Amnesia: The Dark Descent PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Amnesia: The Dark Descent Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape. Awake... Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that willThe last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape. Awake... Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that will chill you to the core. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    It was without a doubt one of the most difficult, draining, and stressful gaming experiences I have ever had, but it's also an absolute masterpiece.
  2. Frictional made an interactive adventure that always pushes you to descend deeper and deeper towards the heart of evil, balancing the exploration of your own mind towards the point of maximum dementia with the exploration of a castle perhaps older than we are initially led to believe...
  3. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    90
    This isn't a game, it's a trip into the human psyche's darker spaces. Not for the faint of heart, but horror junkies will lap it up. [Issue#246, p.107]
  4. 85
    This is one of the scariest games in recent memory.
  5. Amnesia is a little gem you don't want to miss. Unless you are too scared.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 27, 2010
    80
    The most terrifying survival horror game released in years. Buy it. What's the matter, too scared? [Dec 2010, p.58]
  7. Amnesia is an interesting games with some good ideas. Its pace is slow, its gameplay is not common and its narrative could be better, but it delivers what hardcore horror fans may be looking for. Ideal for those who love having a bad time with their PCs, and as the game itself recommends, it's better to play in a pitch black room.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 328
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing...-ly frightening. The game takes advantage of all the little details of human nature not usually included in videoThis game is amazing...-ly frightening. The game takes advantage of all the little details of human nature not usually included in video games, and by combining heavy breathing with dizziness and eerie creaks, I practically became the person in the game. In fact, some times I would hear something to the left, and I would look away from the monitor myself. And more than just being creepy is the realism of the game, although some things are designed unrealistically on purpose, it just makes you feel like you're going crazy. I must admit I was scared many times, and the subtle revealing of the plot as you advance gives you more understanding of the situation, yet makes you feel even more scared. It doesn't require much puzzle-solving, but its goal is to scare me stiff, and frictional games did an excellent job of that. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    The only game out there that will literally make u shiver in fear. Close the door, turn off the lights, get your headphones, and prepare toThe only game out there that will literally make u shiver in fear. Close the door, turn off the lights, get your headphones, and prepare to pee your pants. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    This game just killed me. The feelin is just beyond awesome 11/10.,.,.,.,.,.The sound effect is awesome! 10/10.,.,.,.,.The graphic not reliThis game just killed me. The feelin is just beyond awesome 11/10.,.,.,.,.,.The sound effect is awesome! 10/10.,.,.,.,.The graphic not reli good, envirnoment not real enough, the monster not scary enough! They can make it better! But the cloudy effect when you see the monster just kill the problem of bad graphic monster. 7+3/10.,.,.,.,. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    This game is extremly intense and very gratifyting if you liked Frictinals earlier games (the Penumra series).
    I just love this game so far.
    This game is extremly intense and very gratifyting if you liked Frictinals earlier games (the Penumra series).
    I just love this game so far.

    The usage of tension, sounds, disorientation effects which kicks in (like "Eternal Darkness", Gamecube) when the sanity is going through the roof and the feeling of, almost constantly, fleeing from horrific enemies your charachter is too scared to look at, which sets an excellent feeling of being helplessly vulnerable.

    Trust me, it's worth every penny.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2016
    9
    A classic horror game that should be in every gamer's library. The game is not only scary but offers an amazing adventurous atmosphere for theA classic horror game that should be in every gamer's library. The game is not only scary but offers an amazing adventurous atmosphere for the player to put themselves in.

    The storyline was extremely immersive and enjoyable to experience and the art and design are simply outstanding. If you like a long and spooky challenge for that friday night with friends, I'd highly recommend this game to you! You're in for a scare that will be remembered for a lifetime!
    Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    An amazingly atmospheric and immersive game. While it's definitely the scariest game I've ever played, I can't help but feel that it couldAn amazingly atmospheric and immersive game. While it's definitely the scariest game I've ever played, I can't help but feel that it could have been a bit scarier. More non-despawning monsters would have accomplished this nicely I think. The story is subtle and non-intrusive, but satisfyingly rich if you look for it. The only gripes I have are the lackluster endings and the outdated graphics. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2015
    0
    Let's see:
    Horrible animations - check
    Boring as hell hide and seek gameplay - check Broken monsters AI - check Stupid storyline - check
    Let's see:
    Horrible animations - check
    Boring as hell hide and seek gameplay - check
    Broken monsters AI - check
    Stupid storyline - check
    Nothing scary - check
    This is one of most overrated games of all time
    Expand

See all 328 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.