User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1007 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    Third rate shooter, nice graphics but very linear gameplay. Play as marine, alien or predator, good idea in theory however in practice the alien and predator characters became boring after about five minutes. The marine play through lasted less than 5 hours. Marine had only one encounter with the predator, that was a disappointment. Limited weapons, limited movement, could have been muchThird rate shooter, nice graphics but very linear gameplay. Play as marine, alien or predator, good idea in theory however in practice the alien and predator characters became boring after about five minutes. The marine play through lasted less than 5 hours. Marine had only one encounter with the predator, that was a disappointment. Limited weapons, limited movement, could have been much better. Paid only 5 bucks so it wasnâ Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    5
    I figure I should review this simply because I believe I should have a LONG time ago. I basically was waiting for this and excited for this because I played AVP2 regularly and I loved the whole franchise, first of all I want to say that if you're coming from AVP2 you will most certainly not encounter a similar type of game. The strong points of this game are basically solid graphics,I figure I should review this simply because I believe I should have a LONG time ago. I basically was waiting for this and excited for this because I played AVP2 regularly and I loved the whole franchise, first of all I want to say that if you're coming from AVP2 you will most certainly not encounter a similar type of game. The strong points of this game are basically solid graphics, decent AI, and the 3 races. There really isn't a whole lot to praise with this game in terms of gameplay, but I will say that this game was reliable, I pre-ordered for PC and got the game a few days after release (backed up shipment or something stupid), and immediately there we no problems with the game, I never experienced any crashing, glitching, sound distortion or cutting out, nothing like that. Rebellion was smart enough to patch in a dedicated servers feature as well fairly soon after release. But that's about where the good points end. The singleplayer, it's a decent experience to be honest, but the story is easily forgettable, plus the addition of the collectible objects which really add nothing to the game beyond steam achievements, or a little bit of storyline from the marine recordings(which are annoying to try and listen to because they don't autoplay), are basically there to waste time. Too be honest, the greatest single player feature in the game is the survival game, where you are a marine fighting waves of aliens that get tougher the more you kill, at least that is the best feature in my eyes, I've spent more time in that than I do in multiplayer pvp matches. But even still, it is hindered by the lack of survival maps (only 2 without DLC) and like I said, there's only a survivor mode for marines, there's no other added single player feature to play aliens or predators. The multiplayer, basically what I was waiting for, turned out to be pretty disappointing, marines are honestly the most fun to play, for the simple reason that you can't run around executing people, predators and aliens can simply run around pressing E to execute people, sure you can play without doing that, but it's basically crippling yourself if you refuse to execute people because it's just a one button press. The upside? Executing people is satisfying to watch, the gore is so ruthlessly violent that it's almost hilarious to disembowel a marine. But it's lack of variety and intrigue in gameplay can be ENTIRELY contributed to the root problem of the whole game, and that root problem is console porting. This game is so clearly made for consoles when you play it, yes it works fine for PC and has no problems, but the gameplay feels so limited, and it just FEELS like a console game, it feels like it is being restricted by a controller when you play the PC version. The lack of weapon variety, the lack of universal crouching and jumping, it's all a product of a game that was designed for consoles. This game is certainly not AVP2, but I will make a comparison, in AVP2 the predators and marines had so many weapons that it would be impossible to play on a console because you often need to switch between weapons instantly, and having to cycle through them using a controller would just be frustrating, never mind the ammo types and alternate firing methods. This is a game clearly influenced by the desire to have it available for console systems, and as such is a pretty mediocre PC game, albeit with dedicated servers, which is becoming rare these days. I'm giving this game a 5 because of its console value, it really is an alright console game in my opinion, but it's a very obvious one, I would certainly advise anyone not to pick this up for the PC especially if you're a PC gamer. Summary: The lack of weapon variety, boring multiplayer meta game, and generally bland gameplay lead this to be an alright console game and not much more, the graphics are quite pleasing and the dedicated servers are nice, but it doesn't matter when the gameplay just doesn't hold your attention. I played multiplayer for literally 1 maybe 2 days before I got bored of it basically entirely, there must be a serious lack of players in the game by now, if you're an AVP fan you'll probably marginally enjoy it like I did, but if you're a dedicated PC gamer, you'd be better off going for a different game, or better yet, just getting AVP2, even the single player is worth it in that game. At any rate, I regret paying full price for this, it's essentially just eye candy. Expand
  3. Slavko
    Apr 9, 2010
    5
    No technical issues, everything runs smooth, with satisfied Frames; nice sounds, but whats important: lazy, short and shameless port from console; horrible controls, not optimised for PC - player needs to press 3-4 buttons at the same time to use Predator with some results; weak combat system; only 4 maps for Species Team DM is a joke, same as payment for additional maps in DLC; product No technical issues, everything runs smooth, with satisfied Frames; nice sounds, but whats important: lazy, short and shameless port from console; horrible controls, not optimised for PC - player needs to press 3-4 buttons at the same time to use Predator with some results; weak combat system; only 4 maps for Species Team DM is a joke, same as payment for additional maps in DLC; product should be reconsider as not yet ready, because of Dedicated Server beta - it's like selling Microsoft Office with Microsoft Word beta - disrespecting for players and fans; empty servers / no players mostly; developers arrogancy. Absolute must have for desperated hardcore fans of AvP franchise, cuz there is alot much better games. Expand
  4. PeterW
    Mar 13, 2010
    5
    The biggest dissipointment probably in 10 years. This game would be great if it were the year 1999, but with all the time since the first version, this new 2010 game is as bad as it gets. It's repetitive, boring, dark and simply seems to have been made by a bunch of amateurs. The keyboard controls are horrible! The first version was MUCH better. This version was only developed to get The biggest dissipointment probably in 10 years. This game would be great if it were the year 1999, but with all the time since the first version, this new 2010 game is as bad as it gets. It's repetitive, boring, dark and simply seems to have been made by a bunch of amateurs. The keyboard controls are horrible! The first version was MUCH better. This version was only developed to get as much money from as many wallets as possible before the ratings destroyed it's reputation. I finished all three short missions in one day and will NOT be playing it again. After the first mission I chose (Marine), I had to force myself to play the Alien and Predator missions. $9.95 would be a good price for this game. Expand
  5. JohnS
    Mar 7, 2010
    5
    It really seems like used too much of their budget on getting Lance Henriksen in this thing. Bad acting even worse writing makes for a single-player campaign that makes you cringe (for all the wrong reasons). Multiplayer is boring and uninspired. A reviewer said it was if he was playing the old game with a fresh coat of paint. If only. If the bugs of AVP2 were fixed and the graphics It really seems like used too much of their budget on getting Lance Henriksen in this thing. Bad acting even worse writing makes for a single-player campaign that makes you cringe (for all the wrong reasons). Multiplayer is boring and uninspired. A reviewer said it was if he was playing the old game with a fresh coat of paint. If only. If the bugs of AVP2 were fixed and the graphics updated, it would have been worth the money, this however is not. Expand
  6. TadC
    Feb 25, 2010
    6
    Potentially good game with flaws that keep it from being great. Still waiting on dedicated servers, with news that a closed beta of the dedicated server software will be coming on March 1st. No auto team balancing, no vote kick options, poor matchmaking system, lacking polish. Game does have an interesting melee system and when it works the games can be quite fun if you are a fan of the Potentially good game with flaws that keep it from being great. Still waiting on dedicated servers, with news that a closed beta of the dedicated server software will be coming on March 1st. No auto team balancing, no vote kick options, poor matchmaking system, lacking polish. Game does have an interesting melee system and when it works the games can be quite fun if you are a fan of the AvP universe. But many of the missing features will frustrate many users. A decent game that may improve with patching, but currently does not live up to it's potential. Expand
  7. Dragons68
    Feb 27, 2010
    6
    To be honest, the game doesn't deserve an ultra-high or ultra-low score. It is a decent looking game (on PC anyway), with a decent soundtrack and okay action sequences. The game tries hard, but just doesn't quite have the perfection of AVP2. The action sounds are nice, but the voice acting is terrible (and annoying - 'Tequila' is yet another stereotype). Also, The To be honest, the game doesn't deserve an ultra-high or ultra-low score. It is a decent looking game (on PC anyway), with a decent soundtrack and okay action sequences. The game tries hard, but just doesn't quite have the perfection of AVP2. The action sounds are nice, but the voice acting is terrible (and annoying - 'Tequila' is yet another stereotype). Also, The constant noise of the scanner which picks up noises is irritating. In saying that though, the Aliens and Predators sound effects are brutal and sound spot on. I think the introduction of the predator Campaign was not well-thought out. *SPOILER* They'd hardly put a 'Young blood' in some ancient pit with hordes of Aliens coming at it. They should have started with trap making and scouting first. That's not a big issue though. It's hard to 'score' games, because a score doesn't directly show how good of a game is. 90% is considered good, but it really should be considered a masterpiece given that score. Overall the graphics are nice, sound is good in some areas, and it plays fairly well (excluding the fact that the Marine can't jump over a small railing). I think 6 is a decent score. Worth buying at about $60 Australian (as opposed to the normal $90 RR price. Haven't played Multiplayer yet. Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If this game would have stayed as good as it was during the marine mission I would have rated it higher. However, during the alien section I had to stop playing multiple times due to almost wanting to throw up. Transitioning on walls was not a smooth process. Many times even when it told me I could it didn't work out that well. Then end boss battle was a little weak as well. Just run away shoot, run away, shoot. Repeat ten times, and you beat it. It was a game that I had to force myself to play all the way through. Expand
  9. Mar 16, 2011
    6
    Going to get my bias out in the open, I'm a fanboy for all things Alien and Predator, so regardless of quality I will buy the game and get enjoyment out of it. This does not mean I don't recognise its flaws though, the 3 campaigns all share the same 5 maps/locations so expect to see the same things over and over which feels a bit cheap. The Marines AI is abysmal in the Aliens andGoing to get my bias out in the open, I'm a fanboy for all things Alien and Predator, so regardless of quality I will buy the game and get enjoyment out of it. This does not mean I don't recognise its flaws though, the 3 campaigns all share the same 5 maps/locations so expect to see the same things over and over which feels a bit cheap. The Marines AI is abysmal in the Aliens and Predator campaigns, the only things I had to be careful about were the androids in the later levels the combat (melee at least) is just Rock Paper Scissors and doesn't feel very satisfying. The storyline is rather bland (the standard AVP storyline). As for the multiplayer, I did enjoy infestion and predator hunt but the other modes seemed like too much of a cluster****. If you see this game on sale for under £10 consider picking it up. Expand
  10. May 13, 2015
    6
    I did not try multilayer. Single-player is very short - all three campaigns (Marine, Alien, Predator) took me 9.5 hours to finish on Normal difficulty. Kind of barren if you consider that you play about 3 hours with each character. Yes, there are quite some bugs plaguing the game, and the inability to adjust the FOV value immediately grants this game a (-1) from me 9a pretty lazy port,I did not try multilayer. Single-player is very short - all three campaigns (Marine, Alien, Predator) took me 9.5 hours to finish on Normal difficulty. Kind of barren if you consider that you play about 3 hours with each character. Yes, there are quite some bugs plaguing the game, and the inability to adjust the FOV value immediately grants this game a (-1) from me 9a pretty lazy port, as others have pointed out). The failure of the limited FOV is in its inability to provide the dramatic effect to the player - so many times i heard a moan and scream and could not figure out where it came from; only on second passing, from a previously saved checkpoint, would i find out that the screaming came from a very well animated marine, whose rib-cage was ripped apart by a newborn alien! Well, such an effect is pretty hard to spot, when your Field of View is about 60 degrees - like walking and looking through a box. For the most part, the quality of sound in this game is very high - however, the quality of performance of the dialogues and the actual effects are not that good at all. Voice acting is not top notch, the radar clicking got on my nerves after the first two minutes of the game (not the beeping of the approaching alien, mind you - but the obnoxious clicking sound of the radar, which cannot be muted), and the in-game remarks of the marines are pretty much limited to two sentences. I must say however, that the atmosphere is pretty well depicted, and for the most part i enjoyed going through the game. Although so much could have been done better, so much.... Expand
  11. Oct 12, 2015
    6
    All in all this game was mediocre. The marine side of it played well enough but without anything that made it stand out. We know most of the weapons at this point and the plot was the same as every other Alien game, more or less. I can't say I felt too invested nor did I feel overly annoyed with anything here.

    The xenomorph side was less enjoyable for me. Probably more for
    All in all this game was mediocre. The marine side of it played well enough but without anything that made it stand out. We know most of the weapons at this point and the plot was the same as every other Alien game, more or less. I can't say I felt too invested nor did I feel overly annoyed with anything here.

    The xenomorph side was less enjoyable for me. Probably more for play-style than for any other reason, but part of receiving directives like that from the queen didn't work for me. I wouldn't have any idea how to represent such a communication but what I got didn't feel right to me.

    The predator campaign was probably my least favorite. At no point did I really feel like the stealthy huntsman I wanted to be, but rather just a deviation toward sneaking from the standard first person gameplay. Well... No, that's not true... There's some stealthy fun to be had and you can hide from the human foes easily enough. I guess what really rubbed me wrong in this one was the advent of the super-alien at the end. I know there's precedent for it in the setting, but I put on my grumpy old man pants and sigh when they insist on throwing something like that at me. Particularly with the glaring gestation time inconsistencies.

    Oh well, game was average. Worth it if you're paying five smackeroos.
    Expand
  12. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    I was a loved the Predator films when I first watched them in the early 2000's and my love of Alien soon followed. After the disappointing AvP films and having never tried one of the games I decided to let my prejudices down and give the latest iteration a go. First thing's first, this game is not worth anything more than £5. The reason as to why I think this is that there are threeI was a loved the Predator films when I first watched them in the early 2000's and my love of Alien soon followed. After the disappointing AvP films and having never tried one of the games I decided to let my prejudices down and give the latest iteration a go. First thing's first, this game is not worth anything more than £5. The reason as to why I think this is that there are three campaigns on offer: Marine, Alien and Predator. Whilst all 3 are fun (im using that word loosely) only one of them campaigns was worth my time in terms of challenge and length. That particular one is the Marine campaign, a good solid FPS from start to finish with a 2-3 hour length. The the Alien one is more of a stealth kind of approach, however the alien itself is too fast and light to control making precise actions difficult and is only an hour long. The Predator is stealthy again but gives you the choice to take stealth or action in the form of melee combat, however this character has too much going on such as all the various commands for weapons, actions and movement making it easy to just get in over your head and only boasting an hour long campaign again.
    Had the Marine one been longer by another 2 or 3 hours or had the other 2 campaigns been substantial enough it would have scored higher but only for the reason that the Marine campaign was half decent you may as well give this game a go.
    Expand
  13. Jul 25, 2013
    6
    This was the last game I preordered.

    First off, the single player is pretty mediocre and felt rushed to me. They feel more like elongated tutorials set up to make you feel comfortable with each race. Once completed (on each race) I did not feel a sense of accomplishment or satisfaction with the endings. The saving grace is certainly the multiplayer. I got this on release day, and
    This was the last game I preordered.

    First off, the single player is pretty mediocre and felt rushed to me. They feel more like elongated tutorials set up to make you feel comfortable with each race. Once completed (on each race) I did not feel a sense of accomplishment or satisfaction with the endings.

    The saving grace is certainly the multiplayer. I got this on release day, and the number of servers were very low, it took quite some time to find a server, but things have changed since then as the price has gone down and more people pick it up. If you enjoy multiplayer fps games, and are tired of the generic cod or battlefiend shooter, then give it a try
    Expand
  14. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    More arcade than gritty hardship, with mildly enjoyable gameplay that sadly doesn't bring anything new to the table. The singleplayer is worth a playthrough, the online experience is too average, if not below average, to draw me in and keep me playing. I'd rather play AVP Gold, or AVP2.
  15. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    It feels a bit hard to go through the story mode.I stopped at a one point of Predator campaign,for it's just hard(not sure whether I chose the hardest difficulty directly.) and a little boring.The Alien part might be better.No,I'd prefer take the Alien campaign later than finishing Predator and Human parts.
    I hate collectibles.
    It feels a bit hard to go through the story mode.I stopped at a one point of Predator campaign,for it's just hard(not sure whether I chose the hardest difficulty directly.) and a little boring.The Alien part might be better.No,I'd prefer take the Alien campaign later than finishing Predator and Human parts.
    I hate collectibles.
    感觉通关难度不低。我在铁血战士战役中的某个点停下了,因为有点难(我忘了当时是否直接选择了最高难度),也有点无聊。异形部分或许会好些。算了,我还是更愿意先过了铁血战士和人类战役,把异形部分放到后面玩。
    我厌恶收集品。
    Expand
  16. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    I'm not really a big fan of First Person Perspective games. I do think that Aliens vs Predator would have been better as an over-the-shoulder third-person actioner, even the 1994 side-scrolling beat-em-up version was better than this. But for what it is, it's still a worthwhile game.

    I wasn't immediately hooked, to be honest. I found the combat system to be clunky and difficult, though
    I'm not really a big fan of First Person Perspective games. I do think that Aliens vs Predator would have been better as an over-the-shoulder third-person actioner, even the 1994 side-scrolling beat-em-up version was better than this. But for what it is, it's still a worthwhile game.

    I wasn't immediately hooked, to be honest. I found the combat system to be clunky and difficult, though once the first level was cleared things got better (this applies to all three campaigns). Some of the gameplay and tense moments actually reminded me a lot of Condemned 2: Bloodshot. You play as either the Predator, Colonial Marines, or an Alien in three individual stories that all tie together, each with their own set of pros and cons.

    The story follows on from those utterly awful AvP movies, but connects it with the Alien and Predator franchise in a more cohesive way than those cinematic travesties managed. But the video game franchise of this particular crossover has been stuck as a First Person actioner since 1999 and with this next-gen incarnation I think that Sega and Rebellion should have tried a new approach.

    Despite the flaws, it's an enjoyable game that's very easy to play, if not finish, with plenty of trophies available.
    Expand
  17. M.B.
    Mar 20, 2010
    6
    I played the game recently and have to say: It is not AvP 2. In some moments it is better but it ahs its worse moments too. Giving it a bad score because you cant crouch is kiddy like. In Operation Flashpoint you hardly cant jump.... but it is an awesome game. BTC: Marine Gameplay: Awesome, even one Alien could be a deadly enemy... it is an atmosperic and breathtaking adventure. Alien I played the game recently and have to say: It is not AvP 2. In some moments it is better but it ahs its worse moments too. Giving it a bad score because you cant crouch is kiddy like. In Operation Flashpoint you hardly cant jump.... but it is an awesome game. BTC: Marine Gameplay: Awesome, even one Alien could be a deadly enemy... it is an atmosperic and breathtaking adventure. Alien Gamplay: More like a casual game it shows how the insurgency happend. Feels like a movie. Predator: Awesome! Even the second and third run showed new ways to encounter enemys. Bad things: Too short, sometimes too easy. Game looks and plays to much X-Box like. Please stop making games for both: Pc and X-Box. Expand
  18. Oct 8, 2010
    6
    I was so looking forward to this game, since i was a fan of the first avp game back in the 90s, But unfortunately it just feels like its missing so much. The solo player is not that great because it feels vso short. The graphics look great but to bad rebellion did not put that much effort into the rest of the game. The short list of weapons for the predator and marine were veryI was so looking forward to this game, since i was a fan of the first avp game back in the 90s, But unfortunately it just feels like its missing so much. The solo player is not that great because it feels vso short. The graphics look great but to bad rebellion did not put that much effort into the rest of the game. The short list of weapons for the predator and marine were very disappointing compared to the list of the first game. I don't understand why they had to change the alien controls from the first avp i thought those worked perfect. The most of the maps are two open and remind me of the second avp game, i wonder why they were more closely related to movies like the first game did. The multilayer is laggy and at times its impossible to find a server. The ups side all though few is trophy kills or being trophy killed, the feeling that any minute something is going to come up behind you and stab you in the back is a great feeling reminds me of the movies. Holding out with your friends against waves of aliens is a fun mode. There was so much more that could have been added but it feels it was just put together to quickly. I am a fan of movies which is why I somewhat enjoy this game. Hopefully one day a developer will release a real avp game again. Expand
  19. May 15, 2011
    5
    Great PC title screwed by a console. A.I. is horrible, human opponents sound like broken records, plot is boring. It's rather lazy remake of the great original Aliens vs Predator 1999, than new Aliens vs Predator 3. Textures in some locations are high quality, in other opposite. The best part of the game is awesome, precise Predator model and Predator missions, definitely the best ofGreat PC title screwed by a console. A.I. is horrible, human opponents sound like broken records, plot is boring. It's rather lazy remake of the great original Aliens vs Predator 1999, than new Aliens vs Predator 3. Textures in some locations are high quality, in other opposite. The best part of the game is awesome, precise Predator model and Predator missions, definitely the best of Predator you can get in whole AvP saga. Multiplayer is total mess and auto aim spamm fest. Payable DLC's with extra multiplayer maps can be reconsider only as a sick joke. Expand
  20. Feb 3, 2011
    5
    Before it was released, back in February 2010 a lot of people were talking about this game and it looked pretty good, they released a demo before the release and it was very unsuccessful, so unsuccessful they removed it off of steam within a few days.

    The graphics are amazing, but let me just say that the 3 campaigns for this game are very short. Predator took me 3 hours to complete in
    Before it was released, back in February 2010 a lot of people were talking about this game and it looked pretty good, they released a demo before the release and it was very unsuccessful, so unsuccessful they removed it off of steam within a few days.

    The graphics are amazing, but let me just say that the 3 campaigns for this game are very short. Predator took me 3 hours to complete in total, and Alien is just confusing, Marine makes me want to kill myself because on your radar it keeps beeping and there is NO way you can stop it, its just, blip, blip, feeling like theres a headache at the back of your head. I'd rather listen to the Back To The Future song that repeats all the time on the first level, thats more enjoyable than that beep. The AI sucks, as a predator, the marines just run back and shoot you with an unrealistic SMG gun sound. The aliens on the other hand are much more intellegent and know how to kill.

    Multiplayer is 100% dead. There are no servers at all. So I feel like I should give this game a 6 for its graphics and different gameplay style but 5 because of the annoying blip noise on the Marine campaign.

    Either way, they concentrated way too much on the graphics instead of gameplay.
    Expand
  21. Jun 19, 2011
    5
    This game is completely laggy. I have an I7-920 integrated quad core at 2.67 ghz,9GB RAM, with an Nvidia GTX260 with 896MB RAM. It doesn't even make much sense because I lowered the settings from Very High textures to High, but that only slightly improved performance. Same with shadows. My rig is only 2 years old and should not have this kind of issue with a 2010 game. I have noThis game is completely laggy. I have an I7-920 integrated quad core at 2.67 ghz,9GB RAM, with an Nvidia GTX260 with 896MB RAM. It doesn't even make much sense because I lowered the settings from Very High textures to High, but that only slightly improved performance. Same with shadows. My rig is only 2 years old and should not have this kind of issue with a 2010 game. I have no trouble running other games yet this one is choppy as anything. Otherwise, the gameplay reminds me of one of my favorite games of all time, AVP2. However, it's hard to play much since I'm often getting pauses and maybe 25 FPS. Expand
  22. Apr 16, 2012
    6
    Having played the previous AvP's I was inclined to play this one. Its a fun action game allowing you to play as either Marines, Predator or Alien. While entertaining there are some small gripes like having to hold down the mouse button as Alien to traverse walls (lazy coding). Other than that it is a great game to play if a little confussling with missions split across the 3 playable races.
  23. Oct 13, 2013
    6
    It's not bad. The way the campaign is segmented is fairly fun. It's pretty well executed but for some reason I just can't put my finger on it never really engaged with me... It's completely ok, just far from great.
  24. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    A very fun and atmospheric game. While it may not be as amazing as it's predecessors, it is still a blast to play. As in the previous games, it offers several experiences in one game, letting you play through the eerie Marine campaign, the thrilling predator campaign, or the exciting Alien campaign. All three species can collide in some intense multiplayer fun.
    So, yes, while not as good
    A very fun and atmospheric game. While it may not be as amazing as it's predecessors, it is still a blast to play. As in the previous games, it offers several experiences in one game, letting you play through the eerie Marine campaign, the thrilling predator campaign, or the exciting Alien campaign. All three species can collide in some intense multiplayer fun.
    So, yes, while not as good as it's predecessors, the game is still a bunch of fun!
    Expand
  25. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    Some of the reviews on AvP are a little unfair, but they do have some valid points. Graphics are fairly good, but the campaigns are pretty short and they do replay large sections of the maps. Normally I'm against the latter, but each species' different abilities allow for varying tactics, and makes each playthough fairly unique. What really stands out is the atmosphere and the audioSome of the reviews on AvP are a little unfair, but they do have some valid points. Graphics are fairly good, but the campaigns are pretty short and they do replay large sections of the maps. Normally I'm against the latter, but each species' different abilities allow for varying tactics, and makes each playthough fairly unique. What really stands out is the atmosphere and the audio cues, particularly the Club Eden segment for the marine. I'm a little surprised by the rock-paper-scissors approach to melee combat, it's awkward at first and the idea of a human 'beating' a predator or alien in melee is kind of weird, but after a while you get used to it. Multiplayer is pretty fun, it's a little easier to find a match now with dedicated servers, but there is a steep learning curve, so don't expect to just jump in as an alien and tear people to shreds. It would have been great if this AvP's multiplayer had been set up similar to AvP2's, with different classes and expanded weaponry. I think it's still a decent enough game if you're a fan of the series, but please for the love of god Rebellion, don't hire Michelle "Tequila" Rodriguez to do anymore voiceover work. Expand
  26. ThomasH
    Feb 20, 2010
    7
    Great game, deserves at least a 7 A lot of issues. The voice acting is terrible at parts. The story is just... not there, so don't buy this game for story, there is none. Multiplayer detected around 15 people playing, so yeh.. I tried one game, got a ping of 133 and well, quit.. Bring back dedicated servers please. I was pissed off quite a bit that there was no coop. I hate the way Great game, deserves at least a 7 A lot of issues. The voice acting is terrible at parts. The story is just... not there, so don't buy this game for story, there is none. Multiplayer detected around 15 people playing, so yeh.. I tried one game, got a ping of 133 and well, quit.. Bring back dedicated servers please. I was pissed off quite a bit that there was no coop. I hate the way the industry defines "coop" these days. Coop traditionally means playing through a CAMPAIGN with a mate. NOT a multiplayer mode, where you're just playing against bots. Which is what survival mode is in this. There's no campaign based around it, it's just a multiplayer mode. L4D is coop because there's 4 CAMPAIGNS based around it. So when Steam sticks up coop on the store page, it's a bit fucking rich. Quake 3 had team deathmatch with bots, that doesn't make it coop. UT2004 had that survival mode too, IT DOESNT MAKE IT COOP. This is more to do with Steam's store page selling a game incorrectly though. So bleh.. So ofcourse my friend and I were annoyed at that, considering coop was what made the original AVP series so much fun. Playing through the first couple of levels as the Marine was very fun. We both agreed it scared the shit out of us not having the quicksave. It's easily the best campaign and the most fun you'll have with this game. My friend stopped playing after that. I then finished the game in one go. The Alien campaign is.. fun, but it doesn't take you through the birth cycle like the old AvP did. So the whole campaign, although great fun, gets repetitive VERY quickly. And thus by the end, you're wanting it to end, so you can just move onto the Predator. The Predator campaign annoyed me. He's nowhere near as fun to play now. So much of his toys and kit are missing it's ridiculous. The overshoulder laser cannon sounds awful, and is fairly useless at killing anything. The spear is great, but why doesn't it stick in the model, you throw it at them and it just disappears.. kind've lame from a game boasting DX11 tech. Finally, the bosses are just awful. Playing on normal, some were too easy, and then out of nowhere they became incredibly difficult. The final boss on the Predator campaign was just too easy. And felt very anti-climactic really. The Praetorian was just too hard, but I eventually did it somehow. The two Predators and the Elite Predator were far too easy for a normal mode setting. Also despite dxdiag thinking I have DX11, apparently AvP doesn't, bit lame but the game looks amazing anyway. It's a shame Rebellion made the stupid decision of not putting in dedicated servers from the get-go. Because the demo was a lot of fun on the PC, and the different modes look great. Some press have given this game 5/10 or 50% scores. Thats just harsh.. the game is very well made and you're not going to see a better looking AvP game for a while. Aside from that, it offers the same package as any Halo game, and is just as good. All it's missing is the stupid orchestral music and slightly better voice acting. So in summary, not great. But worth a look if you can get it at bargain bin price, or a rental. Expand
  27. MrRoflzpants
    Feb 23, 2010
    6
    single player was bearable but gets boring, multiplayer is slow, im not talking about lag, just arn't enuf people playing this game and its hard to find a server over all i was disppointed with multiplayer has very few game modes, server captaivity isn't very impressive either lucky i got this game for 30 dollars off amazon.com overall wasn't bad for the money but a big let single player was bearable but gets boring, multiplayer is slow, im not talking about lag, just arn't enuf people playing this game and its hard to find a server over all i was disppointed with multiplayer has very few game modes, server captaivity isn't very impressive either lucky i got this game for 30 dollars off amazon.com overall wasn't bad for the money but a big let down =( this is not game of the year material booo!!!! Expand
  28. Mordoklej
    Mar 1, 2010
    5
    Nice looking game but that's about it. I used to love AvP2 long time ago, but new AvP is nowhere near as great to play as AvP2 used to be. There are way too many issues to make this game something more than it is now.
  29. SeriousCap.
    Mar 13, 2010
    7
    This game is a good game and still has it creepy feel, esp if you're lanning. However, there are some things that it lacks. 1. No crouching (Rebellion should fix that). 2. If you're doing multiplayer and the host leaves, everyone gets disconnected. (Rebellion should do the same thing L4D franchise does. If the host leaves it goes to a different person). 3. Hosting (It's This game is a good game and still has it creepy feel, esp if you're lanning. However, there are some things that it lacks. 1. No crouching (Rebellion should fix that). 2. If you're doing multiplayer and the host leaves, everyone gets disconnected. (Rebellion should do the same thing L4D franchise does. If the host leaves it goes to a different person). 3. Hosting (It's random, which totally blows if someone who doesn't have a high end pc hosts the game, then you leave it open to disconnects and high latency). 4. Random games (Seriously they should think about having the ability to pick the server. OR have it better setup for lanning). Expand
  30. DanijelL.
    Mar 1, 2010
    6
    Great game, great content, but very bad execution. I am fan since first alien and predator movies. But this looks like another IP made for gathering people's money. Too many bugs, terrible coding. Its like beta game. If this was an BETA I would give it 9/10 .
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. A good campaign, the marine one, and some variety in gameplay mechanics provide a quite fun experience. Unfortunately some ideas lack polish and the other two-thirds of the single player are just not as good as they were supposed to be.
  2. Aliens Vs Predator is a standard First Person Shooter, but thanks to the Predator's and Xenomorph's campaigns, it entertains old and new players. Even the multiplayer mode is funny and well structured, but the graphics engine is not that good.
  3. The controls for Predators and Xenomorphs may be a bit tricky and the AI sometimes doesn't show any "Intelligence" at all, but nevertheless: AvP is a most-have for fans of the movies, as well as the games - especially if you're into absolute multiplayer-mayhem and dont mind "some" gore.