Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 935 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed at Rebellion by the team responsible for the original 1999 PC classic, the all-new Aliens vs. Predator allows players to take the role of three infamous species: Colonial Marines, Predators and Aliens. The game features a unique three-way online multiplayer experience, allowingDeveloped at Rebellion by the team responsible for the original 1999 PC classic, the all-new Aliens vs. Predator allows players to take the role of three infamous species: Colonial Marines, Predators and Aliens. The game features a unique three-way online multiplayer experience, allowing gamers to battle for survival and the right to be crowned the deadliest species in the galaxy. Each race also has its own distinct action-packed single-player campaign mode, with a storyline that cleverly interweaves with the other two species’ paths. Set on planet BG-386; a human colonist mining group discovers an ancient pyramid containing a dark and horrible secret. Across the galaxy, a race of warriors is alerted to the discovery of their pyramid and a hunting party is dispatched to ensure that it remains sealed at all costs. Deep inside the ruined pyramid meanwhile, nature's deadliest species awakes from centuries of hibernation intent on finding new prey. The Colonial Marine's story is an incredible fight against all odds from horrors lurking in the dark. Surrounded on all sides yet armed to the teeth, the Colonial Marine represents humanity's last stand with the firepower to fight back. As the Alien, players discover what it's like to be the scariest, most murderous creature in the universe, with the ability to traverse any surface at lightning speed in order to get close enough to unleash its deadly claws, tail and teeth. A master of the hunt, the Predator grants the player an arsenal of exotic weaponry with which to stalk from the shadows. Earn the greatest honor by ambushing prey up-close, before butchering them for a gory trophy kill. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. I really enjoyed playing the Predator and the Aliens campaign, because I haven’t experienced that kind of gameplay in any other game yet. Everybody who likes a mix of horror and action should play Aliens vs Predator.
  2. The controls for Predators and Xenomorphs may be a bit tricky and the AI sometimes doesn't show any "Intelligence" at all, but nevertheless: AvP is a most-have for fans of the movies, as well as the games - especially if you're into absolute multiplayer-mayhem and dont mind "some" gore.
  3. The small levels, map recycling and superficial storyline are only partially saved by a multiplayer that would have been a lot of fun had it not had such major technical scars.
  4. Proves not every game needs to innovate to be entertaining. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  5. Great monsters and partly interesting multiplayer, but weak campaigns and clumsy controls reduce AvP's long-term appeal. [Apr 2010, p.94]
  6. Aliens vs. Predator provides a nice multiplayer part and a good marine campaign. Nevertheless, it doesn’t live up to its expectations at all.
  7. This incarnation of AvP is a second-rate shooter in the most typical form, with overly repetitious game design, coding mistakes, threepenny visuals and dialogues scribbled on a rumpled napkin.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 202
  1. BryanB.
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Way scarier than the origonal. The graphics are great and the music and sound effects make for a very enjoyable if not nail bitingly Way scarier than the origonal. The graphics are great and the music and sound effects make for a very enjoyable if not nail bitingly suspensful playing experience. Expand
  2. MatthewR
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    Singleplayer - Interesting if not stellar story, that will keep you entertained with the game for many hours, when combined they took me ove Singleplayer - Interesting if not stellar story, that will keep you entertained with the game for many hours, when combined they took me ove 12 hours to complete on hard difficulty setting. All the campaigns felt very atmospheric, and had very memorable moments throughtout, defintly worth playing. Multiplayer - One of the best multiplayer releases for sheer fun factor alone. Infestation and survior modes are both very very fun with friends. Currently no dedicated server support, but its on its way. The controls are good, and i have personally have no problems with them. The graphics are also good, if not AAA standard. They are hwoever, shored up by a brilliantly atmospheric lighting system. If you want a great, varied fps that has a unique singleplayer and multiplater experiance then get this game, but dont expect it to be the same gameplay as Call of Duty, it isnt. It surpasses the previous games in the series, and i can recommend it to anyone, especially fans of the series. Do not listen to negative reviews, pick up your copy! Expand
  3. JoshQ
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    How can you give a game like call of duty MW 9s and 10s and then give this game a 7. This is not only the most fun but most innovative How can you give a game like call of duty MW 9s and 10s and then give this game a 7. This is not only the most fun but most innovative multiplayer fps I've ever played and I've played a lot. Playing this game with friends makes me forget time completely. All 3 species have unique fun gameplay, though as far as I'm concerned predators are blatantly Over-Powered, but I assume the devs will fix this soon as they catch wind of it from players. It's moreso skill-based than any fps released in past 2 years. If you think an arcade shooter masked as a tactical one like COD MW is skillbased you'll probably end up crying this is too tough for you, after all with this new cater-to-console age its rare you find anything truly skill based anymore as well as innovative. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    Some of the reviews on AvP are a little unfair, but they do have some valid points. Graphics are fairly good, but the campaigns are prettySome of the reviews on AvP are a little unfair, but they do have some valid points. Graphics are fairly good, but the campaigns are pretty short and they do replay large sections of the maps. Normally I'm against the latter, but each species' different abilities allow for varying tactics, and makes each playthough fairly unique. What really stands out is the atmosphere and the audio cues, particularly the Club Eden segment for the marine. I'm a little surprised by the rock-paper-scissors approach to melee combat, it's awkward at first and the idea of a human 'beating' a predator or alien in melee is kind of weird, but after a while you get used to it. Multiplayer is pretty fun, it's a little easier to find a match now with dedicated servers, but there is a steep learning curve, so don't expect to just jump in as an alien and tear people to shreds. It would have been great if this AvP's multiplayer had been set up similar to AvP2's, with different classes and expanded weaponry. I think it's still a decent enough game if you're a fan of the series, but please for the love of god Rebellion, don't hire Michelle "Tequila" Rodriguez to do anymore voiceover work. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    It feels a bit hard to go through the story mode.I stopped at a one point of Predator campaign,for it's just hard(not sure whether I chose theIt feels a bit hard to go through the story mode.I stopped at a one point of Predator campaign,for it's just hard(not sure whether I chose the hardest difficulty directly.) and a little boring.The Alien part might be better.No,I'd prefer take the Alien campaign later than finishing Predator and Human parts.
    I hate collectibles.
    感觉通关难度不低。我在铁血战士战役中的某个点停下了,因为有点难(我忘了当时是否直接选择了最高难度),也有点无聊。异形部分或许会好些。算了,我还是更愿意先过了铁血战士和人类战役,把异形部分放到后面玩。
    我厌恶收集品。
    Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2012
    4
    I found this game extremely mediocre. To be fair, I was never a big fan of the Aliens universe to begin with, but the story did nothing toI found this game extremely mediocre. To be fair, I was never a big fan of the Aliens universe to begin with, but the story did nothing to change my mind. It never really felt like immersing me. The marine campaign actually started the game off really for me. The atmosphere was tense and the action was enjoyable and well paced. The Predator and Alien campaigns, however, were not quite as well designed and tended to be fairly bland and ultimately unsatisfying. My experience of the multiplayer was one of frustration. It was difficult to find a match, and then when I finally got in, the action was kind of disappointing and some of the mechanics just felt really unfair. Overall, an unsatisfying experience. Expand
  7. DanJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    I found the marine was most fu nto play altho it needs a second game just to clear up the ending. Predator nothign to get excited about it I found the marine was most fu nto play altho it needs a second game just to clear up the ending. Predator nothign to get excited about it was however much better to me fro mthe previous games. Alien has been destroyed. it's pretty much useless. If the game mariens used motion trackers and looked up you'd be killed, you run in to a pred it can melee kill you from behind. I was really enjoying single player until I got to the aliens campaign where it's just ruined them, predators have better and faster melee and ranged attacks. Alien can't even jump (you just bounce between floor, ceiling and walls) the wall walking is annoying as you can run up somewalls but then you have to hold a button down to turn a corner or get over a light/vent fitting. Also they released the game without dedicated server files and with huge bugs i nthe system, every 5 minutes you get lag in SP. HOW CAN SP LAG? and because they haven't even commented or spoek to the community since it was released we're getting nothing from Rebellion which after producing a half arsed game just shows huge disrespect from all the gamers. I would strongly advise agaisnt buying this game! Expand

See all 202 User Reviews