Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash a fury of powerful weapons as you blast your way through armies of Alien forces hell-bent on taking you down. Battle through 14 intense levels and prepare to face a barrage of beastly-sized bosses that will test your every skill. Each of your 10 weapons comes with two firing modes and you’ll need all of them. Battle hardened Alien forces will attack you from every direction using various flanking and attack moves. Built with powerful up-to-date graphics technology, awesome physics, destructible environments… experience an intense, old-school styled shooter game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    For $20, Alien Rage is a rather fun little experience. It has its moments of frustration with the difficulty, but the weapons and score-based mechanics really make it shine over other titles in the genre. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, and many FPS fans will find a lot of enjoyment out of the entire package. I suggest giving it a try if you enjoy arcade style first-person action.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Alien Rage feels like a love letter to first person shooters from the very first moment you’re dumped onto a giant rock hurtling through space. It pokes fun at the genre in all the right places but, when it needs to get down to business and actually feel like a decent shooter, it does that well too.
  3. 65
    Competent to the last, Alien Rage Unlimited will tick the boxes for anyone wanting to indulge in warfare, whilst perhaps parting ways from any sort of thought process for an hour or two.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    55
    The new first-person shooter from City Interactive is not that bad for fans of old-style FPS, but the linear levels, the limited variety of the locations and the average enemy intelligence are not flaws to be underestimated.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    A generic shooter notable only for its intense difficulty.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    44
    Between its lack of personality or distinctive, original features of any kind, and completely non-existent multiplayer community, the only memorable aspect is its annoying and frustrating difficulty spikes.
  7. 20
    A botched attempt at a shooter utilizing modern graphics while harking back to the nineties. Fails at everything it tries. Do yourself a favor and opt for Shadow Warrior. [Nov 2013]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I love multiplayer! Its like UT3 Qake with awesome graphic. I was missing that kind of old-school games. Single player is amazing, lots of action and explosions! Game is really hard, i spent 6h and i didnt even unlock half of the levels. Bossfights are a bit boring and long but except bosses i love this game. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, it's graphics are beyond what new generation of consoles would be able to provide, and it's pure fun. It's like a cross of Killzone and Quake, truly amazing experience. The only thing is that I seem to have small problems with stuttering on my system but it doesn't have to be because of the game itself. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is not half bad for $20. The shooting mechanics are solid, the score based perk system is a plus as well. The difficulty sets it apart from some games because it forces you to pick are harder setting than "easy" or "normal". In the end the entire package is enjoyable if your looking for a good arcade style FPS that gives you a good amount of bang for your buck. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I rate this 8.5/10 as long as you don't pay too much for it. At only about eleven hours long, you need to budget a little.

    Unbelievably
    harshly criticised this game isn't anything like as bad as pro-reviews are saying.

    This is IGN's review.
    " Between its lack of personality or distinctive, original features of any kind, and completely non-existent multiplayer community, the only memorable aspect is its annoying and frustrating difficulty spikes."

    Complete rubbish. It has originality because there just aren't any FPS sci-fied up games like this about. (No comment on multiplayer other than there might be if they gave it a fair review.) The difficulty spikes are a myth. I played through on hard, out of 1 - challenging, 2 - hard, 3 - brutal. I finished only minutes ago, and I never got stuck on a difficulty spike. I was very worried about getting this game because of this comment, but I loved the demo, and risked buying it. I am glad I did. Sometimes I had to repeat bits, but I didn't care coz I was having such a good time. The weapons and the bad guys are sci-fi spot on. Often I passed checkpoints first time.

    It's fairly straight forward. Pick up guns, run over ammo to collect, and shoot the baddies. The plot plays out with the story, so you just have to get from A-B in one piece. The only time it got tricky was with the boss fights, but I got most of them quite quickly beaten. The last boss may be my favourite all time boss. It was just so cool. The last level was like it was lifted straight out of the closing twenty-five mins of an action sci-fi movie.

    The graphics literally sparkle but you don't need a massive rig to run it. Something like a gen 1 i3 3GHz, and a GTX 650, and you're away with it maxed. I added x32 AA in the Nvidia Control Panel so it looked tidy.
    Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    I die a lot in this game and that's what I like. It is not dumb easy and is a blast to play. Graphics are outstanding, but I do experience some slowdown as some scenes get can graphically complex that tax my Crossfire setup. I can dip as low as 18FPS at times. Either way a great old school shooter for a great price. Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Anyone who played Bulletstorm is gonna notice some similarity with that game. Look of weapon, sound of them when you fire from it. The most similar sound is when you reload. Action is very good, hart pounding, boss fights are easy and not challenging. Simply hide behind cover and unload everything you got in them. Graphics are very good, sound to. Scoring is very good, kill streaks are fun. There are some bugs that needs to be fixed asap. Overall, this is good game which i like to play, before something better comes out Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    This game is your typical generic CoD-clone. Very unoriginal, and bad modern gameplay mechanics with horrible leveldesign. Cannot recommend this to anyone who likes true FPS such as DooM, Quake or Duke Nukem 3D. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews