• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Anna is a first person horror adventure game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    The debut of Dreampainters in the big market of the videogames is excellent. Anna is a great horror adventure game. The sawmill evolves with the plot and the three final contained in the game increase the longevity, between 5 and 10 hours. It's a winner bet for the italian development team!
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    80
    It starts as an idyllic walk of a dreamer, but soon becomes an occult ghost story with a touch of thriller. Albeit being a classic adventure at its core, Anna shows off a very dynamic orchestration of the supernatural.
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    70
    Even with some minor imperfections, the game is well developed and entertaining, enthralling with good storytelling and an nicely designed environment, enhanced by the excellent audio recordings.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    55
    Too short and underdeveloped, Anna is an interesting experiment that won't reach a wider audience but shows Dreampainters' potential. [10/2012, p.74]
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    50
    Design and technical implementation issues mar a promising adventure. [Oct 2012, p.83]
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    40
    Back to the drawing board to think about, where the fear really comes from and exchange some of the too numerous and crude puzzles for gameplay-value. In this form, it canĀ“t even be recommended for the small price.You get better horror from Slender or the the first two Exmortis without having to pay for it.
  7. Aug 3, 2012
    30
    As much as I want to like Anna for being a horror point-and-click, with such extensive translation issues, I can't in good conscious recommend it to anyone. It has a few good scares and some startling imagery, but otherwise just can't deliver the well-crafted intrigue of its peers.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    I absolutely loved this game. Yes, sometimes the slow walking was a little annoying, but it was crucial to the game play, as more thingsI absolutely loved this game. Yes, sometimes the slow walking was a little annoying, but it was crucial to the game play, as more things happen to drive your character into madness as time went by. It had a different sense of "creepiness" than your standard horror games. This was a very creative and fun game. I will admit, I needed a walk-through to get through some parts. It's definitely not your standard "any retard can figure it out" kind of game. It makes you think. If you buy this game, keep in mind that some things must be combined that you'd never think of combining in your inventory. I love the mindset behind this game. There's no guessing the ending in this game. You cannot see what's coming. The music is beautiful and kinda eases the nerves at times. This is not an 'action packed, shoot em up' type of game. It's more of a ' what the hell is going on, this is really creeping me out' type of game. :) Very original. Keep in mind, it is a independent made game. Not like Blizzard made it or anything. Doesn't cater to everyone. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    I really like this game. Yes, it is quite short and yes, you may want to wait until it is for sale and not pay the full price. Other thanI really like this game. Yes, it is quite short and yes, you may want to wait until it is for sale and not pay the full price. Other than that, it has received a major makeover with a new optional hint-system that helps you out where the solution is too obscure. I find all solutions logical, especially since you have only a few items in your inventory and objects to interact with - so even try and error gets you progress easily. Sadly, the developers implemented an obligatory registration via email for the game to be started at all. The game manages to build up a lot of tension and atmosphere with only a few rooms to explore. The soundtrack and triggered events are well implemented into the game-play. The controls are smooth, the graphics beautiful and if you take your time to explore and recap what you have seen and found, you will find the solution on your own. I have only one issue with it and that is that there is a possible ending within 20 minutes of the game. If you do not know that this is a speed run alternative ending, you may get frustrated. Simply waiting a few minutes before unlocking the final step for the quick ending will solve this problem. There are three endings to unlock and I was encouraged enough by the game and the storytelling to find them all. In total, this will still be a quick play-through with about 3 to 4 hours if you take your time. For me, the experience was worth the price but I guess you really have to like this kind of puzzle game. If you are not a fan of both subtle horror and puzzle adventure and if you do not want to spend time just enjoying the ambiance, this game is probably not for you. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    Anna really frustrates me to death. On one hand, it is exactly the type of game (or more accurately, experience) I love: Great lookingAnna really frustrates me to death. On one hand, it is exactly the type of game (or more accurately, experience) I love: Great looking environments, freaky atmosphere, chilling story (though nothing extensive at all, but it makes you think a bit about what happened to the characters and to draw your own conclusion), and AWESOME soundtrack. Anna is much like Dear Esther which I actually liked for the same reasons, but Anna is an actual interactive puzzle game. So then on the other hand, the "puzzles" are absolutely frustrating and over-complicated, and most of the stuff you have to do to progress seems simply done to extend the game's playtime (which is more than a few hours without using the help system or cheating with a walk-through online). In the end, Anna is a daring experiment I am glad I experienced but doubt I would visit again. Collapse
  4. Sep 22, 2012
    3
    This game is way to short. Took me 1 hour to complete.... The only thing that I liked was the music. But wasn't this game supposed to be aThis game is way to short. Took me 1 hour to complete.... The only thing that I liked was the music. But wasn't this game supposed to be a Horror? There is nothing scary Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    2
    It plays like a bad 90's adventure game: a terrible interface (four clicks every time I want to use an item? lolwut), no tutorial for theIt plays like a bad 90's adventure game: a terrible interface (four clicks every time I want to use an item? lolwut), no tutorial for the non-obvious controls, and puzzles so incredibly obscure and pointless that no one could possibly beat this game without a walkthrough. And even when you DO figure out a puzzle on your own, you don't feel like, "Cool, I figured it out," you feel like, "Wow, that was stupid."

    On the plus side, it looks nice, and has good music. But that's about it.
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    2
    I was really looking forward to playing Anna, since I love point-and-click adventures/puzzle games with a creepy atmosphere. However, apartI was really looking forward to playing Anna, since I love point-and-click adventures/puzzle games with a creepy atmosphere. However, apart from some really scary paranormal things happening, the game was rather disappointing.
    It didn't bother me that it was quite short, but in my opinion, most of the puzzles were frustrating and pointless. I had to use a walk-through for the greater part of the game, otherwise I wouldn't have been able to finish it. To be honest, the whole story didn't make much sense to me.
    Also, the controls are horrible - the mouse either moves too fast or extremely slowly, and using items from the inventory is too complicated.
    Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Awful game, I would rather play The Stanley Parable (play it Mike, legit game bro) Its just academic that a horror game should be engaging.Awful game, I would rather play The Stanley Parable (play it Mike, legit game bro) Its just academic that a horror game should be engaging. And this wasn't. But hey

    YOLO
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews