Aliens: Colonial Marines PC


Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 23 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    Aliens: Colonial Marines looks like Aliens, and sounds like Aliens, but unfortunately it just doesn’t feel like Aliens. Instead, it feels indistinguishable from almost every shooter you’ve played in the past twenty years.
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    It's a very generic shooter, which seems to be one of the games we saw at the beginning at the generation or the end of the previous one. Certainly disappointing, there's a game here with several technical issues that still manages to be moderately fun.
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    With its annoying bugs, dated graphics and atmosphere of the film recreated only in certain situations, Alien Colonial Marines misses the target, disregarding the very high expectations of fans. Nevertheless, the narrative directly integrated with the movie franchise, the presence of twists, easter eggs and a multiplayer alternative to the usual FPS make it an interesting product for those who love the saga and the scary creature designed by Geiger. If you like Xenomorphs and you can go over on an atmosphere unable to strike fear (Dead Space is on another planet) and to the technical sector, you can give it a chance.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 15, 2013
    I dared to hope, but was given a game so dull and average, that is an actual achievement itself. [March 2013]
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    A decent game that could have been much better with just a few vital improvements. Gearbox has wasted much of the enormous potential of the franchise, and as a result the game is enjoyable almost exclusively in the multiplayer modes and not more than a single play-through of the Campaign.
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    Despite the game’s best intentions to immerse you in the Aliens universe, the result is a bloody massacre. Relying on dated storytelling techniques and technology, and stretching way too far to provide a plausible link between the second and third films, Aliens: Colonial Marines isn’t able to connect its action to any real sense of drama or terror, completely missing the aspect of psychological horror that gave the film its edge.
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    Hard core fans like me… will of course soldier along with the game and hope for the best and hope that tweaks to the game will make it better. It has some playing value, though you really have to push yourself to those points of the game. I like the game…it’s just a hard sell really, a love hate kind of thing of a big fan of the franchise….Nagging in the back of my brain is the thought that in this game, no one can hear you scream, and there will be no rescue ship sent.
  8. CD-Action
    Mar 5, 2013
    Aliens in Colonial Marines fail to scare you. Instead they make you laugh at their awkwardness and grotesque animations. The whole game is riddled with bugs and I honestly can’t remember any title with dumber AI controlled squad members. Sadly it seems that Gearbox is unable to make an ordinary first person shooters any more. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.54]
  9. Feb 12, 2013
    If only Aliens: Colonial Marines had decent visuals, the score would also have been able to pass mark. Instead, due to the mediocre technical sector, the too-short single-player Campaign, questionable A.I. and the uninspired and bland narrative, the long=awaited return of Xenomorphs became, in the hands of Gearbox Software, something very close to a complete failure.
  10. Feb 12, 2013
    Such small inconsistencies fade before an embarrassing overall picture that Colonial Marines delivers: an ugly, poorly voiced and narrated lousy 0815-shooter.
  11. Feb 18, 2013
    A fair shooter that's been lifted among the above-average titles by its impressive background and several action scenes. This is an outstanding tour for the Aliens (even Alien) fans; for the other gamers it's slightly problematic, still quite a tasty canapé.
  12. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 7, 2013
    A lot of potential with disappointing execution. [March 2013, p.86]
  13. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 12, 2013
    Not as bad as the wost Aliens games, yet it's also not in the same league as the very best, leaving ACM to meandering in the space system of mediocrity. [Apr 2013, p.69]
  14. Feb 12, 2013
    Colonial Marines comes off as too much fan service with few (if any) ideas of its own. It provides a tired narrative with an unsatisfactory conclusion that opens more questions than it attempts to answer.
  15. Feb 12, 2013
    The saddest thing is there’s still a lot of fun to be found in Colonial Marines. As much as I loathed it at times, this was mostly due to the fact that when the game gets it right, it really gets it right. Last-gen graphics, poor quality control and sloppy writing further taint an enjoyable co-op experience that otherwise goes a long way to making the player fe
  16. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    Judging by the result, Gearbox could not handle the tremendous success of Borderlands 2. On the other hand, there’s this erroneous notion that franchises can exploit their name and are justified to produce mediocre titles for ever. Those two facts were enough to condemn Aliens: Colonial Marines. While it’s true that the console version is even worse, the competition in the PC shooter genre, is relentless. [April 2013]
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 342
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    I would rate the first part of the game below average, That part is set on a space ship, and this is where you encounter human enemies besidesI would rate the first part of the game below average, That part is set on a space ship, and this is where you encounter human enemies besides aliens. The main problem of the game is the DUMB AI. This ruins the fight with human enemies, but ultimately ruins every part of the game where you are teamed up with human npcs. Team mates get stuck frequently, they are left behind, stay in front of you at the wrong times (basically they are useless and annoying...I would rather go alone, than with a marine that is not good for anything...). The second part is set on LV-426 (Aliens took place here). I would rate this part of A:CM average, with some better than average parts. It was fun to encounter the sets of Aliens (especially if you love the universe of the movies). Here the game focuses on the aliens. There is also a mission where you need to rely on stealth (it was a highlight of the game, with creepy lighting and sounds). There are some tense moment in the game, but I never felt scared (There were some intense moments, but I felt the game is lacking tension). The movement of the enemies felt clunchy. This is probably due to the small and closed spaces where most encounters with aliens took place. Many time they are spawned behind the player or just running around. Weapon customisation was a nice addition. The story is average, while characters are very "two dimensional" (with many cheesy dialogues....). Overall the game felt like a generic shooter, set in the Aliens universe, which would deserve a better game than Aliens: Colonial Marines. Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    Campaign: Not worth to mention: Broken AI. Story is illogical garbge. It's running in circles and shoot aliens. Let's move to the Multiplayer:Campaign: Not worth to mention: Broken AI. Story is illogical garbge. It's running in circles and shoot aliens. Let's move to the Multiplayer:

    No dedicated Servers. "Host leaved the game" every few minutes. Not much more to say

    Feeling: (Alien)
    Switching to the third person view may be a good descision for making gameplay more smooth, but the lack of proper animations and the fact that the alien moves like your put a stick up his and now pulling some strings absolutly ruins it. Feeling: (Marine)
    It's ok. I'm missing some kind of distant radio. I had a guy with his micro not muted and i could hear the dampened gunfire while catching up with the group. It was actually pretty cool. Otherwise the game lacks a proper envoirement sound set. If you spawn after death somewhere you can't hear nothing. It's so peaceful, you may settle down and have a picnic with a nearby spitter. Also the guns feel somehow cheap, like made out of lego bricks. To be honest all the models feel like i bought a 14,99 Indie game.

    The maps i played so far are uther rubbish. Sorry envoirement artist and level designers, but did you play your maps once? There's no tatic. It's just "find the best spot to sit on" and stay there and shooting the aliens coming from two directions. Forget vents, they're placed almost randomly without strategic purpose.

    Season Pass:
    You expect me to pay 30 bucks for you to maybe fix this, really?

    There are some things cool about this game but it doesnt compensate the games overall cheap feeling and bad, bad, bad, BAD map design. Just my personal opinion on this.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    This game is by far one of the worst of the year, and i can say that in all confidence even though it's only February. No atmosphere, theThis game is by far one of the worst of the year, and i can say that in all confidence even though it's only February. No atmosphere, the WORST textures I've ever seen, a majority of vents and small crawl spaces that aliens sometimes crawl out of and such are actually just black squares, not real vents. Such a poorly designed game it's almost impressive. No effort has been put into this game at all. Do not buy it, especially not for the ridiculously high price on steam. this game would be somewhat reasonable at 10 dollars, but even then, do not buy it. Aliens are too cumbersome to control, the tactical sights on weapons are strangely mis-aligned, the weapon firing sounds are laughable at best. avoid at all costs Full Review »