amaising and the art style is just beautiful. It's a world that is easy to move around in while still providing a good challenge. I can't wait until end game to see how the dungens run. Expand
  48. JerkOff
    Oct 8, 2009
    4
    Aion looks pretty and feels polished, but under that thin layer of glistening filament is an all too familiar turd. It plays like the bastard child of World of Warcraft and every korean MMO ever created.
  49. DanielD.
    Oct 9, 2009
    8
    Aion is a great game. It has some beautiful landscapes and many different monsters. The PVE is great too, some monsters are magical while some use melee. The PVP is super. At the levels 0-24 you can't really pvp, unless you find a rift (wich is hard), but, at level 25 you can get to the Abyss. In the Abyss you're able to kill monsters for Abyss points and exp. The abyss points Aion is a great game. It has some beautiful landscapes and many different monsters. The PVE is great too, some monsters are magical while some use melee. The PVP is super. At the levels 0-24 you can't really pvp, unless you find a rift (wich is hard), but, at level 25 you can get to the Abyss. In the Abyss you're able to kill monsters for Abyss points and exp. The abyss points are used for ranks or for good weapons. You can also PVP freely, although you need a group because most asmos are in groups. The animations are good and they don't look as if it is a robot (stiff animations). The bad things are the queues from time to time, although should be fixed at the end of October when everyone gets a free transfer to an other server. There's also the gold spammers. They're all over Aion, and no GM's are online to ban them. Expand
  50. StephenW.
    Sep 24, 2009
    6
    Great graphics but Grind Grind Grind. Im a FAN of the Guild Wars series as you follow a story and become quite immersed. Aion however fails to captivate once the visuals have impressed. Im a huge anti Grind. So sorry NCsoft, I'm going to have to give this a miss.
  51. ReneB.
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    it is a very well polished game, it does what WoW did on release, generally fuse the best aspects of the various games on the market and add a little polish. if you've ever played WoW, EQ2, FF11, AoC you will instantly feel the resemblance, and a few extra features (the gliding mostly) that are a pelasant surprise. The combat system is very refreshing with the combo system, but it is a very well polished game, it does what WoW did on release, generally fuse the best aspects of the various games on the market and add a little polish. if you've ever played WoW, EQ2, FF11, AoC you will instantly feel the resemblance, and a few extra features (the gliding mostly) that are a pelasant surprise. The combat system is very refreshing with the combo system, but unlike warhammer, has a very 1:1 feel for the animations. when your character hits, you hit. i have played WoW since closed beta, if i had the time i'd be playing this game right now. Expand
  52. JungS.
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    This is an absolutely gorgeous game for a MMOrpg and one of the most addictive games you could ever get your hands on. No grinding what so ever. If you consider doing quests, grinding, MMO is not your game. Unless you played WoW and was influenced by how easy it is to level up.
  53. AlC
    Sep 28, 2009
    9
    I've gotten to level 20, and think it's worth checking out if you're already a bit jaded with your current MMO. Aion has fewer options and less content overall compared to WOW, but the graphics / world is gorgeous and some of the mechanics changes are fun. Jury still out on whether the focus on in-world pvp is better than focusing on battlegrounds, but Aion pvp is supposed I've gotten to level 20, and think it's worth checking out if you're already a bit jaded with your current MMO. Aion has fewer options and less content overall compared to WOW, but the graphics / world is gorgeous and some of the mechanics changes are fun. Jury still out on whether the focus on in-world pvp is better than focusing on battlegrounds, but Aion pvp is supposed to be pretty good according to the high levels. Expand
  54. NolanS
    Sep 29, 2009
    4
    As many others have said, AION has a very nice polish on the outside, but not a whole lot going on inside. Everything is linear. There is ONE starting zone for each faction and ONE race for each faction. There are no talent trees or customization for your characters. Every Cleric will be the same, aside from maybe 1 or 2 skills, every Assassin will be the same...etc...etc. You have to As many others have said, AION has a very nice polish on the outside, but not a whole lot going on inside. Everything is linear. There is ONE starting zone for each faction and ONE race for each faction. There are no talent trees or customization for your characters. Every Cleric will be the same, aside from maybe 1 or 2 skills, every Assassin will be the same...etc...etc. You have to level gathering on every character. There is no diversity in professions to allow much difference in mechanics there. There are no instances to break the grind, at least not until level 30 (which is probably ~50ish hours of game play in). There are no achievements, no pets, no mounts, no reputation gains. You quest, you grind and (IF you are the right level and IF you get a group and IF the opposing faction is there and IF they are willing) you PvP. That.is.it. But, yes, you look pretty cool doing it. Looks won't make up for lack of content for long though. Expand
  55. PaulN
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    Visuals are stunning and definitely make it a must-play game. Player advancement Ok, but new skills not available at every level. Some quests not possible to complete without a team. A few quests encountered that were buggy. Personal store interesting concept but not sure about viability.
  56. TomN
    Jan 5, 2010
    4
    I like to think of myself that can't be moved by hype, but Aion managed it. I bought the collectors edition, loved the beta events pre-release (capped at level 30) and the graphics/char customisation are incredible. I contributed to an Aion blog and posted regular, well-recieved PvP vids, as well as a popular sorcerer guide, so I was definitely invested in the game. The wings are I like to think of myself that can't be moved by hype, but Aion managed it. I bought the collectors edition, loved the beta events pre-release (capped at level 30) and the graphics/char customisation are incredible. I contributed to an Aion blog and posted regular, well-recieved PvP vids, as well as a popular sorcerer guide, so I was definitely invested in the game. The wings are fortunately not a gimmick and after quitting, I honestly believe that every single MMO in existence should have glide. :) That's the positives. I joined a fantastic legion off the bat and that's the only reason I managed to last two months. At about level 30, the grindwall hits. By level 40 you're a soldier if you keep on going. I quit at 46 after forcing the last three or so levels out of me (approx. 1 level per week, playing 4-8 hrs a day). While normally you might look past this and think it'll all be better at endgame, in Aion's case... no. There's no endgame. It's literally exactly the same stuff as what you've been doing on the way to 50, and in many ways there's even less to do. Aion was released a good year or two too early, which is extremely unfortunate as early game is promising and engaging... capping the betas to level 30 was a very clever trick on NCSoft's part but that's about where their cleverness ends. Expand
  57. TrudiA
    Jan 8, 2010
    3
    Looks flashy, in fact very flashy. Everything in this game is done in a stylish manner. It's easy to pick the game up and also easy to appreciate the game. At first, the game gives you an impression that its somewhat a redux for WoW. None the less you'll be impressed with the, graphics, user interface (including build in quest helper) arial PVP and vast character customization Looks flashy, in fact very flashy. Everything in this game is done in a stylish manner. It's easy to pick the game up and also easy to appreciate the game. At first, the game gives you an impression that its somewhat a redux for WoW. None the less you'll be impressed with the, graphics, user interface (including build in quest helper) arial PVP and vast character customization possibilities. Game play is also quite enjoyable at lower to mid levels, you learn to appreciate the game. Earlier stages of the game I thought bunch of people sat down and asked them selves "how can we improve wow" prior to designing the game. But soon the novelty wears off. For myself the game utterly disappointed me in PvP, versatility of builds, user interface, lack of contents and other balance issues. Firstly the user interface which I adored absolutely in the beginning. Much appreciated inbuilt quest help will more often fail to locate mobs and quest NPC (it is funny how this doesn't really happen until you hit mid 20's coincidence? ). At times I missed my curse client.... The lack of user customization of interfaces will put a frown on your face, if you are used to the likes of WOW and guildwars customization of your HP bar etc (size, color, place etc) then you're going to be extremely disappointed. I'll now move on to game contents Lack of versatility: the game lacks versatility in builds; when I say this I don't mean every second guy will have the same skills. (in this game stigmas are the only ways to differentiate your builds, until lvl 45 you're only allowed to have up to 4 stigmas = thats 4 skills.....) The only times where you'll see the guy next to you is having a different set of skills, is that the poor guy couldn't yet afford the stigmas. this is the worst during your lvl 30's where you can only have 3 stigmas, but really every templar will have unwavering devotion and inescapable judgment equipped, leaving 1 stigma slot for 'your build'. PVP system is quite horrible, at first you may be fooled by the fancy motions and effects, but you'll soon become a victim of auto target. Unlike in WoW a lvl 45 can run into a mob of lvl 38's and wipe them out, and there's nothing you can do to stop the higher lvl. If you encounter someone 5~7 lvl + rest assured you wont' land a single sleep, root, stun, slow etc. Simply there's no way of beating the higher lvl (unless its somewhat 2 ~3 party vs 1). The game lacks in contents. By that I mean it hasn't enough raids. No where near enough. Even though the game may be fairly new what I'm about to describe is unacceptable in my standards. The game only offers a few instances once you hit max level. There are some instances available in abyss (free for all maps), but these have 1 day cool down, and your race must own the respective fortresses for you to be able to enter these instances. Last balance between classes. Most games suffer from balances between classes, but Aion has to be the game that suffers from inbalance from classes in pvp. Since skill play a small role in pvp battles it makes this matter worse. Overall the game is a good eye candy and is very appealing for such a young game, also very easy to pick up and learn. However a lot needs to be worked on in respect to contents user interface and bot problems(customer reps usually will give you a copy and pasted response that had nothing to do with your inquiry, and yes that bot you reported last week will still be around, only richer and 10 lvls higher). I may come back and revisit the game in the future, once more contents are available along with some pvp issues, but until then this game will remain as an eye candy, but nothing more. Expand
  58. TheChase
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    If you give the game less then 5 only because its a grind you really need to play more games. Anyways Ive played aion since beta Pros: Graphics, Sound, Large Scale organized pvp, crafting produces useful items, plenty of quests to keep you busy. pvp designated and pve designated zones. Monthly rewards for subscribing to the game. Cons: Solo PvP is unbalanced you will be useless without a If you give the game less then 5 only because its a grind you really need to play more games. Anyways Ive played aion since beta Pros: Graphics, Sound, Large Scale organized pvp, crafting produces useful items, plenty of quests to keep you busy. pvp designated and pve designated zones. Monthly rewards for subscribing to the game. Cons: Solo PvP is unbalanced you will be useless without a group if you play certain classes. Drop rates for items are really shitty. a 20 minute boss fight with no loot is pretty annoying. pvp highly dependent on consumables, making it costly to be at your best. Instances are very very long because there are a lot of repeatable quests you do during them that u have to run out and back in for which takes about 5 minutes, when u have a group and 6 people do it there is a lot of slow down. Thats all i can think of but another thing to mention is until u get near level 50 pvp does not scale well. Even though the cons look longer i still find this one of the most enjoyable mmo's i have found in a long time, and considering this game is still pretty fresh the horizon is looking bright and im sticking around. Expand
  59. GlennC.
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    It is a grinder. It is freaking beautiful! I have played 4 MMOs (IMO major oones), and am happy with it quite allot. The only thing I miss is addons. The quest sysem is great, but finding the objectives can be a little confusing for some of the quests. After you get used to the UI (learning curb is a standard thing in MMOs), you get addicted. I have yet to be flatlined on my enthusiasm, It is a grinder. It is freaking beautiful! I have played 4 MMOs (IMO major oones), and am happy with it quite allot. The only thing I miss is addons. The quest sysem is great, but finding the objectives can be a little confusing for some of the quests. After you get used to the UI (learning curb is a standard thing in MMOs), you get addicted. I have yet to be flatlined on my enthusiasm, and I have logged over 40 hours so far in it! Love it may be a too strong phrase, but I am on the virge of loving it!, just need to get higher lvl and start using more of the flight aspect in the grind. Expand
  60. BarnabyR
    Oct 12, 2009
    3
    Even though I was eagerly awaiting this MMO it turned out to be a bitter disapointment. Overall the game just seems like another endless grind similar to lineage or even wow. Pvp doesnt happen till 25 so that also killed it for me. Flying is tedious and you are only aloud to fly in certian areas which made it very annoying to get around. Fighting was far to prolonged and difficult which Even though I was eagerly awaiting this MMO it turned out to be a bitter disapointment. Overall the game just seems like another endless grind similar to lineage or even wow. Pvp doesnt happen till 25 so that also killed it for me. Flying is tedious and you are only aloud to fly in certian areas which made it very annoying to get around. Fighting was far to prolonged and difficult which for some could be a good thing but i just found it boring and depressing when you die to something only a few levels higher than you. Quests were few and far between at lower levels and the game just didnt deliver anything that has not been seen before. Expand
  61. JonathanB
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    The graphics on this game is horrible. Who says this has good graphics? When you're zoomed in, it looks pretty good. But no one plays it that zoomed in. Well, at least me. No one that PvPs has it that close. I don't care for music in any game. So, I cant comment on this. It's uhh a Korean game that's subbed, instead of it being a mall. This PvP isn't really The graphics on this game is horrible. Who says this has good graphics? When you're zoomed in, it looks pretty good. But no one plays it that zoomed in. Well, at least me. No one that PvPs has it that close. I don't care for music in any game. So, I cant comment on this. It's uhh a Korean game that's subbed, instead of it being a mall. This PvP isn't really exciting either. I'm going to guess that those expert review places were paid to give them high reviews. Just like BioShock. Another poor game with high reviews. I would not play this longer than I did. It didn't bring anything good to the table. It's the same old BS. And guys, quit talking about WoW. Just because it "seems" better than WoW, doesn't mean it's a good game. WoW is boring like all it's clones. This is just as boring. Expand
  62. KyleK
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    A VERY good game. Aion has everything good from many mmo's and if your a fan you need to get this. but ncsofts lack of bot protection might kill the game in the long run. but have faith! this is a A+ game.
  63. FrancicT.
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    Awesome Game , i have an assasin lvl 30 those who give to this game low mark means they have played only 2 or 3 days when you are lvl 25+ you can see how great is the game with the instances , hunting asdomians in abyss and so on GREAT GAME !
  64. Sean
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    Overall it is a great game for me. I play 10-15hours a week which is much less then the average and I enjoy the instances and questing. The game overall has the best character balance I have seen since, say the lvl 60 cap in wow (other than Shamans back then). The warrior can tank, the Sorc can destroy with very high DPS(assuming she doesn't get attacked head on), etc. I am currently Overall it is a great game for me. I play 10-15hours a week which is much less then the average and I enjoy the instances and questing. The game overall has the best character balance I have seen since, say the lvl 60 cap in wow (other than Shamans back then). The warrior can tank, the Sorc can destroy with very high DPS(assuming she doesn't get attacked head on), etc. I am currently only lvl 31 out of 50, but have experienced many things in the game. Like others have noted there is some grinding, but in my experience it was a couple hours total... No more. I only repeated about 3 quest out of the 100's I have done. So not that bad considering... Some fun facts about the game. You can do every skill at one time~ Alchemy, gathering, weaponsmith, etc. But you can only go to 300 and 400 on 1 skill. So it that helps a lot. Also You do not have to gather anything if you do not want to. You can do "Work Orders" to increase skill without providing mats and then when you get your skill high enough to make items you want to use or sale you provide mats. Very handy feature. Some instances you have to capture the fortress in the PVP area to have acess to it. And of course the flying is awesome, graphics is beatiful and worked on high on a $59 9600GS at 35FPS. Very well polished. Hope this helps some of you considering trying Aion. It is worth it. Expand
  65. DavidC
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    Aion is a beautiful game and there's not much grinding XP if you actually understand the game. I give Aion a perfect 10/10 because it stands out far more than any other MMO at release. Aion can be on the challenging side but a difficult game never scares any true gamers away! Aion is great; give it a chance.
  66. SamuelG
    Oct 20, 2009
    8
    I have level 15 and I needed to grinding at lvl 12 ( 10% of xp ); ( 20% at lvl 13 ); and more than 50% at lvl 15. But, at lvl 16, they are giving new quest... Well, alot of grinding. The fight systeme is great and dynamic. Beautiful graphic and the fly sensations are incredible! Play with friends, it is a must.
  67. JeffR
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Superb game with a ridiculously evocative world and engaging content. The PvE and PvP is just plain fun. The only criticisms I have are: the world isn't quite open enough, you're unable to use wings in many of the pre-level 25 zones, and the experience earned from quests needs to be increased.
  68. RobbyM
    Oct 22, 2009
    6
    Visually fantastic
  69. WillA
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Fantastic launch, if you like me played WoW at launch you wold agree it was a terrible time. Aion has managed to pull it off well in my opinion, the grinding aspect can be quite boring, and the end game will probably be updated in time. I have high hopes for this game, good luck Aion.
  70. JoshJ
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    For those of you that seriously give this game a 1-3 rating, you need to stop being jealous that this is better than whatver mmo you are playing. Aside from Everquest 2. A person giving this a score of 1... plays WoW. Get over it. Yes you lost some of your friends to this game, and I understand that makes you mad, but get over it. This game on full graphics 1680x1050, looks amaizing. If For those of you that seriously give this game a 1-3 rating, you need to stop being jealous that this is better than whatver mmo you are playing. Aside from Everquest 2. A person giving this a score of 1... plays WoW. Get over it. Yes you lost some of your friends to this game, and I understand that makes you mad, but get over it. This game on full graphics 1680x1050, looks amaizing. If you are grinding at lvl 13... you are retarded. Your first lvl needed to grind doesnt come until about lvl 22. Walk around, find the quests. They dont come to you like other mmorpgs. The quests are fun, the music is brilliant, and although I've only made it to lvl 40 of 50, this game is an AWESOME package overall. Now, it may deserve a score lower than the 10 I'm giving it, but I'm rating this to compensate for the users ratings of 1-3.. STOP PLAYING WOW Expand
  71. daveuk
    Oct 4, 2009
    8
    great game its getting alot of hate from people who must have person problem in their lives it seems but anyway its a solid game not the next mmo that is leaps and bounds beyond we got got so far but refines what is good in current mmos and is refreshing to play deffo worth trying at least before drawing a opinion on it
  72. NateS
    Oct 6, 2009
    5
    The first week with this game was terrible. The 2 day head start would always start with a 3 hour queue time during peak hours, and that queue would continue through out the week. Second week I was able to play without waiting and while the experience was great, the game still just feels like other typical MMOs e.g. Kill 20 of these, pick 15 of these, find this guy then come back to me. The first week with this game was terrible. The 2 day head start would always start with a 3 hour queue time during peak hours, and that queue would continue through out the week. Second week I was able to play without waiting and while the experience was great, the game still just feels like other typical MMOs e.g. Kill 20 of these, pick 15 of these, find this guy then come back to me. The game is pretty polished, animations are smooth, but it feels like they didn't put any effort in creating something unique. This is apparently a PvP centered game, but most of the PvP doesn't start until around level 25, so you would have to tough it out through the boring grind from 1-25 just to see and PvP action. If you are the type to enjoy grinding and are able to handle that repetitiveness then this is probably a game for you. If you hate that type of experience then steer clear from this. This game is most likely going to end up like all the other previous MMOs before it, even though i quit World of Warcraft years ago, even i could tell that this game will not knock Blizzard off their throne. Expand
  73. ChrisB
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    A very good effort, the gameplay is tighter and more engaging than WoW if not as visceral as Conan. It is beautiful and the setting is interesting. Hopefully the PvPvE endgame will shine.
  74. MatthewF
    Oct 8, 2009
    1
    I played this game during the "head start" week and I preordered this game, there were little to no queues at this time, hoever as the week progressed the queues grew and grew up to the retail release where they ballooned at 3-4 hours. So you come home from work, join the queue, get in the game 4 hours later and log off to goto sleep as its by now really late. Awesome huh! Well the I played this game during the "head start" week and I preordered this game, there were little to no queues at this time, hoever as the week progressed the queues grew and grew up to the retail release where they ballooned at 3-4 hours. So you come home from work, join the queue, get in the game 4 hours later and log off to goto sleep as its by now really late. Awesome huh! Well the "support" and I use the term in the loosest sense of the word, suggested to play at a different time of the day instead. Seriously that was their answer. Well after 2 weeks of 3-4 hour queues every day, I had enough, cancelled my account, and requested a refund under the Sales and Supply of Goods Act 1994. During my brief time in the game, every 10 minutes you get spammed by gold selling bots, and you cant create a ticket about them out of hours... This MMO is a joke steer clear. Expand
  75. KyleJ.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    One of the better games I think that are going to be released this year. The visuals are stunning, the controls and camera are very familiar. I strongly suggest picking up this game if you are a fan of the genre. It blows the others out of the water.
  76. AlexanderH.
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    One of the finest and most polished games of this generation. This game is groundbreaking in the aspect of mmorpg and all game. I played WoW got over it, have played Conan and Lotr but none of them truly stuck to me. I am a huge fps fan and I love my graphics. This game scenery is beyond anything I have ever seen, the game starts of quick and uses fast paced action so it becomes more One of the finest and most polished games of this generation. This game is groundbreaking in the aspect of mmorpg and all game. I played WoW got over it, have played Conan and Lotr but none of them truly stuck to me. I am a huge fps fan and I love my graphics. This game scenery is beyond anything I have ever seen, the game starts of quick and uses fast paced action so it becomes more skill based and not time based like WoW. That is where the game truly comes into action, the aspect of skill in an mmorpg is something no game has truly been able to accomplish now, even though the grinding can seem endless, their is good reasoning because the skills take that long to learn. I recommend this game to everyone. The first levels seem WoWish at first but once you hit 25 and your PvPing in the abyss, the game truly comes to light. So please if your a gamer and want a new experiance, come experiance Aion and keep in mind everything I said. Expand
  77. TravisD
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Great game, a lot better then all the other crappy MMO's that tried to defeat WoW. I Think this will come close, it may even beat WoW over time. Unless WoW is able to release some sort of counter attack. But nethertheless, this is an amazing game. Good storyline, and i like how its simliar to WoW in the way its played. Only issues i have is, the movement has some issues, its a bit Great game, a lot better then all the other crappy MMO's that tried to defeat WoW. I Think this will come close, it may even beat WoW over time. Unless WoW is able to release some sort of counter attack. But nethertheless, this is an amazing game. Good storyline, and i like how its simliar to WoW in the way its played. Only issues i have is, the movement has some issues, its a bit dodgy. Also the casting, and the fact you can't go underwater. But you never know, patches could fix alot of things. Expand
  78. ethanDuysen
    Sep 23, 2009
    5
    once you get past the shiney look you see that it's really nothing more run another NCsoft game. you get customization yes but somewhat of a grind bot. you realize it's really nothing more then guild wars meets a pay per month mmo like wow or war. nothing really impressive, save your money for guild wars 2
  79. JohnnyB.
    Sep 25, 2009
    3
    Aion is literally nothing more than grinding. There is hardly anything in it that I would call a game. You grind, grind and grind, and what do you get out of it? Nothing. You don't get equipment; quests almost never give you any, drops are pretty rare (especially weapons), and crafting armor requires such epic, ungodly and preposterous amounts of grinding that you'll never make Aion is literally nothing more than grinding. There is hardly anything in it that I would call a game. You grind, grind and grind, and what do you get out of it? Nothing. You don't get equipment; quests almost never give you any, drops are pretty rare (especially weapons), and crafting armor requires such epic, ungodly and preposterous amounts of grinding that you'll never make anything. Combat is utterly boring and it takes way too long to kill a single mob (which is usually followed by a rest period becaus you'll take so much damage), and leveling up is a very slow process as well. With no equipment or interesting abilities to look forward to, what is the point of all that grinding? The much hyped flying ability is useless as well, because there are few areas where you can use it (and even then for a very short period of time). This isn't a game, this is a job. A job that doesn't pay you anything in any way. And for the record, I have played WoW for several years so this isn't just MMORPG culture shock. Expand
  80. MacM
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    Those comparing this to WOW or proclaiming this to be the next big thing are somewhat deluded. Firstly, WOW does not force PvP which puts off a lot of players. Any truly successful MMO will always offer the option for those who don't like PvP to not have to. Aion does not have this, and when you get past level 30 you are forced into areas that are compulsory PVP flagged zones. This Those comparing this to WOW or proclaiming this to be the next big thing are somewhat deluded. Firstly, WOW does not force PvP which puts off a lot of players. Any truly successful MMO will always offer the option for those who don't like PvP to not have to. Aion does not have this, and when you get past level 30 you are forced into areas that are compulsory PVP flagged zones. This is where Aion will ultimately fail. I pre-ordered this game and participated in it's beta events. Troubled by hours and hours of queing just to get into the game, Aion's launch has been somewhat of a mess so far, with lots of downtime without warning, you would think that a game that has already been out there (Korea) for a long time, would have been easy to convert to a smooth release in the West, sadly it wasn't. The game may look beautiful, and it's presentation and combat system are a novelty at first, but just like other MMO's who have tried to implement new systems for the genre, it will likely fail in the long term. The quests in the game are all "samey" and have been done to death in other MMO's. Kill 10 of this and 10 of that, collect 10 of these and 10 of those. Whilst players who haven't researched this game properly will find is that doing these quests whilst being ganked by a bunch of players from the air, it soon gets frustrating and will result in a lot of players used to the comfort of previous zones, leaving the game. If you play MMO's for PvP, and enjoy ganking others, then this game is for you. If you prefer the comfort that PvE provides, then steer clear. Expand
  81. AdrianS
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Simply the best MMO their is currently. So many dumbasses keep calling this game is a grindfest when WoW is even worse. I played retail WoW for only 2 weeks because it bored me to death. When i first started playing Aion in the chinese open beta, i was hooked within just a few minutes of playing, the game itself also made me buy a completely new computer so i could play the game lag Simply the best MMO their is currently. So many dumbasses keep calling this game is a grindfest when WoW is even worse. I played retail WoW for only 2 weeks because it bored me to death. When i first started playing Aion in the chinese open beta, i was hooked within just a few minutes of playing, the game itself also made me buy a completely new computer so i could play the game lag free... Aion is for the ****ing win imo. Expand
  82. PaulW
    Jan 13, 2010
    4
    If you
  83. IvanD
    Jan 26, 2010
    4
    Pros: - Good graphics - Characters can fly in some areas Cons: - Not nearly enough PvE content - No brains needed for the skillbar arrangement. Just collect the skills for the combo and use it. - Quests are unrewarding and the repeatable quests are a joke. - One needs quite a hardware for not to see the "epic" PvP in a slideshow. - Lots and lots of gold traders and scammers. - The Pros: - Good graphics - Characters can fly in some areas Cons: - Not nearly enough PvE content - No brains needed for the skillbar arrangement. Just collect the skills for the combo and use it. - Quests are unrewarding and the repeatable quests are a joke. - One needs quite a hardware for not to see the "epic" PvP in a slideshow. - Lots and lots of gold traders and scammers. - The community... Well it's almost absent and generally not the friendliest. - Poor end-game content. Overall - A generous 4. Expand
  84. JohnB
    Jan 4, 2010
    4
    A beautiful game with an amazing avatar creation screen and an engrossing storyline with the entertaining flight system...right up till around the half way mark when it becomes a full-on mindless grindfest. It has to be said in it's defense - the epic feel to the storyline up till the half-way mark is incredible and justifies the box price all by itself (Most high-mark reviewers A beautiful game with an amazing avatar creation screen and an engrossing storyline with the entertaining flight system...right up till around the half way mark when it becomes a full-on mindless grindfest. It has to be said in it's defense - the epic feel to the storyline up till the half-way mark is incredible and justifies the box price all by itself (Most high-mark reviewers likely based their views on the first 40 hours of play)....After that though, expect interesting content to be few and far between, delivered in tasty little morsels yet never enough to keep you motivated through days of bashing the same monsters and running the same instances over and over. PvP generally revolves around ganking the opposing race when they grind or removing roaming groups from your homelands, with a fortress siege or defense. Broken damage/defense scaling in the class systems will have you tearing hair out frequently. On reflection, fairly similar to Rising Force Online - without the all-important 3rd race to allow for power politics, alliances and ever-entertaining backstabbing. The end-game PvPvE is balanced to perfection in both small skirmish and large-scale brawls - solo PvP is not advised. Expect hideous degrees of both server and frame lag in massive fights, plus 3-6 months of serious grinding to get to this stage. Pre-level 45, most classes can expect to be killed in seconds without top-notch equipment...Assuming you make level 50, there is a far, far nastier equipment upgrade grind then an even-worse Abyss-Point grind ahead for the end-game items. As each server gets older, any 'new' level 50 will still be fodder to a veteran level 50 who is deep into their AP equipment grind. Fortunately, very few players will have the perseverance and lack of other activities to make it this far, even over a period of years. The resourcing and crafting systems are static, much like the combat skills progession - everything is preset from material location to success and critical rates (known as a "proc" locally). All crafting and collection involves is triggering the action, then waiting 1-10 seconds for a success, failure or lucky critical - thats right, no skills to assist, no mini-game action (aka SWG PRe-CU ATITD). The equipment skin-altering NPC to make your equipment look like other equipment is the single greatest concession made to individuality in avatars. Expect weeks of watching progression bars to 'Master' a craft - did I mention crafting is entirely optional? Looted gear and AP gear are vastly superior! Crafted goods are generally only used at lower levels or when you don't have the looted version. Grinding revolves around the same 2 sets of key-strokes constantly, with occasional alterations to use a long cooldown-skill. In-game macros are fairly useless due to timing problems and individual lag issues...generally grinding is all manual skill-activation. Plagued with bots (both basic and advanced types), the economy is unstable as the critical mass of players to supply resources is not there yet on many servers. The mass-banning of bots that NCSoft occasionally does are welcome, yet the large scale bot operators are unaffected and advertisement stores return within hours, often starting to use 'real' names rather than gibberish strings of letters. Ultimately, Aion is a niche game - you will grow to love the grind, hate it entirely or simply get bored and slowly stop playing over time. Expand
  85. LexiB.
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    This is a very good MMORPG. Top tier, polished, evidence of abundant time, financing, and art put into the development. While the mid-tiers need a little love in some patches to add a few quests, the storyline is engaging throughout, the graphics gorgeous, and just that little cuteness that turns me on. There's a deep system underlying the "coating" with mana stones, godstones, This is a very good MMORPG. Top tier, polished, evidence of abundant time, financing, and art put into the development. While the mid-tiers need a little love in some patches to add a few quests, the storyline is engaging throughout, the graphics gorgeous, and just that little cuteness that turns me on. There's a deep system underlying the "coating" with mana stones, godstones, cooking etc ... that will leave hardcore gamers studious but casual gamers with plenty to do. While many may say its not revolutionary, it is the MMORPG with the brightest future out there right now .. given a chance to fine tune and an expansion or two (which all NCSoft games have done well), this will be here for years to come. It feels like familiar ground for ex WoW or DaoC fans, yet has a few new things. All games have a grind early on until content develops, but this is the best launch I've been in. Expand
  86. paulo
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    If you like your standard mmo fair w/ a pvp twist this is it. If you are looking for something new or innovative you need not apply. This is way better than any mmo's I've played in the last 3 years w/ the exception of maybe LOTR.
  87. GunterF
    Oct 12, 2009
    4
    Aion is pretty and runs very stable. Unfortunately, beside that it's not much more then an upgraded usual free-to-play asian MMORPG. Flat storyline, forced grinding, only a few items and a kind of PvP that already didn't work out in Warhammer Online. Not to mention serious starting problems like long waiting queues and the bot and spam infestation already happening on most Aion is pretty and runs very stable. Unfortunately, beside that it's not much more then an upgraded usual free-to-play asian MMORPG. Flat storyline, forced grinding, only a few items and a kind of PvP that already didn't work out in Warhammer Online. Not to mention serious starting problems like long waiting queues and the bot and spam infestation already happening on most servers without NCsoft intervening. Expand
  88. GregS
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    People, it all depends on how you play the game, I suppose. I did the quests one after another until now, I have played 3 characters, one to 16, one to 14, and one to 12. True, this game is not like World of Warcraft in the way that you cant just drop any quest you want and go find a lot more elsewhere, but there are few quests in this game that you would want to drop, and none that you People, it all depends on how you play the game, I suppose. I did the quests one after another until now, I have played 3 characters, one to 16, one to 14, and one to 12. True, this game is not like World of Warcraft in the way that you cant just drop any quest you want and go find a lot more elsewhere, but there are few quests in this game that you would want to drop, and none that you would have to. I like the character customization system because its much unlike Guild Wars. In Guild Wars, another NCsoft game, you couldn't customize much. You pick a preset hair color, preset face, preset skin color, and choose a very limited height. This game's customization system provides almost limitless possibilities, from 1 foot tall characters with giant heads, or a medium sized person with a regular sized head. You can change your face like the Oblivion face modifier, where you can change almost anything on the face. This game has amazing graphics. Somebody said that the graphics were just a bunch of solidly colored, stretched textures. My question to him is if he was playing the right game... To be fair, this game does have a few glitches and not a big variety in armor and weapons, but it will provide you with a lot of fun. Speaking of glitches, just to show you what I mean, there is one glitch where you can fly down under the main city if you go down just a certain way. The funny thing is, though it is really messed up, terrible graphics, 2D objects, and so on, they actually meant for someone to figure out how to go down there. If you look at this one structure at a certain angle, the face from Saw looks at your character and instantly kills you. They even put towns down under the city which at first I thought was just for somebody in the flying city to see, but when you get down there the insides of the buildings are actually fully designed and painted. The wings bring a delightfulness to the game too, but the problem is that there is few places you can fly. However, anywhere in the game you can 'glide' which is just a quick way to move downhill and on flat ground very quickly, and it adds a really fun aspect to the game, not to mention the air to air combat and pvp. I switched from World of Warcraft to Aion, and I will say it was definately the right choice, and I would encourage others to do the seem thing. Expand
  89. LucaC
    Oct 14, 2009
    3
    The visually stunning environment quickly grows old as it becomes clear that there is no creativity in the game play. I leveled to 40 and canceled my account after realizing that there is nothing but a grind. The boss fights seemed to be tank and spank, followed by spank and tank for some variety. The crafting system is repetitive and monotonous. Buy mats, hit a station, click go, and The visually stunning environment quickly grows old as it becomes clear that there is no creativity in the game play. I leveled to 40 and canceled my account after realizing that there is nothing but a grind. The boss fights seemed to be tank and spank, followed by spank and tank for some variety. The crafting system is repetitive and monotonous. Buy mats, hit a station, click go, and wait. After a couple minutes you get a point. Repeat 100 Expand
  90. KarinH
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    I find this game to be a refreshing balance between the new MMO WoW-esque style and the more traditional EQ/UO MMO style. The leveling process is slower than your modern MMO but it is a far cry from the grinding days of yester year. Group play is very PUG friendly. Whether you want to solo or duo or storm a castle there is a avenue for leveling for your playstyle. You even get xp when you I find this game to be a refreshing balance between the new MMO WoW-esque style and the more traditional EQ/UO MMO style. The leveling process is slower than your modern MMO but it is a far cry from the grinding days of yester year. Group play is very PUG friendly. Whether you want to solo or duo or storm a castle there is a avenue for leveling for your playstyle. You even get xp when you craft. And with the CryoEngine the game does not need an amazing machine to run and it runs well. Expand
  91. LucaChard
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Brilliant game, only people who like a shit version of Aion Say things like "omg it doesnt add anything new" nah, it just is basically a 5x better less market strangling MMO Than WoW. Great Graphics, Nice Instances, Unique PvP, Movies in Quests, Minimal Grind(some people think this means that you dont have killing monsters and quests <.<;)
    Queues were a bother but it was the first DAY of
    Brilliant game, only people who like a shit version of Aion Say things like "omg it doesnt add anything new" nah, it just is basically a 5x better less market strangling MMO Than WoW. Great Graphics, Nice Instances, Unique PvP, Movies in Quests, Minimal Grind(some people think this means that you dont have killing monsters and quests <.<;)
    Queues were a bother but it was the first DAY of Aion and they did expect to have so many users logon!

    AWESOME!
    Expand
  92. JH
    Oct 19, 2009
    3
    A very pretty grind. That's all you will get out of Aion. Classes are very imbalanced making PvP laughable. The graphics are excellent but it only seems to mask the bleak and boring gameplay.Unlike what Gunter F said.. Warhammer Online has undergone changes and is the best PvP MMO out there if one enjoys that kind of MMO.
  93. AlexD
    Dec 12, 2009
    2
    Aion is simply a huge, boring grind. It achieves nothing new apart from the hugely hyped, gimmicky feature of flying. Which is on a short timer that can be increased by paying a vendor a huge sum of gold. Most areas even restrict you from flying. Don't waste your money on this generic garbage, spend it on any of the other much, much better MMOs released in the last 5 years.
  94. BenjaminR.
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    Something different from the long played WoW. Aion couldn't choose a better time to place it on the market. it has great graphics as gameplay. with it 2 races. sort of called the good as bad side. with an greater evil between them. if u love a story placed gameplay u would love this. it brings the best when u enter the flying mode. it brings u to a new level of playing.
  95. DavidH
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    This game is amazing, hands down the best MMO I have ever played. There are problems with the game and it's not perfect but assuming they fix that Aion will be the perfect game. Right now they really need to fix the quest exp to make it so you wont have to grind as much. Got lvl 50 yesterday so it's not impossible dont play this if you dont like pvp cause it's going to find This game is amazing, hands down the best MMO I have ever played. There are problems with the game and it's not perfect but assuming they fix that Aion will be the perfect game. Right now they really need to fix the quest exp to make it so you wont have to grind as much. Got lvl 50 yesterday so it's not impossible dont play this if you dont like pvp cause it's going to find you regardless Expand
  96. LeahR
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    Grind, with occasional gank. That is Aion. I played the first two months and leveled to 50, cleared every dungeon, PVPed daily, mastered a craft, and went to (as well as organized) nearly every fort siege on my server. Ultimately, I quit because the game remained the same shallow, mindless grind it was from the start, and because the PVP never evolved from the cheap ganking and zerging Grind, with occasional gank. That is Aion. I played the first two months and leveled to 50, cleared every dungeon, PVPed daily, mastered a craft, and went to (as well as organized) nearly every fort siege on my server. Ultimately, I quit because the game remained the same shallow, mindless grind it was from the start, and because the PVP never evolved from the cheap ganking and zerging you'll encounter as soon as you step foot into the Abyss. Aion lacks any true endgame, and simply substitutes a gear/rank grind once you hit max level. The game feels frustratingly unfinished: there's an excellent combat engine and solid PVP mechanics underneath, but instead of putting them to good use, Aion resorts to simplistic sieges that end up being mindless, laggy zergs, or Abyss PVP that consists of ganking players who are grinding mobs. The endgame PVE content is more of the same, with too much trash to clear for too little reward. I knew the game was a Korean grinder going in, but was hoping the PVP would be good enough to keep me hooked. It isn't. Polished, pretty, and empty--don't expect more from Aion than the mindless grind from 1 to 50 and beyond. Expand
  97. CharlesS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    A great game for the casual / hardcore gamers out there. A game with great graphics, awesome quests, and to top it off you can battle while in mid air!!! Ncsoft is always updating and tweaking the game for improvements. You will see some amazing future updates from aion. I will bet on it! Just google aion vision. =]
  98. FirenzeV.
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    I came into this quite skeptical, not joining at launch, but waiting a few weeks afterward to let the dust settle. Having played MMO's since UO Beta and EQ Phase 1 Beta, and regularly since, I have a pretty good idea of the strengths and weaknesses of most offerings, and I have high, jaded, standards. My initial take was that there wasn't much new to the game, and I don't I came into this quite skeptical, not joining at launch, but waiting a few weeks afterward to let the dust settle. Having played MMO's since UO Beta and EQ Phase 1 Beta, and regularly since, I have a pretty good idea of the strengths and weaknesses of most offerings, and I have high, jaded, standards. My initial take was that there wasn't much new to the game, and I don't necessarily disagree with that conclusion now. Still, something about the gameplay has got me hooked again, even though I've tried so many other new MMOs and left them shortly. The combat mechanics are cleaner and simpler but still sufficiently dynamic to keep me interested. Progress is quest driven and still mostly of the "Kill x foozles" and fedex variety, but there are some neat new twists that I wouldn't classify as genre-defining, but still refreshing. The bottom line on gameplay is that it's ... fun. Inextricably, and with that same elusive quality that is hard to define, but you know-it-when-you-see-it, this one is fun. And then there's the flyying. Omg the flying. There are two types: flying from a standing start (which is, as others have pointed out, limited to certain areas or fly-zones, Boo!), and there is gliding (which can be done anywhere). Gliding is fun. Jump off any high point and float downward. Beautiful sensation and it will take you some time and finesse to master its subtleties. The game isn't going to dethrone WoW, but then who cares about WoW? This game is fun, I'm enjoying it, and the PvP is intelligently designed and integrated from the ground up (like DAOC's RvR). Expand
  99. JuhanahG.
    Oct 29, 2009
    1
    Graphics and music are beautiful. The rest of the game is like a typical free Korean MMO. Quest are only for the first 25 levels and they are only "kill ten rats", Asmodae and Eylos are copy/paste of each other. They have nothing different other than land and skin color. Crafting require that you stay in front of an altar for days to accomplish anything, PvP is only about ganking the Graphics and music are beautiful. The rest of the game is like a typical free Korean MMO. Quest are only for the first 25 levels and they are only "kill ten rats", Asmodae and Eylos are copy/paste of each other. They have nothing different other than land and skin color. Crafting require that you stay in front of an altar for days to accomplish anything, PvP is only about ganking the enemy, The story is a typical "we hate the enemy for no apparent reason so we kill them", The land is very small with very less diversity. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. 90
    Without a doubt, Aion is an incredibly polished experience that refines the best aspects of the genre and creates a spectacular new world. As a fan and critic of the genre, I wholeheartedly recommend Aion to both casual and experienced gamers.
  2. A streamlined, structured, gorgeous grind, an addictive and even rewarding grind if you're that way inclined, but a grind nonetheless. An ultimately grim and unvarying pursuit.
  3. Aion has definitely more potential than other most recently released MMOs. Its already quite a polished game, but lacks still some content especially for the high level range.