America's Army 3 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Download AA3 Today and Become a Member of the elite America's Army Team! Start playing America's Army 3 today. America's Army fans and new players alike can now experience America's Army 3, the official U.S. Army game, which has more authentic military elements including training,Download AA3 Today and Become a Member of the elite America's Army Team! Start playing America's Army 3 today. America's Army fans and new players alike can now experience America's Army 3, the official U.S. Army game, which has more authentic military elements including training, technology, weapons, and audio than any other military game. Built on Unreal Engine 3, AA3 delivers stunningly realistic characters, environments, lighting effects, animations, and team-based experiences. In the game where Every Detail Counts, players are bound by Rules of Engagement (ROE) and gain experience as you navigate challenges in team-based, multiplayer, force-on-force operations. With 15 different map/mission combinations and exclusive advanced training that allows you to unlock new abilities and customize your gear, you'll experience Soldiering in the U.S. Army like never before. Find strength like no other in a game like no other. Start your mission now! When you play AA3 on Steam, you'll earn Steam Achievements, ranking up among your friends as you earn distinguished status, badges, medals and ribbons. With AA3 on Steam, you can also save your keyboard bindings to the Steam Cloud - just login to your Steam account and fire up AA3 on any PC to utilize your custom settings. [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 84
    This is a shooter that's more intelligent than most and that requires more teamwork and coordination, but that makes the rewards of success that much more enjoyable.
  2. America's Army 3 can be really good if you have a good connection to the server and if you can find other motivated and cooperative players. But it can take hours until you are able to find that combination. The US army should fix the problems if they want to make a good impression.
  3. A decent online FPS - provided you can find a player slot, that is. [Issue#23, p.57]
  4. Lovers of real-world ballistics, cautious tactics and persistent stats will be eager recruits. [Nov 2009, p.80]
  5. A realistic, but relatively bland title that's part recruitment poster and part tame FPS. [Sept 2009, p.62]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 89
  2. Negative: 25 out of 89
  1. JustinW
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    As a game designer I know that I have higher standards than that which is cost effective. I rated the game's gameplay, realism, physics, As a game designer I know that I have higher standards than that which is cost effective. I rated the game's gameplay, realism, physics, graphics, sound, interface and player-base. I scored each area compared to other popular fps titles. Overall it came in first-place. But when I broke it down certain aspects could definitely be worked on. The scores I see by critics and by other users appear to extremely biased. Their scoring only shows lack of knowledge of the game and how to play it. The training and a few other features are designed to give people a feel for what to expect from joining the army. It also is a great way to intro the controls and weapon systems. If you pay attention to the training you can actually learn something. The new AA3 training system scored 1st place compared to other games with similar systems. Now for many people coming into America's Army they are used to the run faster with a knife tactic. Yes, you would run faster armed with a knife than an assault rifle. But, the fact remains that you got all the rest of your gear equiped at the same time. Also, just because you technically could run faster with all that gear on doesn't make it strategic to. The running system is designed to match that of a trained soldier. They use realistic distant that an average soldier could repeat throughout a battle without becoming unctrollably winded. The tactics required for maximum affectiveness in the game are applicable for real-world combat situations. Due to this, AA3 ranked 1st in realism. Gameplay typically relates to how the game is played out. With AA I focused alot on its 1 life per round, team tactics, scenarios, and communication system. The run and gun tactic will quickly annoy the victims and afflictor. 1 life makes staying alive more precious. Depending on the skill of the server and your personal ability to fight as a soldier you can be spectating up to 90% of the time. For people like this, the game is quickly discarded. To survive you must understand proper team tactics. The game is designed to create as many tactical scenerios as possible. The gameplay allows a squad to pin and create confusion among OpFor. This allows for teams to flank the position. The game provides a battle planner that the squad leader is able to coordinate attacks among the fire teams. Although AA3 has quite a realistic gameplay it a few titles had better system for increasing playing time for everyone. It came in 3rd with related FPS styled games. The graphics are great. It is hard to determine opfor from friendlies. It takes a trained eye to identify threats and neutralize them. Other games you can lower the graphics and easily identify and target enemies. The graphics received 1st place. Through UT3 and few other titles receive honorable mention due to the artistic details visible in the gameplay. While AA2 had become overwhelmed with hackers and everyone got mad at everyone. AA3 has a revolutionary system to forgive unattentional Friendly Fire. This system creates alot more peace among players and people are most readily available to provide medical aid to fallen comrades. Going from Army of One to Army strong takes a change of mindset. But, once you learn the concept the game is alot more rewarding and enjoyable. I hope everyone learns how to play the game. and I hope to see you all on the battlefield. Hooah! Expand
  2. NunoC.
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    this is a great game!!! Real sounds, nice graphics and a very nice gameplay with new features like health system, at this moment i have this is a great game!!! Real sounds, nice graphics and a very nice gameplay with new features like health system, at this moment i have almost 90 hours played. HOOAH Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This game is a very one of a kind game. It is a hard game. It has a fairly steep learning curve, and on many times has frustrated me enough toThis game is a very one of a kind game. It is a hard game. It has a fairly steep learning curve, and on many times has frustrated me enough to quit playing, but it has given me a sense of teamwork and success like no other shooter has. The difficulty and intensity of the matches is awesome and exciting. I wouldn't recommend any COD or Halo fan try this game just because it is so vastly different, the hit system and medic systems are so much more realistic. If you have a mic and you are interested, give it a try but be patient with it. Expand
  4. BenW
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Not as good as the FPS competitors, but good enough to make you want to keep playing. No blood or brain splatter, and no awesome airstrikes Not as good as the FPS competitors, but good enough to make you want to keep playing. No blood or brain splatter, and no awesome airstrikes and helicopters like in COD4. However, the teamwork incorporated in this game has a bright future. No more will people split up and run around like crazy. Waypoints your own peers set and strategies you come up with can make it onto the battlefield. Everything from squad ranks to fire team roles to patching up a fallen comrade. If a little more work is done on it, this game could really rock. Oh, and if you are usually a sniper person, its really hard to ever get a slot because everyone hogs it :D Expand
  5. SamM.
    Jun 28, 2009
    6
    I found AA2 to be a very well put together piece of work that the American army put together with good detail. But Americas Army 3, no. I had I found AA2 to be a very well put together piece of work that the American army put together with good detail. But Americas Army 3, no. I had high hopes for it when it took over night to download and was hoping for the same great experience with the game play and the training like in aa2. What really pissed me off is that aa3 was released in a "Alpha" state and to my knowledge, there were no public beta's to sort theses problems out. Instead, im stuck in training, Spinning around in circles uncontrollably for some damn reason. The reason its a 6 instead of a 2 or 3 is i have hope that the Army will fix this problem with a few paches and upgrades in the coming months. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    3
    It is really bad. The graphics are terrible, and the game is so laggy. There are also lots of cheats. Do not bother getting it - just a wasteIt is really bad. The graphics are terrible, and the game is so laggy. There are also lots of cheats. Do not bother getting it - just a waste of space on your computer. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    The worst game to ever take up space on my hard drive. Firstly the gameplay is horrific, it attempts to create a serious realistic warThe worst game to ever take up space on my hard drive. Firstly the gameplay is horrific, it attempts to create a serious realistic war experience and fails incredibly. There are many in the game such as sprinting whilst reloading and fiddly movement with the weapon which makes the game terrible to play. The graphics are ugly and i think everyone should avoid this game despite the free to play tag. Terrible game. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews