• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2012
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 50
  2. Negative: 21 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    2
    It plays like a bad 90's adventure game: a terrible interface (four clicks every time I want to use an item? lolwut), no tutorial for the non-obvious controls, and puzzles so incredibly obscure and pointless that no one could possibly beat this game without a walkthrough. And even when you DO figure out a puzzle on your own, you don't feel like, "Cool, I figured it out," you feel like, "Wow, that was stupid."

    On the plus side, it looks nice, and has good music. But that's about it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    I really like this game. Yes, it is quite short and yes, you may want to wait until it is for sale and not pay the full price. Other than that, it has received a major makeover with a new optional hint-system that helps you out where the solution is too obscure. I find all solutions logical, especially since you have only a few items in your inventory and objects to interact with - so even try and error gets you progress easily. Sadly, the developers implemented an obligatory registration via email for the game to be started at all. The game manages to build up a lot of tension and atmosphere with only a few rooms to explore. The soundtrack and triggered events are well implemented into the game-play. The controls are smooth, the graphics beautiful and if you take your time to explore and recap what you have seen and found, you will find the solution on your own. I have only one issue with it and that is that there is a possible ending within 20 minutes of the game. If you do not know that this is a speed run alternative ending, you may get frustrated. Simply waiting a few minutes before unlocking the final step for the quick ending will solve this problem. There are three endings to unlock and I was encouraged enough by the game and the storytelling to find them all. In total, this will still be a quick play-through with about 3 to 4 hours if you take your time. For me, the experience was worth the price but I guess you really have to like this kind of puzzle game. If you are not a fan of both subtle horror and puzzle adventure and if you do not want to spend time just enjoying the ambiance, this game is probably not for you. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    I picked this up on Steam when it was released as it seemed like an interesting concept, however there are a few problems with it that are hard to get over.

    Firstly the character walks very slowly, and while early on this isn't a problem it becomes annoying during the later segments that have large areas you need to keep backtracking through.
    The Graphics are visually fine but nothing
    exceptional, some low res textures here and there and some models are quite blocky.

    Horror wise it isn't too bad, a few paranormal events happen every now and again when you're in an area too long which are quite nice, sort of like what Underhell did during the House segment.

    My main issue though is the almost random tasks and the hint system, the game suffers from the typical adventure game problem of having illogical tasks and solutions and the game has a hint system, unfortunately that hint system often doesn't tell you what you need to do on a certain task or is very vague, there is also no way of checking the tasks so I would often be wandering around only to find there was an item I missed picking up.
    There is also problems with using some items on certain areas, you may use the item on the object but you often have to click just in the right area for it to work.

    If you like point and click games or art games you might like Anna, and it's probably worth playing if you see it cheap, however it's quite short and gets let down by the vagueness of the tasks.
    Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2012
    3
    This isn't a game, it is an interactive music video. There is a blatant agenda, by some clever and arguably talented composers, to exploit a popular genre of game via high-traffic distributors like steam in effort to sell music which otherwise had little to no hope at all of being marketed by a major record label. I have played the game to completion, if anyone is wondering. I gave it a very generous 3, because at 2 hours long, the game never pretended to be anything other than what it blatantly is, a desperate attempt to get people interested in some hippie music. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    2
    I was really looking forward to playing Anna, since I love point-and-click adventures/puzzle games with a creepy atmosphere. However, apart from some really scary paranormal things happening, the game was rather disappointing.
    It didn't bother me that it was quite short, but in my opinion, most of the puzzles were frustrating and pointless. I had to use a walk-through for the greater part
    of the game, otherwise I wouldn't have been able to finish it. To be honest, the whole story didn't make much sense to me.
    Also, the controls are horrible - the mouse either moves too fast or extremely slowly, and using items from the inventory is too complicated.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    Anna really frustrates me to death. On one hand, it is exactly the type of game (or more accurately, experience) I love: Great looking environments, freaky atmosphere, chilling story (though nothing extensive at all, but it makes you think a bit about what happened to the characters and to draw your own conclusion), and AWESOME soundtrack. Anna is much like Dear Esther which I actually liked for the same reasons, but Anna is an actual interactive puzzle game. So then on the other hand, the "puzzles" are absolutely frustrating and over-complicated, and most of the stuff you have to do to progress seems simply done to extend the game's playtime (which is more than a few hours without using the help system or cheating with a walk-through online). In the end, Anna is a daring experiment I am glad I experienced but doubt I would visit again. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2012
    3
    This game is way to short. Took me 1 hour to complete.... The only thing that I liked was the music. But wasn't this game supposed to be a Horror? There is nothing scary
  8. Sep 22, 2012
    0
    I cannot play this game. I bought the Steam version, put in my CD key, but that's not enough. I also had to register an account with Kalypso Media which requires activation through an email that they send. I'm still waiting on that email and am disappointed that I cant play something I purchased hours ago. I filed a ticket with Kalypso, registered for a Metacritic account (which also used email activation), and wrote this review all while waiting for the account activation. Meanwhile there are probably pirates who didn't pay that are already playing it. If you don't like DRM, avoid this game! Collapse
  9. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Awful game, I would rather play The Stanley Parable (play it Mike, legit game bro) Its just academic that a horror game should be engaging. And this wasn't. But hey

    YOLO
  10. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    I absolutely loved this game. Yes, sometimes the slow walking was a little annoying, but it was crucial to the game play, as more things happen to drive your character into madness as time went by. It had a different sense of "creepiness" than your standard horror games. This was a very creative and fun game. I will admit, I needed a walk-through to get through some parts. It's definitely not your standard "any retard can figure it out" kind of game. It makes you think. If you buy this game, keep in mind that some things must be combined that you'd never think of combining in your inventory. I love the mindset behind this game. There's no guessing the ending in this game. You cannot see what's coming. The music is beautiful and kinda eases the nerves at times. This is not an 'action packed, shoot em up' type of game. It's more of a ' what the hell is going on, this is really creeping me out' type of game. :) Very original. Keep in mind, it is a independent made game. Not like Blizzard made it or anything. Doesn't cater to everyone. Expand
  11. Sep 22, 2012
    0
    I cannot play this game. I bought the Steam version, put in my CD key, but that's not enough. I also had to register an account with Kalypso Media which requires activation through an email that they send. I'm still waiting on that email and am disappointed that I cant play something I purchased hours ago. I filed a ticket with Kalypso, registered for a Metacritic account (which also used email activation), and wrote this review all while waiting for the account activation. Meanwhile there are probably pirates who didn't pay that are already playing it. If you don't like DRM, avoid this game! Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    50
    Design and technical implementation issues mar a promising adventure. [Oct 2012, p.83]
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    This Italian indie game doesn't live up to our expectations, but it is in a position to deliver some interesting adventure/ horror moments and can offer some great replay value.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    55
    Too short and underdeveloped, Anna is an interesting experiment that won't reach a wider audience but shows Dreampainters' potential. [10/2012, p.74]