Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 777 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is an upcoming survival horror video game developed by thechineseroom and produced by Frictional Games. The game is an indirect sequel to Amnesia: The Dark Descent, which was developed and produced by Frictional Games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    91
    Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is a well-oiled horror mechanism. It's a great sequel that will be loved by the old and new players.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    84
    Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs has its faults as a game, but as an experience it can’t be faulted. [Oct 2013]
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Scary as hell, but not so much like its predecessor The Dark Descent - considered one of the scariest games ever made -, this Machine for Pigs is truly a terrifying Lovecraftian tale of Victorian and industrial horror, with unthinkable machines, mad doctors and more, but with some wrong design decisions.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    70
    It is a definite step back from The Dark Descent, but even several steps back makes this better than almost any other horror game released in the past decade.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    A Machine for Pigs is a well made and impressive game with a thorough thematic design and atmosphere. As a horror game it is rather spartan yet brilliant in that it let’s your brain conjure most of its horrors. Unfortunately it comes with a rather numbing effect that makes later parts of the game feel more formulaic and not as scary.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs is a pretty good game, with a well written story, good voice acting, an atmospheric musical score, suitably varied and eerie environments, and quite a few stomach churning and downright creepy moments. It never gets boring or frustrating, and there are no passages in particular that qualify as less than enjoyable. Unfortunately, though, it’s just not that scary. And that’s quite the let down for a horror game.
  7. Sep 11, 2013
    37
    A Machine for Pigs takes Amnesia's formula and shows us how to screw it up. The idea had huge potential, but it's squandered on what frankly is a cheap and uninvolving game. This was an extremely disappointing experience.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 306
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is definitely not the same game as The Dark Descent. It's quite different. It's got fewer jump scares and it's notAmnesia: A Machine for Pigs is definitely not the same game as The Dark Descent. It's quite different. It's got fewer jump scares and it's not as splatter-horror-y as some fans might have wished. But boy, that overwhelming, thick sense of dread that comes with every step down into the unholy machine. Not to mention the brillant soundtrack by Jessica Curry (do yourselves a favour and buy it) and the brillant writing by Dan Pinchbeck. I guess it takes a bit of effort to actually get involved into the story (similar to Dear Esther) but you'll probably get one of the most literary experiences in video games to date. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Simply put, this is the exact median between Dear Esther and The Dark Decent. I went into this game expecting a campy storyline with someSimply put, this is the exact median between Dear Esther and The Dark Decent. I went into this game expecting a campy storyline with some great scares, but what I got instead was the most unsettling game I have ever played. Surprisingly enough, for how amazing of a plot this game has (as pretentiously metaphorical it can be sometimes), there's very few plot holes and the level design is near perfect despite it being so incredibly linear. I have no problem with that, as I know that linear gameplay is the best way to tell a story. The writing is great, the voice acting is top notch (despite some cheap sound effects), and the atmosphere is PERFECT. The graphics are also fantastic despite having indie origins. The plot lays out like Bioshock, which also means it has pacing issues. Also, the inconsistency of the enemy encounters is noticeably annoying, but the encounters it does have are BLISTERINGLY intense. Way more frightening than anything in the first game. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    After completing the game in just 4 hours I have mixed feelings about it.

    Let's start with the game's strong points. First of all, even
    After completing the game in just 4 hours I have mixed feelings about it.

    Let's start with the game's strong points. First of all, even though the graphics might not be the best, the atmosphere is overwhelming, like it should be in a horror game, but apart from that there are only a few moments in the game that you get scared and most of the time they don't last for a long time (it's either a sudden loud noise, or a door slamming in your face). The story is well written, even though I personally didn't like it that much, so I guess that's a plus as well. Finally, the soundtrack is really really nice and it's probably what I enjoyed the most in my playthrough.

    While the above are probably enough reasons for somebody to buy the game, allow me to mention its main weaknesses. First of all there is barely any "gameplay". Apart from a couple of fairly easy puzzles (like moving an object from 1 place to another and activating some switches) there is not much more you do in the game. Personally, I remember maybe 2 instances that I actually had to sneak past a pigman and about 2-3 more that I got chased by some larger enemies and actually took some damage. That is all. The adventure element isn't exactly there either. You don't even have an inventory, so it's more like an exploration game interactive story, which this makes it an easy game with no real replayability.

    Overall, I wouldn't say that the game is really bad or really good. Some people will love it, some people won't like it at all. My rating would be a 6.5 if I could give that, since the weak gameplay kinda ruins it for me.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    Ironically, this game only makes you feel unpleasant, while the first game made you squeal like a pig.

    If you haven't played the first
    Ironically, this game only makes you feel unpleasant, while the first game made you squeal like a pig.

    If you haven't played the first amnesia game I would highly recommend you play that one instead. If you have played it and is looking for more amnesia, or any scary game in general, I would say you're better of trying some of the many custom stories that were made for the first game, or try other games in the horror genre.

    It is developed by the guys that made Dear Esther and it shows. While the atmosphere remains truthful to it's predecessor, it's not as tense, scary or stressful as the first game. Even the music is not made to scare you as it did with excellency in the original.

    There are some stressful moments, but they are few and far between. Most of the game is about immersion. exploration, listening to dialogues or reading notes, which mostly seems to be written by William Shakespeare.

    There are also a few puzzles, but they are not clever in any ways and most of them are either solved too quickly or they make you feel frustrated when you finally realized you've missed something that the game thinks is obvious.

    There are not as many monster encounters and the monsters themselves aren't even that scary.

    In conclusion I would say that this game is a toned down version of the original that focuses more on story writing and exploration, rather than trying to scare you in as many ways possible. If that sounds appealing to you, then give it a shot.

    After paying full price for the ~5 hours long game I would say buy it the next time it goes on sale for maybe 50% off. It's not really worth the full price if you ask me.
    Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    4
    I expected so much more from this title but this was just a cash in. This was not scary, but rather boring. The enemies were lame looking andI expected so much more from this title but this was just a cash in. This was not scary, but rather boring. The enemies were lame looking and you could just walk right through them if cornered, the graphics were just the same as tdd nothing special, interaction throughout the world has almost been completely taken away, the puzzles were child's play. This game was meant to be a step forward but has turned into another letdown in the gaming industry. disappointing... Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    3
    It aspires to be an interactive story without an inventory or sanity effects and without the intimidating enemy's of the first the best theIt aspires to be an interactive story without an inventory or sanity effects and without the intimidating enemy's of the first the best the game can do to horrify is flicker the lights shake the camera and abuse the audio.

    The simple and obvious fact is the amnesia devs sold out and outsourced large portions of the game to the dev team of dear esther, an interactive story can be great, but that's not what amnesia was and it's not what was promised.

    Please skip this game, don't reward this kind of behavior grab outlast instead it has faults but it stays very true to the genre and brims with the passion and care of it's team.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2014
    0
    Horrible game. Boring story, just walking around, not scary at all. Great graphics, but that is not the important part. I hoped that i wasHorrible game. Boring story, just walking around, not scary at all. Great graphics, but that is not the important part. I hoped that i was near the end when i played this game, so i runned through everything that is "scary*.

    I was very disappointed.
    Expand

See all 306 User Reviews