• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 17, 2011
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1013 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    This game scared me so much i nearly shít the bed.
  2. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    This game made by five core developers and it is scary as all hell. I cannot play it for more than an hour or two or else I start to panic and use up precious resources. The gameplay is a mixture of adventure and resource management (light) with some very tense hiding or running for OH GOD WHAT WAS THAT?! Erm, running for dear life. 335 positive user reviews cannot be wrong. Get this if you love horror. One point off for silly voice acting at parts, but that is the only glaring flaw. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    Scariest game ever, yeah that's right more than Dead Space, FEAR, Fatal Frame, Silent Hill, all of that. I can still hear my heart pounding even when I'm safely locked away from the monsters for 2 or 3 minutes. For such a small indie game, fantastic graphics, story, and some of the greatest sounds for a while. These are all here to make it a fantastic game, and it worked, but these things also become it's flaws. Meaning that things become too familiar and you know exactly where the monsters will come from, even though you haven't played through that part. But still I have no reason to say it's a bad game. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is truly a good example of what "horror" is all about. Horror should be about the creepy atmosphere and story it's being placed in. Those cringing moments of anticipating something to come after you. Worse, those terrifying moments of silence. Amnesia: The Dark Descent had all those qualities plus many more. It lacked the use of weapons to defend yourself with but the skills of hiding, running, and closing. You would have a limited juice of light source to keep you from being frightened even more. Oh, and yeah this creature does not have the ability to die at all. But one thing that made this game unique from others is that you would actually have to open and close closets, doors, and drawers by yourself. That's the main thing that makes this game so realistic. I could go on with many things to brag about this masterpiece. Amnesia: The Dark Descent is and will be one of those timeless games for years to come. This is by far one of the most terrifying and unforgettable experience since Silent Hill. This is what you call horror. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not a fan of horror games, that was until I played Amnesia; the dark descent; a FP survival horror which drops the dodgy combat from Penumbra and instead forces the player to hide or run. What puts me off most horror games is their reliance on excessive gore, which isn't really that scary once you become desensitised to it. Amnesia understands this and implements just about every aspect perfectly: you're defenceless, the graphics are appropriately grim and spooky, resources are limited and the main antagonists are never really clearly seen. Negatives; the story is an interesting tale of your character Daniel waking up with amnesia and discovering that he must descend into the depths of the castle to kill an individual named Alexander. All I will say is that the ending is somewhat lukewarm and Frictional still have a tendency to use long letters to tell back stories rather than implement them into the environment. Also, despite the length of six hours or so, Amnesia would have benefitted from being trimmed to about half that. But any criticisms I have are overshadowed by the sheer terror that Amnesia manages to achieve. If you are a horror fan or even just any other gamer who wants to experience something truly terrifying, then look no further than Amnesia. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best horror game ive ever played. Didnt sleeped for weeks because of this but it was worth it. Ive passed 3 times and it still scares me and with the DLC and the Custom Stories even better. Its money well spent, recomend everyone to try it, who wont regreet it.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    When it comes to sounds and atmosphere amnesia is right up there. The game consists of tricky puzzles and intense missions where you would have to escape from a monster. You start the game finding that you have little memories of your past and that you must follow noted that you wrote in your past to progress through the game. As the game name says your character has amnesia and all the way through the game there are also diary entries from you and other people that you may have met in the past this gives the game a story to follow. The gameplay of amnesia is possibly one of the best experiences you may have the constant eerie noises of floor boards and heavy breathing or nearby monsters keeps you on your toes. When playing through the game you will that it is important to make an escape route at all times and every corner that you go around you make sure there are no monsters. This game does a great job of keeping you alert at all times and playing this game with a headset definitley adds to the effect. The fact that you only have a limited amount of in game items also makes you feel like you must check every room and corner. I would go as far as a noise in your room where you are playing your computer is enough to make you jump . You feel as if you are the character in the game. It is easily noticeable that Amnesia has done this well. Overall this a great game and a great story a would recommend this to anyone who is a horror fan or a game you want to play to wake you up on a Monday morning. Do not keep clear of this game. Get it. Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is a terrifying experiece you wouldnt forget soon.............First of all i am here to confess that i was unable to complete the game(it was scary as hell)or you could say that i lacked the courage to complete it.From the first go you are straight into action with daniel awakening into the castle and ofcourse having amnesia....you cant fight the enemy there is no way you can.You need to escape them using ur wits(the most horrific and terrifying moments believe me).Stay in light or youll be seen stay in dark for two long you risk Daniel's sanity......Welcome to your undead nightmare since you are going to play one of the most scariest game of all times Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    If you like to do puzzles and like to wet you pants this game is for you .
    Fantastic game just incredible i never knew being terrified would be so fun its a must buy grfxs work well its dark and terrifying
    performance seems to fun easy maxed out no problems at all
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    There is no reason to hate this game, unless you hate scary things. This game is definition of scary. The atmosphere and everything. The fact you cannot kill the monsters and you have to run for your life. But you cannot experience the game entirely unless you follow it's instructions; dark room and surround-sound headphones. There's only one thing this game is missing and it's 3D. Too bad 3D doesn't work for OpenGL games. Expand
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    There are many reasons why this game COULD suck. The controls aren't always practical, some parts of the game just feel like empty space, etc etc. But ALL complaints manage to be overruled by a single thing: the Atmosphere. If there's one thing this game has done that NO Horror Movie, NO Horror Video Game, and NO horror Book has ever done, is to ACTUALLY SCARE ME. The use of environments and music in this game make you feel like you're back to being a 5 year old in a dark basement. Some environments keep changing minimally whenever you reenter them, but just enough to throw your brain off and make you think ''oh **** something's odd''.
    Monsters in this game are sparse. But that's actually a good thing, because this way I've been in many situations where I just snuck around like a boss for an hour, never getting caught, thought to myself ''oh hey there's probably no monster here'' and getting overconfident and run around just to find a monster around the next corner that just completely throws you off.
    But beware: This game is only interesting due to the Tension it creates inside you. If you play it during the day you won't be scared at all, and you'll just find the game boring. Playing it over Skype or with friends works fine, as long as your room is dark.
    Collapse
  12. Sep 21, 2012
    9
    Wonderful horror game. I was essentially scared throughout the entire game. The music is great, the atmosphere is spot on, and the story is perfect. My only problem with the game is that I feel as if some its textures aren't polished. One example I experience with faulty textures was when I went through a wall and everything turned black, and then later I took two steps and somehow died. If that were fixed, this game would receive a ten. You most likely will not experience this at all; maybe it was just my **** graphics card, but regardless, the game is quite possibly the best horror game made. Buy it!!! Expand
  13. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredible. My words will probably do it no justice, but I will try.

    When I first purchased this game, I found it hard to believe there was so much hype about the terror this game evokes, but almost instantly I found myself scared of every little noise. It just got scarier and scarier, but the creativity in the horror of this game lies in the fact that they never stoop down to the cheap "pop-up" scares. They build up suspense, and have a payoff of absolutely emotionally draining pixel terror. It was by far the most difficult game I've ever played, and I really appreciated the fact that there were no save reverts - everything you did was permanent, including (SPOILER) the end when I forgot to save Agrippa and didn't get the extra-good ending. I first got the **** ending, where the bad guy wins and there is no resolution to the saga of Daniel, but when I tried again I got the ending I was looking for - I killed that bastard Alexander, even though he and I were both similar in the fact that we were victims of circumstance acting as agents for a greater evil. There was so much depth in the little plot details they gave you, including the moral ambiguity. And the puzzles - the puzzles were **** hard, and it took me a total of about 12 hours to finish the game, and I only looked up the solution to a single part - the prison - which was a **** maze and I don't consider that to be part of the difficulty.

    In the age of tired-out sequels and rehashing the same formula of first person shooters, this game is only contested by Skyrim in my 2011 GOTY.

    But definitely the GOTCentury for the feature of dozens of uncircumcised naked men. God, if the modern day gaming industries is lacking one thing these days, it's dicks, and natural ones.
    Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt the best and most beautifully done gaming experience out there. The scares are genuine, and the horror is real. This game is, in essence, a fear simulator. You know those train simulators? This is pretty much a fear simulator, only a captivating story was built around it. I enjoyed this game more than any other game I have played. It's super cheap, it goes on sale a lot on Steam (I got it for $4), and I'd say that it's worth far more than that. This is the easiest ten I will ever give. Expand
  15. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. While it did not scare me, because it's not my thing, I was amazed at how well the story was written, how astounding the music was, how developed the characters were and how challenging some of the puzzles were. Looking forward to the sequel.
  16. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Each game has its own purpose. Some are to have an exciting and skilled FPS experience, some are micromanaging games where you build up an empire, and some games succeed at these goals to certain extents. Amnesia: The Dark Decent was made to redefine terror, and immerse yourself in such a dark and horrid nightmare and it does just that with utmost perfection. The horror and paranoia i felt while playing this game was just so intense, it FEELS like you are there and being in a moment of life/death in this game was such a terrifying thrill ride. Honestly, this is one of the very, very, very few games out there that truly deserves a 10/10 Expand
  17. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Imagine a game where you are stuck in an evil castle-type place, and not have any weapons!! Just the thought of it gives me goosebumps. I think because you genuinely fear for your mortality, it makes it all the more immersive. You can literally only place this game alone, at night, with your headphones on loud and no lights on. Otherwise, you might just get a tad confused, lost or bored ... I couldn't complete the game without having to check various online sources for solutions to a few puzzles, so that's not good. But because it isn't an expensive game, and it looks and feels so damn scary, I have to give this game an 8. Hope the people that made this game get out there and do another one, but bigger and bolder! Expand
  18. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is the perfect example of atmosphere in a game being able to make you $&^% your pants. Now if you know of this game already I'm sure I don't have to explain the laxative qualities of Amnesia but for those who do not know allow me to elaborate.
    The game play of Amnesia :TDD is quite simple when it comes down to it. You play the game from a first-person perspective,
    navigating the game realm in search of items, and tools to make it past the next area. To do this there are a variety of puzzles that one must solve, either being a simple "push this button" action or somewhat more complex physics based puzzles. Most of these puzzles are actually quite difficult to figure out, as I myself was forced to look up the solution multiple times. While the physics are not the best in the world, they're exponentially higher then most other Indie games, besides the odd game such as LIMBO. Now a first-person perspective puzzler isn't exactly riveting, and exciting, being a survival horror game, there are monsters. Unlike many of modern games set in a horror genre, Amnesia:TDD is different in that most horror genre games have situations where either on of two things occur: the player sees a monster jump out, it screams "BOO!" and the player turns it to shredded gore with a multitude of heavy weaponry (a.k.a. Doom 3 or similar titles) or the player sees a monster jump out, it does a quick dance to get the camera's attention, the player kills it, and moves on through more brightly lit rooms filled with more monsters fighting for the camera (a.k.a. Dead Space or similar titles). Amnesia pulls off a rarely well done method similar to Silent Hill 2, where as your walking around, the intense atmosphere, and ambience noise make you perceive a monster is nearly when it could be nothing, a harmless kitty, or indeed a monster. While the hardest to pull off it is also the most successful because it forces the player to fill in the blanks for themselves. And if Frictional Games was only making me hate my life even more, you cannot harm, wound, or kill any of the enemies. You are weapon less, and your only chance at survival is to run, and hide from the monsters, and hope you don't run into them again. If that wasn't enough you are given an insanity meter, which depletes by looking at enemies, witnessing horrifying situations, and by just being in the dark making it difficult to hide from monsters when there's the chance of losing, because you've gone absolutely bonkers!
    The graphics of Amnesia:TDD are on par with most other modern day games, but I found one downside with this. For some reason my PC made for gaming had difficulties running the game, so in order to play it, I had to borrow a friend's PC. It may just be me, but it seems that the game is very demanding of a PC, which is also a gripe I have with PC gaming, but I digress, the graphics of the game, lighting, shadowing and the all too familiar insanity effects are beautiful. The sound of the game is absolutely necessary to making an atmospheric game, and Amnesia pulls it off brilliantly. The character, while never actually speaking, makes noises out of fear such as a gasp, but it is only by watching un-commentated videos that I was able to hear those noises as all too often these gasps, and moans were under-exaggerations of my screams of terror and fear. The ambient noise of the game is ominous, which serves to make the player feel truly alone in the game world, and any voice acting heard through diary entries are solid, and convincing.
    Overall, Amnesia: The Dark Descent is a great survival horror game, with a strong atmosphere, and sound the likes of few games. The game is so engrossing, and immersing that you will frequently find yourself screaming at your monitors when monsters appear, and tucking your head in when navigating the dark corridors. An excellent game, and my only gripe is I wish the game would be ported to consoles as I myself hate my computer, as well as I prefer the simplicity of a controller as opposed to keyboard, and mouse. Being fair however, I can't negate points for that as that is an opinion, not fact about the game. A great story, engrossing atmosphere, and game play, and a Price tag of $20 on Steam make for a great experience. A well deserved 8. Can't wait to see what Frictional Games does next!
    Expand
  19. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Its been a long time since I've played a true survival horror game. This is not only an immersing and incredibly scary game, its a fun and addicting game to play. I found myself pausing the game and sitting there waiting for my heart beat to slowdown! The physics in the game is great you can interact with almost everything making you feel like your part of the world. There is a lot of thinking like when to use your lantern, when to use a tenderbox on a candle or torch. The story and editor are also awesome, with custom stories and mods this is an amazing game that may never end! Expand
  20. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A truly remarkable puzzle game, Amnesia is not for the faint of heart. The game takes advantage of ambient creaks, moans, and other creepy sounds to keep you constantly on edge, making the game super immersive. Once I heard a noise and felt something tap my shoulder. Immediately I started hyperventilating and holding down shift while sprinting, teeth gritted, down the hallway, until I realized that the enemy was actually my brother, who had snuck up behind me and tapped my shoulder (The little troll) There were a couple "Jump out and shout boo" monsters, but there was a lot of subtle creepiness that kept you at the edge of your seat. (And when nothing happens, you get closer to the edge of your seat. Then the monster pops out and you fall off your seat, promise you will never play this horrible, wicked game again, respawn, and keep going.) One point where I was genuinely terrified didn't even have any monsters. At a few points in the game you will have a big room leading to lots of separate rooms, each with their own set of minipuzzles, to solve. At one point I arrived at one such room, and quiet, relaxing music played. The room was well lit, carved with some nice beautiful architecture, paintings, fancy windows, it was like a safe haven. And then I solved the puzzles. When I returned to my safe haven, strange organic pulsating pinkish blobs of flesh appeared. The lights went out. The paintings changed. The fountain no longer looked like a lady bathing, but like a lady being drowned and eaten alive by a little impy thing. I felt terrified. I felt violated. I felt sick. My safe haven was destroyed, my sense of security and trust breached. I wanted to STOP PLAYING THIS GAME. It was exhilarating and I loved it. The puzzles themselves are fun, not too easy, not too hard, and not too frustrating. Some of them are Fix-the-Machine-puzzles, some of them are Throw-a-human-limb-across-the-room-so-that-you-can-make-a break-for-the-door-and-try-to-escape-while-an-invisible-demon-chases-you puzzles, but they are all interesting. I only have a little bit of critisism and that is the sanity. I think my character is afraid of the dark, and rightly so, because based on the sound effects, when it is really dark a ghost sneaks up on me and crinkles Jolly Rancher wrappers in my ear. I just don't get that. Penumbra wasn't my favorite game, but at least I could still solve puzzles in the dark. I guess that is the reasoning behind it though. Penumbra just wasn't scary because I could turn up my brightness and kill the enemies. In Amnesia the enemies are unkillable and there is an actual incentive to not just play in the dark with brightness up super high. All of Amnesia's neat features turned it into what I can safely and easily call the scariest game I have ever played. All in all, Amnesia. Great game. Scary. You buy. You buy now. Unless baby. If baby do not buy. Expand
  21. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    This is the scariest game i have ever played, the atmosphere is really giving me a heart attack. If you are looking for a game that will scare you to death and immerse you in a great atmospheric story this is it. The bad things about the game is that after a few hours you have seen most of the tricks and dont get so scared anymore but that didnt stop me from enjoying the amazingly designed game. The art is simply amazing and you really feel you are Danel the main character Expand
  22. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Not a fan of puzzle game usually, I really got into it, especially thanks to the survival-horror side of the game. If you playing it like it's meant to be (alone, in the dark, headphone), it is a scariest game ever. The audio is amazing, graphics are decent enough for a full immersion. I liked the fact that you are scared at all time during the game, you are really under pressure, where in games like dead space, it's just punctual fear which is going to make you jump out of your chair (which I think is the easy solution in scary entertainment). A must have if you like horror games. Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    There's nothing more scarier than your mind playing tricks on you. Here in Amnesia you expect the worse to happen, but a low rate. Examples being that these creatures somehow could and will mess with you through out the whole game. Amnesia is a game where the possible becomes the horrifyingly impossible as you journey through darkest places battling your own sanity for light. The graphics are well devoleped considering that the eriee feelings of darkness and pop-outs really set the mood. And of course lets not forget the monster designs that look specifily spectacular. (No Spoilers Will Be Added On What They Look Like!!!) The sounds, if playing with a turtlebeach headset, will sound more than realistic as the screams and cries make you turn your back in the darkness to look for someone behind you. You won't have to worry about staying awake, as you grow deeper into the game, you'll never want to sleep again fearing your own sanity. (God, I felt like I went into that WAY too much.) The gameplay is rather incredible considering the puzzles you'll rough over, the stradegy of hiding behind certain objects for your own life, and compelling story that just craves for an ending all things considered. This grame reaches not only the gameplay but will even reach your mind as your trying not to scream or cry at the levels and monsters you run from. If you ever need to keep yourself awake, need a good scare to put on for your friends, or playing it just for the thinking you have to get this. You'll love it... if youre not in fetal position in a corner of your bedroom. Expand
  24. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This game is #6 on my top ten favourite games of all-time. In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, you play as Daniel witch if you haven't figured out yet, has amnesia. This game game is CRAZY on scares. The thing that made me jump the most, was in the Storage room and I don't want to spoil it. The monsters? Don't even get me started on those, the first time you play, they are scariest things ever, but once you play it a few times, it gets less scary. The graphics could be improved and there are some bugs that I have found, but overall, great game. Expand
  25. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Amnesia, what's not to say about the game... It has incredible, immersing gameplay that leaves you feeling shaken to the core for hours, even after you stop playing. The game was so frightening, yet so gripping that you can't help coming back for more. Amnesia is so psychologically testing, that it has effected my personality; I have developed paranoia, I lock the doors twice at night for precaution, the slightest thud makes me jump, I fear being alone for more than 3 hours and I have changed from my night shift at work. The game is in fact, too frightening, and too mentally trying, that is why I must give it an 8/10. Now if you'll excuse me, I'm returning to my corner to cower in fear. Expand
  26. May 7, 2012
    10
    New, refreshing, and scream-inducing. Buy this game the day before Halloween in your college dorm, grab many snacks, and prepare to keep everyone else in your building awake at night. I'm not going to explain the game since that would take away from it. Just try it. Trust me. Best played with friends in the dark at night.
  27. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game... No... EXPERIENCE is the most frighting time I have ever had playing any videogame (no, this is an EXPERIENCE!)! Other games do rely on the player acting violently against enemies, but that only gives me a few jumps out of my skin, and I can kill them: that's all. But, this--this gives you the shivers throughout the time, wondering what the BLOODY heck I am going to do NEXT... It is frightening--to call it scary is an insult. I believe this going to be AT LEAST as successful as another great indie EXPERIENCE--Minecraft! Oh, and if you are on for seizures, or just don't like being scared or shivering your nuts out to the bone: this is NOT for you.

    I am EXTREMELY impressed with this EXPERIENCE. This deserves a 9.5/10 from me! You can also find this review at http://s-me.weebly.com/amnesia-the-dark-descent.html!
    Expand
  28. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Wait until nightfall. Sit down at your computer, put your headphones on, turn on Amnesia: The Dark Descent, and get ready to poop your pants. I have never played a game scarier than this. Penumbra: Black Plague was terrifying, but Amnesia: The Dark Descent is deliciously repulsive, horrifying, and mystifying. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants to stay awake until dawn.
  29. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    A terrifying experience from start to finish. This is definitely Frictional's best work so far. The atmosphere that's instilled by the setting is terrifying and is aided by great implementation of spooky sound effects. Level design is solid and the game's pacing is great. Amnesia makes sure to never overload you with scares so that you become desensitized, but also never lets up as you endure a constant sense of tension and suspense.

    Visuals are average at best though, and while the story has some nice ideas behind it, the delivery could've been better. Frictional Games themselves emphasize that a game's story should be told through player interaction, but in Amnesia's case, it's told predominantly through flashbacks and diary entries, where missing just a few can create gaps in the game's story. Another criticism is the enemy's AI which becomes predictable after several encounters.
    Expand
  30. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    Great gameplay. Perfect designs. Dark creepy atmosphere. I really liked that game, but the most thing you do is searching lockers for matches and oil.
  31. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the best survival horror game to grace my PC ever. Amnesia keeps you hooked from start to finish, if you can even get that far. The shocks are purely atmospheric with little to look at or do other than physics puzzles.There is no combat which makes hiding from the monsters that much scarier. Perhaps one of the best PC games to happen since Half-Life 2, Amnesia:The Dark Descent is a must buy for any indie, horror or PC gamers. Expand
  32. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games Ive seen, ever. This is undoubtedly the scariest game i think ever created. Me and my friends often find people to play this game, and we all gather round to watch them crap themselves with fear.
  33. May 3, 2012
    10
    This game is the most intense game I have ever played! the atmosphere is terrifying. Also the game shows originality and very unique, most horror video games gives you an option to fight back and defend yourself. And Amnesia is a different type of game play that actually requires stealth and hiding. A nice storytelling makes a good game. -the-epikninja
  34. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    Fine game, but I enjoyed Penumbra so much more.
    .....................................................................................................
  35. Oct 16, 2014
    6
    Refined old-fashioned horror for the discerning gentleman. This is the quintessential 'haunted castle' experience. Scary enough, but in a restrained way, without as much depravity as some other horror games. Pacing is deliberately slow and focuses more on the suspense and what you hear around the corner. No other game manages to make me feel so helpless - you can't fight, you can only hide or run. The controls are refreshingly simple and work very well. The graphics and level design are a bit mediocre, and gameplay may lack a bit of variety, which prevents it from being truly great. Still, I can easily recommend this. The mod scene is one of the best around, with some great single-player custom stories that compete with the base game for quality. Expand
  36. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    The only game out there that will literally make u shiver in fear. Close the door, turn off the lights, get your headphones, and prepare to pee your pants.
  37. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    This game is definitely one of the high points of the survival-horror genre. However, before playing it, you should know what to expect; if you're expecting something more similar to Dead Space 2 out of this, you will have a bad time. It's not that kind of horror game. Gameplay isn't all that great, maybe 7/10, but the intense atmosphere makes up for it. Amazing sound, good (not too good, but more than enough) graphics...

    There's quite a lot of difference between Amnesia and most horror games, the main one I see being monster density. Monsters aren't very common. This is partially justified by your lack of self defense, but the real beauty in this is that you never really stop being scared of them. So instead of a lot of shootable monsters, you get a few very dangerous and terrifying ones.

    Now, "A few monsters" isn't really enough to keep the scares going. Amnesia solves this problem in an ingenious way. With the creepy ambience, the constant tiny creaks from the foundation, and even the illusory footsteps Daniel hears when low on sanity, you genuinely never feel completely safe. Aside from the tendency to encounter monsters while backtracking after grabbing an important item, it's pretty danm hard to predict where one will show up.

    Anyway, the point of the game is to make the player feel as scared as possible. So, don't play to win, play it just for the sake of being scared.
    Expand
  38. Apr 5, 2014
    0
    I decided to submit a new review of Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The first time I played through the game, I couldn't even make it through a half hour of the game I thought it was so awful. After having a friend tell me it gets better after about an hour in, I gave it another shot and I eventually beat the game.

    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is a 'survival horror' exploration game. I use the
    term survival horror loosely because besides walking around or running there is very little survival elements to the game. As much as I try to understand it, I can't figure out what makes this game so popular or how people can become so terrified of it, I never found the game remotely scary in the least.

    As you begin the game, you will find yourself in a castle of sorts, you've lost your memory and you need to find out where you are and a way out of the castle. During the entire game you'll never leave the castle and almost at all times, all of the game environments looks similar. A dark, spooky castle, you can tell rooms have actually be reused. After awhile it becomes very tedious.

    As you progress through the game, you'll remember bits of your memory or find old journals, revealing more of the story. I'll be frank, the story is not unique, it's not witty, the writing is very dry, slow paced and clichéd. I never once found myself interested or engrossed in the story.

    I tried my best to become engrossed in the game, I played in a dark room, I used a 3D surround sound headset, but more times then not, I often found things that actually pulled me out of the game. To begin with, there are common sense things in the game that the developers ignored. For example, you can light candles in a room, but you can't actually carry them. Why can't you carry the candles? The only reason I can think of is because it breaks the core mechanics of the game and the need for light. And that isn't a good reason. Developers should have enough hindsight to know what players are thinking or what they may try to do in a game and work with that. They could have easily figured candles into the game's equation, they simply refused to.

    During my time with the game, I experienced issues with the sound, which is a really great way to break immersion. For example; there may be water dripping and if I face it, I will hear it, if I turn away from it, the sound is suddenly gone, it doesn't even fade away. This is NOT an issue with my hardware as this isn't something I encounter on a day to day basis, this is explicitly a problem with the game and it's sound engine.

    While a survival horror game would surely encourage exploration, this game does not. It's fairly straight forward and basically forces you into the direction it wants you to go, either with monsters, puzzles or blocked off paths. The lack of different environments makes the game stagnate almost immediately.

    Speaking of Monsters, the monsters are terribly designed, in most cases you either won't see them due to darkness, or they are simply invisible. When you finally do get a chance to see some of the monsters in the game, they are lack luster at best with terrible, outdated character models. Their AI is terrible and the easiest way to avoid them is simply run off a distance into a dark corner and look at the floor. After playing the game for a bit, you can actually begin to predict monster attacks to the point where you can actually avoid a majority of monsters. As a matter of fact, in the last part of the game you can literally just run past all of them.

    The puzzles presented in the game are simple, easy and predictable. I actually found myself rolling my eyes at some of the puzzles in the game.

    This game is not new, it's not fresh and it's not unique. From a technical standpoint it's way below average and for a game that would most likely rely heavily on writing, it has a terrible story line. Anyone claiming to be terrorized by this game is either a eight year old girl or severely mentally challenged.
    Expand
  39. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very few horror games today embrace the most terrifying form of horror there is: subtlety. That knowledge that something is there hunting you down and is constantly getting closer to you that brings us to the masterpiece that is Amnesia: The Dark Descent. I can honestly say I have walked away from my computer at times screaming with shock and terror from what has come from this game. It truly brought back horror into my heart. While the game still produces fear in me, I still question some of it's elements that make it the horror game it is. There is no way to defend yourself from the creatures hunting you. And while this aspect is what defines the horror in it (meaning all you can do is run and hide with what dignity you have left), I daresay I would be one of those hero's in the story to pick up a rock or stick to defend myself in dark dungeons and labyrinths. I cannot count these as cons to the game because the creatures are truly unearthly. The very chill they send through your spine is the stuff of nightmares and I doubt even I with the logical sense to defend myself could stand in front of one and not panic. This game redefines horror showing us all how it's done. Not for the squeamish or faint-hearted but then again, even the most fearless of gamers have walked away from this game shaking! Expand
  40. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Have you ever played Myst? And kno Bioshock was the best game of all time? Puzzle games totally suck because they totally forget what the word "logic" means. "Scary" movies haven't scared you since you were a child. Sooo Amnesia has all of that. This is a really great game. The only way you can't get scared by it is by thinking you're way too cool and you keep your guard up. Way, way up. In which case, you're only ruining the fun for yourself. Put on headphones, play in the dark. Lose yourself. The sound is amazing, which is critical to terror. Monsters, on a technical scale are only ehh, but when you combine it with the rest of the game, become horrifying poetry. There is also some of the deepest story I have ever encountered, and I only really like to play games with a ton of story. It's more like you're playing a book, but it feels like a movie you're directing... and suffering. You will not get a better form of Art in most modern AAA titles. I just got this for $5 on Steam, and I wish I could donate more to the company if I could. Personally I kinda wanna give it a 9 only because I really suck at puzzles, but compared to 99% of other digital titles, this game is an 11 out of 10 Expand
  41. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    This is an amazing horror game. I'd even call it brilliant. I learned things about myself by playing this. I probably don't have to tell you that Amnesia succeeds in being scary - it succeeds hard. I often had to remind myself that it was just a game and I wouldn't really die if the monster got me or I wouldn't be able to move forward. Video games have a unique ability to evoke fear in an audience and I feel this game absolutely takes advantage of that. Through its visuals, sounds, mechanics, and storyline, Amnesia succeeds in creating a very focused experience of helplessness, curiosity, and fear. I don't give it a ten because I feel there are three things I still have room to complain about. For one thing, despite not seeming like it at all, the whole game is highly scripted, so once you've played it the whole way through you have very little reason to go black and play it again. It's also best to play it alone so you can't have fun watching other people play it without cheapening the experience for them. Second, the storyline is a bit underwhelming towards the end. It only feels this way in the very last room of the game, and its not too pronounced, but I felt they could have done better. The multiple endings are still good though. Lastly, (*spoiler*) and this might tie in with the storyline thing, but through the whole game, I was under the impression that there was only one monster chasing you through the castle. He seems to be in a lot of places at once, but I thought he was part of the whole "shadow" thing and maybe he could teleport. However, a little over halfway through the game another monster comes in and kills the first and starts hunting you instead. Then the first monster shows up again and it becomes apparent that there's a whole bunch of these things all over the place and they're actually the big bad's henchmen, which I felt just made them a whole lot less significant, mysterious, and scary. That really cheapened it for me and I still prefer to think of it the other way. However, no one else I've read has mentioned that so maybe it's a personal thing. Expand
  42. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    It's very hard to make really scary game, but Frictional Games did it. The main story took me about 6 hours, but after that i started playing custom stories. I gave 10 points because this game has everything! - Beautiful atmosphere, - Scary main story, -Scary monsters and - New custom stories every day. This game don't need weapons. They would ruin the idea of the game. People just concentrate on shooting. But every time i start this game, i enjoy it very much :) Expand
  43. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    It would be impossible for me to leave spoilers in this, for I cannot beat the game. I have played the game, with my friend, for all of about an hour so far. We can't do it. We haven't seen a single monster yet, and we cannot continue forward. The game is just scary, it carries on-wards in the ways of freaking you out of your skin. We picked up a book, and accidently slammed it against a metal door, and it scared... The living... *Bleep* out of us. We of course continued forward, and got up to a point where our lantern ran out. It was at this point we really started to get.... on edge... To say the least. We found a small amount of oil and used it, continued forward. We were about to go through a door there was a hint stating something similar to "Hint: When there are enemies nearby, try to run and hide in the darkness" , this was the point where my friend (Who was playing at the time) said "I can't do it, just can't. I'm done". I of course proceeded to give it my shot. Within a minute, not even a full minute, I started to walk through the door with no lantern, and slowly opened it... When I saw something move. I backed up frightened into a corner and just stood still. I heard "Tip... Tap... Tip... Tap" Not of water, but of footsteps. The screen went blurred, and moved as if we had just been turned into a ghost and back. I gave up. We cannot continue for quite a while... We don't have the power-up from Binding of Isaac, "Balls of steel", or the other power-up of "Masculinity". I guess we just haven't spent enough time to get the "Puberty" one either. We're little children in this game. We.... Are... Done. Have fun everybody! Expand
  44. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    for the people that try to downpour this brilliant horror game obviously haven't played a good game yet. Amnesia is probably the best TRUE horror game out there, not only does it scare the **** out of you it involves high amounts of strategy and careful thought one you actions. for the people that try to downpour this brilliant horror game obviously haven't played a good game yet and are 40 year old lards you sit in front of there computer all day. Expand
  45. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    It's fun, scary...dark...everything you could ever want, right? Right. Things fly at you from the ceiling, you can hide in dressers, and you have some extreme anxiety issues. Recommended, if you're a fan of scary games. If you read this review, and decided to play it, then played it and died from fright (or the fact that the game is pure awesome), I am not responsible.
  46. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    When this game first released as an Indy game, it was a cult hit, and spread via the web to all gamers, even casual ones. After playing this title, I must tell anyone who is thinking of buying it two things: 1) Buy it. 2)Don't 'play' this 'game', don't think of this as a milestone that you must 'beat'. It is an experience that everyone should have, and it WILL scare you. I have never been so frightened by any form of media, be it a movie, game, music etc. There are a few parts where it will feel annoying because you may not understand how to get past a certain part, revealing it's true 'game' nature for only a moment, and then you are back in the experience. Buy it. Expand
  47. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Creepiest game i have ever played in my live. I am sill having nightmares because of this game.. And the custom stories make this game much more than just the main story.. Actually the main story wasnt so great so -1 for that.
  48. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    I have to say that this is the scariest game I played, a lot scarier then Slender. If you are about to play this, have headphones on and play in the dark. So many moments I'm just going through a dark and creepy hallway and suddenly a monster comes around the corner and is going towards you fast, forcing you to hide, it just scares the crap out of me. And watching your sanity go down MIGHT make your real sanity go down. Other then the scares, the game play and story is pretty good. A lot off the puzzles are just so hard and genius that it takes me 10-20 minutes to figure them out. If you have at least a mid range PC, you should get this. Expand
  49. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Amnesia unlike most horror games brought an entirely new entity to Horror Games. Being complete vulnerable to enemy attacks, with the only defence of running and hiding in an eery castle complex in 1839 makes this a lot more fun! With only a lantern and a limited supply of oil, Frictional Games surely know how to keep on scaring people! 9/10
  50. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This game really does deserve the title of "World's Scariest Game". After playing the game for about ten to twenty minutes, I was wondering "Is this it?" and to be honest I wanted to backhand them for making a crapy game and calling it scary. I couldn't have been more wrong, the game absolutely scared me. I have never played a game that instilled fear into me like this: fear radiated through my body, the rush of adrenaline, heart pounding, jumping at every groan, splash of water and almost any other sound.

    Okay, the downside, the graphics weren't the best, but the detail and architecture really did create the perfect mood for the game. Excellent use of sound all throughout the game; I did turn my volume down to zero to see what the game was like without the sound and to be honest, it was really calm, so well done on the sound effect. The plot was average, it was fitting of the mood though and it didn't need an awesome plot to be scary. I really liked the idea of being harmless, although I did try to pick up a chair and wave it around madly trying to fight off that horrible zombie thing. One thing that disappointed me, was the I could jump up onto a desk or a pile of rocks and the zombie couldn't get to me, it kind of ruined the mood when it was walking into a desk trying to move forward. The camera wobble was a bit annoying, although it did fit into the game, but overall I didn't like it.

    In summation, it is a very good game and I enjoyed the scare I got from it; although I wouldn't advise this game for children or anyone who gets nightmares. Apart from that I advise you to play it.
    Expand
  51. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This game is scary as hell, but is fantastically scripted. The AI is amazing and this is the only game you can get a true fear feeling in. Excellent graphics, especially shadows. Also, it has a well written and intriguing storyline. Has some very minor bugs, which do not effect the game. I would go as far to say this is the most frightening game EVER created.
  52. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I love this game... The atmosphere is incredible, and the fact that you can't kill the monsters and you actually have to run or hide, is amazing. I really like it. Also, hearing weird noises gives an incredible feeling. I actually congratulates the creators of this game because it's fun to play this game and freak out.
  53. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    This Game has a amazing and fightening Atmosphere. The Graphics are a little bit old, but the Colors and Lightning are perfect. Its so horrorfying to walk through the dark corridors, because you dont have any weapon. The Puzzles make fun, but the Gameplay and the Story could be better.
  54. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    This game feels like an Edgar Allen Poe piece. Its extremely dark and thoughtful in feel... And I was disappointed it finally ended. With so many things done right, its hard to believe such a small group created this creative masterpiece.
  55. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I have never been more scared. That's all you need to know. Love the setting, the audio is absolutely phenomenal, the pacing is precise. What's not to like about this game?
  56. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This has to be one of the most atmospheric games I have ever endured to play in my life. You've got a squid-looking guy walking around, making your swallow your tongue, and watching your heart drop through your intestines. It is amazingly scary. People think this game is "trash", and it's "not scary", play it once. We'll see if your mind changes. The game itself is horrifying, but I wish there was more to it. There needs to be something there that just sparks your mind and makes the game better than it already its, on this one though I am going to have to score it good overall. Not recommended for players that get easily scared though. This is one of the most highly recommended games I have for you. Expand
  57. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Behold immersion through sensory deprivation! As paradoxical as the previous sentence may seems, I'd suggest that's exactly what Amnesia succeeded to achieve. The game's premise is that you are alone, chased by a living nightmare from which you can only hide from. Being completely vulnerable, you constantly keep you ears open for some unknown sound, being in the dark, relying on the frail light of your lantern, you keep scrutinizing for somewhere to hide or for some way to escape through and being on the verge of sanity, your heart keeps pounding, your breathing gets heavier: the immersion begins. Soon, you learn that your only way out of this nightmare is only forward, deeper where all the horrors come from. All this, makes Amnesia a game you'll never forget (no freakin pun intended) if only for the atmosphere it creates. Aside from keeping your head cool, progressing in Amnesia requires you to solve puzzles and obstacles, most of which are logical and well integrated. In all, this makes it one of the best game-play experience I've had in some years.

    Technically, the graphics are very decent (not even considering that it's an indie production) but where the game shines most is perhaps in it's sound effects which are greatly responsible for the realistic feeling of this game.

    I'm not aware of much games in the style of Amnesia but in the end, if you liked it, I strongly suggest you try Miasmata.
    Expand
  58. May 18, 2013
    9
    There are two common comments that need to be struck down here. One, this is not some boring point and click escape game. The people who say it is just an escape game were too scared to actually get to the good parts of the game and never really passed the "tutorial stage". Also, for those comparing it to Dead Space, how could you possibly think this game would be like Dead Space? It is not an action or shooter game, the way you survive is by using your wits and hiding. It is very fun, you will be scared half the time, and the other half you will be running from the thing that was previously scaring you. The suspense in this game is amazing. Expand
  59. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Amnesia: the dark descent is a well crafted experience that manages to pull off something that a lot of games fail to do these days, and that is atmosphere. By keeping the gameplay and interface very simple, one is much more easily drawn into the world. And it is the first game I've played in a very long time that has actually succeeded in scaring me. I was skeptical at first that it could have such an effect on my all but dead emotions, but the first time I was being chased by a creature, thought I'd outrun it, then turned around to see it right behind me, I very nearly wet myself. Some reviewers will often say that the monsters were not scary because, if you watched them closely, their behaviour was predictable and they were easy to avoid. But if you can sit back and enjoy a game without having to test the engine's every weak point, then this game should scare you. If you were the kind of kid who pulled the beard off the mall santa, then it probably won't. But if you're a cynic who can't suspend a little disbelief every now and then, then I don't see how any game could scare you. (And for that matter, feel free to suspend a little disbelief on the matter of not being able to pick up candles. It serves the gameplay. Just accept it.)
    All this is not to say that the game is perfect there are a few items on which the game falls down. Firstly, the level design occasionally feels a little samey. It's not nearly as bad as the endless repeating corridors in the likes of Eye of the Beholder, but it is a little like that. Also the voice acting is a little painful to listen to at times. I wish I could say that it's below par, but in the gaming industry this is probably better than average. [slight spoiler alert] In particular the voice of Agrippa fails. Here's this weird, creepy undead dude missing his jaw hanging from a chain, and he sounds like a jolly fat guy with rosey cheeks wearing lederhosen and playing the accordion [spoiler over].
    These, mostly minor, complaints aside, Amnesia: the Dark Descent is a great game. The story is interesting and very well researched (look up the Brazen Bull for example), and the attention to detail was for the most part spot on. Atmosphere, immersion and tension are excellent, and the game goes for just long enough to not overstay its welcome. And most of all it's a stand out, iconic title with some true innovation amidst a pool of samey, tepid drivel.
    Expand
  60. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Horror games have never really scared me. Typically, they all followed the same patter: suspense followed by jump scare. After a while, they just didn't seem too scary anymore. Thinking that I would be able to handle it, I started playing Amnesia. Boy was I wrong.

    Simply put, Amnesia: the Dark Descent is the scariest game I've ever played. Everything from the chilling atmosphere to
    amazing sound design helped to make this one of the freakiest experiences I've ever had in a game.

    Nothing is quite as scary as hearing a noise, hiding in a closet for dear life only then to be assaulted by a hideous monster. It's a feeling of terror that I haven't had with any other game, one that makes the hair rise on the back of my neck

    The only issue with this game are the graphics, which aren't bad. They're just somewhat outdated.

    If you like being terrorized, be sure to pick this one up.
    Expand
  61. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    On my opinion, i found Amnesia the dark descent horrifying... I got to be honest with you, Amnesia made me feel fear. I never played a game like this. Frictional games did here a master piece
    The monsters are not very scary but the suspance... Just the soundtrack of the game is amazing! Did you knew that each object in Amnesia has its own sound? And the felling of being hunted, defence
    less and above all vulnerable makes you scared. Very scared. But amnesia put a lot of afford on the atmosphere. The light sources are few so you have to walk into the darkness a lot of times.
    The story could be a little better. Its is good but not perfect. I found myself bored of reading all those notes. I belive this game is awesome to fans of horror and im really willing to play Machine for Pigs
    Expand
  62. May 15, 2014
    9
    Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope.
    Although if your into games that scare the everliving crap out of you then this is definitely a game you want.
  63. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I used to play this game with my brother. He moved. I don't play it anymore because I'm too scared to play by myself. For this, the game gets a 10. I have not been too scared to play a game by myself since Silent Hill 2. By the way, I only put in 3 hours of gameplay. Still too scared.
  64. May 22, 2013
    9
    Is Amnesia the best horror game ever made? Sadly that answer is no. But it is da*n good and worth a spot in the top 5. The games atmosphere not only sets up the best experience for this game, but uses lighting, sound, and suspense in some of the best ways possible in a horror game. You cant kill what is hunting you and you'll be having insane amounts of fun while also being terrified out of your mind. Again, not the scariest game ever made but it is one of the best horror games. Expand
  65. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    A truly scary games okay the graphics are not so good and it sometimes gets a bit predictable when a enemy spawned outside the room you finished a puzzle in. but the way you are always running and hiding makes you feel very weak. Unlike say Doom 3 or System Shock 2 which are very atmospheric games but since you have a lot of heavy weapons you aren't scared so buy it off steam and play it with the lights off and the volume up with a headphones Expand
  66. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    More an experience than a video game. And a really amazing experience at that. The cult classic really delivers with its atmosphere and feel, which suck you in in minutes. The vast amount of custom stories ensures hours of entertainment beyond the main story. As a downside it can sometimes be difficult to get your room lighting right for playing. Amnesia is a game that can be pulled from the shelf many times and it has the same chilling charm every time. Expand
  67. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Le jeux est magnifique! ses sure qu'il y avais quelque bug dans les mure mais pour un jeux fait par un petit groupe! il est ultra bon! moi je vous dit jouer avec sa vaux la pane! si tu aime les jeux d'horreur ses un peux jeux a jouer pour le commencement!
  68. May 11, 2013
    9
    Very good peace of work. I love it very fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun game. It is not like dead space at all; you can't kill your enemies and that's what's so fun about it. It tells you at first just have fun and kind of "go" into the world of Amnesia. GENIUS! It is the perfect way to get into the game. And when I bought this I bought it at night, so I played till like what? 11:30 maybe, and I couldn't go to sleep later. So got up and played again. VERY addicting game. The only reason is why I am only giving it 9/10 is because the sanity drains like crazy. I put my lantern down for 2 seconds and it starts wigging out and 10 seconds later my dude's about to pass out or die or something. Expand
  69. May 26, 2013
    8
    Unlike most games, Amnesia isn't one with predictable, dumb scares, but instead well crafted ones. The story is hard to follow, but that's the only real complaint. It really is Survival Horror themed, and has a Stealth element too as hiding from monsters is not optional. The realism is a bit too realistic, as you lose "Sanity" by staring at a monster or being in the dark, when really, the character isn't losing the sanity at these parts but the Player is. When you do lose your Sanity, you pass out, which can be annoying but adds a Strategic Feel. Puzzles are well-done and not too cryptic, monsters each have a different personality, etc. Buy it, its only £12.99 on Steam currently. Expand
  70. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan .I hate Japan . JAPAN SCAWWY Expand
  71. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    You can of course watch some of the famous let's plays of this..... but it won't be the same. Play it with lights off, headsets, and volume turned up. This game does it's job perfectly. Not for the faint-hearted.
  72. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    The best horror game I have played since Silent Hill 2. This game has truly mastered what makes a game scary, the atmosphere and complete helplessness of your character really hammers it in. The story is also very interesting until the ending where I think it fell flat.
  73. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fear is an understatement when I played this game. As soon as the opening music begins on the main menu, chills went up and down my spine. I had never experienced anything like that in a video game before. This game is the definition of fear. Every time you look around a corner or open up a door your heart begins to pound and you pray that there isn't something there to kill you. The atmosphere of this game is phenomenal. Whether you're in the ornate hallways of the living quarters, or the dark and shrill jail cells, or even to the sewers, every place this adventure leads you to provides a new and horrifying view to each one. The story line flows fluently through each of the settings with exceptional voice acting. The physics in the game engine are a masterpiece considering this is an older game. The way a tinderbox would roll out when you open a door, it feels like real life. Someone who does not like horror games probably wouldn't enjoy this game though. It took me a long time to get used to the constant fear and paranoia for me to finally complete it. All in all though, this game is expertly crafted and easily deserves a 10/10 for being one of the best horror games to ever be released. Now the sequel, "A Machine For Pigs," arrives September 10th, 2013 and I will instantly purchase it. Expand
  74. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    I did like the game very much. The storyline, puzzles and atmosphere was very well done. Graphics could have been improved, though. What I liked most is playing some of the mods. There are some fantastic free mods out there!
  75. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Do you want a really scare game? Here you have one. Buy a new pair of pants too. Incredible game, you can't kill your foes, you can just run, hide, and dont stare at them or you will die of fear! Some puzzle are tricky, story is awesomely strange and interesting at the same time. The environment is so dark and you almost feel you are inside this creepy castle! Can't wait for the next chapter!!
    Surely in the top 5 of the games I played!
    Expand
  76. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Played through the game numerous times, trying to find every little detail and trigger to create something new. Checked every corner and looked at every detail on paintings in the game. I think this game is very well made and the background story is purely genius. I love hiding from monsters, the pure darkness and clever puzzles this game has. I sometimes also check out some custom stories, but they're not the same. I am looking forward to the sequel as well, for it promises things I am very familiar with. Expand
  77. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best horror games I have played so far. Even when your nowhere near the enemy, the feeling of being hunted is always there. Love the mechanics of the game, and what makes it even better is the puzzle solving aspect to the game. I am only part way through the game but I feel that this game definitely deserves an 9/10.
  78. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    I love this game the bad thing about Horrors these days is there rubbish and there more just shot the monsters and your done i wouldn't call them Horrors but Amnesia: The Dark Descent shows us how Horrors should be done by keep making me change my trousers but its not just all horror it has puzzle aspects as well what makes it more fun to play, while i was playing it i would freak out and sound like im constipated it was just the sounds and the feel of the castle that you are walking around in you always feel like your being watched but what trips the insanity off is... well you can lose your sanity you do this by staying in the dark to long or looking at one of the monsters to long what this will do is make your character harder to control your screen go a bit blurry and sometimes you see random monsters that are not there and they will change you down aka the poofers also your lantern can run out of oil so you have to keep on the look out for that while staying out of the dark and avoiding monsters Expand
  79. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent has an extremely compelling storyline, wonderful sound design, and custom story option which will make the game last for months. Aside from the perfect psychological scares this game can create, the music score is composed perfectly to fit with the rich architecture of Castle Brennenburg, gameplay makes this a completely new experience for horror fans, and an amazing story that will leave you thinking... Must-buy, 10/10. Perfect game. Expand
  80. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent sets an example for other horror games that are around or being made. It defines the definition of the word 'horror' compared to some other apparent horror titles like Resident Evil 6.

    Amnesia is such a good horror game, not because of the graphics or gameplay, it is because of the immersion. If you've played this game with earphones or a proper headset it
    enhances the experience. The design of the game and the background noises combined create an eerie and terrifying experience, even without the monsters in the game. Amnesia relies on your imagination to create the horror rather than the scripted sequences, which in my opinion creates a real horror game.

    Compared to Frictional Games' previous trilogy 'Penumbra' in which you could defend yourself with shovels, pickaxes etc, in Amnesia the game focuses on you using wit over weaponry, forcing you to hide from monsters rather than fight. This feature is always good to see as because you have NOTHING at all, you feel defenseless so you must focus more on strategy.

    Once you encounter a monster its very easy to get scared and lose focus very quickly, the way they look, sound and move is enough to scare even the toughest players. In these parts of the game I've been focused during the puzzles, then I encounter a monster, swear loudly, and completely lose sense of direction. These moments in the game test your focus and sanity, seeing if you are calm or shaky when encountering your fears.

    Overall, Amnesia is a great horror game. If you compare it to Outlast, this would be just as good, maybe even a little better at times. If you aren't impressed with the new mainstream horror games like Dead Space 3 or Resident Evil 6, buy Amnesia for an immersive, realistic horror experience, and see what it truly means to be scared.
    Expand
  81. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Es la primera vez que juego un juego de survival/terror en pc y mas en primera persona. Lo mejor del juego es la ambientación, se salen, esta genial, estas constantemente en tensión y no sabes desde donde puede venir el siguiente peligro. El problema es que jamás ha llegado a asustarme ni meterme miedo. El sonido también es un gran punto a favor, a pesar de no estar doblado, la música del juego es espeluznante. Pero no todo lo del juego es oro, lo que menos me ha gustado ha sido la trama, no he terminado de entenderla muy bien y tiene bastantes flecos, no me ha llegado a enganchar y la trama para mi es fundamental porque el juego me ha parecido muy aburrido, y el otro punto negativo que le veo al juego es que no puedes jugarlo con mando, para alguien que no esta acostumbrado a jugar con ratón y teclado (me incluyo yo) puede llegar a ser frustrante jugar.... En conclusión es un gran juego de suspense (no de terror) pero que no me ha llegado a dejar con buen sabor de boca...esperaba algo mas. Expand
  82. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    Hype doesn't lie here. Truly one of the scariest gaming experience you can get. Work with fear, dread, light, building up tension and atmosphere works amazingly well in this game. One of the best gaming horrors of the last decade. 9/10
  83. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    I like this game, and even though the graphics are not polished; which might have been dev intentional, I still think it's presentation is admirable. It does a decent job of setting mood and pace. A visceral sense of danger is represented quite well and you notice the effect of environment; however there is a lot that could of been polished and while I enjoy it's current state it needed a lot more puzzles and more tweaking in the control department. For a cheap set of thrills as low budget game...yes; for a full retail price categorized game....NO!

    Horror fans can enjoy, but FPSer's might reconsider as this is not fast paced or even paced at a mediocre rate.

    8 out of 10 for overall presentation, -2 from perfect for unpolished visuals and lack of intriguing puzzles and lack of replayabilty. There is a lot of room for a perfect game here, but leaving out any tool for combat is WRONG...for one if I or anyone in that as a real life scenario is gonna grab a EFFing tool; be it chair, rock, candlestick to use as a weapon. Not being able to fight back to some degree is improbable. Using makeshift tools as weapons is what a good horror game is about.
    Expand
  84. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Frightening, mind-boggling, dark gameplay along with the intense storyline makes the entire game soooo freaking interesting- like a book you are reading, although you cant ever seem to put it down- it clings to your thoughts as you roam the halls of the ancient castle, solving mysteries and experiencing new scares. (BAZILLION)/ 10 stars

    You, and every single living soul you confer with,
    should own this amazing game! Expand
  85. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Absolutely terrifying, I love it. Easily one of the hardest and scariest horror games out there. Amazing graphics, horrifying enemies, and a powerful sense of suspense every single minute.
  86. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    Definitelly this is the scariest game i've played. I dont give a 10 because the end is not according whit the game and the part of the agrippa is not scary. For the rest i can say is the best game of the last times. You must play it.
  87. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The king of all survival horror. There's really not much more to rant about, so here's a pro/con list. PROS -Fantastic Atmosphere/Story -Great Pacing/Game-Play/Puzzles -Great UI/Screen effects -Fantastic Environments (with a good variety) -Godly sound design, maybe the best I've ever seen in a game -Several of the most memorable sequences in gaming history
    -Disturbing, chilling, frightening, and downright scary

    CONS
    -Very few enemy designs, which means encounters get stale toward the end
    -Light engine is questionable; there is no global illumination (or a faked alternative) when lighting candles or torches, which typically produces a cone of light with no interaction with the environment. I say this because lighting a torch should make a whole room visible. Instead, it just lights a section of it while leaving the rest totally pitch black
    -Fairly intensive compared to the average PC game, probably because of the physics engine
    Expand
  88. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    This is undoubtedly the best horror game I have ever played. It is--in my opinion--so horrifying not just because of the whole you-can't-fight-the-monsters-with-unhinged-jaws thing, but because of how deliciously creepy the whole environment is. There's a perfect mix of fear and calm; some of the rooms are so quiet and beautiful you tense up even more, expecting something to break the peace.

    To those who say this game is boring, my condolences to you, your lack of imagination must make life really dull. The fear in this game comes from knowing what *could* happen, sometimes what you know *will* happen, and the sheer terror of not knowing when you'll have to face it.

    I'm not a horror person at all, but let me tell you that the bravest people I know have literally walked out of the room after playing this game for 20 minutes. I play it in broad daylight on a tinyass laptop screen with just speakers, no headphones, and still want to piss myself.

    Buy this game. It's every PC's bucket list.
    Expand
  89. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    An amazing horror game, that is absolutely drowning in atmosphere, with lots of little sounds and details that make it come alive like not much games have ever done. It can tell a great story without compromising on the physics- and puzzle-based gameplay. It makes an original setting massively scary and dangerous in ways other than pointless violence and action. An absolute must-play for any real horror-fan! Expand
  90. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    This game is just so great! When you start this game it's not so scary but when you have played it for about 1 hour the monsters start coming... And they're horrifying. Puzzles in this game were pretty good and monsters scare the **** out of you.
  91. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Terrifying yet captivating. Would be itching to play a session, and in a few seconds suddenly find the desire to hit save and run to the desktop to hide!

    A must play.
  92. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    One of the FEW games that can scary your *** off. It's near perfect but it's too long, also the levels feel the same after 75% of the experience. A MUST PLAY.
  93. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is a great horror game that has an interesting story, runs well, and has HARD puzzles. Probably because I'm bad at puzzles. Anyway the thing that really makes this game is the soundtrack and the custom levels. The best custom levels (basically the best things in the game) (oh and also in order from best to 5th best) are Amnesia: Destiny Rebellion, The Small Horse Series, A Late Night Drink, White Night, and Laughing In The Darkness. Yeah so those are my personal favorite custom stories in the game (that I have played obviously) in order. Amnesia is the best horror game around (80% of Amnesia being the best horror game comes from the custom stories) and it is worth your time. Unless if you're not good with puzzles, because I'm not. However I still made it through (just barely) and I would rate this game a 7/8 Expand
  94. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is absolutely terrifying. This is one of the scariest games I have ever played.

    I was immediately scared by the atmosphere and the sound. When the door opened by itself at the start, I immediately quit the game. Later I went back to it. I encountered my first monster shortly after that. I was about to jump out and try to attack it, but then I remembered. You have run, hide or die. That is just one of the amazing things about this game.

    The story was amazing. I loved the way I had to piece the story together throughout the game. About Alexander and Brennenburg. About Daniel and the orb. It all fit together perfectly into a masterpiece: Amnesia: The Dark Descent.

    You are put into this castle. As Daniel, who has no recollection of his past. You are just a normal person. No guns, swords or any sort of weapon. The sanity effect, the lantern, the laudanum, the tinderboxes, the puzzles, just everything. It all works.

    A horror game is supposed to horrify you. And that's exactly what Frictional Games did with this masterpiece.

    I highly recommend Amnesia: The Dark Descent to anyone who is considering to buy this game.
    Expand
  95. May 30, 2014
    7
    so much detail was put into this game to appeal to every sense of fear a person has. the atmosphere is chilling and dark, no where feels safe and when you have to run, you do not want to look back. I don't know what makes the monsters so scary, but let me tell you, playing the game and watching a video on youtube is a totally different story. I don't think its the scariest game I've ever played, but definitely the most consistently scary, there is not a second in this game where I was just able to run down a hall all willy nilly without checking behind my back. the story is quite creative, but just isn't portrayed in the most appealing way, I never wanted to read any of the notes or journal writings after the first two or so, which unfortunately are sometimes needed to figure certain puzzles. although I did feel scared when nothing was actually happening... there still wasn't anything happening, which made some of the places that are free of monsters feel pretty boring, but the parts where there are monsters totally make up for it. a must play game for any horror or pc gamers, you will not be disappointed, it is very short though, took me just over 4 in a half hours to beat Expand
  96. Jun 22, 2014
    9
    A great horror game, has several interesting things like sanity, which also hindering the game makes the player has a greater connection with the setting, the game is also the puzzles, and the puzzles are beautifully drawn, inventory serves to hold the items that most of them, you will use the puzzles, it also has an interesting history.
  97. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    This game is pure intensity and scary **** It gives you so much tension that you just can't wait to finish the game, but it is so difficult and takes so long, that you are definitely not going to finish this in one day without a walkthrough. It gives you the frightening feeling to just get the hell out of wherever you are end everything. It gives you the hesitation to just look around a corner, open a door, or turn on your lantern in a pitch black room. Continuation in this game is one of the hardest things you'll ever have to do. It's so frightening and uncomfortable, that moving through the game is slow, which makes it even worse. Expand
  98. Sep 26, 2014
    8
    Sin duda alguna, uno de los mejores juegos de terror del año, te hace sentirte como si estuvieras dentro, es asombroso. Se lo recomiendo a todos, (la única forma de que no te guste, es que tengas miedo)
  99. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    From the first loading screen to the conclusion of the story, this game is absolutely terrifying. A stressful, and at times a downright unpleasant experience. Which is surely what we want from a survival horror? This is without a doubt the best horror game I've ever played, with a lovely story that has the richness and depth of a novel. I would have liked to have some replay value in it, but, I suppose you can't expect that from an interactive story. That's the only reason this doesn't get a perfect 10. Expand
  100. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    There are many reasons why this game COULD suck. The controls aren't always practical, some parts of the game just feel like empty space, etc etc. But ALL complaints manage to be overruled by a single thing: the Atmosphere. If there's one thing this game has done that NO Horror Movie, NO Horror Video Game, and NO horror Book has ever done, is to ACTUALLY SCARE ME. The use of environments and music in this game make you feel like you're back to being a 5 year old in a dark basement. Some environments keep changing minimally whenever you reenter them, but just enough to throw your brain off and make you think ''oh **** something's odd''.
    Monsters in this game are sparse. But that's actually a good thing, because this way I've been in many situations where I just snuck around like a boss for an hour, never getting caught, thought to myself ''oh hey there's probably no monster here'' and getting overconfident and run around just to find a monster around the next corner that just completely throws you off.
    But beware: This game is only interesting due to the Tension it creates inside you. If you play it during the day you won't be scared at all, and you'll just find the game boring. Playing it over Skype or with friends works fine, as long as your room is dark.
    Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    90
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is the scariest game in years. You'll get an extremely creepy vibe from the castle and all of the mysterious things that are happening there. The voice overs and the ending of the game aren't great, but this shouldn't bother anyone seeing how you'll be extremely scared when you play this on your own in a dark room.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    83
    Amnesia offers an experience so rich that we're willing to forgive its weak ending, imperfections of the engine, and low-bugdet production values.
  3. Jan 29, 2011
    90
    At times it's a struggle to play purely because of how scary it can be, and it's not often you can say that about a video game. Just remember: lights off, headphones on, and try not to go insane.