Alien Breed: Impact Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alien Breed: Impact is an explosive science fiction arcade-shooter that resurrects a much revered franchise with an epic story, swarms of highly intelligent alien enemies, high-impact weapons, highly detailed and rich environments; all implemented with superb technology in a state-of-the-artAlien Breed: Impact is an explosive science fiction arcade-shooter that resurrects a much revered franchise with an epic story, swarms of highly intelligent alien enemies, high-impact weapons, highly detailed and rich environments; all implemented with superb technology in a state-of-the-art gaming experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Alien Breed: Impact is an nice action-packed Arcade game. 15 Euros is more than "ok" for eight to nine hours exciting gameplay.
  2. The brisk single-player campaign is reason enough to overlook the boring cooperative multiplayer. Unfortunately, the lack of blood, same-looking environments, and cheap-looking comic strips let it down.
  3. Perhaps more significant are the advantages of mouse-based control, which offer not only more precision but a far better camera system to boot. But while no one will have any complaints about the quality of the port, charging almost twice as much for the privilege is a little optimistic.
  4. After 19 years Team 17 excavated its classic Amiga game and it still has some charm today. But it's a game to play for half an hour a day at most due to its lack of variation.
  5. Alien Breed: Impact is a nice game, which could be overworked at some points. But if you are not sure if it's worth € 14.99, you still can download the demo on steam and take a look first.
  6. Technically brilliant "update" of the famous arcade shooter ruins its image with crappy controls and too much roaming through the confusing corridors. [July 2010]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    2-person co-op is where this game shines, and feels totally different than the single-player mode most reviews rate poorly. For instance, in2-person co-op is where this game shines, and feels totally different than the single-player mode most reviews rate poorly. For instance, in co-op it is a progressive route, not running pointlessly back and forth as required in single user. Expand
  2. May 4, 2012
    9
    I do not know how anyone could rate this game a zero, that is complete rubbish! this game is awesome fun.. yes it has similarities to otherI do not know how anyone could rate this game a zero, that is complete rubbish! this game is awesome fun.. yes it has similarities to other games in the same genre hence a genre that is what a genre is folks. ya so, it also has differences. graphics meh? haha did you like alien shooter graphics better because these gfx are sweet i dont know of many games with better graphics especially in this genre.. this will stay in my top favs of one of my fav genre.. shame on you zero reviewers tisk tisk to shame!=P Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    Alien Breed is a nice looking top-down shooter. It's a really good old-school game, it wouldn't bother you with long briefings or lots ofAlien Breed is a nice looking top-down shooter. It's a really good old-school game, it wouldn't bother you with long briefings or lots of text, everything you need to do is just shoot in well designed monsters, open doors and sometimes try to found special keys or any other ways how to get to the next point. Several times Team 17 offers player different game-play thing like to run from a giant alien or to kill a boss. You will go throw different kinds of levels, and will be a little disappointed in the end. Good entertainment for a couple of evenings. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2013
    6
    Right off the bat Alien Breed: Impact feels like a game that's only half-finished. A month or two more could taken this game from being veryRight off the bat Alien Breed: Impact feels like a game that's only half-finished. A month or two more could taken this game from being very mediocre to very good.

    The graphics are generally pretty and detailed in a grey and blue sort of way. The first three stages are extremely repetitive whilst the last two, the hydroponics level and the ghost ship do mix it up a bit.

    The sound is all over, there are really chilling alien noises mixed with the silly pew-pew of the laser gun. The voice acting is generally good but only in the cut-scenes.

    The point where Alien Breed really falls down is it's game-play. You'll probably find fighting the camera and map far more challenging than fighting the aliens. If the character was moved slightly further up the map and zoomed out a bit more a lot of problems would be solved. Redesigning the stages so a non-rotational camera could have been used would have been a huge plus. Shooting aliens at the bottom of the screen and trying to find items and doors hidden behind walls is... annoying.

    The map will show you your objective in the HUD but no ship layout. To see the ship layout you need to use your tablet but then the objective is only shown if it fits on the immediately visible piece of map. This isn't helped by the controls opening the map with one key and closing it with another. Did I mention annoying. Yeah am sure I did.

    The initial stages, despite having repetitive graphics will then also see you running from one end of the ship to the other making for even more repetitive play. This artificially lengthens the stages as the game designers contrive sillier and sillier reasons to need to run back through areas you've already been through. This wouldn't be so bad if you were constantly under attack but they are mostly long walks with nothing happening you can only run for a limited period of time.

    Things get somewhat better later on. The aliens start swarming from all corners making for a lot more action. The stages are still back-and-forth but at least there's stuff to do.

    And now I come to the aliens my next big gripe. There are about 4 or 5 types of alien but they're practically indistinguishable. I think they're all supposed to have special abilities and that would have been awesome if they used them and forced tactical play. But they don't, they run straight lines towards the player and as they don't collide with each other usually form an easy to shoot pile.

    There's little satisfaction in shooting them as they don't throw out gouts of green alien blood, only the odd particle. They get knocked around easily by even weak weapons and this before dying with barely a whimper and a quick death animation.

    This sounds really negative and it is until later on when for instance wading through dozens of aliens in Hydroponics is a complete blast. Then you don't notice the silly bullets, lack of blood or mind the quick deaths.

    Moving on: the last issue I have is with the story. The main character is the chief engineer of the space ship The Leopold. The Chief Engineer. But he has no security rights and no understanding of engineering consoles he breaks just about every one he touches. Using a generic space marine character would have made more sense. Like the Doom Guy.

    Also the Leopold has crashed into a giant derelict ship of unknown origin. Except the name of the ship is written on the side. In English. And it's an Intex ship just like the Leopold. Surely someone would have kept a record of it somewhere.

    I'm going to stop complaining now and recommended Alien Breed. It may not be great but it is worth a couple of your dollars and few of your hours. For all I've said I did enjoy it but suspect I should have cranked up the difficulty.
    Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2010
    6
    This is an overhead, 3rd person shooter, much like Alien Swarm. You spend a lot of time running from Point A to Point B and back again,This is an overhead, 3rd person shooter, much like Alien Swarm. You spend a lot of time running from Point A to Point B and back again, meanwhile killing aliens and picking up ammo, credits (currency), logs, and searching dead bodies for useful stuff. The upgrades are nowhere near op, the graphics are meh, the plot is kind of awkward, and default moving speed is "walk" (you have to hold a button down constantly to run and not all places will allow you to run).

    Despite that, they do throw in different timed missions and a couple of small puzzles to keep it interesting. Elite mode is pretty easy, so easy mode would probably be perfect for a kid. An excellent time-suck kind of game. I paid about $5 for it during a steam sale, so for the price, it's better than most.
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    Maybe the reason is that I played "Alien Breed" trilogy after I put my hands on "Alien Swarm", or maybe it is the game itself, but it isMaybe the reason is that I played "Alien Breed" trilogy after I put my hands on "Alien Swarm", or maybe it is the game itself, but it is difficult to say something positive about this game.
    Lack of good story, boring gameplay, way too difficult unbalanced co-op. Ok, I do believe, that the game had some potential but it was wasted.
    Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    Lame horrible filth! I hate having this game on my list of steam games. It makes me feel like a douchbag just for buying it. I only got itLame horrible filth! I hate having this game on my list of steam games. It makes me feel like a douchbag just for buying it. I only got it since the old amiga version was so cool back in the day but to make exactly the same game today is just pathetic. What a sad little game!!! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews