Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures makes it way on to Nintendo consoles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    85
    As a pseudo NES-era throwback, it nails the careful balance between cruel and inviting. As a tribute to the Nerd, it does a decent job covering his entire career, although repetitive dialog lessens the humorous impact on repeated playthroughs. As an authentic Nerd "experience"... well... your mileage may vary, but I'd like to think it is.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Even though AVGNA doesn't add anything new to the platform genre, this game can count on very well crafted gameplay that can and will delight any gamer who doesn't fear real challenges. It is hard, it is not forgiving, but it is also tremendously rewarding. You definitely won't regret buying it if you've grown up during the '80s, just keep in mind it ends, and it ends damn soon. It's up to you to decide if two hours of very good gameplay are worth your 15 bucks.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Connoisseurs of "fine humor" and fans of the Angry Nerd need not think twice about spending those 14 Euros. Go get it! It's a surprisingly solid, profanity-filled and feces-fixated chaos of a game. Hard, but fair, you'll find yourself flinging obscenities at the screen on a regular basis.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    78
    Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a solid action/platforming throwback, but it’s held back by the subpar games it lampoons. It plays well and packs a challenge, but the by-the-numbers level design detracts from the fun. I recommend AVGNA for fans of the show and anyone looking for straight-up punishment without much substance.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    76
    This retro platformer is as short as it ridiculously difficult, as cool as it is wacky. Nice!
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    AVGN Adventures is a great platform, hard to play but funny, designed for the fans of the show and for those who love real challenges in videogames.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    All in all, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a fun throwback to the NES days, but with more violence and toilet humor. Fans of the Nerd will lap it up, and its intense level of difficulty certainly provides a challenging distraction for a couple of hours, but at its current price point you may want to wait until it inevitably goes on sale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. controls suck but are consistent. you get to play through a myriad of game throwback spoofs. Its exactly what you want to see from the AVGN. This is literally the type of game he reviews as he (you) is sucked into this game and must play his way through it to get out of the game world. I get bad reviews on bad games but this game was designed to be and anger you and that is what it does. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    i love this game it fells like an old nes , snes , sega gen
    Game and this game is pretty hard and that is why i love nes , snes , sega gen
    i love this game it fells like an old nes , snes , sega gen
    Game and this game is pretty hard and that is why i love nes , snes , sega gen etc games of that time as they were hard and they would really test youre skill level if you enjoy the AVGN On youtube and if you enjoy nes,snes,sega gen etc games then do youre self a favor and pick this game up its a very good game and i am in love with this game
    100 / 100
    this game is preferct with what it is trying to do and trying to be Its a buy all the game pick it up its a very good game.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    oh my god, this game is so rewarding and hard at the same time and the homage's to the show on youtube is amazing! the difficulty isoh my god, this game is so rewarding and hard at the same time and the homage's to the show on youtube is amazing! the difficulty is castlevainia and mega man combined, and is just plain fan service :D Collapse
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Summery: Fantastic game. The Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures took me back to the past of my childhood with kickass difficulty games such asSummery: Fantastic game. The Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures took me back to the past of my childhood with kickass difficulty games such as megaman and ghost n' goblins this rage filled plate former gave me hours of enjoyment and I would recommend it to any retro gamer who has the balls to challenge this game. You'll be swearing like a sailor after playing this game just try not to get too angry and break your computer. Good luck and have fun.

    Good points Decent Controls, Decent length, Fun & Difficult Gameplay.

    - SuperMario11
    Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    This game is pretty much what you would expect. great retro platforming game play with plenty of AVGN fanfare. the music and level designThis game is pretty much what you would expect. great retro platforming game play with plenty of AVGN fanfare. the music and level design hit it right on. every stage is filled to the brim with references to James Rolfe's videos. The game features several playable characters who all have different abilities that make them more useful in different situations so collecting each character is rewarding. As you might expect the game is full of challenge and difficultly but features several difficulty levels as not to discourage less skilled players. All in all a solid homage to a great time and a great man. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    This game has a very hard difficulty, but the controls are great, so if you die, it's on you!
    (or the unfair difficulty...)
    A cheap game
    This game has a very hard difficulty, but the controls are great, so if you die, it's on you!
    (or the unfair difficulty...)
    A cheap game (only 15 dollars) and well worth the money, and has a good (but sometimes repetitive) soundtrack.
    While this game is kinda made for the AVGN audience, you can still pick it up without too much knowledge of the show and it'll still be fun, you just might not understand all the references.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    Had to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for noHad to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for no other reason then being AVGN Fanbrats! The game itself is not impressive, there are loads of re-skinned enemies/bosses, cheap deaths and pointless cameo's! AVGN's adventures is your basic run-of-the-mill platform game, the price is unjust (£12)! Just a quick cash grab in my opinion. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews