User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 85
  2. Negative: 8 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This game is a great example of how to do a visual novel. Instead of just forcing the player to read, click, read, click, read, read, go to sleep, the game constantly gives something to do. Sure, those are mostly just about showing something to the two AIs in the game, but it does keep the player entertained.

    The story is fantastic. It's both interesting and unique and it makes you want
    This game is a great example of how to do a visual novel. Instead of just forcing the player to read, click, read, click, read, read, go to sleep, the game constantly gives something to do. Sure, those are mostly just about showing something to the two AIs in the game, but it does keep the player entertained.

    The story is fantastic. It's both interesting and unique and it makes you want to read everything you can. The writing is very good too.

    The only complaint I have about the game are the endings. Majority of the endings feel too similiar to each other. It would have been nice to more differences between each ending.

    If you want to "play" something what isn't about explosions and level ups, I recommend you to try this game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    Anyone who wants to build a Visual Novel could stand to take cues from this game. Its "visual" elements are stylish and flow well for each part of the game you are exploring, building up the mood appropriately, and mood is everything in this story. The "novel" part is actually quite novel, as the game simply hands you a disorganized set of clues, and tells you to figure out the story forAnyone who wants to build a Visual Novel could stand to take cues from this game. Its "visual" elements are stylish and flow well for each part of the game you are exploring, building up the mood appropriately, and mood is everything in this story. The "novel" part is actually quite novel, as the game simply hands you a disorganized set of clues, and tells you to figure out the story for yourself. It's quite engaging, as you start out for the first 15 minutes of the game just scratching your head, trying to keep all these names straight, and not really having a clue what's important at all, but having a nagging feeling that it will all be worth it when you can jam some of those pieces together. When you do, it's a rather haunting story that all crashes down around you at once.

    That said, it's also a game I felt was somewhat short, and left far too many mysteries I rather wish that it were longer, and padded out with more dialogue that let you get a better sense of what life was like on the ship before it all came tumbling down. The story certainly doesn't really leave much room for a sequel, with it's multiple endings and destroyed setting. However, there are several reviews of this game calling it "too long" for reasons I don't quite grasp, so I guess that's a matter of perspective. I would think that anyone really trying to enjoy this little mystery would honestly like to have more mystery to have uncovered, and the "too long" people were basically people who wouldn't have been satisfied by this game at any length, however.

    Ultimately, it seems like the real decider on whether you will like this game or not depends entirely on whether you have a positive or a negative reaction to the words "Visual Novel" as a genre in the first place most people who dislike this game dislike the entire genre, and there's just no way a mystery will satisfy someone who isn't a mystery fan.
    Expand
  3. May 8, 2012
    9
    This is the most I have ever spent on an indie game on Steam, and the least I have ever regret it. Not that this is a game; it's an interactive novel. The story is intriguing, dense and balanced. The characters are nice too. I can remember the last time I have been so deeply submerged in a story. I actually built so much empathy that it blurred my actual opinion on matters of the storyThis is the most I have ever spent on an indie game on Steam, and the least I have ever regret it. Not that this is a game; it's an interactive novel. The story is intriguing, dense and balanced. The characters are nice too. I can remember the last time I have been so deeply submerged in a story. I actually built so much empathy that it blurred my actual opinion on matters of the story (you get asked for it at times). The only shortcoming I can think of is that it never makes you re-evaluate anything, despite the moral ambiguity of the subjects raised.

    All in all, I can't recommend this enough. Just, make sure you play the demo first. This might not be what you expect.
    Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    While it can be a bit short, it's very well crafted. Engaging story if you've got the patience for it, it's short yet sweet and emotional. The story is told just like any other visual novel lots of clicking on messages etc, but (with the exception of switching between the data blocks when you're within the last message of a block) it's easy to navigate. While at first you will be confusedWhile it can be a bit short, it's very well crafted. Engaging story if you've got the patience for it, it's short yet sweet and emotional. The story is told just like any other visual novel lots of clicking on messages etc, but (with the exception of switching between the data blocks when you're within the last message of a block) it's easy to navigate. While at first you will be confused about what happened, the story unfolds itself and tells an tragic yet horrific tale of abuse and murder.
    Note: while you potentially can allow your children to read it, it can get a bit heavy at times. Best is first to play completely through it yourself, and then decide if you want to have your children play through it. Early teens and older can handle it fine, younger ones... is a personal choice.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Worth every penny and more. One of the few real examples of games being used effectively and meaningfully as an artistic medium. Granted, it is unlike games as they are known in general, but to complain about that seems insane given the competence and power of what is actually delivered here. No game has ever imbued me with a sense of the weight and impact of my actions nearly as well,Worth every penny and more. One of the few real examples of games being used effectively and meaningfully as an artistic medium. Granted, it is unlike games as they are known in general, but to complain about that seems insane given the competence and power of what is actually delivered here. No game has ever imbued me with a sense of the weight and impact of my actions nearly as well, or made me engage with the characters emotionally in nearly as much depth. Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    This game may be short, but it packs a lot into that amount of time. I think the most amazing part of Analogue is the fact that I spent the entire game willing to believe that I was in fact dealing with a derelict space ship's computer. Everything from the AI interface all the was back down to the cmd prompt style override terminal seemed authentic - like a viable interface. Even some ofThis game may be short, but it packs a lot into that amount of time. I think the most amazing part of Analogue is the fact that I spent the entire game willing to believe that I was in fact dealing with a derelict space ship's computer. Everything from the AI interface all the was back down to the cmd prompt style override terminal seemed authentic - like a viable interface. Even some of the incongruent behavior of the AI Hyun-ae is explained away, but to go further in would be a spoiler and a disservice to any potential player.

    At first I was just trying to dig for the ship's admin password, but before long I wanted to know what happened to the inhabitants of this doomed colony ship - and I'm excited to learn more about the ship's history in the upcoming Hate Plus.

    This is one of the better visual novels I've explored (and the most interactive) and by far the most immersive. To anyone seeking a good sci-fi or general lost-history mystery, I must fully recommend Analogue: A Hate Story.
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Great in every sense. I don't even normally like anime or graphic novels, but as a game and a story, Analogue triumphs in so many ways it's difficult to describe.
  8. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I recently played all the way through this title for the second time, and I still found myself scribbling notes on little notepads trying to keep the facts together. Analogue is a delightful game that is a joy to play. It has a wonderful story that you piece together in an interesting way. The two characters you actually interact with are very well done. All the supporting characters areI recently played all the way through this title for the second time, and I still found myself scribbling notes on little notepads trying to keep the facts together. Analogue is a delightful game that is a joy to play. It has a wonderful story that you piece together in an interesting way. The two characters you actually interact with are very well done. All the supporting characters are the people you read about in the log files, each one having very real and deep character development. You honestly feel like you know these people, which speaks very well for Christine Love's writing ability. Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. love how analogue assumes intelligence on the part of the reader and I was really impressed with the variety in the game, not just with the subject matter but with the gameplay choices they made. For once, the limited nature of responses of VNs was actually worked into the lore and I really liked how it integrated the main barrier to immersion, the interface into the story. The suspension of belief was effortless. I couldn't find a single plausible reason not to play along with the game's lore that I was communicating with a derelict ship perusing its archives for answers. And the story of the Mughungwha was fascinating too. Some people criticise this game heavily for treading "too much" into feminism but I think considering the setting and the history and traditions of Korean society, its not too exaggerated at all. In fact, I think it was rather apt, speaking as someone familiar with both Koreas. I also liked the ambiguousness of the moral choices and how they were largely thought provoking. I didn't play out all endings but Hyun-ae's final choice where she confesses to you. I really felt as if I couldn't say yes, because her reasons for falling "in love" with me were very naive. I would just be taking advantage of a traumatized inexperienced girl so I just thought, it, I'll say maybe for now and when she's on "my" ship I'll just explain to her why and help her adjust or get her the help she needs (YES, I WAS THAT IMMERSED). Overall, personally love this game. 10/10 would recommend. Expand
  10. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    This game has far too low of a score, but it sets out to do something and does it almost perfectly. While the layout may not be perfect, it's quite simply the best interactive fiction I ever played. The world that is explored throughout this game is haunting and mesmerizing, and at times, very disturbing. This game may not be for everybody, as there is very little player input, but that'sThis game has far too low of a score, but it sets out to do something and does it almost perfectly. While the layout may not be perfect, it's quite simply the best interactive fiction I ever played. The world that is explored throughout this game is haunting and mesmerizing, and at times, very disturbing. This game may not be for everybody, as there is very little player input, but that's just Christine Love's style. In fact, I'd hardly call it a "Game" at all, but as a work of fiction, it's simply great. Check out what people have been saying about it on Kotaku, as they have a much more nuanced way of explaining it than I do. Let me just say that the Metacritic Critic Reveiw section is not a good representation of the games actual reception. It is slow paced, yes, but it's superbly written, and if you have the patience to uncover the truth hidden within the game, it's a very rewarding journey, only hampered by the occasional interface limitation, and the unfortunate option to distill all of the players input into binary options. Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    This "game" is great. It's realistically more of a visual novel with a few interactive elements, but still. It's engrossing, interesting, and it has anime waifus as a hook. To those of you developers trying to turn games into a storytelling medium, this is how you do it guys.
  12. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Can games be art? Hardly.

    But sometimes you may find a game with good story and gameplay of it is based on... reading this story. These games are often called Visuals Novels where player constantly reads walls of text. It's like reading a book (good one if you're lucky) but with ability to choose (it leads to different and often unexpected endings). This game is harder than many
    Can games be art? Hardly.

    But sometimes you may find a game with good story and gameplay of it is based on... reading this story. These games are often called Visuals Novels where player constantly reads walls of text. It's like reading a book (good one if you're lucky) but with ability to choose (it leads to different and often unexpected endings).

    This game is harder than many other VNs because here you may find many letters (with many words) not just dialogs. And if you are used to playing fast paced games (like shooters or RTS) you will suck. You need patience and cup of tea.

    But after you get accustomed to this style you will find beautifully written texts as well as great plot mixed with atmosphere of middle-age korean stuff. And then you'll love this game I swear.
    Expand
  13. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Ok, whilst a different type of game to the norm, even amongst Visual Novels, this game is great! It's hard to give an overview of the gameplay that sounds right. Put simply, the entire game's focused around accessing emails and learning about the history of a ship. Specifically, what caused all those aboard to die. If you go in expecting MW3 you'll be disappointed, but if you can take aOk, whilst a different type of game to the norm, even amongst Visual Novels, this game is great! It's hard to give an overview of the gameplay that sounds right. Put simply, the entire game's focused around accessing emails and learning about the history of a ship. Specifically, what caused all those aboard to die. If you go in expecting MW3 you'll be disappointed, but if you can take a slow, intriguing tale, with one hell of a moral dilemma if you think about it, I can't recommend Analogue enough Expand
  14. May 4, 2012
    9
    The Mugunghwa, one of the finest and most advanced spaceships out there. That was back in the 2000s, at least a thousand years ago. No one knows what happened, at some point it just vanished. It's now been spotted in the orbit of Antares B. You're a freelancer, and your employer wants you to approach it and download any log files you can find.

    Disclamer: I'd like to start saying that this
    The Mugunghwa, one of the finest and most advanced spaceships out there. That was back in the 2000s, at least a thousand years ago. No one knows what happened, at some point it just vanished. It's now been spotted in the orbit of Antares B. You're a freelancer, and your employer wants you to approach it and download any log files you can find.

    Disclamer: I'd like to start saying that this is a visual novel. There's a *LOT* to read. Reading *IS* the gameplay of this kind of game. If you don't like it (especially you, GenuineOpinion) it's unfair (and rude) to pretend to be able to judge it.

    Getting the job done is just a matter of downloading the logs you've been requested to find. This is extremely easy, unless you start to actually READ them. Then it becomes personal.
    You're just a passive observer, since this all happened in the past. You're completely powerless, there's nothing you can do to avoid the terrible and disturbing events that you acknowledge, as this great story unfolds by piecing together the informations you find while investigating diaries, emails, logs and reports. You will hate some characters, and you will love and pity some others. There is no black and white here, no one is purely innocent or completely guilty. When a game manages to get you feel these kind of things, you know you've got a great story in your hands.

    This was a really good game, i want to congratulate with the developer and wish her good luck. If you're reading, i'm waiting for your next game. (also, give us some wallpapers, please :)
    Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    It is an amazing gen-ship mystery with good sf, good characterization, good writing & good politics of class, gender & sexuality imho. I can't recommend it enough esp. for science fiction fans or anyone who enjoys a good story. The other two free games of Christine Love are pretty good also,
  16. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Analogue adds a point again where you can see that you don't need full nudes or extremely harsh situations to have a "good" visual novel.

    There's no doubt telling that the story is deep and it's told in an unconventional way that allows you to read again so you can collect your thoughts and take good actions, it has enough endings to satisfy anyone, even those bad ones and there is an
    Analogue adds a point again where you can see that you don't need full nudes or extremely harsh situations to have a "good" visual novel.

    There's no doubt telling that the story is deep and it's told in an unconventional way that allows you to read again so you can collect your thoughts and take good actions, it has enough endings to satisfy anyone, even those bad ones and there is an epic tension moment in the game that will test your typing and mind skills to the limit.

    Both characters are wonderfully developed, only if you could talk with them using the input text console...

    It's a novel I would gladly recommend to anyone who is willing to share his or her time to enjoy a nice written piece of art, with beautiful graphics and a nice and intuitive interface.
    Expand
  17. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    If you are even slightly curious about this game play the free demo! It takes seconds to download on steam and only takes about 10 minutes to play through, so you have no excuse!

    This game is not for everyone, but the demo is a very good "go/ no-go" gauge to determine if you will enjoy the rest of the game. If the demo leaves you even a little curious about the characters you'll love
    If you are even slightly curious about this game play the free demo! It takes seconds to download on steam and only takes about 10 minutes to play through, so you have no excuse!

    This game is not for everyone, but the demo is a very good "go/ no-go" gauge to determine if you will enjoy the rest of the game. If the demo leaves you even a little curious about the characters you'll love the rest of the story.
    Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 14, 2012
    86
    It's no secret that I thoroughly enjoyed Analogue: A Hate Story. The writing is stellar, the music and graphics are stylish, and the interactive gameplay elements are immersive. I also appreciate its unapologetic attitude toward mass appeal, instead opting to please a very specific kind of gamer. Those who want to see a fine example of elevated video game storytelling would do best to check this game out. It may not be a long ride (5-7 hours for a single playthrough), but it is a satisfying one.
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    70
    It's a game that doesn't have the luxury of distracting you with clever mechanics and satisfying challenges to excuse its lack of narrative. It's just you and the story and how exactly you digest it. If you're interested in dystopian sci-fi and intriguing mysteries and like getting angry about patriarchal misogyny, then it's certainly something you could enjoy.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    40
    An intriguing exercise in interactive fiction, let down by shaky writing and a major lack of emotional engagement. [Apr 2012, p.50]