User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 137
  2. Negative: 24 out of 137

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I love multiplayer! Its like UT3 Qake with awesome graphic. I was missing that kind of old-school games. Single player is amazing, lots of action and explosions! Game is really hard, i spent 6h and i didnt even unlock half of the levels. Bossfights are a bit boring and long but except bosses i love this game.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    Good game with nice graphic and amanzing desig. Perfect optimalization, interesting campaign and very playeble multiplayer. I bought this game for 12$ and it was really great prize for a lot of content and gameplay what really gives us fun. If you like old-school shooters you can't miss this.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    As like all old school FPS games it depends from your point of view. I found this game very funny. Sometimes repetetivness, and regenerating health and only 2 weapon limit can annoy you but its still fun. It took me 8 hours to complete this game on hard which is according to FPS games average decent. MP is a hell of a fun too but since many players still cant play it there was lack of players. For any SS, ROTT, DN fans its a great deal with good price. Collapse
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Just awesome shooter.
    Good graphics. Good optimization. Very nice to play.
    I hope that the game will have a good sale and we will see a sequel.
    It is even possible on Unreal Engine 4.
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    This game isn't for everyone. I think it's mainly more hardcore, old-school gamers liking this. Not because of all the old-school elements, but because of the difficulty factor. For a first-person shooter, the campaign is a challenge on normal difficulty (named "hard" difficulty on start-up). You don't have much warning of when you die, the A.I. won't wait for you to recover when behind cover. Expect to die a lot, even the best of gamers will find dying isn't a rarity with this game. That's why it's a game built for gamers that grew up with more challenging games such as the original doom. Another retro feel to it is...wait for it...actual bosses. Not like the ones they throw at you in modern shooters, but bosses that are actually a challenge to kill. Fresh of breath air, yet so nostalgic at the same time.

    First thing I want to point out about the graphics is that the environment is absolutely beautiful. Especially if you're a sci-fi freak like I am. There is so much to take in. The lighting is also something else that is very well done. The textures don't really stand out since it is a dark game, but the lighting and art-style make up for that. The shooter mechanics are also simple and smooth.

    There is a scoring system, but you won't really pay much attention to that unless you really want to. The story kneels more towards the weak side, but the game is still enjoyable. This game is sort of geared towards a niche'd market, but it is still a good title. Just don't go in expecting a story on The Last of Us or Mass Effect's caliber because it's not. The narration is humerous, but that's pretty much as much character development as you get.

    MULTIPLAYER:

    I haven't gotten much of a chance to play it, but from my brief experience I can tell you I have already experienced most of it because there is not much to it. Don't expect it to be strong on the multiplayer department, but then again most of us didn't go in this game wanting to try out the multiplayer. I think a co-op feature would have worked better for a title like this than multiplayer because the multiplayer is extremely bland.

    There's only 2 modes, Team Deathmatch and Deathmatch which you can prbably already know what they're about. It's enjoyable but only for a small amount of time since there is no incentive to keep playing. There isn't too much weapon variety so don't go in expecting many guns, the guns that are there are really enjoyable to use.

    Overall, I think this game is a title worth picking up, especially for 20 bucks.
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    4
    Alien Rage is downright awful. It's attempting to sell itself as an old school shooter but it's pulling the same crap that every single modern tactical shooter does right down to the ironsight aiming and objectives which require no more than "Go here and push this button."

    The graphics are by no means brilliant and they go way over the top with the lens flares and bloom. The enemies are
    dull and uninspired and demonstrate some of the most stupid AI I have ever seen. It takes itself far to seriously to be a truly entertaining experience.

    I would advise you go for something like Far Cry: Blood Dragon instead, which brings the same style of graphics and old school gameplay but with an overwhelming sense of parody which makes it so much more fun to play.
    Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    I die a lot in this game and that's what I like. It is not dumb easy and is a blast to play. Graphics are outstanding, but I do experience some slowdown as some scenes get can graphically complex that tax my Crossfire setup. I can dip as low as 18FPS at times. Either way a great old school shooter for a great price.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Something for the fans Unreal Tournament III and Quake. Dynamic, oldschool gameplay and beautiful graphics. Alien Rage is a very good game. Bravo CI!
  9. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    There is a problem with some people out there who think that every game (or movie or book, whatever) must have some point to it. These people are looking for some sort of meaning even if a game screams that it wasn't the developers' intention to bring it along. Alien Rage is a game about shooting from first person view-point, that's it, there is nothing else behind it. It is dependant on it's gameplay, not a story. You should understand that some games are meant to be senseless, just for fun. Look at Serious Sam games. What's the story there? Aliens start attacking Earth after humans discovered some ancient artifact and Sam goes to kill them all, that's it and yet Serious Sam is an insanely great shooter imho. I mean if you are watching porn, you are watching it for....you know what, you don't look for story in there.
    That's what Alien Rage is about: shoot aliens, survive and make it to the end. I am not going into details here because if you are reading this review, you've probably seen some gameplay videos and decided everything for yourself already. Just keep in mind that this one is an old-school type fps with some cover system to it which actualy didn't feel bad at all even though i kinda hate cover based fps but this one got away with it it seems. Consider it to be something like Hard Reset with same level of difficulty and similar pace of action but with using cover and not that many available upgrades
    Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is not half bad for $20. The shooting mechanics are solid, the score based perk system is a plus as well. The difficulty sets it apart from some games because it forces you to pick are harder setting than "easy" or "normal". In the end the entire package is enjoyable if your looking for a good arcade style FPS that gives you a good amount of bang for your buck.
  11. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    This is game is good you've cool weapons,nice level design,great graphics and challenging enemies
    the game is really difficult but that's the best thing about it but in the last few hours you'll not die alot thanks to the player perks, multiplayer reminds me of unreal tournament and it's good too
    i also liked the challenging bossfights especially the last one,the game takes about 13
    hours to finish
    i just wanted some puzzles here and there and the game really lacks characters coz the only character is YOU also the story is nothing new and they should've made some abilities in your armor and some upgrades to your weapons
    in the end this is an old-school game that i had a good time playing it
    Expand
  12. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    Well I enjoyed it.

    A jolly good romp, a disclaimer however rather difficult. I mean the difficulty curve is vertical, even the first basic enemies you encounter can nail you easily if you're not vigilant. It doesn't skimp on its premise; it is hard and that will turn some people off.

    Looks fantastic for 20$, a few lag issues that come with a UE3 game but other than that, and the
    atrociously, unapologetically cruel boss fights it's responsive, pretty and interesting.

    Here's what I say ignore the middle ground score. If it looks like you want it, you probably do!
    Expand
  13. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Anyone who played Bulletstorm is gonna notice some similarity with that game. Look of weapon, sound of them when you fire from it. The most similar sound is when you reload. Action is very good, hart pounding, boss fights are easy and not challenging. Simply hide behind cover and unload everything you got in them. Graphics are very good, sound to. Scoring is very good, kill streaks are fun. There are some bugs that needs to be fixed asap. Overall, this is good game which i like to play, before something better comes out Expand
  14. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    I give an 8 for the singleplayer. Its a great action game that really keeps you interested till the end. The story isnt that great but the game is all about the action. A.I could be done a bit better and ive encountered some bugs but for 20 euro its a great deal. I had games for 60 euro in the past that dont even come close to this game. Highly recommended.
  15. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I hot recommend this game. It's simple shooter, but with great shooting feeling. A little bit difficult, but after some time you know how you should play. Good looking game. Multiplayer. And... Price Big content for little money
  16. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I couldn't play Multiplayer yet, but the SP is really good. I started it at brutal difficulty and i got what i were looking for. Its a challenging shooter for people pissed off by all those easy whiner games in which you dont have to fight for success.
    When i started playing i had to restart from the first Checkpoint about 10 times until i made the it to the second checkpoint, just
    because you have to use cover and aim for the head of the enemies (on hardest Difficult). Its not a "BOOM IM ALLMIGHTY"-Shooter. If you are looking for a challenge this game will bring it to you.
    The graphics are ok, not groundbreaking, not bad. Its Unreal Engine, so you may know how it looks like. I saw one smaller bug and had to restart that checkpoint, but it didnt recreate so i dont bother about it.
    I got disappointed by so many "Blockbuster-Full-Price-Games" the last months and years, but this cheap game rocks them all. I grew up in the 90' with games you had to replay from the beginning if you lost all your lifes. I loved the Doom and Quake games. Alien Rage is the first game for years i can compare to them. Its not a horror game where you fear the shadows like Doom 3, its just a good Sci-Fi Shooter where skill counts. Give it a try if you like it hard :-D
    Expand
  17. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Great game the SP is really good. It's very cheap. Its like UT3 with good graphic. I recommend this game. :D I agree with the other user that the Boss Fights are a bit boring but the model of bosses are really great.
  18. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    Overall, this game has just been really frustrating to me. I was dying quite a lot especially during the parts when I was trying to take cover to regenerate my health and then like 4 or more enemies would come rushing over to where I was taking cover and killed me. I was having some fun with the few different weapons in the game to shoot at the enemies, though.
  19. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    Alien Rage is a surprisingly fun arcade shooter that will really test your reflexes and skills. It's hampered by more than a few problems, especially at launch, but they are mostly fixed by now. It feels like a good mix of old sensibilities with the new, but even that is hampered by the damn annoying health regeneration or no armor. Now, look, I see why health regen is a go to game element, game developers. You want the players to keep on moving without stopping for health items to keep the action going, but even that is rectified by having health items YOU CARRY ON YOU like in FEAR 1 and FEAR 2! Which are games I love.

    To confound matters further, it feels insanely silly that Alien Rage kept telling me where to go despite the areas being so straightfoward and linear. I don't HATE linear games, by the way, but here it just seems laughable when there is an objective marker! Go here, press a button, move on, and repeat. That is what the areas are kind of like in this game driven by a not that amazing story, despite the badass space marine action. However, I still cannot deny that I enjoyed this fairly visually stunning game, even when blinded by the excessive visual effects! The addictive scoring system really aids in the fun as well, and we even have perks to power up with.

    A decent game, let it pass.
    Expand
  20. Nov 17, 2013
    1
    Really disliked it, the dev's tried to make an old-fashioned action ,but they made if far from it. Just another ordinary FPS game, with noting special to impress.
  21. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I rate this 8.5/10 as long as you don't pay too much for it. At only about eleven hours long, you need to budget a little. Unbelievably harshly criticised this game isn't anything like as bad as pro-reviews are saying. This is IGN's review. " Between its lack of personality or distinctive, original features of any kind, and completely non-existent multiplayer community, the only memorable aspect is its annoying and frustrating difficulty spikes."

    Complete rubbish. It has originality because there just aren't any FPS sci-fied up games like this about. (No comment on multiplayer other than there might be if they gave it a fair review.) The difficulty spikes are a myth. I played through on hard, out of 1 - challenging, 2 - hard, 3 - brutal. I finished only minutes ago, and I never got stuck on a difficulty spike. I was very worried about getting this game because of this comment, but I loved the demo, and risked buying it. I am glad I did. Sometimes I had to repeat bits, but I didn't care coz I was having such a good time. The weapons and the bad guys are sci-fi spot on. Often I passed checkpoints first time.

    It's fairly straight forward. Pick up guns, run over ammo to collect, and shoot the baddies. The plot plays out with the story, so you just have to get from A-B in one piece. The only time it got tricky was with the boss fights, but I got most of them quite quickly beaten. The last boss may be my favourite all time boss. It was just so cool. The last level was like it was lifted straight out of the closing twenty-five mins of an action sci-fi movie.

    The graphics literally sparkle but you don't need a massive rig to run it. Something like a gen 1 i3 3GHz, and a GTX 650, and you're away with it maxed. I added x32 AA in the Nvidia Control Panel so it looked tidy.
    Expand
  22. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    This game is worth playing to hear that guy who says "Double kill". I am really happy that dude could find work in this day and age of games that are trying to be movies and points and skill are irrelevant unless playing online. Alien Rage is for anyone who grew up playing UT. It will take you back. Cheers CI Games!
  23. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    This game is your typical generic CoD-clone. Very unoriginal, and bad modern gameplay mechanics with horrible leveldesign. Cannot recommend this to anyone who likes true FPS such as DooM, Quake or Duke Nukem 3D.
  24. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, it's graphics are beyond what new generation of consoles would be able to provide, and it's pure fun. It's like a cross of Killzone and Quake, truly amazing experience. The only thing is that I seem to have small problems with stuttering on my system but it doesn't have to be because of the game itself.
  25. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    well, as mentioned its playing a mix of quake, unreal and doom. i love it.
    finally a good unreal engine game again. fast, hard and with incredible level design.
    for the price of 19,99 much better than most of the current AAA titles.
  26. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Once again, the reviews from the "professionals" are out of step with the people who actually play the game. This game is great value for $20-odd. I am about halfway through and enjoying it. It is, after all, a game and that means you play it for fun. I am not looking for a deep meaningful story or believable characters, I just want a bit of fun. Seems like a lot of other users feel the same.
  27. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    Meh, just your average fps game nothing more, there really isn't anything special about this game, you just go around shooting stuff and thats it. There is a story but its lame, I did like the diary's since they let you learn about the world and give you some background info about the aliens and whats going on.
  28. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    I love shooters, especially the one from the 90´s like Duke Nukem 3D, Quake, Doom, Half-Life, Goldeneye and I also love Tacticshooters like the first three Rainbow Six, Ghost Recon and Operation Flashpoint.
    They were all a challenge on hard settings and I like a good challenge, but Alien Rage ist nothing but unfair. The fact that you die every 10 seconds at a boss battle, doesn´t make a
    game hard. You don´t gain anything from the death, like in Dark Souls where you learn something new about a boss and can change your tactics. But in Alien Rage, you die so fast. I shot the first boss down to half and wanted to change cover, had full energy and I could´nt run 2 meters till I was dead.
    The most annoying thing is, that the talking is also repeated every time you restart a boss battle. Your character always says the same words and I hate something like that. I turned down the voice volume in the menu! Reminds me Prince of Persia The sands of time, were you had to activate a machine and one of the guards screamed at every single move of the machine "Careful! Think about you´re doing!"

    The graphics may be good and the controls work perfect, but if you want a challenge play some Doom or Quake on hard Settings. They may be hard, but still fair.
    Expand
  29. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    This isn't the game for everyone, less-so for Halo or Gears or War fans. But it's a fantastic strategic-shooter, in the sense that you really have to try different strategies for each area not to die.
    The plot and dialogue are better than both Halo and Bulletstorm, both of which it has some cultural ancestry through. And yes, it is a little derivative of Halo in terms of the weapon
    system, but then, Halo was derivative of virtually everything.
    I wouldn't advise any difficulty level other than 'Challenging' - you're really not going to enjoy the game otherwise. But played right, this is reminiscent of the difficulty of Serious Sam 1 on 'Hard' mode, trying to desperately think of a way to not die and go back to your savegame.

    The visuals, though perplexing and detailed at first, quickly become navigable, and in time you'll come to appreciate how polished this game is, both in textural and structural details.

    Sound-wise - pretty good, pretty standard, though some nice touches here and there.
    And I actually found the boss fights pretty satisfying and enervating - a great combination of 'figure out the strategy' and adrenaline-fueled desperation and chasing.

    If you never played an old-school FPS, get used to the following tactics -
    1. Cover is not always going to stay upright, or be perfect at blocking explosions and bullets, depending on how wide it is and where you're placed.
    2. Retreat to better tactical location is always an option, and usually necessary.
    3. Fast reflexes and headshots win wars.

    Overall a very satisfying experience, and no-way-near worth the ire it's attracted. Again, not everybody's game - but then, why would it be? And what's wrong with another game that's not as simple or puerile as GoW clones?
    Expand
  30. Jul 17, 2014
    5
    Alien Rage is a good first person shooter with many gameplay related issues. 6 hours in a single player campaign. I`d compare it to Bulletstorm, which is about two classes better. For 5$, yea it`s worth it. A feeling of cheapness for this game is overwhelming. But yea, this game is decently playable.

    Good things first.
    So we have Unreal Engine here, looks pretty good in 2014 but it is
    aging rapidly. Graphics are nice enough, nothing particulary bad. Some levels really look great.
    The music is okay too. Nothing special but fits the scenery, doesn`t irritate.
    Guns feel and shoot like standard fps hardware. There are 7 types of which have their own differences. I like how the ironsights look on them, they sound and look pretty good.

    Now the bad things.
    There is no story. You just shoot stuff and blow things up.

    The voice acting is standard, but the actual text is very annoying. So all the voice actors do a good job while the guy who wrote the stuff didn`t do good at all.

    AI is horrible. Yes, they take cover, they shoot, they seem to have some strategy but after 30seconds you notice what is wrong with them. They are far too accurate even on lowest difficulty setting. They are far too quick. They have unlimited ammo, so you get sprayed with grenades all the time. They do not see walls, so even when you hide, they know exactly where you are and they shoot you through the walls.
    Then all you have to do is crouch hidden, they will come running like sheep one by one. They are really tough too, so the only way you can survive is to score multiple headshots.
    And so with an exception of minigun and boss stages, every single enemy shootout looks the same in Alien Rage. You walk into a room, a flood of monsters appears, rinse and repeat.
    Oh yes, the boss battles. They`re not that bad, just not fun at all.
    While walking through the game I had a feeling that no one tested the gameplay. There are so many cheap player deaths here that you have to stop playing every 2 hours just not to throw your monitor.

    There are no powerups, no special skills or facilities. You get three most basic player perks and that`s it.
    Expand
  31. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    A good solid old school space - shooter . Nothing really new, but fun to play.
    If you are looking for some nice hours fighting Aliens, get it and enjoy .
  32. Mar 27, 2014
    8
    i have seen a lot of **** who say this game has bad storyline and is a cod clone blah blah blah. The point of this game is not the story but the fun gameplay. which this game has a lot (by the way use the pistol its very op) and as for being a cod clone i disagree. What is the difrence? this game is fun, cod on the other other hand is ****
  33. Aug 8, 2014
    2
    I don't understand the people that call this old-school. It's simply Call Of Duty with a layer of paint on it. The enemies are "aliens" that take cover, shoot their rifles, throw grenades or, the only interesting part, they become invisible and hit you. That adds to the fights a little, but it becomes quickly just another meh...I saw you coming, shotgun to the face brother. And the weapons? Alien shotgun, human shotgun, alien assault rifle, human..you get it. All the fights in this game are the same fight over and over again, and new enemies add nothing, because they are just an old enemy with more health or stupid stuff like that. The story and characters are laughable, but I would forgive that if the gameplay was any fun. Like this, it just adds to the pile of ****. The levels are nothing more than dark corridors illuminated by orange and blue lights. That's all...no exploration, just some corridors. And a few pointless collectables that you need to "explore" to find. (meaning they are a little off the set path, like any modern game). The reason why this does not get a zero is because the fight (not the fightS because, like I said, there is only one fight repeated again and again) was somewhat enjoyable and there were a few moments that made me sweat a little (boss fights, avoiding a deadly minigun turret, stuff like that) Expand
  34. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    As like all old school FPS games it depends from your point of view. I found this game very funny. Sometimes repetetivness, and regenerating health and only 2 weapon limit can annoy you but its still fun. It took me 8 hours to complete this game on hard which is according to FPS games average decent. MP is a hell of a fun too but since many players still cant play it there was lack of players. For any SS, ROTT, DN fans its a great deal with good price. Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    20
    In short, Alien Rage just isn't very good. If it had nailed the combat, all its other flaws could perhaps be forgiven—but it didn't, so they can't. It's a terrible thing to say, but in a game stuffed to the gills with Xenomorphs, the most alien thing in the entire package is any sense of enjoyment whatsoever.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    50
    It is so mortally by-the-numbers that you'll genuinely believe you've already played the game before. [Issue#141, p.120]
  3. 65
    Competent to the last, Alien Rage Unlimited will tick the boxes for anyone wanting to indulge in warfare, whilst perhaps parting ways from any sort of thought process for an hour or two.