Aliens vs. Predator PC

Aliens vs. Predator Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 985 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed at Rebellion by the team responsible for the original 1999 PC classic, the all-new Aliens vs. Predator allows players to take the role of three infamous species: Colonial Marines, Predators and Aliens. The game features a unique three-way online multiplayer experience, allowingDeveloped at Rebellion by the team responsible for the original 1999 PC classic, the all-new Aliens vs. Predator allows players to take the role of three infamous species: Colonial Marines, Predators and Aliens. The game features a unique three-way online multiplayer experience, allowing gamers to battle for survival and the right to be crowned the deadliest species in the galaxy. Each race also has its own distinct action-packed single-player campaign mode, with a storyline that cleverly interweaves with the other two species’ paths. Set on planet BG-386; a human colonist mining group discovers an ancient pyramid containing a dark and horrible secret. Across the galaxy, a race of warriors is alerted to the discovery of their pyramid and a hunting party is dispatched to ensure that it remains sealed at all costs. Deep inside the ruined pyramid meanwhile, nature's deadliest species awakes from centuries of hibernation intent on finding new prey. The Colonial Marine's story is an incredible fight against all odds from horrors lurking in the dark. Surrounded on all sides yet armed to the teeth, the Colonial Marine represents humanity's last stand with the firepower to fight back. As the Alien, players discover what it's like to be the scariest, most murderous creature in the universe, with the ability to traverse any surface at lightning speed in order to get close enough to unleash its deadly claws, tail and teeth. A master of the hunt, the Predator grants the player an arsenal of exotic weaponry with which to stalk from the shadows. Earn the greatest honor by ambushing prey up-close, before butchering them for a gory trophy kill. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Over all Aliens Vs Predator has succeeded in bringing to the table so much newness with an old concept. It just does not get old anytime soon in it's playability.
  2. The controls for Predators and Xenomorphs may be a bit tricky and the AI sometimes doesn't show any "Intelligence" at all, but nevertheless: AvP is a most-have for fans of the movies, as well as the games - especially if you're into absolute multiplayer-mayhem and dont mind "some" gore.
  3. Aliens Vs Predator is a standard First Person Shooter, but thanks to the Predator's and Xenomorph's campaigns, it entertains old and new players. Even the multiplayer mode is funny and well structured, but the graphics engine is not that good.
  4. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Proves not every game needs to innovate to be entertaining. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  5. I have to deal with what I have in my hands, and what I have is a single-player mode with some noticeable highlights and a multiplayer mode with too many problems to remain enjoyable, despite all its promise.
  6. A lot of promise mixed in with failed execution is what riddles Aliens vs. Predator.
  7. This incarnation of AvP is a second-rate shooter in the most typical form, with overly repetitious game design, coding mistakes, threepenny visuals and dialogues scribbled on a rumpled napkin.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 207
  1. BryanB.
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Way scarier than the origonal. The graphics are great and the music and sound effects make for a very enjoyable if not nail bitingly Way scarier than the origonal. The graphics are great and the music and sound effects make for a very enjoyable if not nail bitingly suspensful playing experience. Expand
  2. MatthewR
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    Singleplayer - Interesting if not stellar story, that will keep you entertained with the game for many hours, when combined they took me ove Singleplayer - Interesting if not stellar story, that will keep you entertained with the game for many hours, when combined they took me ove 12 hours to complete on hard difficulty setting. All the campaigns felt very atmospheric, and had very memorable moments throughtout, defintly worth playing. Multiplayer - One of the best multiplayer releases for sheer fun factor alone. Infestation and survior modes are both very very fun with friends. Currently no dedicated server support, but its on its way. The controls are good, and i have personally have no problems with them. The graphics are also good, if not AAA standard. They are hwoever, shored up by a brilliantly atmospheric lighting system. If you want a great, varied fps that has a unique singleplayer and multiplater experiance then get this game, but dont expect it to be the same gameplay as Call of Duty, it isnt. It surpasses the previous games in the series, and i can recommend it to anyone, especially fans of the series. Do not listen to negative reviews, pick up your copy! Expand
  3. JoshQ
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    How can you give a game like call of duty MW 9s and 10s and then give this game a 7. This is not only the most fun but most innovative How can you give a game like call of duty MW 9s and 10s and then give this game a 7. This is not only the most fun but most innovative multiplayer fps I've ever played and I've played a lot. Playing this game with friends makes me forget time completely. All 3 species have unique fun gameplay, though as far as I'm concerned predators are blatantly Over-Powered, but I assume the devs will fix this soon as they catch wind of it from players. It's moreso skill-based than any fps released in past 2 years. If you think an arcade shooter masked as a tactical one like COD MW is skillbased you'll probably end up crying this is too tough for you, after all with this new cater-to-console age its rare you find anything truly skill based anymore as well as innovative. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    Better at being Colonial Marines than Colonial Marines was. A great game with 3 campaigns (and 3 perspectives) to choose from. Lovely visuals,Better at being Colonial Marines than Colonial Marines was. A great game with 3 campaigns (and 3 perspectives) to choose from. Lovely visuals, decent graphics and some neat gameplay mechanics combine into a well-rounded and solid shooter set in the Aliens and Predator universe.

    Jimbo Rating: 7/10
    Expand
  5. Dragons68
    Feb 27, 2010
    6
    To be honest, the game doesn't deserve an ultra-high or ultra-low score. It is a decent looking game (on PC anyway), with a decent To be honest, the game doesn't deserve an ultra-high or ultra-low score. It is a decent looking game (on PC anyway), with a decent soundtrack and okay action sequences. The game tries hard, but just doesn't quite have the perfection of AVP2. The action sounds are nice, but the voice acting is terrible (and annoying - 'Tequila' is yet another stereotype). Also, The constant noise of the scanner which picks up noises is irritating. In saying that though, the Aliens and Predators sound effects are brutal and sound spot on. I think the introduction of the predator Campaign was not well-thought out. *SPOILER* They'd hardly put a 'Young blood' in some ancient pit with hordes of Aliens coming at it. They should have started with trap making and scouting first. That's not a big issue though. It's hard to 'score' games, because a score doesn't directly show how good of a game is. 90% is considered good, but it really should be considered a masterpiece given that score. Overall the graphics are nice, sound is good in some areas, and it plays fairly well (excluding the fact that the Marine can't jump over a small railing). I think 6 is a decent score. Worth buying at about $60 Australian (as opposed to the normal $90 RR price. Haven't played Multiplayer yet. Expand
  6. PhillipB.
    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    Game lacks any substance at all. There are so many times when you anticipate being able to do something totally awesome and then you are Game lacks any substance at all. There are so many times when you anticipate being able to do something totally awesome and then you are completely let down. The plot is okay, but otherwise, the game itself lacks any staying power, and forget multiplayer--I've never seen anyone playing. Expand
  7. DanJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    I found the marine was most fu nto play altho it needs a second game just to clear up the ending. Predator nothign to get excited about it I found the marine was most fu nto play altho it needs a second game just to clear up the ending. Predator nothign to get excited about it was however much better to me fro mthe previous games. Alien has been destroyed. it's pretty much useless. If the game mariens used motion trackers and looked up you'd be killed, you run in to a pred it can melee kill you from behind. I was really enjoying single player until I got to the aliens campaign where it's just ruined them, predators have better and faster melee and ranged attacks. Alien can't even jump (you just bounce between floor, ceiling and walls) the wall walking is annoying as you can run up somewalls but then you have to hold a button down to turn a corner or get over a light/vent fitting. Also they released the game without dedicated server files and with huge bugs i nthe system, every 5 minutes you get lag in SP. HOW CAN SP LAG? and because they haven't even commented or spoek to the community since it was released we're getting nothing from Rebellion which after producing a half arsed game just shows huge disrespect from all the gamers. I would strongly advise agaisnt buying this game! Expand

See all 207 User Reviews