Amnesia: The Dark Descent PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Amnesia: The Dark Descent Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape. Awake... Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that willThe last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape. Awake... Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that will chill you to the core. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    100
    It was without a doubt one of the most difficult, draining, and stressful gaming experiences I have ever had, but it's also an absolute masterpiece.
  2. Frictional made an interactive adventure that always pushes you to descend deeper and deeper towards the heart of evil, balancing the exploration of your own mind towards the point of maximum dementia with the exploration of a castle perhaps older than we are initially led to believe...
  3. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    90
    This isn't a game, it's a trip into the human psyche's darker spaces. Not for the faint of heart, but horror junkies will lap it up. [Issue#246, p.107]
  4. 85
    This is one of the scariest games in recent memory.
  5. Amnesia is a little gem you don't want to miss. Unless you are too scared.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 27, 2010
    80
    The most terrifying survival horror game released in years. Buy it. What's the matter, too scared? [Dec 2010, p.58]
  7. Amnesia is an interesting games with some good ideas. Its pace is slow, its gameplay is not common and its narrative could be better, but it delivers what hardcore horror fans may be looking for. Ideal for those who love having a bad time with their PCs, and as the game itself recommends, it's better to play in a pitch black room.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 331
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing...-ly frightening. The game takes advantage of all the little details of human nature not usually included in videoThis game is amazing...-ly frightening. The game takes advantage of all the little details of human nature not usually included in video games, and by combining heavy breathing with dizziness and eerie creaks, I practically became the person in the game. In fact, some times I would hear something to the left, and I would look away from the monitor myself. And more than just being creepy is the realism of the game, although some things are designed unrealistically on purpose, it just makes you feel like you're going crazy. I must admit I was scared many times, and the subtle revealing of the plot as you advance gives you more understanding of the situation, yet makes you feel even more scared. It doesn't require much puzzle-solving, but its goal is to scare me stiff, and frictional games did an excellent job of that. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    The only game out there that will literally make u shiver in fear. Close the door, turn off the lights, get your headphones, and prepare toThe only game out there that will literally make u shiver in fear. Close the door, turn off the lights, get your headphones, and prepare to pee your pants. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    This game just killed me. The feelin is just beyond awesome 11/10.,.,.,.,.,.The sound effect is awesome! 10/10.,.,.,.,.The graphic not reliThis game just killed me. The feelin is just beyond awesome 11/10.,.,.,.,.,.The sound effect is awesome! 10/10.,.,.,.,.The graphic not reli good, envirnoment not real enough, the monster not scary enough! They can make it better! But the cloudy effect when you see the monster just kill the problem of bad graphic monster. 7+3/10.,.,.,.,. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This game is #6 on my top ten favourite games of all-time. In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, you play as Daniel witch if you haven't figured outThis game is #6 on my top ten favourite games of all-time. In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, you play as Daniel witch if you haven't figured out yet, has amnesia. This game game is CRAZY on scares. The thing that made me jump the most, was in the Storage room and I don't want to spoil it. The monsters? Don't even get me started on those, the first time you play, they are scariest things ever, but once you play it a few times, it gets less scary. The graphics could be improved and there are some bugs that I have found, but overall, great game. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2016
    9
    We're currently going through an age where the horror genre is dying out as they're getting repetitive, at least for horror games that occupyWe're currently going through an age where the horror genre is dying out as they're getting repetitive, at least for horror games that occupy the Steam market and Steam Greenlight. However, when people thought that there was no hope, Amnesia: The Dark Descent decided to come on in and show everybody how a horror game should be done.

    In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, the main thing that makes it a truly great horror experience is the fact that it makes you defenceless as you have nothing to defend yourself against the horrors that may lie inside the castle. All you have is your trusty oil lantern, which keeps on running out of oil and forces you to find more. Your only way of truly escaping these monsters is to hide from them by using the darkness and the hiding places to your advantage. However, if you spend too long in the darkness, it can affect your sanity, so you can't spend too long in the darkness. This is a great way to experience true horror, making you feel defenceless against the monsters that litter the castle, that are rigorously trying to hunt you down. It's rare you feel this sort of way in horror games nowadays, which is why it's so refreshing to see it being taken into effect in this game. There are also some puzzles that are thrown at the player, none of these puzzles are difficult per say as long as you've been paying attention to the notes and hints that have been left around for you, however some of these puzzles feel a bit tedious and unnecessary to add in.

    The story of Amnesia is that you play as Daniel who has woken in the castle with no recollection of anything at all, you as the player must tread through the castle, picking up notes, piecing back together Daniel's memory, avoiding the enemies around the castle and foiling a maniacal scheme that is set to be carried out. I always like the sort of games that throw this sort of plot at the player because it makes you feel immersed in the role as the main character knows as much as the player does and he learns along with the player. However besides the set up of it, the rest of the plot doesn't feel that special and, I'm not going to reveal spoilers here or anything, but by the time I reached the end of the game, I felt like I had more questions than answers and for the last 20 minutes, due to the story, I felt like I wasn't really playing the game I thought I was going to be playing when I first started it up, if you know what I mean.

    This is an indie development company and I was amazed by the graphics when the game started. They went into lots of detail when designing the game. The lighting work that is done on the windows of the castle is great, the walls look really god and detailed, even the monster look quite good. The only complaint I have is that some of the creatures that scatter across the ground at times look like they were made of an ugly blob, but that's just nit-picking.

    The sound in this game is brilliant. The noises that occupy the castle sound terrifyingly real, especially with headphones, it really helps you immerse yourself in the world that this game is creating.

    I really enjoyed my time with Amnesia: The Dark Descent as it took risks that other horror games dare not take and did it with a terrific pay off

    Pros
    + Terrifying
    + Good gameplay elements
    + Good graphics
    + Great sounds
    + Pretty good story

    Cons
    - Tedious puzzles
    - Got a bit sci-fi near the end
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    This game is not one of those all "hype" and no "show", it will drain your guts dry as it is one of the scariest horror game there is. YouThis game is not one of those all "hype" and no "show", it will drain your guts dry as it is one of the scariest horror game there is. You play as Daniel, a Londoner who just experienced a terrible "amnesia" and woke up on the floor of a big mansion, armed with nothing at all but cinder boxes and a lantern to lit the darkness where the fiend of the mansion may hide and stalk your back. Reminded me of how a survival horror game should be, Amnesia: The Dark Descent is really the ultimate interactive horror software that horror mongers should enjoy, with a good and deep story telling keeping you tense on the edge of the seat on most of the playtime. The sanity feature really gives an identity to the game, as no game before this has it. Will you prowl in the dark hiding from the "residents" of the mansion stealthily and go nuts, or lit everything that can be with the risk of being seen but stay sane? Definitely a must buy for the true fans of the amazing genre survival horror that is. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2017
    0
    most overrated game ive ever played. this game sucks. gameplay consists of walking around dark rooms and halls of crappy graphics. Whilemost overrated game ive ever played. this game sucks. gameplay consists of walking around dark rooms and halls of crappy graphics. While sporadically hiding from crap you can't kill. Expand

See all 331 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.