Alpha Protocol PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 500 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 500
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AgentLumberjack
    Jun 2, 2010
    9
    Yes, there are bugs, mechanics issues, dumb enemies, dated graphics, annoying saving etc. BUT, the game is engaging, higly replayable, dialog options are great, social intelligence is rewarded, the story is deep and intricate, ethical choices have consequences you have to live with, those who read, do research and acquire intelligence are rewarded, you can be steathy as long as you can Yes, there are bugs, mechanics issues, dumb enemies, dated graphics, annoying saving etc. BUT, the game is engaging, higly replayable, dialog options are great, social intelligence is rewarded, the story is deep and intricate, ethical choices have consequences you have to live with, those who read, do research and acquire intelligence are rewarded, you can be steathy as long as you can and then you are allowed to go for loud and unpolished kills (you don't have to restart, you just have to survive the onslaught) and you just get hooked (i played all night because I just could not stop), which is really rare these days. Yes, overall 'Mass Effect 2' is a better game, but I liked 'AP' much more than the flashier 'Splinter Cell Conviction'. I hope there will be sequels because when they improve the mechanics and presentation, there will be no better RPGs around. I give this an undeserved 9 for sticking with what matters most (and it ain't graphics and production values). Go Obsidian! And for Zod's sake, take care of those bugs. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I specifically signed up for metacritic to review this game. This game is highly underrated, and from someone who has played games for over 15 years now, i think it is an injustice to see this game score poorly. The level of engagement in this game, the storytelling, the detailed files and information intelligence gathering makes this game unique and truly satisfying. This is not a dumbI specifically signed up for metacritic to review this game. This game is highly underrated, and from someone who has played games for over 15 years now, i think it is an injustice to see this game score poorly. The level of engagement in this game, the storytelling, the detailed files and information intelligence gathering makes this game unique and truly satisfying. This is not a dumb persons game. Someone who is impatient(most of the younger generation) and dislikes reading will not enjoy this game. It can be a shooter, but it is a thinking mans spy game with real consequences to your actions. To play a game that TRULY changes outcomes based on your decisions is an enjoyment to play. Thats what makes it so much fun. Make your choice. stick with it. don't reload or re-save, and carve your own destiny in this excellent game. Steam has it for maybe 30 dollars right now. This game is for someone who enjoyed games like mass effect, the witcher, baldurs gate, splinter cell. etc. Splinter cell was done well, but was defenitely not as immersive as this game, and wasnt as satisfying. I felt a real connection to the characters in this game and knew my actions would depend on them living or not. Control wise, the game is passable and not dazzling. but with a story that really gets you immersed, it doesnt matter. texture resolution is high, and gives faces a level of realism that is good. Its not all about flair; its about style, an intelligent story and a deep plot. Its very sad to see games like this not get a sequel because of impatient, brain dead gamers. Cheers, Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    7
    Obsidian seem to do better when they fail at ambition (Fallout new vegas, Alpha protocol, Kotor 2, and many others) rather than succeed at a polished safe game (dungeon siege 3 comes to mind). Yes, the developers make flawed games. However let's look at FNV for a moment, it's my favorite fallout game. And yes, it crashes and glitches and breaks. However it's complicated and ambitious, itObsidian seem to do better when they fail at ambition (Fallout new vegas, Alpha protocol, Kotor 2, and many others) rather than succeed at a polished safe game (dungeon siege 3 comes to mind). Yes, the developers make flawed games. However let's look at FNV for a moment, it's my favorite fallout game. And yes, it crashes and glitches and breaks. However it's complicated and ambitious, it has detail and quirk. Alpha protocol has it's own breed of ambition. A more subtle kind. What it does with decision making, rpg systems, and genre mixing is engaging and bold. However unlike new vegas, it feels like a budget game. The movement feels akward, the animation feels akward, the action feels arkward. In a pre-mass effect world, people would be more forgiving. However in this climate of action-rpg melding, xp systems in action games, etc. You have the action fans come in and instantly judge it for what they expect it to be. Rather than what it is. And that's not their fault either. What the game truly want's to be is a little hidden. In the end it's a role playing game - and taken as that, the clumsiness can be forgiven with persistence from the player. However if you are easily offput by production values and a budget feel - you will have already stopped playing this game. And that's a shame, because it's got a great choice system at it's heart. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    I came into this game hearing that it sucked and thinking that I wouldn't enjoy it, but I was intrigued by the concept and I saw it super cheap on steam, so I bought it. Maybe it was the low price, (somewhere between two and five usd, I can't remember exactly), maybe it was the ultra low expectations, or maybe, just maybe, it was the weed but I really enjoy this game. Not expecting much,I came into this game hearing that it sucked and thinking that I wouldn't enjoy it, but I was intrigued by the concept and I saw it super cheap on steam, so I bought it. Maybe it was the low price, (somewhere between two and five usd, I can't remember exactly), maybe it was the ultra low expectations, or maybe, just maybe, it was the weed but I really enjoy this game. Not expecting much, i find it easy to accept it's faults. Like everyone says, the combat is sloppy (think a poor man's mass effect, not saying mass effect was anything spectacular), and every once in a while I think the enemy cheats in terms of sneak detection. The story you have heard a thousand times before, and to be completely honest i am only half paying attention to it to keep in context. To be honest I may have already reviewed this game saying the same things but i just started playing it again and I had to speak of it since a lot of people poop can it (i am not sure if cursing is allowed on here). If you only read about how this game sucks, and assume it sucks, but like the concept of a spy rpg, get it for cheap, you won't be let down. If you payed 50 dollars for it and were pumped about the game since it was announced i completely understand the low ratings. However if you are curious but wary and don't expect gears of war 3 with gadgets, or splinter cell with skill points, it is five dollars well spent. Also, the conversation system beats mass effect hands down. Play this game to see what I mean (4 hours minimum before you make a solid opinion). Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    The camera angles and general view are not very good, but once you get used to how it maneuvers, it becomes second nature. The controls are obviously a direct console port, with very little adaptation to the PC. Aiming is the polar opposite of smooth, and it actually has the feel of a controller pointing the crosshairs in the direction you hope to hit. In other words, aiming can and oftenThe camera angles and general view are not very good, but once you get used to how it maneuvers, it becomes second nature. The controls are obviously a direct console port, with very little adaptation to the PC. Aiming is the polar opposite of smooth, and it actually has the feel of a controller pointing the crosshairs in the direction you hope to hit. In other words, aiming can and often is a problem. Hit detection will often leave you slightly frustrated. With that said, once you adjust to and forgive this faulty manner of control, the game is quite enjoyable and playable. Alpha Protocol employs interesting interaction between you and many other characters. You will develop a reputation with the NPCs depending on how you react to dialogue. This will alter many parts of the game as you progress. The amount of weapon customization and items that can be equipped is impressive and well rounded. The environments are crafted nicely, and all surroundings look quite good and realistic. The game runs well even in older systems. A positive surprise for a title released in 2010! The hacking minigames (bypassing, lockpicking, and hacking) are well implemented and fun to solve. Espionage is the main thematic focus of the game, and it is realized nicely. Immersion is also done exceptionally well. It is even realistic. Bypassing, lockpicking, and hacking all serve to involve the player deep in the narrative and action. The storyline is very good; comparable to the more developed Hollywood movies of today. The amount of characters you will interact with is wonderful, and they each act entirely different from each other. You will develop an extreme interest for two or three, and be rather annoyed at others. There are three girls that you will interact with that depending on your actions, will be romantic interests of your character's. Voice acting is done by many different persons, and they all thoroughly exceed gaming standards. Boss battles can be straightforward and curt, but they manage to keep up with how the game progresses and evolves without diminishing the experience at any level. The bosses towards the end of the game are a lot more difficult. The Brayko boss battle is my personal favorite. It's really cool! All missions are diverse in origin and in their goals, actually having a different feel to them, from one to the next. There are several graphical bugs and glitches. For example, some textures often take one or two seconds to load, but that may be due to my hardware. All is forgiven because the gameplay and story makes up for the game's developmental shortcomings. Incendiary bombs area great! Use them and abuse them! Alpha Protocol often (60% of the time or more) crashes soon after you quit it, right before it hands over all processes back to Windows. Dossiers add a nice touch of detail and insight as you unlock each piece of intelligence through accomplishments. Reading the dossiers and e-mails prior to missions gives you a better sense of acknowledge and informational power, in addition to some parts of the text being positively humorous. You may specialize your character to tailor whatever playing style you prefer. I personally preferred the combination of stealth with the occasional rifle usage. There should be more games like this. An extensive and branching storyline with lots of NPC interaction. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    I **** love this game
    it has choices that actually matter and affect the story and narative4
    the gameplay is a bit **** but dayum is the story bretty good
    10/10
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    This game is highly underrated, worth ever penny I paid for it, RPG, Action and a story that YOU decide, play as you will, your loss or gain, it will change as you play.
  8. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    This might not be the most polished game out there, but for some reason I found myself having a lot of fun playing this. Even the dialogue sequences had me hooked.
  9. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    Any game that makes you think twice about killing, and later regret it needs to be played by any and all gamers. The story is unoriginal, clearly left-wing-bias (not to say it's wrong), dialog is rather hit-or-miss, combat is formulaic and the third person perspective kills me every time. But the stealth is in the top lists, character variety is awesome, and as I mentioned, you will regretAny game that makes you think twice about killing, and later regret it needs to be played by any and all gamers. The story is unoriginal, clearly left-wing-bias (not to say it's wrong), dialog is rather hit-or-miss, combat is formulaic and the third person perspective kills me every time. But the stealth is in the top lists, character variety is awesome, and as I mentioned, you will regret some of the more radical decisions most games throw at you like Saturday morning pancakes in a country restaurant. And if you really like looking deep into something, you'll see an underlying philosophical theme of loyalty, orders, and "the mission". But you do have to dig intellectually for that part. Expand
  10. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Despite it's numerous flaws, this game is still highly enjoyable. If you love games like Fallout or Mass Effect, there's a good chance that you'll have a great time with Alpha Protocol. The combat is a little poor (depending on your chosen play style), some animations are downright silly, and enemy AI is laughable at times, but those parts aren't what I played it for. I played this gameDespite it's numerous flaws, this game is still highly enjoyable. If you love games like Fallout or Mass Effect, there's a good chance that you'll have a great time with Alpha Protocol. The combat is a little poor (depending on your chosen play style), some animations are downright silly, and enemy AI is laughable at times, but those parts aren't what I played it for. I played this game for the multitude of choices and control over the plot, deep customization options, and plenty of items to collect. Voice is acting is generally very well done as well. Don't listen to the critic's reviews on this one. Expand
  11. May 7, 2015
    8
    this is one highly underrated game. and i don't think the main reason for that is the game being unpolished and buggy. sure it is frustrating at times but overall this game is really good with the choices you make, the storyline, skills and gameplay. and you don't see many spy rpg's around.
  12. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    This game is a bit underrated.
    It has seveere flaws on movement cover system and de enemy AI it's just dumb
    Aside from that, the story is good, graphics are ok (specially if you add SweetFX) and the missions are just long enough to have fun and not find them repetitive or boring. Mini games are well, just there.The lockpicking minigame works fine but the hacking onw with keyboard
    This game is a bit underrated.
    It has seveere flaws on movement cover system and de enemy AI it's just dumb
    Aside from that, the story is good, graphics are ok (specially if you add SweetFX) and the missions are
    just long enough to have fun and not find them repetitive or boring.
    Mini games are well, just there.The lockpicking minigame works fine but the hacking onw with
    keyboard and mouse is terrible.
    If you can bet this game cheap,that is the case nowadays, and it gets on sale a lot, i recommend buying it.
    As for replayability, I really don't think the game will encourage you to play again once you finish it once,
    even for different character progression
    Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2014
    8
    This game has the real essence of espionage, in this story we have terrorists, government, rich corporations, world travels and much more, the strongest point in this game is it's story, the decisions you make. The soundtrack is good, not excellent but good enough to make you remember one or two tracks, but the voices were chosen to match every character well, very convincing. the graphicsThis game has the real essence of espionage, in this story we have terrorists, government, rich corporations, world travels and much more, the strongest point in this game is it's story, the decisions you make. The soundtrack is good, not excellent but good enough to make you remember one or two tracks, but the voices were chosen to match every character well, very convincing. the graphics are pretty, but a little dull and not so realistic, there is also a delay on the renderization.
    but the worse point in alpha protocol is it's lazy way to use some of its resources and its playability .the controls are slow, and sometimes not respond so well. the way that Mike move around, make he look more like a robot than a agent, the animations are all robotic, even in the "in game scenes".
    Bugs here are common, bullets that pass directly thought walls, enemies here are blind or have the eye of thundera.
    well alpha protocol unique, fresh and very good but is more an idea, a prototype, a lot of fans believe this could be an awesome game of the production works better in the weak parts, and maybe use a better marketing
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I paid 2.50 or something on sale for this.
    How in the hell is that possible ... i get over charged for games half as polished and enjoyable and feel quilty about paying this rediculous amount for a game thats clearly worth much more.
    It looks good plays good and is fun.. wish i could say that about the last 60 dollar game i baught. this one slipped through the cracks my friends..
    I paid 2.50 or something on sale for this.
    How in the hell is that possible ... i get over charged for games half as polished and enjoyable and feel quilty about paying this rediculous amount for a game thats clearly worth much more.
    It looks good plays good and is fun.. wish i could say that about the last 60 dollar game i baught.
    this one slipped through the cracks my friends.. worth playing and reminded me of Mass Effect in many ways.
    Expand
  15. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    Despite my high score here Alpha Protocol is not a game for everyone. It's also a game that you have to know exactly what your getting when you go into it. Alpha Protocol is a pure RPG. It's not an RPG shooter like Mass Effect, or Third Person Shooter with RPG elements like Mass Effect 2. A pure RPG. This means that when you shoot with a weapon you haven't trained in if you, the player,Despite my high score here Alpha Protocol is not a game for everyone. It's also a game that you have to know exactly what your getting when you go into it. Alpha Protocol is a pure RPG. It's not an RPG shooter like Mass Effect, or Third Person Shooter with RPG elements like Mass Effect 2. A pure RPG. This means that when you shoot with a weapon you haven't trained in if you, the player, make a perfect shot the invisible maths can make it so you still miss. If you sneak around without points in stealth, no matter how diligent you are, you will be caught. Your stats drive this game as much as your choices. The mechanics of this game are not broken, they are just standard RPG mechanics put in a genre where, if I'm honest, they don't entirely belong. That said, by the later half of the game you will be sneaking shooting or hacking your way around your chosen field without much problem. Whether you will enjoy this or not is a personal choice, though I find the system to work adequately.

    The choices and dialogues are what make AP shine. They've taken Bioware's Dialogue wheel and Obsidian have advanced their own influence systems, and added their own little twists making interacting with each character both enjoyable and a challenge in its own right. The timed dialogue makes conversations more fluid, reactive and just plain fun. There are no "bad relationships" with people, hostile influence offer different bonus and can even unlock completely different routes through the game. Speaking of routes, there are so many different possible ways to play through the game and a multitude of different endings (including at least 3 different "bad guy" endings) that replayability is a big plus here.

    Then we come to worst part of any obsidian game. The bugs. Oh boy the bugs. From what I've seen I've missed the worst of them, but even the relatively tame ones such as the character refusing to stick to the wall for cover, or stick too much and refusing to move in time and be frustrating. Still past the bugs there is a deep, interesting and inventive game that if your willing to accept the rather odd mechanics is well worth playing.
    Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Honestly, I look at the scores given by reviewers and I have to wonder if they played the same game I did. People give it a lot of flak for a variety of problems, and although they aren't wrong in their criticisms, I personally found those problems minor enough to overlook considering how much fun the game is. The best part about this game is seeing how your dialogue options and choicesHonestly, I look at the scores given by reviewers and I have to wonder if they played the same game I did. People give it a lot of flak for a variety of problems, and although they aren't wrong in their criticisms, I personally found those problems minor enough to overlook considering how much fun the game is. The best part about this game is seeing how your dialogue options and choices throughout the game, this is definitely a game that rewards repeat playthroughs. To anybody interested in this game, I would say not to trust the reviews and just try the game for yourself, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. I would put this game just a couple of notches below Mass Effect 2 in terms of the enjoyment I got out of it. Decent graphics (especially considering how much people complain about them), fun gameplay, and a great conversation system make this one a keeper. Expand
  17. FranciscoS
    Jun 1, 2010
    8
    Alpha Protocol is surely one of those love or hate games. The problems are evident, such as bugs on gameplay and bad enemies AI, but if you can tolerate those then get ready to go through a great experience. The history is interesting and the dialogue/choice and consequence system is one of the best I've ever seen, which makes the replay factor a "must do". You will need and you will Alpha Protocol is surely one of those love or hate games. The problems are evident, such as bugs on gameplay and bad enemies AI, but if you can tolerate those then get ready to go through a great experience. The history is interesting and the dialogue/choice and consequence system is one of the best I've ever seen, which makes the replay factor a "must do". You will need and you will want to finish this game more than once. Expand
  18. AlD
    Jun 10, 2010
    8
    IGN says you can easily pass this by, but they'll tell you that Mordern Warfare 2 is a must play! even though we've played every iteration of MW2 in every theater of war. AP has a lot of flaws, most due to polish and bad AI but the game still a good RPG experience.
  19. RobertR.
    Jun 2, 2010
    8
    Lacks a bit of polish and the controls are a tad sluggish in places, but overall quite fun to play with a nice mix of stealth and action.
  20. Max
    Jun 2, 2010
    9
    Story and the characters are the highlight, and they work very well. Especially the characters. The game can be labeled as a spiritual successor to Deus Ex. If you liked that game, most chances you'll like this one too. In the last years the games industry has entered a prolonged stage of stagnation, and this title definitely breaks that stagnation by bringing something fresh to the Story and the characters are the highlight, and they work very well. Especially the characters. The game can be labeled as a spiritual successor to Deus Ex. If you liked that game, most chances you'll like this one too. In the last years the games industry has entered a prolonged stage of stagnation, and this title definitely breaks that stagnation by bringing something fresh to the market. Not entirely polished, but nonetheless fresh. Face it, if Deus Ex was released today, reviewers would slaughter it, but yet it remains one of the best games ever made.AP spans wide instead of deep and the reviewers don't like it one bit. There is room for improvement, but not in the most important parts of the game. If the name Deus Ex means anything to you, and if ten playthroughs of it were enough for you, then you should check this one out, and look past the flaws, just like you did with Deus Ex. Expand
  21. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    An interesting experiment, to say the least. This game is threading in an area where no other has before. RPG with an modern-high-tech-espionage backdrop. I`m pretty sure that all the mixed reviews originate in people simply being confused. Compare it to, say DA:O, and it`s not exactly an RPGish. Compare it to better installments in Splinter Cell series, and, well you`ll be left wonderingAn interesting experiment, to say the least. This game is threading in an area where no other has before. RPG with an modern-high-tech-espionage backdrop. I`m pretty sure that all the mixed reviews originate in people simply being confused. Compare it to, say DA:O, and it`s not exactly an RPGish. Compare it to better installments in Splinter Cell series, and, well you`ll be left wondering "what the hell am I playing? But the story? How it is put together? The sheer amount of interactivity it allows you? And the atmosphere on some levels? Wonderful gem I say, on par with other, older Obsidian`s work. Of course, there are certain problems with the game, and it could use more polish, definitely. But if you had just about enough of slightly nerdish RPGs made for teenagers (admit it, DA:O is one) or overblown, overambitious space-opera FPS-RPG hybrids like Mass Effect, this is the way to go. Something completely new. Try it. Expand
  22. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    Alpha Protocol is a fun, over the top love letter to spy fiction that rewards you for taking the longer route rather than running and gunning.

    Voice acting is top-notch and the improved cinematic dialogue is nowhere near the crap Bioware's Mass Effect pulled. Conversations sound and look like conversations. The problems some players seem to have with this game are horrendously
    Alpha Protocol is a fun, over the top love letter to spy fiction that rewards you for taking the longer route rather than running and gunning.

    Voice acting is top-notch and the improved cinematic dialogue is nowhere near the crap Bioware's Mass Effect pulled. Conversations sound and look like conversations.

    The problems some players seem to have with this game are horrendously exaggerated. After playing through the unpatched game several times I have to wonder if it's not a whole bunch of faulty computer rigs that causes problems. Not to say that Alpha Protocol doesn't have it's fair share of problems, but absolutely not any more so than other Unreal Engine games. My guess is that Sega didn't give the critics their pile of "ignore all bugs"-money like EA did.
    Expand
  23. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    This game is what Mass Effect should have been : when you make a choice it has a real impact on the plot.
    That's what the game was about and it nails it on that front, everything else can be forgiven.
    In an era where RPG forgot that they were RPGs (R.I.P. Fallout), it's refreshing to have a game where aiming correctly doesn't amount to much if you don't have any points in the weapon
    This game is what Mass Effect should have been : when you make a choice it has a real impact on the plot.
    That's what the game was about and it nails it on that front, everything else can be forgiven.
    In an era where RPG forgot that they were RPGs (R.I.P. Fallout), it's refreshing to have a game where aiming correctly doesn't amount to much if you don't have any points in the weapon you're using.
    Expand
  24. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Excellent game - I was hesitant about buying it at first given the mixed reviews, so ended up waiting until it was on sale - I needn't have worried, as it's the best game I've played in ages.

    It's quite similar to deus ex (original) in how it plays, only with a much stronger stealth element. You can play it in compeltely different ways, both in terms of the core gameplay (stealth vs
    Excellent game - I was hesitant about buying it at first given the mixed reviews, so ended up waiting until it was on sale - I needn't have worried, as it's the best game I've played in ages.

    It's quite similar to deus ex (original) in how it plays, only with a much stronger stealth element.

    You can play it in compeltely different ways, both in terms of the core gameplay (stealth vs going in guns blazing), and in terms of the storyline, where you can end up turning enemies into allies and choose different paths for the story to take. The stealth aspect is fairly well done, although it does suffer slightly from enemies having a narrow field of view (meaning you can take out one enemy and another that's nearby won't notice unless they're looking towards you).

    I thought the graphics were very good, there's a nice number of mini-games to vary the pace (and fortunately you can avoid these if you don't enjoy them), the story was decent, and thanks to the customisation options and the way stealth was implemented the gameplay was great. The game also lasts a hefty amount of time and is highly replayable. I only came across a few minor bugs (I think about 3 times in an entire playthrough I'd have a few enemies respawn upon loading an earlier save game), so I don't feel there are any significant negatives.

    All in all this is a very good and underrated game.
    Expand
  25. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    The story is gripping and the way that it branches really gives the player the power of choices that matter. You really feel like the decisions you make have an impact on the game world and that there are consequences, both positive and negative, for the things you do and say. Some people may not like the dialog system, but I think its absolutely genius! Limiting the time you have toThe story is gripping and the way that it branches really gives the player the power of choices that matter. You really feel like the decisions you make have an impact on the game world and that there are consequences, both positive and negative, for the things you do and say. Some people may not like the dialog system, but I think its absolutely genius! Limiting the time you have to choose dialog responses makes you have to think on your feet and pay close attention to detail. Not to mention, it allows for great replayability of the game. The characters are also really well constructed, each with their own personality, likes and dislikes, that you have to find out to successfully navigate conversations. Voice acting is pretty good too.

    Another large aspect of the game is the RPG element: choosing your skills, specializations, weapon loadout and customizations. Although the interface could use some work, it isn't the most cumbersome of console-ported interfaces. That said, I think the mechanics are well done. The skill tree is reminiscent of Mass Effect 2 except you have more individual skills to choose from which is nice. I've read that the skills can be unbalanced and lead to "power-leveling", but I've chosen to ignore reading what particular skills those are because I like finding out for myself. I'm going to defend the game here and say that unbalanced skills in an RPG is perfectly acceptable; Of course not every decision you make is going to be the right one and that is the beauty of having choices--having consequences to those choices.

    The weapons customization is also slick and adds a good bit of depth to gameplay since you can customize your weapon mods to suit your play style. For example adding a silencer may decrease damage but gives you the advantage of stealth.

    I also like the experience/achievements system which rewards you differently based on your approaches to situations in the game. I never felt like I was missing out by not making a particular choice, because the game would reward me either way, but the rewards would differ.

    Now for the bad parts: Enemy AI is lacking. For example, anytime you sprint, guards have the uncanny ability to hone in on your location. Also, this isn't Splinter Cell: Enemy bodies disappear almost instantly and guards don't really get suspicious when you kill their friends as long as they don't directly see you doing it (or hear you). Also, the alarm system is kind of broken. The game works on a checkpoint system so even if you trigger the alarm in one checkpoint, there are no negative consequences for the following checkpoint area. This means the game is very forgiving when it comes to stealth. Trigger the alarm? No problem, just bust out your assault rifle and kill everybody in the area then continue to the next checkpoint.

    The other large annoyance is the save system. The game uses checkpoints for saves and overrides each checkpoint save when you reach a new one. This can be frustrating when you want to go back in time, only to find your last manual save was 2 days ago because your checkpoints were overwritten. Now when I first found out there was no ability to quick save, I thought it was a stupid design decision. But now, I see that it falls inline with the rest of the game's design philosophy: You're choices matter and there are consequences to your actions. Allowing you to quick save whenever you want takes away from the gravity of your actions since you can redo them infinitely without consequence. Overall if I could change it, I would keep the checkpoint system, but have it save each checkpoint separately.

    That said, I think the save system and the poor AI are excusable, given the very engrossing story and the very well executed branching and dialog system. That's not to say that the action and actual gameplay are not fun in their own right, just that the former elements steal the show. I'm sad to hear Alpha Protocol received such poor reception from the press and initial users, but I hope others will give this diamond in the rough a chance. And just hopefully, Obsidian will be given the chance to do a sequel.
    Expand
  26. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    This game is as far as I can tell, criminally underrated. I have not played the game until now because I was told by reviewers it was terrible. This is simply wrong. This game offers dialogue, plot and characters worthy of it's own book. Everything you say or do seems to have consequences, you can dig dip into dossiers and secret e-mails or just wing it, and both ways are fun. Every choiceThis game is as far as I can tell, criminally underrated. I have not played the game until now because I was told by reviewers it was terrible. This is simply wrong. This game offers dialogue, plot and characters worthy of it's own book. Everything you say or do seems to have consequences, you can dig dip into dossiers and secret e-mails or just wing it, and both ways are fun. Every choice and dialogue option seems to have consequences an you actually feel like listening to the conversation since you have the think and answer fast when in a conversation like actual people, unlike in other games where you stand there like a cardboard cutout until you feel like answering, possibly checking the wiki and fetching some coffee. **** that, this is the real stuff. Customisation isn't massive character wise, but you get enough to feel like a spy. Weapons and gadgets are plentiful. I have a lot of fun setting traps for enemies and watching my plan unfold as they walk into electrocutions, mines or my knife. Other times I sneak around undetected. I have to admit that I have only played for 6 hours so far, but that is in one sitting. I was hooked after the first 10 minutes. The point is that this is a great game and you should try it. Expand
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    The expectations before you play could polarize your views. Some play this, expecting "Splinter Cell : The RPG". Others expect "Neverwinter Nights, guest-starring Sam Fisher". It's probably more "Mass Effect in modern times" This would be a good game, if it wasn't for Obsidian's modus operandi of making something that could be awesome, but failing to implement it correctly. There are bugs,The expectations before you play could polarize your views. Some play this, expecting "Splinter Cell : The RPG". Others expect "Neverwinter Nights, guest-starring Sam Fisher". It's probably more "Mass Effect in modern times" This would be a good game, if it wasn't for Obsidian's modus operandi of making something that could be awesome, but failing to implement it correctly. There are bugs, optimization issues, dumb AI, annoying saving (and loading) system, and short-ish campaign. On the other hand, it *is* engaging. Dialogue options, one of those "choice and consequences" concept that doesn't fall flat on its face, different gameplay approaches that actually work, and finally a plot that doesn't revolve around doomsday nuclear weapons threatening the world peace. As an old-time pen-and-paper RPG player, I can confidently say this is a role-playing game. Those who play for action may be disappointed. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Very unexpectedly loved this game immensely! The concept of a spy RPG made me wanna try this game (with thoughts of Dues Ex in mind), but my expectations were initially not high at all. But, it turned out that I loved everything about this game. Everything.
  29. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This game reminded me a lot of Mass Effect 1. A coherent, well thought-out story with many player options is presented with some graphical hiccups and gameplay mechanics issues. However, as in the case of ME1, the established environment of the game and level of customization made it a joy to play. It felt like Splinter Cell in an RPG style affair. I recommend it for anyone who enjoyedThis game reminded me a lot of Mass Effect 1. A coherent, well thought-out story with many player options is presented with some graphical hiccups and gameplay mechanics issues. However, as in the case of ME1, the established environment of the game and level of customization made it a joy to play. It felt like Splinter Cell in an RPG style affair. I recommend it for anyone who enjoyed ME1 or any espionage aficionados. I picked it up for 5 bucks on sale. Worth it. Expand
  30. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    For me, it's better than Mass Effect. No alien mumbo-jumbo, but real world, present times, politics, power struggle, black ops, corporations corrupting everything for profit...in a mindblowing story, where you end up drawing diagrams full of connections and relationships between factions, agencies, governments, mafia and their representatives, to understand their intentions and to UTILIZEFor me, it's better than Mass Effect. No alien mumbo-jumbo, but real world, present times, politics, power struggle, black ops, corporations corrupting everything for profit...in a mindblowing story, where you end up drawing diagrams full of connections and relationships between factions, agencies, governments, mafia and their representatives, to understand their intentions and to UTILIZE this in game conversations and choices. Every time you found some little puzzle piece, you will be rewarded. This applies to stealth/combat gameplay sections of game too, where the game properly reflects what player is doing (as in any Obsidian game, I love you guys for this.). This game has the "one more mission and I'll go to sleep" effect once you get into it. Only thing to prevent you from getting there can be quite slow start and outdated graphics. But it's definitely worth getting over these. Expand
  31. Dec 7, 2010
    0
    The game starts off rather well. You learn about combat, and the rest of the games mechanics... The stealth and melee is quite enjoyable, but the guns are rather sub-par and the mini-games are just awful. The mini-games aren't fun and they have no place in an action game.

    The boss fights, oh how horrible they are. They are tedious at best. You fight some enemy with extra health and they
    The game starts off rather well. You learn about combat, and the rest of the games mechanics... The stealth and melee is quite enjoyable, but the guns are rather sub-par and the mini-games are just awful. The mini-games aren't fun and they have no place in an action game.

    The boss fights, oh how horrible they are. They are tedious at best. You fight some enemy with extra health and they deal extra damage. If you went melee then you're probably going to get beaten up in a fist fight with any boss. Then, the boss fights get worse as the game goes on. There's no enjoyment is spending that much time on a fight. The story is very cliche and offers limited choices. The bugs really bring the game down, but the annoyances found in the gameplay will draw your attention instead.


    If the game were just about the stealth, melee, and the occasional gun fight then it'd be a real gem... but there's just too much garbage covering up the fun.
    Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. From the beginning of the game, till the ending, I was relatively pleased with how important and impactful the decisions I made were.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Mediocre gameplay hides an enjoyable RPG with moments of genius. But it could have been so much more. [Aug 2010, p.56]
  3. PC Zone UK
    74
    That exhilarating core deserves more than the pretty rancid crust that tops it. [Aug 2010, p.76]