Anna PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Anna Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Anna is a first person horror adventure game.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    It starts as an idyllic walk of a dreamer, but soon becomes an occult ghost story with a touch of thriller. Albeit being a classic adventure at its core, Anna shows off a very dynamic orchestration of the supernatural.
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    The debut of Dreampainters in the big market of the videogames is excellent. Anna is a great horror adventure game. The sawmill evolves with the plot and the three final contained in the game increase the longevity, between 5 and 10 hours. It's a winner bet for the italian development team!
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    70
    Even with some minor imperfections, the game is well developed and entertaining, enthralling with good storytelling and an nicely designed environment, enhanced by the excellent audio recordings.
  4. CD-Action
    Aug 29, 2012
    55
    Too short and underdeveloped, Anna is an interesting experiment that won't reach a wider audience but shows Dreampainters' potential. [10/2012, p.74]
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    Design and technical implementation issues mar a promising adventure. [Oct 2012, p.83]
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Back to the drawing board to think about, where the fear really comes from and exchange some of the too numerous and crude puzzles for gameplay-value. In this form, it canĀ“t even be recommended for the small price.You get better horror from Slender or the the first two Exmortis without having to pay for it.
  7. Aug 3, 2012
    30
    As much as I want to like Anna for being a horror point-and-click, with such extensive translation issues, I can't in good conscious recommend it to anyone. It has a few good scares and some startling imagery, but otherwise just can't deliver the well-crafted intrigue of its peers.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    I absolutely loved this game. Yes, sometimes the slow walking was a little annoying, but it was crucial to the game play, as more thingsI absolutely loved this game. Yes, sometimes the slow walking was a little annoying, but it was crucial to the game play, as more things happen to drive your character into madness as time went by. It had a different sense of "creepiness" than your standard horror games. This was a very creative and fun game. I will admit, I needed a walk-through to get through some parts. It's definitely not your standard "any retard can figure it out" kind of game. It makes you think. If you buy this game, keep in mind that some things must be combined that you'd never think of combining in your inventory. I love the mindset behind this game. There's no guessing the ending in this game. You cannot see what's coming. The music is beautiful and kinda eases the nerves at times. This is not an 'action packed, shoot em up' type of game. It's more of a ' what the hell is going on, this is really creeping me out' type of game. :) Very original. Keep in mind, it is a independent made game. Not like Blizzard made it or anything. Doesn't cater to everyone. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2016
    9
    Anna hit me like a thunder when it came out. Complex story, hidden in every little detail, splendid and picturesque view outside, mysteriousAnna hit me like a thunder when it came out. Complex story, hidden in every little detail, splendid and picturesque view outside, mysterious interior of the house make it a game worth playing. Yes, hard puzzles made me irritated and disturbed sometimes at least because some of them were illogical. However, in the end I got used to the thought that it has to be a part of the plot too. Mostly as a binding ribbon that literally says "Everything is not that easy as you may have thought." This game held me frightened, terribly intrigued for such a long time that now I can proudly say it deserves 9 of 10. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    I really like this game. Yes, it is quite short and yes, you may want to wait until it is for sale and not pay the full price. Other thanI really like this game. Yes, it is quite short and yes, you may want to wait until it is for sale and not pay the full price. Other than that, it has received a major makeover with a new optional hint-system that helps you out where the solution is too obscure. I find all solutions logical, especially since you have only a few items in your inventory and objects to interact with - so even try and error gets you progress easily. Sadly, the developers implemented an obligatory registration via email for the game to be started at all. The game manages to build up a lot of tension and atmosphere with only a few rooms to explore. The soundtrack and triggered events are well implemented into the game-play. The controls are smooth, the graphics beautiful and if you take your time to explore and recap what you have seen and found, you will find the solution on your own. I have only one issue with it and that is that there is a possible ending within 20 minutes of the game. If you do not know that this is a speed run alternative ending, you may get frustrated. Simply waiting a few minutes before unlocking the final step for the quick ending will solve this problem. There are three endings to unlock and I was encouraged enough by the game and the storytelling to find them all. In total, this will still be a quick play-through with about 3 to 4 hours if you take your time. For me, the experience was worth the price but I guess you really have to like this kind of puzzle game. If you are not a fan of both subtle horror and puzzle adventure and if you do not want to spend time just enjoying the ambiance, this game is probably not for you. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2012
    3
    This game is way to short. Took me 1 hour to complete.... The only thing that I liked was the music. But wasn't this game supposed to be aThis game is way to short. Took me 1 hour to complete.... The only thing that I liked was the music. But wasn't this game supposed to be a Horror? There is nothing scary Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2012
    3
    This isn't a game, it is an interactive music video. There is a blatant agenda, by some clever and arguably talented composers, to exploit aThis isn't a game, it is an interactive music video. There is a blatant agenda, by some clever and arguably talented composers, to exploit a popular genre of game via high-traffic distributors like steam in effort to sell music which otherwise had little to no hope at all of being marketed by a major record label. I have played the game to completion, if anyone is wondering. I gave it a very generous 3, because at 2 hours long, the game never pretended to be anything other than what it blatantly is, a desperate attempt to get people interested in some hippie music. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    2
    It plays like a bad 90's adventure game: a terrible interface (four clicks every time I want to use an item? lolwut), no tutorial for theIt plays like a bad 90's adventure game: a terrible interface (four clicks every time I want to use an item? lolwut), no tutorial for the non-obvious controls, and puzzles so incredibly obscure and pointless that no one could possibly beat this game without a walkthrough. And even when you DO figure out a puzzle on your own, you don't feel like, "Cool, I figured it out," you feel like, "Wow, that was stupid."

    On the plus side, it looks nice, and has good music. But that's about it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Awful game, I would rather play The Stanley Parable (play it Mike, legit game bro) Its just academic that a horror game should be engaging.Awful game, I would rather play The Stanley Parable (play it Mike, legit game bro) Its just academic that a horror game should be engaging. And this wasn't. But hey

    YOLO
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews