Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 14, 2012
    86
    It's no secret that I thoroughly enjoyed Analogue: A Hate Story. The writing is stellar, the music and graphics are stylish, and the interactive gameplay elements are immersive. I also appreciate its unapologetic attitude toward mass appeal, instead opting to please a very specific kind of gamer. Those who want to see a fine example of elevated video game storytelling would do best to check this game out. It may not be a long ride (5-7 hours for a single playthrough), but it is a satisfying one.
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    76
    Beneath the endless text, Analogue is smart, focused, and refreshingly unpleasant stuff with a style all of its own. [Apr 2012, p.112]
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    70
    It's a game that doesn't have the luxury of distracting you with clever mechanics and satisfying challenges to excuse its lack of narrative. It's just you and the story and how exactly you digest it. If you're interested in dystopian sci-fi and intriguing mysteries and like getting angry about patriarchal misogyny, then it's certainly something you could enjoy.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    50
    My feelings about Analogue are nuanced. For every thing Love nails, there's another place where the experience falls short. The middle stretch doesn't live up to the standard set by the intro, but the finale is just satisfying enough to even it all out. If I had to sum up the whole game in one word, it would be "ehhhhhhhh". Don't take it personally, but this just ain't my story.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    40
    An intriguing exercise in interactive fiction, let down by shaky writing and a major lack of emotional engagement. [Apr 2012, p.50]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Ok, whilst a different type of game to the norm, even amongst Visual Novels, this game is great! It's hard to give an overview of the gameplay that sounds right. Put simply, the entire game's focused around accessing emails and learning about the history of a ship. Specifically, what caused all those aboard to die. If you go in expecting MW3 you'll be disappointed, but if you can take a slow, intriguing tale, with one hell of a moral dilemma if you think about it, I can't recommend Analogue enough Full Review »
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    5
    I almost bought this game JUST to give it a bad review on steam. I was playing this game at my friend's house because he was trying to tell me how good it was, so I started playing, and my god. This is soooooo slow. I'm sure there's someone out there that will LOVE this game, but it is definitely not my cup of tea. I give it a 5 because it's good at what it does, it's just not my style. Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    This game was totally worth its money. Something i cannot say about a bunch of AAA games out there. You don't have to be a huge fan of visual novel or an otaku to like it. If you're interested in sci-fi, socials or intense storytelling with at last some mature topics, you don't do anything wrong in buying. If you seek something to just play and relax (which is totally ok) you should step away from this game. It is a little short but it also feels like "more" would just lenghten it unecessary. I was a little disapointed that it was quite easy. So no much detective work and only two passages where you could use the console somehow free and creative. I would like to have another game like this, maybe slightly longer and with more posibillities to look trough the ship, use the console, maybe hacking, hide things from the ai because you don't thrust them and so on. Hey, seriously who didnt disabled the bulkheads in the reactor sequence because he tought something like "Oh hey maybe there are surviors left or i cannot board the ship if...". Anyway, good game. Full Review »