Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures makes it way on to Nintendo consoles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    85
    As a pseudo NES-era throwback, it nails the careful balance between cruel and inviting. As a tribute to the Nerd, it does a decent job covering his entire career, although repetitive dialog lessens the humorous impact on repeated playthroughs. As an authentic Nerd "experience"... well... your mileage may vary, but I'd like to think it is.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Even though AVGNA doesn't add anything new to the platform genre, this game can count on very well crafted gameplay that can and will delight any gamer who doesn't fear real challenges. It is hard, it is not forgiving, but it is also tremendously rewarding. You definitely won't regret buying it if you've grown up during the '80s, just keep in mind it ends, and it ends damn soon. It's up to you to decide if two hours of very good gameplay are worth your 15 bucks.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Connoisseurs of "fine humor" and fans of the Angry Nerd need not think twice about spending those 14 Euros. Go get it! It's a surprisingly solid, profanity-filled and feces-fixated chaos of a game. Hard, but fair, you'll find yourself flinging obscenities at the screen on a regular basis.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    78
    Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a solid action/platforming throwback, but it’s held back by the subpar games it lampoons. It plays well and packs a challenge, but the by-the-numbers level design detracts from the fun. I recommend AVGNA for fans of the show and anyone looking for straight-up punishment without much substance.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    76
    This retro platformer is as short as it ridiculously difficult, as cool as it is wacky. Nice!
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    AVGN Adventures is a great platform, hard to play but funny, designed for the fans of the show and for those who love real challenges in videogames.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    All in all, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a fun throwback to the NES days, but with more violence and toilet humor. Fans of the Nerd will lap it up, and its intense level of difficulty certainly provides a challenging distraction for a couple of hours, but at its current price point you may want to wait until it inevitably goes on sale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. controls suck but are consistent. you get to play through a myriad of game throwback spoofs. Its exactly what you want to see from the AVGN. This is literally the type of game he reviews as he (you) is sucked into this game and must play his way through it to get out of the game world. I get bad reviews on bad games but this game was designed to be and anger you and that is what it does. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Quem diria um jogo da geração 8 bits estourar tanto quanto esse. Sou muito fã do Nerd e sempre acompanho ele em seu canal no youtube, por isso sou suspeito para fazer essa avaliação, mas, contudo, porém, entretanto, defino e avalio este game em apenas uma palavra: NOSTALGIA! Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Like you'd expect, this game is hard, but is HIGHLY rewarding. There are little to no cheap deaths, so each mistake is on you. This is what makes the game so enjoyable. It's frustrating, but is feels so satisfying to get through each level knowing that you did it with your own skills. And thankfully, there is a high amount of replay value, because there are new difficulties to unlock after completing the game. So far I haven't beaten the game (I chose to start on the "Old School" difficulty, which is the most difficult beginning difficulty (not an unlocked difficulty)), but I notice that I always come back to it. It's one of the games where you play until you get gameover, get pissed off and quit, and then a couple hours later you go back at it. The reason why I gave this a 9 instead of a 10 is because the game is quite short. There are only like 8 or 9 levels split up similar to Megaman, so if you were good enough you could beat the game in around 2 hours. But if you are looking for something that you can play that is both quick, difficult, and rewarding to play, then this is the game for you. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Before I say anything else, I want to say that I am a HUGE AVGN fan. I believe James Rolfe is a genius with his well-informed opinions he shares on his shows: Monster Madness, Board James, James and Mike, etc.

    Anyways, about the game, if you love side-scrolling games and have been playing them for a while, this may a good game for you to pick up. If you're new to the side-scrolling genre, this game may be a little difficult for you as it is relentlessly hard. You have the choice to pick between 8 worlds, so if one level is giving you too much trouble, you can move on to the next one.

    My major complaints about the game are minor, but they need to be mentioned. The number one complaint with the game is the jumping mechanic. Almost every single side-scrolling game I have ever played allows you to move a little farther after you let go of the jump button. With AVGN Adventures, the character stops immediately after you let go of the jump button. If you're used to Super Mario Bros., this will really throw you off and give you a hard time.

    Another complaint with the game is the death screen you have to see every time you die. They are funny to read for the first 5-10 minutes, but get old real quick. You can't even skip past them, you have to wait 10 seconds for each one to pass. I find myself repeatedly pressing the A button to skip past it, even though I know it does nothing.

    Other than those, this game is exceeds my expectations. There's tons of content for any AVGN fan to enjoy. Although this game is incredibly difficult, you'll find yourself smiling throughout each level.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Hard, fun, it has tons of jokes, and references also it's rewarding. AVGN Adventures is a pretty solid platformer. Sometimes it's frustrating, but it's a fair game. It needs patience and skills. There are unlockable characters, good references to the show, and the level design is pretty much fun!
    Fortunately, there are lots of checkpoints and the player starts with high amount of lifes. Also there are lots of secrets for a good replayablity value too. Old school NES style graphics are nice, and the music is also very good. It runs fluidly, and the controls are also right even playing it with a keyboard.

    Only drawback is the difficulty, it's almost "NES hard", and mainly it's pricetag. Other then that, it's a highly recommended, well crafted platform game!
    Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    This game has a very hard difficulty, but the controls are great, so if you die, it's on you!
    (or the unfair difficulty...)
    A cheap game
    (only 15 dollars) and well worth the money, and has a good (but sometimes repetitive) soundtrack.
    While this game is kinda made for the AVGN audience, you can still pick it up without too much knowledge of the show and it'll still be fun, you just might not understand all the references.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    Had to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for no other reason then being AVGN Fanbrats! The game itself is not impressive, there are loads of re-skinned enemies/bosses, cheap deaths and pointless cameo's! AVGN's adventures is your basic run-of-the-mill platform game, the price is unjust (£12)! Just a quick cash grab in my opinion. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews