Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash a fury of powerful weapons as you blast your way through armies of Alien forces hell-bent on taking you down. Battle through 14 intense levels and prepare to face a barrage of beastly-sized bosses that will test your every skill. Each of your 10 weapons comes with two firing modes and you’ll need all of them. Battle hardened Alien forces will attack you from every direction using various flanking and attack moves. Built with powerful up-to-date graphics technology, awesome physics, destructible environments… experience an intense, old-school styled shooter game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    For $20, Alien Rage is a rather fun little experience. It has its moments of frustration with the difficulty, but the weapons and score-based mechanics really make it shine over other titles in the genre. The multiplayer is surprisingly fun, and many FPS fans will find a lot of enjoyment out of the entire package. I suggest giving it a try if you enjoy arcade style first-person action.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Alien Rage feels like a love letter to first person shooters from the very first moment you’re dumped onto a giant rock hurtling through space. It pokes fun at the genre in all the right places but, when it needs to get down to business and actually feel like a decent shooter, it does that well too.
  3. 65
    Competent to the last, Alien Rage Unlimited will tick the boxes for anyone wanting to indulge in warfare, whilst perhaps parting ways from any sort of thought process for an hour or two.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    55
    The new first-person shooter from City Interactive is not that bad for fans of old-style FPS, but the linear levels, the limited variety of the locations and the average enemy intelligence are not flaws to be underestimated.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    A generic shooter notable only for its intense difficulty.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    44
    Between its lack of personality or distinctive, original features of any kind, and completely non-existent multiplayer community, the only memorable aspect is its annoying and frustrating difficulty spikes.
  7. 20
    A botched attempt at a shooter utilizing modern graphics while harking back to the nineties. Fails at everything it tries. Do yourself a favor and opt for Shadow Warrior. [Nov 2013]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I love multiplayer! Its like UT3 Qake with awesome graphic. I was missing that kind of old-school games. Single player is amazing, lots of action and explosions! Game is really hard, i spent 6h and i didnt even unlock half of the levels. Bossfights are a bit boring and long but except bosses i love this game. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, it's graphics are beyond what new generation of consoles would be able to provide, and it's pure fun. It's like a cross of Killzone and Quake, truly amazing experience. The only thing is that I seem to have small problems with stuttering on my system but it doesn't have to be because of the game itself. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is not half bad for $20. The shooting mechanics are solid, the score based perk system is a plus as well. The difficulty sets it apart from some games because it forces you to pick are harder setting than "easy" or "normal". In the end the entire package is enjoyable if your looking for a good arcade style FPS that gives you a good amount of bang for your buck. Collapse
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    I give an 8 for the singleplayer. Its a great action game that really keeps you interested till the end. The story isnt that great but the game is all about the action. A.I could be done a bit better and ive encountered some bugs but for 20 euro its a great deal. I had games for 60 euro in the past that dont even come close to this game. Highly recommended. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    There is a problem with some people out there who think that every game (or movie or book, whatever) must have some point to it. These people are looking for some sort of meaning even if a game screams that it wasn't the developers' intention to bring it along. Alien Rage is a game about shooting from first person view-point, that's it, there is nothing else behind it. It is dependant on it's gameplay, not a story. You should understand that some games are meant to be senseless, just for fun. Look at Serious Sam games. What's the story there? Aliens start attacking Earth after humans discovered some ancient artifact and Sam goes to kill them all, that's it and yet Serious Sam is an insanely great shooter imho. I mean if you are watching porn, you are watching it for....you know what, you don't look for story in there.
    That's what Alien Rage is about: shoot aliens, survive and make it to the end. I am not going into details here because if you are reading this review, you've probably seen some gameplay videos and decided everything for yourself already. Just keep in mind that this one is an old-school type fps with some cover system to it which actualy didn't feel bad at all even though i kinda hate cover based fps but this one got away with it it seems. Consider it to be something like Hard Reset with same level of difficulty and similar pace of action but with using cover and not that many available upgrades
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Anyone who played Bulletstorm is gonna notice some similarity with that game. Look of weapon, sound of them when you fire from it. The most similar sound is when you reload. Action is very good, hart pounding, boss fights are easy and not challenging. Simply hide behind cover and unload everything you got in them. Graphics are very good, sound to. Scoring is very good, kill streaks are fun. There are some bugs that needs to be fixed asap. Overall, this is good game which i like to play, before something better comes out Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    This game is your typical generic CoD-clone. Very unoriginal, and bad modern gameplay mechanics with horrible leveldesign. Cannot recommend this to anyone who likes true FPS such as DooM, Quake or Duke Nukem 3D. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews