Alien Breed 2: Assault Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is a third-person shooter in which players assume the role of a soldier battling aliens on a mysterious spaceship. From a top-down perspective, players explore dark corridors and search for key cards, unlock doors, and attempt to power up areas of the ship. Aliens emerge from holes, pods, and passageways to attack the player's character; the soldier uses assault rifles, shotguns, machine guns, flamethrowers, and grenades to kill hostiles, including larger boss aliens. Aliens screech and emit splashes of green blood when killed. The word "sh*t" is heard occasionally in dialogue. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. 80
    It's a small game that feels big while you are playing it, a laudable accomplishment for a $10 title.
  2. Alien Breed 2: Assault is a great sequel to Alien Breed: Impact. Compared to its precursor, it has improved in terms of graphics and gameplay.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    Adrenaline-fueled crescendos and bosses toss in some welcome fun to the experience, but not nearly enough. [Jan 2011, p.77]
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Alien Breed 2: Assault stays very close to the roots of the genre, which gives it a touch of old-school charm, but it feels archaic next to newer offerings like Alien Swarm and Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light.
  5. 40
    Another Alien Breed remake results in another failure. What was great back in the Amiga-times is missing and a remake is just a boring and repetitious shooter with a small variety of enemies in uniform environments. [Issue#197]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    I have become convinced gamers are turning into a bunch of cry babies.
    This game for this format kicks ass, its fast paced , fun and
    addictive. the graphics are sharp ( maybe the people with Dell / Celerons should not give reviews) on my system.
    I had this game sitting in my library for 3 weeks and decided to check it out.. 3 hours flew by. its a top down shooter action packed and puzzles tossed in for good measure. have not seen a single glitch.
    This game is worth the meager price they ask by far.
    Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Alien Breed 2: Assault is a good sequel to the first Alien Breed game. It takes the story line deeper and has better graphics and game play. Overall it is a very enjoyable game to play. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    After enjoying the first game, I went straight to the second. Although the games are quite simplistic and have a basic formula, they are fun. You walk through eerie dark corridors most of the time and shoot alien bugs. I was, however, sort of disappointed by the fact that this second instalment didn’t really introduce anything new to the series and is more like Alien Breed 1.5 than Alien Breed 2.

    The environments are exactly the same as in the first game. I was hoping there’d be something different in that regard. Maybe an outside level for once? Or at least some noticeably different textures to the ones we’ve seen the entire time. And just as in the first game, the entire story revolves around simply going from one sector of the ship to another and activating various systems. I know it’s not the focus of the game, but still, a little more variation would’ve been nice. Plus also they overdid it on those alien eggs. I got sick of shooting them partway into the game. And way too many human corpses to loot too, which all require you to hold space and waste time rather than playing the game.

    We still have 5 weapons, just as in the first game, except two of those are different. The first three (Assault rifle, Shot cannon, and Flamethrower) are still there, but the Laser Rifle and Ion Spike have been replaced with a Hyper Blaster (a heavy minigun-like weapon) and a Rocket Launcher. Not sure what to make of this change as I think the older weapons were better. Hyper Blaster is all right as it’s good for huge swarms of enemies, but Rocket Launcher is practically useless most of the time as most enemies are fast and always in your face, so using an explosive weapon is a bad idea (not to mention its ammo is extremely scarce). Once again, as in the first game, we can choose to upgrade the weapons, but the upgrades are still the same ones (rate of fire, reload speed, and damage boost) and the effects of most of them are hardly noticeable.

    Perhaps the most annoying thing about this sequel though is the fact that in some areas the game takes a fixed camera angle and won’t let you rotate it, making it very hard to aim at the enemies, or to even see them on some occasions. I would understand that if the whole game was using fixed camera, but for a game that allows you to rotate your camera most of the time and then to take that choice away from you in some parts is just a pure design mistake.

    I know I went heavy on criticisms here, but this sequel still delivers a good amount of tension as the first game does, and at times you get really swarmed with enemies. It also does have some minor improvements over the first. They actually have some small cutscenes now, allowing us to see our character up close. These mostly occur during boss fights, which I should say have been done quite well this time round. I personally quite enjoyed the Arachnomorph fight on the monorail.

    Overall this game is pretty much the same as the first, except with a few little annoyances like those sudden changes in camera angles, and also it’s slightly shorter, so my overall score will have to be a bit lower than the first.
    Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    5
    This is a top down shooter that makes a solid first impression, but after a few minutes of playing you will discover that the execution of many essential elements is not very good. The gameplay gets repetitive rather quickly, as you frequently just walk from A to B, holding space bar down to interact with switches. The gun sounds and sound effects are also rather bland. The environments are also very dark, with little variety, although the actual graphics aren't too bad. You will also battle with the camera, as it sometimes switches to bizarre angles, obstructing your view to certain areas, such as the other side of a wall. There is also a load of on-screen text, so you know right off the bat which objects are interactive, and although some people may like this, I think it does take away discovery aspects of the game. Get this if you must, but there are far better top down shooters out there. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    While not an overly satisfying title, Alien Breed does provide a nice change of pace from other shooter games. While the core gameplay is relatively solid the game becomes quite repetitive with only 5 weapons (2 which you find halfway through the game), and enemies which although different are still dispatched using the exact same methods as any other. After playing the game for a while the fights start to become predictable. The story never really does anything to drag the player into it although the comics in between chapters were a nice touch. The upgrade system was a nice addition which allowed some variety to how you could play the game. Overall not a bad game for the price, plenty of stuff to kill but try to pace yourself so it doesn't get repetitive. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    5
    Back in the day AB was a great 2D arcade shooter. This new reboot looks nice and has a plot of sorts to follow all through the three episodes. Added feature of this version over the first is that weapons are now upgradable. However I rather replay any Shadowgrounds game than any of the three episodes from Alien Breed. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Clon of "Alien Swarm".
    It was St*pid, very boring.
    Hate this.

See all 15 User Reviews