Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures PC

Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures makes it way on to Nintendo consoles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    85
    As a pseudo NES-era throwback, it nails the careful balance between cruel and inviting. As a tribute to the Nerd, it does a decent job covering his entire career, although repetitive dialog lessens the humorous impact on repeated playthroughs. As an authentic Nerd "experience"... well... your mileage may vary, but I'd like to think it is.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Even though AVGNA doesn't add anything new to the platform genre, this game can count on very well crafted gameplay that can and will delight any gamer who doesn't fear real challenges. It is hard, it is not forgiving, but it is also tremendously rewarding. You definitely won't regret buying it if you've grown up during the '80s, just keep in mind it ends, and it ends damn soon. It's up to you to decide if two hours of very good gameplay are worth your 15 bucks.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Connoisseurs of "fine humor" and fans of the Angry Nerd need not think twice about spending those 14 Euros. Go get it! It's a surprisingly solid, profanity-filled and feces-fixated chaos of a game. Hard, but fair, you'll find yourself flinging obscenities at the screen on a regular basis.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    78
    Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a solid action/platforming throwback, but it’s held back by the subpar games it lampoons. It plays well and packs a challenge, but the by-the-numbers level design detracts from the fun. I recommend AVGNA for fans of the show and anyone looking for straight-up punishment without much substance.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    76
    This retro platformer is as short as it ridiculously difficult, as cool as it is wacky. Nice!
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    AVGN Adventures is a great platform, hard to play but funny, designed for the fans of the show and for those who love real challenges in videogames.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    All in all, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a fun throwback to the NES days, but with more violence and toilet humor. Fans of the Nerd will lap it up, and its intense level of difficulty certainly provides a challenging distraction for a couple of hours, but at its current price point you may want to wait until it inevitably goes on sale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. controls suck but are consistent. you get to play through a myriad of game throwback spoofs. Its exactly what you want to see from the AVGN. This is literally the type of game he reviews as he (you) is sucked into this game and must play his way through it to get out of the game world. I get bad reviews on bad games but this game was designed to be and anger you and that is what it does. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Quem diria um jogo da geração 8 bits estourar tanto quanto esse. Sou muito fã do Nerd e sempre acompanho ele em seu canal no youtube, por issoQuem diria um jogo da geração 8 bits estourar tanto quanto esse. Sou muito fã do Nerd e sempre acompanho ele em seu canal no youtube, por isso sou suspeito para fazer essa avaliação, mas, contudo, porém, entretanto, defino e avalio este game em apenas uma palavra: NOSTALGIA! Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game is cute and everything expected from the author. It is by no mean some super serious game that has meaning to revolutionize anything.The game is cute and everything expected from the author. It is by no mean some super serious game that has meaning to revolutionize anything. What I noticed from the game in my view is that it takes a ton of old game elements that worked and makes them feel interactive and fun again. The humor of course is directly from the act put on by the author. This game is everything it should be and stands for. Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Summery: Fantastic game. The Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures took me back to the past of my childhood with kickass difficulty games such asSummery: Fantastic game. The Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures took me back to the past of my childhood with kickass difficulty games such as megaman and ghost n' goblins this rage filled plate former gave me hours of enjoyment and I would recommend it to any retro gamer who has the balls to challenge this game. You'll be swearing like a sailor after playing this game just try not to get too angry and break your computer. Good luck and have fun.

    Good points Decent Controls, Decent length, Fun & Difficult Gameplay.

    - SuperMario11
    Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2016
    8
    After finally completing The Angry Video Game Adventures for the first time i can only say...WOW.

    STORY: The plot of AVGN Adventures goes
    After finally completing The Angry Video Game Adventures for the first time i can only say...WOW.

    STORY: The plot of AVGN Adventures goes like this: One day the Nerd and his friends were playing a ***** game, when suddenly the TV sucks them in, the nerd tries to escape, but he gets grabbed by the sack and he enters Game Land to complete 9 levels and find out who the **** is responsible for this.

    PRESENTATION: AVGN Adventures, like many other games, looks like an old retro-NES-SNES-game and by that i mean that the game has a mixture between 8 and 16 bits type graphics and sound (all tho you could argue with 32 bits for the sound, but that's besides the point). The sprites and backgrounds are well done and detailed, the framerate is consistent (at around 60fps) and the music ¡is kick-***!, everything in this game looks colorful, eye catching and different from one and other.

    GAMEPLAY: AVGN Adventures plays like a 2D platforming shooter from the NES era with a very high difficulty. You platform around and shoot the enemies with the NES Zapper to progress and you can get upgrades or sub-weapons to add to your arsenal.

    The game has 4 Characters to play with and each of them has some especial attribute, tho you do have to find the other characters. First there's "The Nerd", which is my personal favorite, he's the most balanced character of them all with a decent run speed, a decent jump high and he does decent damage, BUT! he is the only character who can use the upgrades and sub-weapons + he can stand in place and shoot in 8 directions, he is personally my character of choice most of the time. Then there's the "The Guitar Guy", he might seem like an awful character at first since he cannot use any sub-weapon or upgrade, he can only fire straight forward and he's jump is very...meh, BUT! he is the fastest of the bunch and his proyectiles can go through walls, proyectiles and barriers and believe me that doesn't sound like much, but he is very useful later on, especially on the final boss. Next there's "************ Mike", he has decent run speed and his weapon has a little range, BUT! he can use that weapon to destroy certain walls and he can jump the highest. And then theres "********-Man", he is the slowest of the bunch and he's jump is TERRIBLE, BUT he's the strongest and he can do a "not-so-helpful-double-jump", personally i never used him, and i feel he's the worst of all the characters. You find these hidden characters (excluding the Nerd) by using the abilities that each of them have.

    Now while the game does have all of those characters, they are actually not required to beat the game. YEAH every level was designed in a way so you can complete all of them with just the Nerd, but while this is true, certain parts of the levels will be a **** ton easier if you have a buddy along with you, so keep that in mind. Speaking of the levels, the level design, for the most part, is pretty good...that's all i can say about it. This is certainly good level design, but i feel like sometimes got lazy when designing some parts of the levels. Each level has some sort of gimmick in them, but aside from that each level plays pretty much the same way. One of the things that this game loves to throw you is death blocks (pretty self-explanatory), there's like a bizillion of them throughout the game and the placement can be very brutal at times. The levels have some very fun set pieces and creative enemies (tho some of them are just re-skins of other enemies).

    Overall the level design for the most part is really good, but there are some parts that are designed to anger you AND OMG they succeed. The game is hard, in a Castlevania, Ninja Gaiden, Zelda II, Megaman type of way. Now don't worry it's not as hard as any of those, but some of them can make say the phrases that the nerd says every time you die. But quite frankly only 2 of the 9 levels legitimately angered me and by the 2-3-4-6-8 playthrough of the level...it wasn't that bad and i felt like most of my deaths were fair and even if you feel like you are having a hard time, the game has different difficulty levels. I recommend normal mode for your first playthrough, it gives you 30 lives and 3 beers (which are this game life bar) and even in the highest difficulty, there are a lot of checkpoints throughout each stage.

    At the end of every level there's a Boss which will require a different strategy to defeat and you will have to memorize the patterns in order to beat them, tho some of them are very easy.

    The game has a lot of references to the Angry Video Game Videos and any AVGN fan (like me) will feel right at home with the over abundance of references, jokes and even cameos from other youtubers and enemies of the Nerd.

    So overall with great graphics, music, bosses, characters, controls, decent level design, references and much more, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures gets and 8/10. Definitely worth your money...and i can't wait for the sequel!!!.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're a fan of AVGN, you'll love all the references and hidden secrets, and thats what this game shines as, a little AVGN extravaganza. As a game itself....it's merely ok. I found myself rather liking the retro graphics and the music was actually rather good. The controls however are iffy at times, and given how precise the game demands you to be, it can sometimes be more frustrating then it's worth. The levels are also hit or miss. All are visually unique from one another, and while about half of them I would say were well done and extremely fun to play, the other half quickly became a chore and sucked all the fun from the game(case in point, whoever designed the BOO! level should have their hands chopped off in public, it is the laziest, most uninspired and boring level layout I have ever seen, the entire thing was the same long annoying gimmick for the entire trek). However it was never aneurysm inducing enough to make me stop playing(though I did have to knock the difficulty down a peg), and upon completing it I found myself smiling, it was a Nerd experience, for worse, and thankfully, for the better aswell. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    Had to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for noHad to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for no other reason then being AVGN Fanbrats! The game itself is not impressive, there are loads of re-skinned enemies/bosses, cheap deaths and pointless cameo's! AVGN's adventures is your basic run-of-the-mill platform game, the price is unjust (£12)! Just a quick cash grab in my opinion. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews