Anarchy Online: Shadowlands PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Anarchy Online: Shadowlands Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadowlands is the first expansion pack for the award-winning massively multiplayer online game Anarchy Online. Shadowlands introduces an impressive range of features; new and exciting playfields, professions, monsters and game-play improvements. Shadowlands is a dark, mystical realm whereShadowlands is the first expansion pack for the award-winning massively multiplayer online game Anarchy Online. Shadowlands introduces an impressive range of features; new and exciting playfields, professions, monsters and game-play improvements. Shadowlands is a dark, mystical realm where the laws of physics are changed, and everything you ever believed in, breaks and inverts. Underneath lies the remnants of an ancient civilisation, so advanced, so magnificent it challenges the myth of human authenticity. Ancient horrors and spiritual encounters unfold inside the dark and eerie dimension, and the epic struggle for control of Rubi-Ka evolves towards its zenith, inducing an experience truly unique to the MMORPG genre. [Funcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. GameNow
    100
    What sets this game apart from every other is the obscene amount of tweakage you can do to your character. [Dec 2003, p.70]
  2. Those who can embrace the technology aspects, can invest the time to immerse themselves in the jargon and lore will find an evolving game with depth and challenge. Throw in incredible environments, an amazing soundtrack and you have a winner.
  3. The entire gaming experience, other than a few minor grammatical issues in conversations with NPCs and the necessary huge patch downloads, was as close to flawless as I’ve seen.
  4. 88
    There is just so much to see and do that even the most established players will still be making discoveries for months to come.
  5. While it's still extremely complicated, Shadowlands adds a tremendous amount of intriguing new content that helps make Anarchy Online much more worthwhile.
  6. PC Gamer
    81
    And did I mention massive? The Shadowlands expansion introduces a whole new quasi-metaphysical world to explore, along with two extra professions. [Jan 2004, p.107]
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    60
    The geography is often stunning and shows a flair for the otherworldly that puts the more expensive landscapes of "Star Wars Galaxies" to shame. [Jan 2004, p.68]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. TerriW.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    From the beta, seems to be the best game I've seen in years. Fantastic features and a soundtrack to die for. The new professions made me From the beta, seems to be the best game I've seen in years. Fantastic features and a soundtrack to die for. The new professions made me go back to AO and it has changed sooo much from release. Amazing. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing huge world, going strong for over a decade.

    New Graphic overhaul I understand with the new Dreamworld Game engine cant wait to see
    Amazing huge world, going strong for over a decade.

    New Graphic overhaul I understand with the new Dreamworld Game engine cant wait to see this game with a makeover.
    Expand
  3. Zach
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    I would have given this game a nine, due to a few bugs at release, but I just love Funcom too much for that. If you like mmorpgs, you have to I would have given this game a nine, due to a few bugs at release, but I just love Funcom too much for that. If you like mmorpgs, you have to try this. Period. GREAT JOB!!! Expand
  4. NinaS.
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Anarchy Online has had me captivated for close to two years and Shadowlands is a fantastic expansionpack, offering a huge new world and tons Anarchy Online has had me captivated for close to two years and Shadowlands is a fantastic expansionpack, offering a huge new world and tons of new things to do. The graphics and sound is awesome as well! Expand
  5. Jay
    Dec 4, 2003
    10
    Funcom has really cleaned things up since AO launched. Customer service is exceptional, gameplay is great - The playerbase is amazing. Notum Funcom has really cleaned things up since AO launched. Customer service is exceptional, gameplay is great - The playerbase is amazing. Notum Wars and Shadowlands have added new and exciting content to this truly magnificent game. Collapse
  6. GarrettP.
    Sep 12, 2003
    9
    Roxxors! Kinda steep on the learning curve but one to try. Take a new player tour and you will do just fine. I recommend playing Solitus Keeper.
  7. Sep 5, 2016
    4
    Attention: There is a chance Funcom will freeze your account and demand image files of yourself, your credit card, and your ID (passport ifAttention: There is a chance Funcom will freeze your account and demand image files of yourself, your credit card, and your ID (passport if you have nothing else) as the only solution for you to get your account back, even if there is no issue with your credit card and no suspicious activity on the account. If you're not willing to trust Funcom with your identity, they will keep the account frozen forever with no alternate solutions. All your time invested in the free account will be lost. There are several discussion threads about this, on Reddit and elsewhere if you want to look them up.

    Some of you may not realize what a huge deal it is to send that kind of personal information to a third party in a foreign country - a company that recently had their forums hacked and is struggling financially. Don't do it. Sending that kind of information to a third party is illegal (for good reason) in some countries, and even if it's not illegal in yours - your proof of identity is more valuable than any game account, and the fact that Funcom wants it so badly even though they could verify your ID in other ways should give you pause.

    For the record: this happened to me, and others. I've had no issues with my credit card ever, I had a different account that was paid without issues with the SAME credit card as the frozen account, and I didn't share the account with anyone nor was there suspicious activity. The fact that one account (by the same player) gets frozen but the second account, played at the same time and paid with the same card, does not, should tell you all you need to know about Funcom's 'security' system.

    Avoid this game if you don't want to risk losing all the time you invested.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings