Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    40
    There will be a small audience for this game I’m sure but most should just let this game pass them by.
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    30
    The true tragedy of it all, however, is that when you cut through the glitches, the mediocrity, the sensation of standing on a fragile boat, and the design's lack of commitment, one can actually find a quasi-competent first-person shooter attempting to happen. When it's not breaking itself for no reason, Alien Rage does work.
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    20
    In short, Alien Rage just isn't very good. If it had nailed the combat, all its other flaws could perhaps be forgiven—but it didn't, so they can't. It's a terrible thing to say, but in a game stuffed to the gills with Xenomorphs, the most alien thing in the entire package is any sense of enjoyment whatsoever.
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    32
    Not content with being the most mediocre and generic shooter I’ve played all year, Alien Rage makes its way into terrible territory. Countless bugs and a brutally unnecessary difficulty curve help artificially lengthen the game’s four hour campaign, while simultaneously ruining any chance that Alien Rage had to be enjoyable.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    40
    Hardcore and old school. Those are mighty fashionable magic formulas frequently used for the video games unable to prove they are fun and fresh. Like this Alien Rage title.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    44
    Between its lack of personality or distinctive, original features of any kind, and completely non-existent multiplayer community, the only memorable aspect is its annoying and frustrating difficulty spikes.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    40
    Frustratingly difficult, and not in a good way. When it's not doing its utmost to irritate you Alien Rage isn't a bad shooter, but it's not a particularly good one either - and in this crowded genre, there's little reason to get this over something else.
  8. 20
    A botched attempt at a shooter utilizing modern graphics while harking back to the nineties. Fails at everything it tries. Do yourself a favor and opt for Shadow Warrior. [Nov 2013]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I love multiplayer! Its like UT3 Qake with awesome graphic. I was missing that kind of old-school games. Single player is amazing, lots of action and explosions! Game is really hard, i spent 6h and i didnt even unlock half of the levels. Bossfights are a bit boring and long but except bosses i love this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    As like all old school FPS games it depends from your point of view. I found this game very funny. Sometimes repetetivness, and regenerating health and only 2 weapon limit can annoy you but its still fun. It took me 8 hours to complete this game on hard which is according to FPS games average decent. MP is a hell of a fun too but since many players still cant play it there was lack of players. For any SS, ROTT, DN fans its a great deal with good price. Full Review »
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    Good game with nice graphic and amanzing desig. Perfect optimalization, interesting campaign and very playeble multiplayer. I bought this game for 12$ and it was really great prize for a lot of content and gameplay what really gives us fun. If you like old-school shooters you can't miss this. Full Review »