Alpha Protocol PC

Alpha Protocol Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alpha Protocol is an espionage role-playing game set in the modern world. Loyalty carries a price and no one knows this more than agent Michael Thorton. A talented young agent cast out by his government, Thorton is the only one with the information needed to stop an impending internationalAlpha Protocol is an espionage role-playing game set in the modern world. Loyalty carries a price and no one knows this more than agent Michael Thorton. A talented young agent cast out by his government, Thorton is the only one with the information needed to stop an impending international catastrophe. To do so means he must cut himself off from the very people he is sworn to protect. As players determine how to accomplish different objectives, the decisions made and actions taken in each mission will ultimately transform the type of secret agent Michael Thorton will become. Every choice the player makes as Michael Thorton will carry consequences for his future and the fate of the world. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Modern-spy simulation game with little compromise, surprises in every part – sophisticated RPG system, excellent story, catchy action segments and a precious conclusion. [Issue#192]
  2. 84
    This is a bold and interesting proposal, although very buggy. But it will surprise many for its freshness and freedom.
  3. An astounding variety of ethical decisions, a wide range of believable, fun characters and a thrilling 24esque storyline make Alpha Protocol one of the most compelling role playing games of the last years. But be warned: The artificial intelligence is at times dumb as a rock, the save system seems rather antiquated, the graphics don’t hold up to the genre standard and the mini games are clearly not made for PC gamers. However, Alpha Protocol combines an enthralling storyline with a functioning role playing core and the highest grade of replayability in years! Well made, Obsidian!
  4. 73
    In other words, for those still interested, Alpha Protocol should be low on the to-play list.
  5. Ignore the RPG part and you might trade in the game after two hours; ignore the third-person shooter part and you might replay the game three times over. In short, it needs a sequel to get everything right. Look beyond its obvious faults and Alpha Protocol isn’t frustratingly bad, but frustratingly good; that is, if you care to look that hard.
  6. PC Format
    63
    Watch a Bourne movie instead. [Aug 2010, p.95]
  7. The abysmal AI, the absolutely disastrous PC controls, boss battles that all but throw out the gameplay style that got you there in the first place, and the complete and total illogic of some of the gameplay systems (like the aforementioned “shields”) all serve to derail what should have been as memorable a game as I’ve played this year.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 150
  2. Negative: 22 out of 150
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I specifically signed up for metacritic to review this game. This game is highly underrated, and from someone who has played games for over 15I specifically signed up for metacritic to review this game. This game is highly underrated, and from someone who has played games for over 15 years now, i think it is an injustice to see this game score poorly. The level of engagement in this game, the storytelling, the detailed files and information intelligence gathering makes this game unique and truly satisfying. This is not a dumb persons game. Someone who is impatient(most of the younger generation) and dislikes reading will not enjoy this game. It can be a shooter, but it is a thinking mans spy game with real consequences to your actions. To play a game that TRULY changes outcomes based on your decisions is an enjoyment to play. Thats what makes it so much fun. Make your choice. stick with it. don't reload or re-save, and carve your own destiny in this excellent game. Steam has it for maybe 30 dollars right now. This game is for someone who enjoyed games like mass effect, the witcher, baldurs gate, splinter cell. etc. Splinter cell was done well, but was defenitely not as immersive as this game, and wasnt as satisfying. I felt a real connection to the characters in this game and knew my actions would depend on them living or not. Control wise, the game is passable and not dazzling. but with a story that really gets you immersed, it doesnt matter. texture resolution is high, and gives faces a level of realism that is good. Its not all about flair; its about style, an intelligent story and a deep plot. Its very sad to see games like this not get a sequel because of impatient, brain dead gamers. Cheers, Expand
  2. KenN
    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    Yes there are bugs, but none of the variety that make the gameplay impossible. The entire time playing I didn't experience one crash. I Yes there are bugs, but none of the variety that make the gameplay impossible. The entire time playing I didn't experience one crash. I did however look up a support post that told me what configuration settings to edit to make the game play smooth. Graphics aren't the best of the best, but they could be far worse. It seemed to me that the graphics in some parts of the game were better than others. The control weren't bad. I could do what I needed to get done fairly easy. One exception was the lockpicking/hacking. The controls for that could be far better, they ended up making the "mini-games" more difficult than they should be. A.I. wasn't bad at all, in fact it seemed smarter than quite a few games I have played recently. I did play on Normal difficulty the first playthrough. This game brought back some old school fun for me. I didn't have any issues with the weapons like others have posted. I thought the system worked really well and required you to play the "rpg" element out to hit people. This isn't a regular shooter and you had to actually aim to get hits and skills improved the mechanics. I also didn't grab skills to make the game significantly easier, so I won't comment on skill balance. The story was very interesting. The dialogue options overall worked well, though there were some spots to where the countdown timer was too fast and the options a bit ambiguous on how you were going to respond. I am pretty sure that a good chunk of your choices through the game affect the ending. I got the ending "full circle" by playing smart and took down the main culprit (he went to jail). I seemed from my ending that if I had made different decisions early on, I could never have got the one I got. I had spared people that most wouldn't. Overall I do not understand the the negative criticism. This a gem of a game, well worth playing. Thats if you can appreciate a good RPG with mixed elements. The story wasn't weak and if I had to compare this to a game, it would be Mass Effect 1 before they gutted the game and brought out Mass Effect 2. This isn't a Hollywood budget or story. Just good old fashioned RPG fun. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    I just purchased this game for $5 during the Steam summer sale. My first thought was, "why haven't I heard of this game before, because it isI just purchased this game for $5 during the Steam summer sale. My first thought was, "why haven't I heard of this game before, because it is awesome."

    You play as agent Michael Thorton, everything else you get to make up as you go along. I don't think some people realize how entirely different two play throughs can be. Your choices have a huge impact on the game world and there is no set "good" or "evil" patch. You make choices, stuff happens that wouldn't have happened otherwise. Deal with it.

    I am amazed that a developer could craft such an open ended game with so many different possibilities. I'm also amazed that every choice comes with benefits. Kill that guy? Maybe you'll lose a supplier but you'll face fewer goons when you travel for your missions.

    Even the much hated crouching animation is actually far more realistic than what most games give you. That's what a person would actually look like trying to "sneak" around.

    As much praise as I heap on the game, there are also problems. For one, this game is supposed to be super-realistic and adaptive, yet I can shoot a guy in the head with a silenced pistol, the body will disappear on its own in a few minutes, and nobody will be the wiser. Someone stumbles across the scene where guard A was supposed to be? Nobody notices he is missing unless his body is still sitting there and then they give up in a few minutes if they can't find me. Somebody just got shot and killed on your watch and you just give up if someone shuts off the alarm?

    The story is the best part. There are so many nuances that you cannot learn it all in one play through. You literally cannot, unless you cheat or something. It's the best type of game because it encourages you to play it multiple times.

    The RPG aspects are placed above the shooter aspects and that's fine with me. It reminds me of Deus Ex in that respect. You have a low pistol skill? You can't hit the side of a barn. I enjoyed being tied to my character's skill points more than just my ability to move a pointer around and mash a button waiting for something awesome to happen.

    This game deserved far better than what it received.
    Expand
  4. AllenH
    Jun 3, 2010
    8
    The only bugs I have encountered are mild and easily fixed without restarting. 1: Guns pointing sideways when I come out of cover while The only bugs I have encountered are mild and easily fixed without restarting. 1: Guns pointing sideways when I come out of cover while reloading. This is purely cosmetic as they still shoot where the reticule is. To Fix: Go back into cover, then get out of cover 2: Some enemies will get stuck in a weird stance while moving. This is also cosmetic as they can still shoot you. To Fix: I just kill them, although I believe melee attacks will reset their animations 3: The romance animations fall into the uncanny valley. No Fix, the animations are just slightly off. Collapse
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Great game, interesting gameplay. Despite having numerous bug it is still among the best games I have played. You make allies or enemies asGreat game, interesting gameplay. Despite having numerous bug it is still among the best games I have played. You make allies or enemies as you go and depending on your actions various characters either come to help you or hinder you. Gathering information is actually rewarded in this game (comes in handy during conversations) so it pays of to take a good look around the levels. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    Terrible controls and some game engine problems, but still loved this game! I had to give 7 because of the problems but the story was nice andTerrible controls and some game engine problems, but still loved this game! I had to give 7 because of the problems but the story was nice and the whole environment the game created. Expand
  7. NK
    Jun 1, 2010
    0
    I'd like to review the game but seeing as the game crashes at the launcher and the .exe file doesn't run to skip the launcher, it I'd like to review the game but seeing as the game crashes at the launcher and the .exe file doesn't run to skip the launcher, it gets zero. Another good try Obsidian, here's hoping you don't run Fallout New Vegas into the ground like you did with the KoToR series. Expand

See all 150 User Reviews

Trailers