Alan Wake PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1519 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    ** This is my own opinion on the game, It should be noted that these reviews aren't exactly completely trustworthy because of this. Alan Wake has a surprisingly strong game which outshines how linear it is. Alan Wake's strong story line is formatted in a way that keeps you interested throughout the game. The game looks good on my system with crisp graphics and nice lightning(Others have** This is my own opinion on the game, It should be noted that these reviews aren't exactly completely trustworthy because of this. Alan Wake has a surprisingly strong game which outshines how linear it is. Alan Wake's strong story line is formatted in a way that keeps you interested throughout the game. The game looks good on my system with crisp graphics and nice lightning(Others have noted problems for other computers but that may be a setup issue). The FOV feels a bit strained but it's not too bad. The use of the flashlight as a cross-hair adds a level of realism. The game-play is strong though later in the game combat starts to feel a bit repetitive in some parts. All together If you are a fan of Steven King, or just the horror/thriller genre in general you should pick up this game since its worth the time, effort and cash. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    Alan Wake probably has the most intense and well structured storyline I've ever encountered in a game. It's absolutely amazing and has a decent gameplay too. I fell in love with it and I'll recommend this game to every gamer.
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Have you ever felt like giving a character in a game a hug to reassure and comfort them? That is how I felt at one point early in the game.

    Highly recommended if you like the story driven kind of game.
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    8
    Yes, everything you heard it true. Its linear, repetitive, but its fun and it doesn't overstay its welcome. The playtime is basically enought to leave you satisfied, but just before the monotony kicks in. As a character Wake is interesting even though his writing is really corny (to the point that even the guy who wrote for this character parodied the style on his blog himself) it evenYes, everything you heard it true. Its linear, repetitive, but its fun and it doesn't overstay its welcome. The playtime is basically enought to leave you satisfied, but just before the monotony kicks in. As a character Wake is interesting even though his writing is really corny (to the point that even the guy who wrote for this character parodied the style on his blog himself) it even adds some atmosphere. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Portuguese Critic.

    Alan Wake é um jogo muito bem bolado, em relação a sua jogabilidade e seu enredo emocionante, digamos que pode ser considerado um game do estilo terror gráfico ou suspense. Levando um pouco a psicologia do protagonista, escritor Alan Wake, o motivo por não ter dado 10 ou 9 é pelo fato de terem poucas armas e e até mesmo
    Portuguese Critic.

    Alan Wake é um jogo muito bem bolado, em relação a sua jogabilidade e seu enredo emocionante, digamos que pode ser considerado um game do estilo terror gráfico ou suspense. Levando um pouco a psicologia do protagonista, escritor Alan Wake, o motivo por não ter dado 10 ou 9 é pelo fato de terem poucas armas e e até mesmo ser um pouco repetitivo, porém, é um jogo muito bom, vale a pena baixar uma tradução e ficar horas neste grande jogo.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    For god's sake! this is the best and most moving storyline in the game i've played EVER!
    simply beutiful graphics and the gameplay that perfectly suits the rest.

    Hihgly reccomend
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    If you liked the weird and crazy story telling of the first two Max Payne games, Alan Wake is worth checking out. While Max Payne 1 and 2 had a Noire comic-book style story, Alan Wake does the same thing but with a Steven King mystery-horror style. The game has a lot of good atmosphere too, a solid feeling of the weirdness this world is trying to present to you. The gameplay is also veryIf you liked the weird and crazy story telling of the first two Max Payne games, Alan Wake is worth checking out. While Max Payne 1 and 2 had a Noire comic-book style story, Alan Wake does the same thing but with a Steven King mystery-horror style. The game has a lot of good atmosphere too, a solid feeling of the weirdness this world is trying to present to you. The gameplay is also very solid. This game is more survival horror than Max Payne, but by the end of the game, you have so much ammo that it feels like an action game. Not a bad thing though. Check it out if this sounds interesting. Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I've played this year, aside from BioShock Infinite. The PC remaster of this game really plays out well, and with the graphical settings on ultra, this game looks and feels phenomenal. The entire atmosphere works perfectly, and you really do cling on to your torch hastily when roaming the dark forests alone. In addition, the storyline was amazing, with such complexityOne of the best games I've played this year, aside from BioShock Infinite. The PC remaster of this game really plays out well, and with the graphical settings on ultra, this game looks and feels phenomenal. The entire atmosphere works perfectly, and you really do cling on to your torch hastily when roaming the dark forests alone. In addition, the storyline was amazing, with such complexity and curiosity which left me wanting to continue with the game. However, despite the greatness of the game I can only give it a 9/10. I found at times the amount of enemies was overwhelming and it felt a bit repetitive after 6+ hours of simply walking through the dark shooting enemies constantly. I also felt like the AI (whenever you had somebody accompanying you) were awful at shooting enemies. Despite having partners helping you, the enemies ONLY attack you, and your partners actually kill perhaps 1/10 enemies.

    Overall an amazing game and well worth the play-through! I also picked it up for £2.70 with 90% off on Steam this weekend which was a bargain!
    Expand
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    A huge game. One of the bests I've ever played. A very-well written storyline, the really frightening and unique (light is everything) gameplay makes Alan Wake a must play for everyone who loves horror,action and game with good-stories.

    Story: 10
    Gameplay:10
    Graphics: 9
    Sound: 10
  10. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    I admit back when this first came out I was sucked in. Being a writer the idea of a world where a writer's own work appears to take on a life of it's own, however the story is far more complex than that.

    Also, I am not one for horror games as usually they have terrible combat and at times aren't that creepy, however this is a game with a good combat system and able to be creepy without
    I admit back when this first came out I was sucked in. Being a writer the idea of a world where a writer's own work appears to take on a life of it's own, however the story is far more complex than that.

    Also, I am not one for horror games as usually they have terrible combat and at times aren't that creepy, however this is a game with a good combat system and able to be creepy without using gore. Afterall, darkness is one of the most primal of fears. It's well worth it's price for anyone looking for a deeply involving story and/or want to play a creepy game.
    Expand
  11. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Excellent story, gameplay and environment. You need to play this game at least for the story. Soundtrack is top class as well. One of the best games of modern times
  12. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I have found the story to be the most amazing aspect of the game. At some points you will even feel like you are part of a movie. Surprisingly the driving scenes work really well and it almost feels like what you would expect from GTA 5. Fighting scenes can get very repetitive and once you are out of ammo it becomes almost impossible to continue. Overall I think it's a well rounded gameI have found the story to be the most amazing aspect of the game. At some points you will even feel like you are part of a movie. Surprisingly the driving scenes work really well and it almost feels like what you would expect from GTA 5. Fighting scenes can get very repetitive and once you are out of ammo it becomes almost impossible to continue. Overall I think it's a well rounded game with some great story telling aspects. Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Alan Wake is a really enjoyable game. It's long, about 16 hours, the porting from the 360 version is really good. Remedy patched the game several fimes following the community tips to make it better and better. Graphic is good, but the soundtrack is wonderful, thanks to Poet of the Fall themes. It's not a survival, it's like a thrilled Max Payne, there are many collectibles and 3 differentAlan Wake is a really enjoyable game. It's long, about 16 hours, the porting from the 360 version is really good. Remedy patched the game several fimes following the community tips to make it better and better. Graphic is good, but the soundtrack is wonderful, thanks to Poet of the Fall themes. It's not a survival, it's like a thrilled Max Payne, there are many collectibles and 3 different difficulty settings. The Pc edition containt the two DLC for free! Buy it, it's really worth it every single cent you spend on it. Expand
  14. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For a psychological action thriller in a game, the story and direction has something great in it
    10 because the games atmosphere is logical. The very same experience I had was while playing Batman:Arkham City.

    From the makers of Max Payne series(2) Remedy Entertainment, there's alot of pressure to put up a great story line but they manage to convince os well. But the game was not at all scary ,easy to finish,repetitive,only some scores of the episode very genuinely interesting.

    When we talk about logic-sense in a game we keep in mind games like Indigo Prophecy where everything we do has a good reasoning to it . The game was easily driven on a same concept where the user know whats coming on next.

    YOU NEED DLC's to get the best of the game!
    Expand
  15. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    Never even heard of this game until a review of my new video card (EVGA GTX980...which is amazing btw). It was on sale in the steam store over the holidays for $3. I have to say this is a very impressive and entertaining game and worth the regular cost even if not on sale. I purchased it for my son and a friend while it was on sale. Graphics amazing - Gameplay is very user friendly butNever even heard of this game until a review of my new video card (EVGA GTX980...which is amazing btw). It was on sale in the steam store over the holidays for $3. I have to say this is a very impressive and entertaining game and worth the regular cost even if not on sale. I purchased it for my son and a friend while it was on sale. Graphics amazing - Gameplay is very user friendly but makes you think a little - Creepy Intense when you really follow the story and immerse yourself in the game. During surround gaming on triple monitors it was flawless and beautiful. I would recommend this game for anyone looking for an unusually different type gameplay and plot. Personally I really enjoyed how the episodes were like a TV series...clever! Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2015
    8
    I do have a few gripes though... One being the character models and stiff animations. The character models look a little dated. I guess from a distance they don't look to bad but once you see them up close you can really notice the lack of detail. The characters seem to move around in the most simplistic ways possible. Also, the lip syncing is some of the worst I have seen in years. It'sI do have a few gripes though... One being the character models and stiff animations. The character models look a little dated. I guess from a distance they don't look to bad but once you see them up close you can really notice the lack of detail. The characters seem to move around in the most simplistic ways possible. Also, the lip syncing is some of the worst I have seen in years. It's like watching a poorly dubbed kung fu movie. The driving mechanics, although short, are poorly done. You never feel like you have full control over the vehicle. Too far to the left or right and you swerve out of control and into a ditch. Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    I don't scare easily and while Alan Wake didn't scare me outright, it provided a constant state of creepiness that was continuously chilling. The characters and story along with the storytelling are awesome. The graphics, photography, and camera work are stunning. The one major blemish is the gameplay which isn't all that bad, it just isn't all that good either. However using a flashlightI don't scare easily and while Alan Wake didn't scare me outright, it provided a constant state of creepiness that was continuously chilling. The characters and story along with the storytelling are awesome. The graphics, photography, and camera work are stunning. The one major blemish is the gameplay which isn't all that bad, it just isn't all that good either. However using a flashlight to fight off the darkness is a pretty cool concept and the execution comes off pretty nicely. Although I have to admit the game didn't draw me in to play non-stop from start to finish--ultimately starting the game in September and not actually finishing it until November.

    So what is it about Alan Wake that makes it so standoffish? Well for starters, the gameplay starts to get repetitiously dull. Some of the forest paths are really long laying ground for more hordes of Taken than one person can deal with before it just becomes mundane. It is kind of broken up with some areas to explore in between, but it wasn't enough. The other aspect which may sound weird is that I never really felt like I took the role as Alan Wake. Instead it felt more like I was just moving the story forward and watching Alan unfold as opposed to being a part of critical decisions. Fortunately the chapters are broken up very nicely into roughly two hour segments with good musical intermissions allowing players whatever amount of time they need before jumping into the next chapter.

    Overall, a fantastic game and a must play in my book.
    Expand
  18. ave
    Dec 24, 2015
    8
    Alan Wake is one of these games that takes you by surprise. I really enjoyed playing it.

    The main character is a writer à la Stephen King, going on vacation to solve a writer's block issue, and immediately confronting his inner demons in the most terrifying way, along with the disappearing of its wife. The story is delivered mostly during cinematics (and this time, it's not a problem
    Alan Wake is one of these games that takes you by surprise. I really enjoyed playing it.

    The main character is a writer à la Stephen King, going on vacation to solve a writer's block issue, and immediately confronting his inner demons in the most terrifying way, along with the disappearing of its wife.

    The story is delivered mostly during cinematics (and this time, it's not a problem since the story is solid and the character is a writer). Then the player goes from safe place A to safe place B wandering into darkness and escaping light-sensitive foes.

    The game succeeds in capturing the powerlessness of the character, with a constant balance between fight of flight. And rewards exploration in a good way (weapons, ammunition, novel pages, tv serials, etc.)

    But what is really good about the game, is that the gameplay and the world makes sense regarding the main character. Burning foes with your light before shooting or evading them is a very nice game mechanic. Setting the horror in a otherwise peaceful environment is very powerful.

    Alan Wake is a very good example of an action / adventure game made right, along with a solid character and story. Play it !
    Expand
  19. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    A game i bought in 2011, and never got into it, until a couple of days a go.
    OK, story is absolutely fantastic, and thoroughly enjoyable, even if a little Americanized.
    Graphics and presentation is second to none, it has a brilliant art style that flows extremely well with game play and story. Now, my only reason for not scoring this a 10, is purely the repetition throughout the game,
    A game i bought in 2011, and never got into it, until a couple of days a go.
    OK, story is absolutely fantastic, and thoroughly enjoyable, even if a little Americanized.
    Graphics and presentation is second to none, it has a brilliant art style that flows extremely well with game play and story.
    Now, my only reason for not scoring this a 10, is purely the repetition throughout the game, combat is cool, but get's a little dull and becoming a chore towards the end of the game, however it is only a small niggle.
    The game has room for further game play even after completion along the lines of achievements if that is your thing, you may go back and try to bust those final achievements.
    My final words, great game and definitely worthy of it's price.
    Expand
  20. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game. Great narrative, creepy setting, and Alan Wake is such a helpless, lovable nerd. It has a strong identity. It knows the kind of game that it wants to be and is and it sticks with it. The music selections and episodic nature of the game ads a lot to the experience as well. The ending will have you wondering and scratching your head, and the main theme of the game, performedFantastic game. Great narrative, creepy setting, and Alan Wake is such a helpless, lovable nerd. It has a strong identity. It knows the kind of game that it wants to be and is and it sticks with it. The music selections and episodic nature of the game ads a lot to the experience as well. The ending will have you wondering and scratching your head, and the main theme of the game, performed by the band Poets of the Fall, will find its way on to every nerd's iPod. My one complaint is the wonky controls on the mouse/keys. Probably much better with a controller. Definitely experience this game though. Expand
  21. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    Alan Wake has great atmosphere, an interesting story, good sound work (including some interesting licensed music) and fun game play. Felt there was a decent mix of weapons and uses to really vary up the combat. Light as a mechanic worked well whether keeping the enemies at a distance with the flares, killing them with flash bangs/ flare gun, disorienting them with the flashlight or takingAlan Wake has great atmosphere, an interesting story, good sound work (including some interesting licensed music) and fun game play. Felt there was a decent mix of weapons and uses to really vary up the combat. Light as a mechanic worked well whether keeping the enemies at a distance with the flares, killing them with flash bangs/ flare gun, disorienting them with the flashlight or taking off their "immunity armor." There are a few downfalls. Driving cars with a keyboard and mouse was pretty awful. Also occasionally enemies would spawn behind you or move quickly behind you and it was difficult fighting enemies in all direction. Overall: Loved the game, kept coming back to play more until I finished it. Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Over 5 years in the making, the spiritual successor to Max Payne 1 is a very cinematic game with good narrative and atmosphere. The tutorial may seem lame, but it gets better. The combat mechanics combining firearms and light work well. The graphics are excellent, if not technically, then certainly artistically. This is an xbox port done right, with minimal consolitis after using theOver 5 years in the making, the spiritual successor to Max Payne 1 is a very cinematic game with good narrative and atmosphere. The tutorial may seem lame, but it gets better. The combat mechanics combining firearms and light work well. The graphics are excellent, if not technically, then certainly artistically. This is an xbox port done right, with minimal consolitis after using the following tweaks:
    add “-rigidcamera” (no mouse accel) and “-noblur” to the executable's launch commands, and max the FOV and “direct aiming” in the settings)
    Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    It's Q2 2014, and there's almost nothing good out at the moment that I haven't played. So I looked through my steam library and noticed that I had Alan Wake that I purchased a long time ago from one of the Steam specials but never got around to playing it. I would just like to say that I am pleasantly surprised at how absorbed I became. I was honestly struggling to get hooked on any gameIt's Q2 2014, and there's almost nothing good out at the moment that I haven't played. So I looked through my steam library and noticed that I had Alan Wake that I purchased a long time ago from one of the Steam specials but never got around to playing it. I would just like to say that I am pleasantly surprised at how absorbed I became. I was honestly struggling to get hooked on any game until I started Alan Wake. I really wanted to find out how the story played out and that's what kept me going strong throughout. I absolutely loved the deliciously dark setting in the mountains and the unique torch-as-a-weapon/shield kit out. I can't say enough good things about this- a truly refreshing experience compared to all the stuff I've been playing lately! I highly recommend this title if you're looking for something different and yet undeniably absorbing. I also thought the visuals and audio were superb for a 2012 title and did their job very well in transporting me deep into the heart of the story. Expand
  24. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    This psychological horror-mystery begins with famous writer Alan Wake as he vacations with his wife to a small town in an attempt to escape his writer's block. Everything goes to hell when his wife Alice is kidnapped by a strange darkness that is taking over the area and bringing horror and destruction with it. I will not spoil anything, but this game's strength is certainly in its story.This psychological horror-mystery begins with famous writer Alan Wake as he vacations with his wife to a small town in an attempt to escape his writer's block. Everything goes to hell when his wife Alice is kidnapped by a strange darkness that is taking over the area and bringing horror and destruction with it. I will not spoil anything, but this game's strength is certainly in its story. Wake, as a writer, provides an interesting narration that brings the environment to life, while also voicing Wake's thoughts and providing information for the story. The way game connects collectibles (in the form of pages to Alan's memoirs) to the story is great and interesting. Characters are brought to life with new depth as you read their stories in the memoirs. But the horror is also a big factor in this game.

    When the darkness attacks, light is the only salvation. Your inventory consists of guns and light-based weapons, such as flares, flashbangs, and a flashlight. Ammunition can be scarce, so hold on to the light and savor it while you have it. It all fits well with the horror of the game--as the darkness becomes stronger, you only feel safe in the light of day (and not always then!). When lost, following the light is also a safe bet, but this feels natural. You are running, being chased by those Taken by the darkness, and naturally you run toward the light because it is the only place you feel is safe.

    This is a game I know I will certainly replay, with more focus on the story and collectibles. The gameplay is unique and interesting, the horror keeps you on edge, and the story is fantastic and full of depth.
    Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2015
    8
    A awesome interesting suck you in story, with gorgeous darkness. Alan Wakes gameplay is so smooth and addicting and one the best well written story's I have ever played, its beautiful landscapes and art keep you looking and wanting more and they deliver pretty well. I love this game!

    Alan wake is a Unique Story game not a RPG, If you want a great story this is a great game.
  26. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    Despite the plotholes in the story, and some cheesy dialogues, this is still one of the best PC releases in 2012. Gameplay is a bit repetitive, but still enjoyable. The game is well ported to the PC.
  27. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    General Overview: This is a well done narrative driven game with some unique game play that reminds me of Dead Space, although the combat is a bit less intense. Great mixture of action and story with excellent pasting. Its occasional weak voice acting and outdated character models can be off-putting at times but in general the well written narrative makes those small this irrelevant.General Overview: This is a well done narrative driven game with some unique game play that reminds me of Dead Space, although the combat is a bit less intense. Great mixture of action and story with excellent pasting. Its occasional weak voice acting and outdated character models can be off-putting at times but in general the well written narrative makes those small this irrelevant. Great Twin Peaks/David Lynch atmosphere with psychological horror that literally chilled my spine. As a writer this game is ultimately appealing and greatly appreciated. While there is little reason to replay other than to relive the story (which I for one will do in about a year or so) there are collectibles and achievements galore here. Remedy did a great job with the game but a sequel would be difficult though not implausible I would love for this to have a real follow up (American Nightmare is more like a DLC) but only if the quality of the narrative can be maintained.

    TL;DNR: 9: A great psychological horror/survival game with a very strong narrative and unique game play. For those who enjoy and value strong stories within their games and enjoy things by David Lynch (Twin Peaks, Blue Velvet...) then this is a must play.

    Technology/engine: 8: Runs very smoothly and is well optimized for PC.

    AI: 7: The AI is well developed but a bit predictable.

    Graphics: 7: The graphics a decent although texture qualities are mix and the character models are dated. The set pieces, however, are great - heavily detailed, great art style, and creates a depth of immersion and atmosphere that many games seem to ignore.

    Sound: 10: The sound in this game is very well developed with lots of depth and variability in ambient sound and combat sounds are spot on.

    Soundtrack: 9: Great soundtrack with well chosen episodic theme songs at the end of each of its 6 episodes and great music throughout that fits the action and the intensity of the moment and really adds to the games pacing as well as atmosphere.

    Voice acting: 8: Most of the voice acting is well done and convincing although there are moments where it fades into the acceptable range. Never the less, its minor acting issues do not really detract from its story nor its immersion.

    Crafting: N/A

    Customization: N/A

    Game play systems: 9: The game play in Alan Wake is well developed and fun with a good mix of occasional splashes of reward exploration (at times the exploration for hidden caches of resources may not be a good choice and the intensity of that decision comes through very well), game relevant puzzles of sorts (more like just dangerous tasks really), wonderful use of light as a weapon, and all around just a fun game.

    Controls: 10: This is a PC port done right. The controls are excellent and can be rebound to any key. The controls are simple and clean and are quickly picked up.

    Story: 10: Very well written and very well executed. A David Lynch style story that really pulls you in and makes you care about Bright Falls and its inhabitants as well as the Alan and his buddy Barry. If you like David Lynch's work you owe it to yourself to play this game.

    Multiplayer: N/A
    Expand
  28. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    When I started playing this game, I didn't like it at all. Very well the gameplay was fun, the game mechanics were very well thought up, but the game didn't catch me. It didn't make me think about it all day, and it didn't make me eager to play more (like, for example, Bioshock Infinite did). However, after sadly playing the first three episodes, things quickly became much much better. TheWhen I started playing this game, I didn't like it at all. Very well the gameplay was fun, the game mechanics were very well thought up, but the game didn't catch me. It didn't make me think about it all day, and it didn't make me eager to play more (like, for example, Bioshock Infinite did). However, after sadly playing the first three episodes, things quickly became much much better. The story finally became a bit clearer, and I got the idea I was actually chasing a goal now, instead of just shooting Taken and walking through levels in an ever darker night. After the game became interesting like that, I soon finished it. The ending was quite vague, but it did give a very good feeling (also because some parts of the game were exceptionally hard compared to the rest). And it appears that American Nightmare (which I bought it in a bundle with) explains the ending further and provides more backstory. The reason I give this a 9, is because of the really short game time. I finished the game on normal in 16 hours according to Steam, and to think that about a quarter of that is cutscenes, it doesn't really satisfy in that way. But when I look at the achievements for this game, I see reasons enough to do another, more exploring playthrough. Expand
  29. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    The GOOD
    - hooked story. I can't put a stop to it. I don't know why too.
    - new kind of evil 'Darkness' thing aside from zombies, ghost, zombies, devil, zombies, did I mention the old evil like zombies?
    - get me scared without scary things at all.

    The BAD
    - game play is ultimately repetitive. Just walk to there, fight yourself through, and activate it, the repeat again
  30. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    A very enjoyable game with a great story and interesting game play. Only thing that holds it back from a top score is that it does tend to get a bit repetitive in combat.
  31. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I buyed this game during the Summer-Sale at Steam. I expected not much, but i was suprised. The Atmosphere is great and the gameplay makes fun. There are some Moments you are wishing a checkpoint-light. The Story is a little bit confused, but it fits to the game.
  32. May 20, 2014
    8
    Alan Wake is definitely a weird game, but a weird game that is worth to be played. The story and the writing makes the game reach for gold, but it also holds it back. The story is not very clear, and it ends up not being very clear after you finish the game, it poses a lot more questions than it cares to answer - maybe shooting for a yet unannounced sequel or maybe an extended universe (IAlan Wake is definitely a weird game, but a weird game that is worth to be played. The story and the writing makes the game reach for gold, but it also holds it back. The story is not very clear, and it ends up not being very clear after you finish the game, it poses a lot more questions than it cares to answer - maybe shooting for a yet unannounced sequel or maybe an extended universe (I can see some potential in it). There are also some annoyances with the camera angles and I found that, even if the game is 6 chapters long (extending about 2 hours each), the gameplay became a bit repetitive/boring at the end - at least for my liking. Also, I played on normal difficulty but it seemed by the end of the game I found myself overstocked with ammo and flares, which made it very simple to progress through the combat scenarios (which were definately predictable by the later half of the game), even if the game emptied it all out from me following certain cutscenes.

    But as I said ,this is a game worth checking out, the music is fantastic, the acting is top notch (mostly), and the graphics are amazing (those lighting and volumetric effects are unreal). The story is a bit of everything, there are some Lovecraftian elements here and there, but its mostly Stephen King that comes to mind (the protagonist being a would be colleague of his). There is some humor to lighten the mood between episodes as well.

    The few detractors should not prevent you from giving this game a try; definitely a welcome guest on every gamer's collection.
    Expand
  33. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    I've played this game when it came on PC and have decided to try it out again a couple of days ago. I must say this game is very enjoyable to play, while it's known as a horror adventure it's not scary (most of the time). The story is enjoyable, but the combat can be a pain in the ass untill you get used to it (and even then it can be frustrating). Despite this, it's a great game and youI've played this game when it came on PC and have decided to try it out again a couple of days ago. I must say this game is very enjoyable to play, while it's known as a horror adventure it's not scary (most of the time). The story is enjoyable, but the combat can be a pain in the ass untill you get used to it (and even then it can be frustrating). Despite this, it's a great game and you should try it if you haven't already. Expand
  34. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    All in all a pretty fun game. The plot is intriguing, the atmosphere, sound and visuals are great. The gameplay for the most part is solid. I think the controls could have used a bit of tightening up, the dodge mechanic felt a bit wonky at times. Also..... it ruins it's own atmosphere in the intro with the stupid tutorial popups "Push shift to run!" way to completely take me out of theAll in all a pretty fun game. The plot is intriguing, the atmosphere, sound and visuals are great. The gameplay for the most part is solid. I think the controls could have used a bit of tightening up, the dodge mechanic felt a bit wonky at times. Also..... it ruins it's own atmosphere in the intro with the stupid tutorial popups "Push shift to run!" way to completely take me out of the game.... I also felt the collectibles were stupid and should have been left out. This guys wife is missing, he's being chased by evil shadow zombies with axes and he's worried about looting coffee thermoses? Stupid..... Otherwise, I have no complaints. There are 2 additional missions in the PC version which are really damn cool, Remedy is great at doing dream sequences as we say in Max Payne 1&2 and Alan Wake is no exception. Expand
  35. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    Alan Wake is a very good TPS,although I don't like TPSs .The story is awesome!As for the gameplay it's nice.It is known as a horror game but I don't think it's scary.The voice acting is almost perfect and the characters look awesome!The only negative is the bad but playable FPS of the PC version of the game.
  36. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    Great storyline is the main advantage of the game. Graphics and audio are standing at a high level and cut-scenes, dialogue, characters, and the scenery doing really good experience.
  37. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    First of all, Alan Wake really is worth the money. While it plays very much like a standard Third person Shooter, the concept behind the combat is brilliant and flawlessly executed, using light to destroy the 'dark armor' then use firearms to eliminate your enemies, the 'Taken', human entities coming to life from a novel Wake can't remember writing. If I were to explain the story, I wouldFirst of all, Alan Wake really is worth the money. While it plays very much like a standard Third person Shooter, the concept behind the combat is brilliant and flawlessly executed, using light to destroy the 'dark armor' then use firearms to eliminate your enemies, the 'Taken', human entities coming to life from a novel Wake can't remember writing. If I were to explain the story, I would be he all day, but one thing I can say is that Alan Wake is filled with convoluted plot twists. However, 2 complaints I have about the game are the awkward camera angles (because shrubbery can easily block your view during combat in the forest), and the steep difficulty curve in the first couple of chapters. Expand
  38. Apr 24, 2014
    8
    Pros
    - Good main character, great narration, level design, graphics (PC),
    Cons - Repetitive enemy attacks, poltergeists are really annoying, character animation is bad but good in a creepy way. Conclusion - This is a unique game with great level design even though there are constantly moments involving stuff blocking your path and making you find another way around. I liked the small
    Pros
    - Good main character, great narration, level design, graphics (PC),
    Cons
    - Repetitive enemy attacks, poltergeists are really annoying, character animation is bad but good in a creepy way.
    Conclusion
    - This is a unique game with great level design even though there are constantly moments involving stuff blocking your path and making you find another way around. I liked the small town Steven King feel. The game is 6 hours, but I wouldn't want it to be any longer. This is a story driven game. And its an interesting one with a good ending.
    Expand
  39. AWG
    Jul 26, 2013
    9
    A great story, a set of interesting characters, great graphics, handy controls, Rose, lots of compelling challenges and fair rewards, well-balanced cut-scenes... Alan Wake is a complete and unregrettable gaming experience you'll start missing as soon as the credits fade out. 9/10 need moar Rose.
  40. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Alan Wake had great game play but what made this game outstanding was the story. The plot had so much suspense and i loved it every second i played. Probably the best horror game Ive played
  41. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed my play through Alan Wake. While it certainly wasn't a perfect experience, it was certainly a unique one and a memorable one at that. As an avid reader of King (having read every book he's ever written) I definitely felt the homage paid to him was well done. For instance, Barry Wheeler is one of the best King characters he's never written. On the other hand, the mainI really enjoyed my play through Alan Wake. While it certainly wasn't a perfect experience, it was certainly a unique one and a memorable one at that. As an avid reader of King (having read every book he's ever written) I definitely felt the homage paid to him was well done. For instance, Barry Wheeler is one of the best King characters he's never written. On the other hand, the main character Alan Wake and his wife didn't really do anything for me (Alan seems like a whiny little crap, and his wife is more of the same which lead me to have no real feeling of motivation to save her, etc.) This however didn't spoil my enjoyment of the game. Amazing atmosphere, story, pacing, the gameplay elements while relatively simple kept me engaged enough to enjoy playing it, but the main reason I kept coming back day after day was the to progress the story. All in all, I say well done and look forward to playing through American Nightmare in hopes of more in this vein. While it was an intensely linear experience, games of this type will really only work that way IMHO and I feel had it been more open ended it would have damaged the story elements which required a more straight forward approach. So hats off to Remedy for keeping it original, very cool, thanks for the experience! Expand
  42. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Alan Wake is a solid game featuring some innovative gaming elements and gorgeous graphics. It's very atmospheric even scary at times and there are some good moments in it. Character design is also superb.

    The main issue I have with this game is the plot which is too far "out there" for me. Thus the experience wasn't as immersive it could have been with a plot that can be taken
    Alan Wake is a solid game featuring some innovative gaming elements and gorgeous graphics. It's very atmospheric even scary at times and there are some good moments in it. Character design is also superb.

    The main issue I have with this game is the plot which is too far "out there" for me. Thus the experience wasn't as immersive it could have been with a plot that can be taken seriously. The story has obvious similarities with Stephen King books so if you like King (I don't), you probably don't have this problem.

    Alan Wake features around 15 hours of playtime. Since it's very story driven game, it has little replay value. Thus I wouldn't pay too much for this game.
    Expand
  43. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Alan wake is a survival horror game, where story and setting take precedence to jump scares and gore. Although there are jump scares, thankfully they are few and far between. Alan wake by far has one of the most interesting stories in a video game, and often times I felt as though I was reading a really good book. I just couldn’t put alan wake down, even when I was fairly scared by priorAlan wake is a survival horror game, where story and setting take precedence to jump scares and gore. Although there are jump scares, thankfully they are few and far between. Alan wake by far has one of the most interesting stories in a video game, and often times I felt as though I was reading a really good book. I just couldn’t put alan wake down, even when I was fairly scared by prior experiences.

    The setting fits entirely with the story, the graphics are crisp, and the art style fits with the setting. By far one of the most immersive games I’ve played. The characters within the story are also very fitting. The world of Bright falls really comes together in coherent manner.

    Not new to the genre, but certainly interesting is the twist to the concept of light vs darkness. In fact, darkness is the omnipresent force against you throughout the entire game, and it only becomes more deadly as the game progresses. To combat the darkness, you’ll have several variations of hand held flashlights, stationary flood lights and overhead lamps. Light is your biggest friend, even so much as being objectively better than a gun by far.

    Some nice touches from the game are the many references to pop culture, lord of the rings being the most noticeable to me. There is also a live action television series you can watch within Alan wake titled Night springs, which seems to be a fairly humorous take on the Twilight zone.

    Alan wake does break down half way through the game. The game becomes incredibly repetitive, and the only reason to keep going is to find out the next portion of the story. Often times you’ll be defending waves upon waves of enemies, and this just feels boring. I ended up deciding to just run away from my enemies and not use my weapons. This was by far more heart pumping as I would stop the darkness momentarily as I shine my light at them, then try to run a few metres through the thick foliage and forest. I wish there was less ammo in the later portions of the game.

    Another annoying aspect of the game, is you’ll often lose all your gear that you accumulated. This is something remedy software could taken advantage of to increase the tension of the game.They instead opt out to do it 5 or more times through the entire experience. While this doesn’t seem like a large amount, it happens often enough to really notice it. What’s even more confusing is sometimes I would just find all my gear within a minute of looking through the environment. What was the point of me losing my gear in the first place?

    Overall, the gameplay is fun for the first half of the game, but really becomes repetitive later on. The story is the number one thing that will keep you playing to the very end. The world and the characters help make this game one my favourite horror games to date. There also doesn’t seem to be much replayability, unless you want to experience this amazing story again. Maybe I will, but it won’t be soon.
    Expand
  44. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    I picked up this game on steam 90% off, thinking "even if it's bad, that's still a pretty damn good deal". And I was surprised how good this game is! I never played a ported game before, but I liked the controls, except the fact that you can't really walk straight (controller would solve this The graphics were just fine for a game from 2010, my PC handled it just great (HD 7870,I picked up this game on steam 90% off, thinking "even if it's bad, that's still a pretty damn good deal". And I was surprised how good this game is! I never played a ported game before, but I liked the controls, except the fact that you can't really walk straight (controller would solve this The graphics were just fine for a game from 2010, my PC handled it just great (HD 7870, eight-core, 12gigs RAM). The cinematics were catching, it was just like reading a good book or watching a good series, the playtime of 20 hours (the plain game, not the dlcs) made it worth the money. This game is worth the money and time. 9 outta 10! Expand
  45. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    People get irritated with the smallest sorts of mechanics and believe that just that ruins the entire game. This game was positively new to me. Everything about it was new. I have never played such a game, and I have got to say that I loved Alan Wake the game. The fact that Alan talks during the game more exciting. I love when a character is fully animated to even speak during game play.
  46. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Really well done survival horror game. Top notch production values, including level design, writing and voice acting. The action isn't to quite the same standard, but it's still solid and provides some good challenge, variety and tension.
  47. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    A different experience that not everybody likes, but with manifold on games out there I'm glad that we still have... "different" games like Alan Wake. A truly enjoyable experience with an excellent story. Wish there would be more diverse enemies though.

    All in all I can just urge you to try it out.
  48. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    This game is a must-have for people that love mystery-supernatural kind of stories, but for those that aren't a fan of such things,this game could do either 2 things to you. Either it will make you looove the genre or you would just hate it and just force your way through to get the end.But overall it is a fantastically made game,graphics is state-of-the art ,especially the motion of Alan Wake.
  49. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Awsome game. you have to dig through the first 15min but once you are in you cannot let it go anymore. I love it. Sometimes the camera is not my cup of tea but the overall experience is great.
  50. Dec 17, 2015
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  51. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    ...There's a long journey through the night back into the light...

    Pretty much this quote describes the story of Alan Wake as well as the main gameplay idea. Yes, the mystical storyline is what makes this game stand out from many others. Of course it's not the only advantage but is what makes you to lead through the repetitive gameplay to the end. No doubt, after finish of the story you
    ...There's a long journey through the night back into the light...

    Pretty much this quote describes the story of Alan Wake as well as the main gameplay idea. Yes, the mystical storyline is what makes this game stand out from many others. Of course it's not the only advantage but is what makes you to lead through the repetitive gameplay to the end. No doubt, after finish of the story you will end up with a feeling of deja vu. The developers were definitely greatly inspired by mystical fictions and movies of past years, like Stephen King, Twin Peaks or even Twilight Zone. The result is a dramatic thriller flavored with mysticism.

    But as I said, the story is not the only good thing here. Remedy did a great job on recreating horror atmosphere. The major game time takes place in the night forest where your only weapon is a light and you have to keep off creatures of darkness. The creepy sounds in surrounding darkness and limited ammunition increases the level of suspense which makes you run to a savior town lights. You'll not want come back to the forest again...

    I highly recommend this game to those who like mystic and horror and as an example of a brilliant cinematographic game inspired by many aspects of horror literature.
    Expand
  52. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Very interesting and memorable piece. I love the setting, Bright Falls is truly one of the most beautiful locations I have visited in a video game, seriously, I want to live there! I enjoyed the mystery, the overall book/writer concept, finding manuscript pages and reading your own story, music was fantastic, not just the instrumentals, but also used songs in radio broadcasts as they addedVery interesting and memorable piece. I love the setting, Bright Falls is truly one of the most beautiful locations I have visited in a video game, seriously, I want to live there! I enjoyed the mystery, the overall book/writer concept, finding manuscript pages and reading your own story, music was fantastic, not just the instrumentals, but also used songs in radio broadcasts as they added additional flavour and ended each episode perfectly. I can feel the Twin Peaks influence and that's always a good thing as that is by far my favourite series of all time. Overall I can say I loved this game in it's concept, but unfortunately, I had one huge problem with it. The core mechanic of the gameplay is basically a regular third person shooter. Yes, it's at least interesting that it's not normal shooting, but rather illuminating darkness with light, but it's still basically shooting all over, and as there is no save/load you often repeat sections shooting and shooting and shooting all those enemies again and again, it's so boring, so repetitive, so annoying. It's a pity that all the beauty this game has to offer is being held back by all this tedious shooting. I still loved it, because I simply focused on the story and the atmosphere and overlooked the boring combat, but it was annoying nevertheless, I hope that if there is ever a sequel, or whatever Remedy creates as their next game, that they will use their indisputable talent in better ways, less shooting and more of the good stuff, atmosphere, exploration, writing, adventure. I know Remedy comes from Max Payne and that was the alpha & omega of shooting, but that was cool 15 years ago, shooting is boring, it's time to move on, Remedy. 8/10 Expand
  53. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    This has to be one of the better games I've played in the past couple of years. The game mechanic of using light in various ways is quite unique, and works very well. The story isn't overly original, but the way in which it's told will draw you in and hold you `till the end. You can tell it is very inspired by Stephen King, and even mentions him once or twice in passing. The game feelsThis has to be one of the better games I've played in the past couple of years. The game mechanic of using light in various ways is quite unique, and works very well. The story isn't overly original, but the way in which it's told will draw you in and hold you `till the end. You can tell it is very inspired by Stephen King, and even mentions him once or twice in passing. The game feels like an interactive movie based on a Stephen King book, directed by Alfred Hitchcock. Highly recommended for anyone who's a fan of the horror genre, whether it be games, books, or movies. Expand
  54. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    At first I didn't know what to think about this game. The gameplay surprised me a bit, and to be honest, I thought to myself in the tutorials: "Is this it?"

    But I decided to keep on playing, and I'm glad I did. I got used to the gameplay and it became rather fun. But that's not where the strong point is in this game. What impressed me about Alan Wake is the story line and how the game
    At first I didn't know what to think about this game. The gameplay surprised me a bit, and to be honest, I thought to myself in the tutorials: "Is this it?"

    But I decided to keep on playing, and I'm glad I did. I got used to the gameplay and it became rather fun. But that's not where the strong point is in this game.
    What impressed me about Alan Wake is the story line and how the game is set up. You're playing as a writer, and the game is played as if you were reading a book, or listening to an audio book. It has chapters, and even narration by Alan Wake so we can explore his thoughts and truly know how and what he feels.

    The ending didn't leave me wanting for more, but it sure was a confusing, yet climatic ending.
    All in all, Alan Wake has a great story line, and is in my opinion one of the best horror games I've played story wise.
    Expand
  55. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    I highly enjoyed this remedy game. Making notably only Max Payne, Alan wake is a highly refreshing game. I enjoyed the story, the characters and overall the game is polished and a blast to play.
  56. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    This game just a great change of pace. Those complaining about how "linear" it is need to understand that the point of the game is the story, not the game play. I must say that for an old game, having purchased this game on sale for $3 on steam, this game is incredible graphics. The atmosphere in the game is very realistic and spooky at night times. The sound is fantastic as well. ReallyThis game just a great change of pace. Those complaining about how "linear" it is need to understand that the point of the game is the story, not the game play. I must say that for an old game, having purchased this game on sale for $3 on steam, this game is incredible graphics. The atmosphere in the game is very realistic and spooky at night times. The sound is fantastic as well. Really makes you feel like you're in the game. I have to agree, that it really is like playing through a movie in a sense, but this is why i liked it. It was a nice change of pace and something unique so far in my gaming experience. Expand
  57. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Once you finish this game your life splits into two parts. You feel like you've missed something so much outstanding and you really want to replay the game again, but than appears the problem. The game itself is above the average on the very first look. The graphics, the atmosphere, the story. Everything works flawlessly. But there is one thing which makes the game a game and that is theOnce you finish this game your life splits into two parts. You feel like you've missed something so much outstanding and you really want to replay the game again, but than appears the problem. The game itself is above the average on the very first look. The graphics, the atmosphere, the story. Everything works flawlessly. But there is one thing which makes the game a game and that is the overall gameplay. The concept itself isn't the worst ideas of all, it actually is pretty interesting. But the repeating of the same mechanics with no apparent change from the very start to the grand finale really wasn't the brightest idea. But luckily for Alan Wake, the game never gets boring thanks to the intense atmosphere. For players who like to look around them, admire the beauty of their surroundings is this a great game. People who prefer faster progress through the game might a be a bit disappointed, because they are missing a huge part of the game. Story & Atmosphere would be an easy 10/10, but the not as perfect gameplay mechanics decrease the rating by a few points. But still, this is an outstanding game, which really deserves your attention, if you haven't played it yet. Expand
  58. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed the game above all thanks to its story, horror atmosphere and very good playability, comfortable controls and pretty good graphics. Episodes could be shorter and there could be more of them. Saving of the game was not balanced, but it worked. The game is really treasure in thrilling story narration. I recommend to every person, who likes horrors and action.
  59. Jul 16, 2017
    8
    Alan Wake brings out the horrors lurking in the darkness of Bright Falls in almost every scene, creating an intriguing story strengthened by impeccable pacing.
  60. Jun 24, 2015
    8
    A FANTASTIC STORYTELLING THRILLER/HORROR GAME!

    It is truly a fantastic game, kinda reminds me of Stephen King's books about Thriller genre. But I was put of to the end of the game!

    But on the whole it is a good game, fantastic music, and very good environmental quality!
  61. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    Story and climate is fantastic. No game was so interesting for me like this one. And the city ,,Bright Falls" is impressing. Beautifull place and it's have a good write history. And characters we meet aren't bored.
  62. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    I admit back when this first came out I was sucked in. Being a writer the idea of a world where a writer's own work appears to take on a life of it's own, however the story is far more complex than that.
  63. Dec 22, 2015
    9
    This is one of the best story games I've ever played. I expected it to be just a typical horror game, but then I understood that this game has way more potential. I really enjoyed playing it, altough killing the Taken was kinda boring at the end but Remedy managed to spice it up. It also has a great soundtrack, I love it! And even for 2015, the graphics is just awesome! My rating is 9 out of 10.
  64. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    Este juego a mi me ha enamorado por la historia, por el estilo, por la forma de contar todo... Es un juego el cual no puedes explicar el porqué ni el como de porque esta sucediendo, y esa fase de no poder explicarlo, es lo que te hace seguir con el juego, hasta que llega el momento, en el que puedes explicar todo... O eso crees..
  65. Nov 2, 2015
    9
    Cuenta con una historia muy original. Es de los mejores juegos del genero thriller psicológico que existen. Un juego lleno de misterios, entretenido y muy variado. Ponte en los pies del escritor Alan Wake y sumérgete en esta aventura que no te dejara defraudado.
  66. Nov 25, 2015
    8
    I’ve got to respect Remedy’s willingness to break the mold with Alan Wake, an original and compelling action-thriller. Everything about the game is fresh and innovative, from the gameplay, which revolves around using light to fight off the creatures of the dark that stalk the creepy town of Bright Falls, to the episodic presentation that pays homage to classic TV shows. The story andI’ve got to respect Remedy’s willingness to break the mold with Alan Wake, an original and compelling action-thriller. Everything about the game is fresh and innovative, from the gameplay, which revolves around using light to fight off the creatures of the dark that stalk the creepy town of Bright Falls, to the episodic presentation that pays homage to classic TV shows. The story and writing really shine here, and the mystery and intrigue of the plot is mirrored in the spooky environments and enemies. You are quickly introduced to the concept of using light to soften up enemies before taking them out with firearms, and the gameplay gets progressively deeper as these mechanics are explored more fully. The light-based gameplay is complemented by some great lighting effects which add to an already richly detailed environment. The game does drag somewhat at times, and there are driving segments toward the end which I never cared for much, but Alan Wake remains an original game with a great atmosphere. Expand
  67. Feb 21, 2016
    9
    Excellent story and World Design. Amazing Atmosphere without cheap scares. Combat could be improved.

    Graphics: 9
    Game play : 7
    Combat: 7
    World Design: 10
    Content: 7
    Immersion: 10
    Story: 10
  68. May 23, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. if u looking for a HORROR SURVIVAL game then ALAN WAKE is perfect. With Interesting story, stunning graphics ,thrilling situations , u can bring perfect awesomeness. JUST GO FOR IT Expand
  69. May 20, 2017
    8
    It's a shame Alan Wake is longer available for retail or online purchase, due to "expiring music licenses" (Thanks capitalism!) It's easily in the same class as any other Remedy title, and honestly, it's probably in a class above. What would be an inferior third-person shooter to their previous series, the Max Payne games, is instead a thrilling tale of cinematic suspense and characterIt's a shame Alan Wake is longer available for retail or online purchase, due to "expiring music licenses" (Thanks capitalism!) It's easily in the same class as any other Remedy title, and honestly, it's probably in a class above. What would be an inferior third-person shooter to their previous series, the Max Payne games, is instead a thrilling tale of cinematic suspense and character development. I am sorry I never looked into the series before now. It features great pacing, quality voice acting, passably good driving sections, and if nothing else, really satisfyingly loud gun sounds.The facial animations haven't aged well these past years, but that's hardly a major shortcoming.

    You take the role of the titular character, a crime fiction writer from NYC with possibly the worst case of writer's block on record. Wake has come to Bright Falls, Washington with his photographer wife Alice on vacation, in an attempt to clear his head, but within hours finds his wife missing, his car wrecked, the cabin he was to stay in vanished without a trace and a week's time gone by with no memory of such to speak of. What's worse, a malign force now stalks him through the night, wielding the shadows themselves as its weapon.

    The light is your friend in Alan Wake, and there is precious little of it to go around. As in Left 4 Dead and many other games, light sources often mark your path, and many of them not only function as checkpoints but quickly replenish your otherwise painfully slow to regenerate health. Your enemies are shielded by darkness itself, and only your trusty flashlight can strip their defense before you go for the kill, using the sorts of guns you'd find lying around a rural community: police revolvers, hunting shotguns and rifles. Also at your disposal are two kinds of flares and flashbangs, with one kind of flare being fired from a flare gun and acting in essence as a grenade launcher.

    Mechanically, the game is fairly formulaic: You move from checkpoint to checkpoint, blasting bad guys and pushing the occasional switch or button to open a door or something that might as well be a door. But your enemies are dangerous enough, and the characters believable enough, that you forget you are going through the motions of an oughts-era console shooter- and yes, I know it orignally released in 2010. The episodic format of the game greatly helps with the pacing, and it has some really great twists, especially in the bonus episodes: however you think the plot might turn out when you begin, it will likely defy your expectations. It also ends up being a lot harder then it initially feels, even on the easiest difficulty you will have a lot of near misses and scrapes, and this I recommend for a first play through- Alan Wake actually suffers from some balancing problems and it's a little to easy to get completely overwhelmed in the blink of an eye and ruthlessly beat to death. The dodge move is essentially broken, largely working only when it wants to, and your sprint duration is extremely limited, ensuring that you will rarely have the opportunity to avoid a fight. On the other hand, you are often given more supplies then you think you need- this is because you actually need all of it, so don't be afraid to use a flashbang or flare whenever you are cornered, as you are likely to find more.

    If you did not have the good fortune to get this game before it was pulled from the Steam store, I highly encourage you to dig up a used Xbox 360 copy or secondhand key if you can find one, as it is definitely worth your time.
    Expand
  70. Jan 29, 2017
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played, this game It's truly a must have for any PC Gamer, i bought it in the steam summer sales and I enjoyed so much this game, now I'ts your turn to enjoy It.
  71. Sep 19, 2016
    10
    This is one of my favourite games.Remedy has done a fantastic job .The story may be confusing at times and the ending may not be the clear to all but the game play and environment is flawless.Especially liked the use of dense fog.It gave the game a chilling environment.
  72. Oct 29, 2016
    8
    Pretty great psychological thriller with suprbly done atmosphere. Runs decently on PC aswell, but not without problems. Like you cant disable AA from in game, if you force it off then grass starts looking weird and overall for me it was pretty hard getting even over 40 fps on not the highest settings. Visualy game can look stunning, which is being helped by impressive lighting and fogPretty great psychological thriller with suprbly done atmosphere. Runs decently on PC aswell, but not without problems. Like you cant disable AA from in game, if you force it off then grass starts looking weird and overall for me it was pretty hard getting even over 40 fps on not the highest settings. Visualy game can look stunning, which is being helped by impressive lighting and fog effects, still havent seen a game that does it better to create an eerie atmoshpere. Textures tho look pretty weak, like out from a game that was a Xbox 360 launch title not a 2010 game, which goes to say Remedy nor the porting developer didnt do their best when it comes to PC version. Character models however look nice and much better in game than in the cut scenes which also lack lip syncing finesse. Alan's animations are very wonky and floaty which i didnt like. Gameplay where you must use a flashlight in combo with a gun works really well and feels precise.

    Story wise game does great screwing around with your and Alan's mind trying to understand what the hell is going and whats what. Where it got disappointing was the ending and the DLC's that were released to fix it didnt do that great of a job.

    If youre looking for a horror agme Alan Wake will disappoint you. I say that becuz i mostly see people calling it a horror game. ITS NOT ! This game is all about the atmosphere and psychological aspects of the story. If you like that sorta stuff youll enjoy it, I certainly did.
    Expand
  73. Jun 24, 2017
    9
    For me it's one of the best games. Alan Wake is a masterpiece from Remedy.

    This is a great story. It's scary, she draws, it keeps the tension. The game has a great atmosphere. You feel like running through the misty forests, you feel really caught in a nightmare. The developers clearly wanted to make a horror game, and the game is really scary sometimes, especially at first. Of course,
    For me it's one of the best games. Alan Wake is a masterpiece from Remedy.

    This is a great story. It's scary, she draws, it keeps the tension. The game has a great atmosphere. You feel like running through the misty forests, you feel really caught in a nightmare. The developers clearly wanted to make a horror game, and the game is really scary sometimes, especially at first. Of course, after a couple of hours, you awake to wait for the attack the next enemies, who tumble down on you with demonic screams. The game quickly turns into a shooter. In good atmospheric third-person shooter. You Shine on the enemy from the lamp to knock him protection, and then shoot anything complicated. But the enemies attack in groups, and the skirmish turns into an adrenaline action with evasion from the axe at the last moment. Shooting fun, sometimes even challenging, but the story DLS shootout will tire.

    Alan Wake takes place in the first its plot! We have a writer who wrote a novel, but can't remember what it wrote, and now all the horrors of his novel come alive. Plus lost his wife, and we have to find her. The plot is very strong, mystical, in the spirit of Stephen King. Gameplay can be divided into night and day. In the afternoon we go on locations, communicate with people, find out information. And night horror movies start, and we make our way through enemies to get to cliffhanger - a plot turn that ends each Chapter of this game. Yes, the game is divided into chapters, but it can be called a series, at the beginning of each of which is waiting for us, the phrase "Previously on Alan Wake". Each burst lasts from 40 minutes to an hour, it really feels like an episode of the series. At the end of the series during the credits we are waiting for the musical composition. Every time's a new track, and every time you listen to it until the end. The music in this game is another main character. Why should only the time with the scene where you shoot enemies to the wonderful Children of the Elder God! I immediately downloaded the soundtrack of this game to his phone and listen to it still, it as this game is immortal, and can not get bored!

    Alan Wake is a good idea, when in the course of progress at the location we meet leaves the written, novel. They describe what it was, but the main thing is what will happen. You can go somewhere, to think, that there is salvation, but the road to this place will read this list and know that there will not be anything good. In these sheets also reveal some plot details. To find them all you will have to complete the game on the last difficulty.

    The game is almost perfect. It still looks good in it, great story, wonderful music, dynamic gameplay, but there is always but. There are bosses , they are few and they are not interesting, especially the latter. The game simply has no ending. She had absolutely no end. What happened there, and what's next we have a year waiting for the sequel, but it is not. There are DLS that are not mandatory, but they want to go, if you're a fan. Have American Nightmare, but if you liked Alan Wake is the plot, the suspense, do not pass it, there is only action.

    Alan Wake is one of the best games Remedy, and one of the best at all. The game that catches its plot, characters, amusing gameplay, and keeps in suspense suspense. You yourself know all this:) I Hope to one day Remedy will do the sequel, Alan Wake deserves it.
    Expand
  74. Apr 8, 2017
    9
    Truly one of my greatest video games experience, incredible story and horror effects, I can easily say it was one of the top 5 best single players of all time, thank you Remedy for this peace of art, it was an unforgettable experience, exactly as the first Max Pain was for the video game industry.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 5, 2012
    70
    Alan Wake is a decent port with a few console-characteristics that cause a few annoyances. But PC-gamers finally have the option to enjoy Alan Wake's unique and gripping story.
  2. 82
    Yet as a finished result and, finally, as a product with an interactive purpose, Alan Wake suffers enough from trying to mix so many influences, ending very close to the "you love it or hate it" model. Eventually, maybe these are just the "pains of childbirth" for something more complex or for something else as deserving as interactivity, a new „species" that needs to be judged less for its interactive aspects and more for the ones that regard its style.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    80
    "A gripping rollercoaster ride." - Stephen King. [Apr 2012, p.52]