Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash a fury of powerful weapons as you blast your way through armies of Alien forces hell-bent on taking you down. Battle through 14 intense levels and prepare to face a barrage of beastly-sized bosses that will test your every skill. Each of your 10 weapons comes with two firing modes and you’ll need all of them. Battle hardened Alien forces will attack you from every direction using various flanking and attack moves. Built with powerful up-to-date graphics technology, awesome physics, destructible environments… experience an intense, old-school styled shooter game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    For $20, Alien Rage is a rather fun little experience. It has its moments of frustration with the difficulty, but the weapons and score-based mechanics really make it shine over other titles in the genre. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, and many FPS fans will find a lot of enjoyment out of the entire package. I suggest giving it a try if you enjoy arcade style first-person action.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Alien Rage feels like a love letter to first person shooters from the very first moment you’re dumped onto a giant rock hurtling through space. It pokes fun at the genre in all the right places but, when it needs to get down to business and actually feel like a decent shooter, it does that well too.
  3. 65
    Competent to the last, Alien Rage Unlimited will tick the boxes for anyone wanting to indulge in warfare, whilst perhaps parting ways from any sort of thought process for an hour or two.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    55
    The new first-person shooter from City Interactive is not that bad for fans of old-style FPS, but the linear levels, the limited variety of the locations and the average enemy intelligence are not flaws to be underestimated.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    A generic shooter notable only for its intense difficulty.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    44
    Between its lack of personality or distinctive, original features of any kind, and completely non-existent multiplayer community, the only memorable aspect is its annoying and frustrating difficulty spikes.
  7. 20
    A botched attempt at a shooter utilizing modern graphics while harking back to the nineties. Fails at everything it tries. Do yourself a favor and opt for Shadow Warrior. [Nov 2013]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I love multiplayer! Its like UT3 Qake with awesome graphic. I was missing that kind of old-school games. Single player is amazing, lots of action and explosions! Game is really hard, i spent 6h and i didnt even unlock half of the levels. Bossfights are a bit boring and long but except bosses i love this game. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Great game the SP is really good. It's very cheap. Its like UT3 with good graphic. I recommend this game. :D I agree with the other user that the Boss Fights are a bit boring but the model of bosses are really great. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I hot recommend this game. It's simple shooter, but with great shooting feeling. A little bit difficult, but after some time you know how you should play. Good looking game. Multiplayer. And... Price Big content for little money Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    A good solid old school space - shooter . Nothing really new, but fun to play.
    If you are looking for some nice hours fighting Aliens, get it
    and enjoy . Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    This is game is good you've cool weapons,nice level design,great graphics and challenging enemies
    the game is really difficult but that's the
    best thing about it but in the last few hours you'll not die alot thanks to the player perks, multiplayer reminds me of unreal tournament and it's good too
    i also liked the challenging bossfights especially the last one,the game takes about 13 hours to finish
    i just wanted some puzzles here and there and the game really lacks characters coz the only character is YOU also the story is nothing new and they should've made some abilities in your armor and some upgrades to your weapons
    in the end this is an old-school game that i had a good time playing it
    Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    Overall, this game has just been really frustrating to me. I was dying quite a lot especially during the parts when I was trying to take cover to regenerate my health and then like 4 or more enemies would come rushing over to where I was taking cover and killed me. I was having some fun with the few different weapons in the game to shoot at the enemies, though. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    This game is your typical generic CoD-clone. Very unoriginal, and bad modern gameplay mechanics with horrible leveldesign. Cannot recommend this to anyone who likes true FPS such as DooM, Quake or Duke Nukem 3D. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews