Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    85
    As a pseudo NES-era throwback, it nails the careful balance between cruel and inviting. As a tribute to the Nerd, it does a decent job covering his entire career, although repetitive dialog lessens the humorous impact on repeated playthroughs. As an authentic Nerd "experience"... well... your mileage may vary, but I'd like to think it is.
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Connoisseurs of "fine humor" and fans of the Angry Nerd need not think twice about spending those 14 Euros. Go get it! It's a surprisingly solid, profanity-filled and feces-fixated chaos of a game. Hard, but fair, you'll find yourself flinging obscenities at the screen on a regular basis.
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Even though AVGNA doesn't add anything new to the platform genre, this game can count on very well crafted gameplay that can and will delight any gamer who doesn't fear real challenges. It is hard, it is not forgiving, but it is also tremendously rewarding. You definitely won't regret buying it if you've grown up during the '80s, just keep in mind it ends, and it ends damn soon. It's up to you to decide if two hours of very good gameplay are worth your 15 bucks.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    78
    Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a solid action/platforming throwback, but it’s held back by the subpar games it lampoons. It plays well and packs a challenge, but the by-the-numbers level design detracts from the fun. I recommend AVGNA for fans of the show and anyone looking for straight-up punishment without much substance.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    76
    This retro platformer is as short as it ridiculously difficult, as cool as it is wacky. Nice!
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    AVGN Adventures is a great platform, hard to play but funny, designed for the fans of the show and for those who love real challenges in videogames.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    All in all, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a fun throwback to the NES days, but with more violence and toilet humor. Fans of the Nerd will lap it up, and its intense level of difficulty certainly provides a challenging distraction for a couple of hours, but at its current price point you may want to wait until it inevitably goes on sale.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    oh my god, this game is so rewarding and hard at the same time and the homage's to the show on youtube is amazing! the difficulty is castlevainia and mega man combined, and is just plain fan service :D Full Review »
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Like you'd expect, this game is hard, but is HIGHLY rewarding. There are little to no cheap deaths, so each mistake is on you. This is what makes the game so enjoyable. It's frustrating, but is feels so satisfying to get through each level knowing that you did it with your own skills. And thankfully, there is a high amount of replay value, because there are new difficulties to unlock after completing the game. So far I haven't beaten the game (I chose to start on the "Old School" difficulty, which is the most difficult beginning difficulty (not an unlocked difficulty)), but I notice that I always come back to it. It's one of the games where you play until you get gameover, get pissed off and quit, and then a couple hours later you go back at it. The reason why I gave this a 9 instead of a 10 is because the game is quite short. There are only like 8 or 9 levels split up similar to Megaman, so if you were good enough you could beat the game in around 2 hours. But if you are looking for something that you can play that is both quick, difficult, and rewarding to play, then this is the game for you. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    6
    I played AVGN adventures for 5 hours straight and enjoyed myself. It was fun, but my main issue with the game is the price tag. For 15 dollars or cheaper you can get great games such as DuckTales Remastered or Vulgar the Viking, which are polished masterpieces with more effort put into them. AVGN is a fun game, just nothing that will even come close to your favorite NES games. There's a lack of ambition in it, it doesn't even try to achieve greatness in the ways that NES game developers did. When they went out to make a game, they tried to create a whole atmosphere. Maybe AVGNA doesn't take itself seriously enough. I didn't find it's repetitive poop jokes that funny or copy pasting things that were said in the show for the only sake of having references to everything in the show. I love AVGN, the episodes are great and always funny, but the game was not. Full Review »