Alien Breed: Impact PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 52
  2. Negative: 10 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    Alien Breed is a nice looking top-down shooter. It's a really good old-school game, it wouldn't bother you with long briefings or lots of text, everything you need to do is just shoot in well designed monsters, open doors and sometimes try to found special keys or any other ways how to get to the next point. Several times Team 17 offers player different game-play thing like to run from aAlien Breed is a nice looking top-down shooter. It's a really good old-school game, it wouldn't bother you with long briefings or lots of text, everything you need to do is just shoot in well designed monsters, open doors and sometimes try to found special keys or any other ways how to get to the next point. Several times Team 17 offers player different game-play thing like to run from a giant alien or to kill a boss. You will go throw different kinds of levels, and will be a little disappointed in the end. Good entertainment for a couple of evenings. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Alien Breed is a rather simple but fun isometric view shooter. The game is set aboard a spaceship and the single player campaign lasts around 8-9 hours. Although the game mainly involves walking through dark corridors and shooting at giant alien bugs, it manages to maintain a good sense of atmosphere and delivers well on the fun aspect. The player gets to use 5 different weapons, severalAlien Breed is a rather simple but fun isometric view shooter. The game is set aboard a spaceship and the single player campaign lasts around 8-9 hours. Although the game mainly involves walking through dark corridors and shooting at giant alien bugs, it manages to maintain a good sense of atmosphere and delivers well on the fun aspect. The player gets to use 5 different weapons, several items, and faces a healthy variety of enemies, which does well at minimizing what could potentially have been a repetitive game. The situations vary greatly. At times you might face one or two bugs at a time, and then at other times a whole wave would just burst out from all around you and force you to battle for your own survival. The fact that enemies could come from anywhere doorways, vents, floor creates a sense of tension and keeps the player ready for anything. Although it seems like the game is building towards some kind of plot, usually in the comic-book-style cutscenes, most of the things you do don’t seem to have much relevance. For most of the time when outside battles you just go around the huge ship and activate various computer systems in order to gain access to the next area. It could feel repetitive at times, but the main focus of the game is mostly on tension and battles with the aliens, so I suppose it’s not much of an issue really. There is also a chance to upgrade your weapons so to give yourself a bit of an edge in combat. Each weapon has 3 different upgrade options: rate of fire, reload time, and damage per shot. Now the interesting thing is that you can only ever have 1 upgrade active at a time, so the player will have to do some decision making and choose an upgrade that they feel is most suitable for each gun. This also opens a slight possibility for replay value. Without giving spoilers, I also want to mention that I was a bit disappointed with the final boss of the game. Its attacks kept repeating themselves over and over in a very repetitive pattern, and also for some strange reason at times when the boss is supposed to go under the floor it kept getting stuck upside down. However, this is only a mere 10-15 minutes of an otherwise very engaging and well-polished game. It’s quite simple at its core, but the quality of the presentation that it delivers is very respectable. Now after having completed the game, there are two more parts that await me and it seems the plot is still building towards something. This is not really a stand alone game, but more like a chapter of a book or an episode of a TV show. So I am quite eager to try out second and third instalments in the series and see where this goes. Lastly to mention, the game also offers a co-op mode, but I am yet to try that out. Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    9
    I do not know how anyone could rate this game a zero, that is complete rubbish! this game is awesome fun.. yes it has similarities to other games in the same genre hence a genre that is what a genre is folks. ya so, it also has differences. graphics meh? haha did you like alien shooter graphics better because these gfx are sweet i dont know of many games with better graphics especially inI do not know how anyone could rate this game a zero, that is complete rubbish! this game is awesome fun.. yes it has similarities to other games in the same genre hence a genre that is what a genre is folks. ya so, it also has differences. graphics meh? haha did you like alien shooter graphics better because these gfx are sweet i dont know of many games with better graphics especially in this genre.. this will stay in my top favs of one of my fav genre.. shame on you zero reviewers tisk tisk to shame!=P Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    First, a caveat: I am reviewing only the solo aspect of the game. I have not tried it in coop mode. I hesitated to get this game because of the lukewarm reviews, but when it went on sale, I figured I would give it a chance. This is a fun little game. Yes, it's just one in a big herd of similar top-down alien/zombie shooters, but it holds its own against the rest. It isn't as fast paced asFirst, a caveat: I am reviewing only the solo aspect of the game. I have not tried it in coop mode. I hesitated to get this game because of the lukewarm reviews, but when it went on sale, I figured I would give it a chance. This is a fun little game. Yes, it's just one in a big herd of similar top-down alien/zombie shooters, but it holds its own against the rest. It isn't as fast paced as some, but it does a good job of setting a suspenseful mood. I'm eager to try AB 2 and 3 just based on what I've played so far of 1. One of the nice features, that sadly not all top-down shooters have, is the ability to rotate your point of view. This is a personal preference and many will probably disagree, but I don't particularly like the Q and E keys to rotate the perspective, just as I don't like using the mouse wheel to change weapons, so I swapped them. Rotating with the mouse wheel is both a lot faster and it feels more natural and intuitive. After a few minutes, it feels as if you're just turning your head to look around. I did the same thing for Trapped Dead and it improved the gaming experience immensely. Another thing that some will love, but others will hate, is that you're "closer" to the character than in most other isometric shooters. It feels a bit more immersive, but it's also a bit more claustrophobic, which might be intentional to enhance the horror/suspense. Still, I prefer Trapped Dead's approach of letting the player zoom in and out to whatever level feels most comfortable. It's almost impossible not to compare Alien Breed to Alien Swarm, given that they have almost identical themes. Despite being free, Alien Swarm is slicker in look and in the feel of the controls (though I miss being able to rotate my view), but I can't really say that one overwhelmingly outclasses the other in enjoyability. My suggestion is: if you like the genre, get both (and probably AB 2 & 3 also). With one being free and the other(s) at a paltry $2.50 on sale, why deprive yourself of a few hours of fun? You'll spend more just on pop corn at a bad movie. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Ton of old school fun with nice new school visuals. Of course the original Alien Breed was essentially a "clone" of the arcade game Alien Syndrome. This is much more than that. The level design is much better than alien breed 2, there seems to be less of the constant runaround there was in the original, even if you are still basically running about flicking switches. If you like top downTon of old school fun with nice new school visuals. Of course the original Alien Breed was essentially a "clone" of the arcade game Alien Syndrome. This is much more than that. The level design is much better than alien breed 2, there seems to be less of the constant runaround there was in the original, even if you are still basically running about flicking switches. If you like top down shooters then of course, get it. If not then well... this isn't for you. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    2-person co-op is where this game shines, and feels totally different than the single-player mode most reviews rate poorly. For instance, in co-op it is a progressive route, not running pointlessly back and forth as required in single user.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. PC Gamer UK
    69
    Irritating level design and a poor story are somewhat redeemed by explosive action and a challenging co-op mode. [Sept 2010, p.82]
  2. PC Gamer
    59
    But repetitious single-player, frustrating co-op and a laughable narrative reduce it to a mess that's fun only as long as it takes you to realize nothing interesting is ever going to happen. [Oct 2010, p.81]
  3. The brisk single-player campaign is reason enough to overlook the boring cooperative multiplayer. Unfortunately, the lack of blood, same-looking environments, and cheap-looking comic strips let it down.