• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2011
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    93
    ANNO 2070 is the perfect game for everyone who loves to tweak an economy and build large scale cities. Especially the endgame is really complex with many things to do. A must have for every ANNO-Player.
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    A significantly more accessible setting makes this latest Anno a must play for all city management fans. [March 2012, p.52]
  3. Jan 10, 2012
    90
    Anno 2070 pushes the series to incredible highs and is amongst the best in its genre. The easy to learn controls and rules, new online options and the way you can build while preserving nature all make this the best strategy game of 2011.
  4. Dec 24, 2011
    90
    Glancing 60 years into the future and learning from old mistakes, Related Designs made a masterpiece! [January 2012, p.65]
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    90
    The developers have succeeded in creating a game faithful to the tradition and at the same time a game full of new elements and mechanics, that make it feel fresh. All that, plus a great campaign and a variety of multiplayer options make Anno 2070 an excellent game and even some technical issues can't change that.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    90
    It's about expansion, trading, economics, boats, and staring at a lot of awfully pretty sci-fi buildings while you do so... which, frankly, is more than an enough for me.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    90
    Thanks to its amazing world of possibilities, deep gameplay mechanics and engaging progression, Anno 2070 proves to be a top class sim-RTS destined to entertain any fan of the genre for a very long time.
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    90
    While it may bewilder players new to the genre with the sheer complexity of it all, Anno 2070 succeeds at giving the decade-old series a fantastic makeover.
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Ubisoft made a great decision in taking the Anno franchise to the future. Trading, building, doing quests, there is a ton of stuff to do. It's very interesting to see the environment play a big role and the effects of polution add a great new gameplay concept. Anno 2070 really is all about building and trading and won't be fulfilling for people that are looking to rage war.
  11. Dec 7, 2011
    89
    A rich game with tons of content. Anno 2070 is one of the best iterations in the series. Blue Byte has built another great game.
  12. 88
    Even so, Anno 2070 is one of the best titles released in 2011 and without equal when compared to other games in the genre. The three defining elements of the series (alongside the almost infinite replay value) – urban planning, commercial routes and opponent interaction – are now more complex.
  13. Jan 10, 2012
    87
    The newest iteration of the Anno series builds successfully on the previous Anno games. Setting Anno 2070 in the future gives the game a whole new angle. Managing the economy and mastering trade and diplomacy are of course vital, but it is the Waterworld-esque setting that distinguishes Anno 2070 from its competitors. Will you go green and use renewable energy? Or do whatever it takes to generate enough energy for your colony – even if it means polluting your surroundings? [Jan 2012]
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    87
    Anno 2070 is a game for the slow-paced, economy-driven game fans. It packages a beautiful game of capitalistic supremacy with radiant graphics and an interface that has been tried and tested over the years. Yet with the introduction of the underseas empires and combat, it attempts to branch out and make a name for itself in the series, and for the most part it succeeds on all counts.
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    87
    Anno 2070 is a top class sim-RTS game. A must have for every Anno Fan.
  16. Dec 27, 2011
    85
    It's a fantastic, addictive economic strategy at its best that you have to try. Pefect for long winter evenings. [January 2012, p.50]
  17. Dec 16, 2011
    85
    The sci-fi city building of Anno 2070 is a fresh take on a familiar genre. Expect to get hooked, and stay hooked.
  18. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Anno 2070 achieves a great futuristic atmosphere, and this is a great reason to introduce many new features that make the game fresh, like the introduction of factions or the renewed multiplayer mode. A great new entry in the Anno series.
  19. Dec 2, 2011
    85
    Sure, I was lured in by Anno 2070's good looks, but its brains and depth that make this one a real beauty. She's a keeper.
  20. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    Regardless of the validity of pushing Anno away from a historical setting, Anno 2070 once again proves that the real-time strategy genre is alive and well, and should be considered seriously by any armchair dictator with a lot of spare time.
  21. 84
    Putting aside minor hindrances, the game is a pleasant revival of the legendary franchise, displaying high replayability, relative to recent games. [February 2012]
  22. 80
    Jump to the future paid off to the developers. The result of their work is diverse and beautiful simulation-building strategy with a strong focus on ecology. [Christmas 2011]
  23. Jan 19, 2012
    80
    Anno 2070 is a pleasantly exceptional direction of the series. In spite of the fact that it changes the style drastically, it doesn't redo the well-known mechanics; it tunes them up to perfection. Newcomers might only be discouraged by its higher difficulty, but believe me when I say it's worth it.
  24. Dec 16, 2011
    80
    Anno takes it to the future with a game beautifully crafted that offers immense depth, great graphics and the Anno gameplay we know and love.
  25. 80
    Going green has never been so entertaining, with the only game this Christmas where brain not brawn will save the world.
  26. Nov 30, 2011
    80
    Anno 2070 is a new and attractive offer for fans of the genre, as it is a clear successor of Anno 1404. But Blue Byte's work still suffers the same defects as always: oversimplification of commercial, diplomatic and military elements. However, this is a high quality title and a perfect choice if you liked any of the Anno series titles. You should not hesitate to colonize the futuristic version of a these great games, although you're not a science fiction fan. And if you've never gone through any Anno-game, you will have a good opportunity to jump into the genre.
  27. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    Anno 2070 was expected to take itself very seriously, but the way it deals with the eco theme is caricatural. Too bad. However, the anticipation background remains refreshing for the series, and the gameplay keeps everything the fans liked. Blue Byte doesn't change the formula, but adds a couple layers of richness to the content (three factions, scientific research, community bonus). Only the combats would gain by being completely re-thought.
  28. Nov 30, 2011
    79
    For the strategy gamers who love base-building rather than raiding and for the keen traders who want to settle down and establish a port and a merchant navy, I can imagine little better: Anno strikes a very interesting balance that you won't find elsewhere, and it should provide a lot of gameplay hours.
  29. Jan 23, 2012
    75
    Anno 2070 is a polished management sim with some innovative ideas, but it doesn't push them far enough.
  30. 70
    The leap into the future was a good move by Ubisoft, enabling the combination of the formula already established with elements of science fiction.
  31. Dec 11, 2011
    70
    A slow paced and highly complex RTS with focus on ecology.
  32. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    The revamped GUI leads you brilliantly and "ergonomically" to the build chains you want to produce the goods you desire, without needing to constantly recourse to rollover tips or a game encyclopedia (although both are also available), and this just makes the whole experience pleasant and logical.
  33. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 412 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 135
  2. Negative: 45 out of 135
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    The graphics are unbelievable. However, when you start to examine Anno 2070 as an in-depth game, it is not a long lasting treat. Unlike most of the user reviews for this game, I come in new to the series. I was excited to hear that it was a blend of city building and real-time strategy. I was disappointed to find out that, while it does blend the two genres, it falls short of being rich in either side of content. As far as a city builder, it is spectacular in it's detail. I cannot say enough about the graphics, as it is the only reason why I played so long. However, as I got further into the game, I realized how limited I was to the types of buildings I could create, especially according to range. You are limited to how you would like to structure the city by how close you construct hospitals, casinos, trade depots, etc. The problem with this is that it leads to a lack of free expression in creating a city, having to structure around the peripheral buildings. This leads to a feeling that the entire game is linear in nature - there are not a lot of options to how you can plan a city. This is not helped by the campaign, which does not allow you to deviate from the orders set forth. It is basically just following instructions. While useful to learn the ins and outs of the game, it felt as if it were a tutorial rather than a story.

    In terms of strategy, Anno also failed to capture my interest. There are two factions - the Tycoon and Eco factions. Although dissimilar in nature, the idea remained the same; collect resources, build ships, fight when necessary. The deviation of what needs to be done is almost non-existent - the game is structured in a way that there is only a right way and wrong way of doing things. This hurts the replay value of the game, as well as the general strategy. Both factions have the same warships, and the lack of variety leads to hoarding and mass-manufacturing being the sole keys to defeating the enemy.

    In summary, Anno plays well as a resource gathering game. Looking for it to appeal to other styles of gaming, it falls well short.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    The Anno series games are deep and satisfying if you enjoy open world city/economic/civilization simulators. Anno 2070 is no exception. I would give this game a 9 if I were able to play it with any consistency. This really would be an excellent game, but technical issues render it a complete waste of $50. I will not buy another Ubi game, which makes me sad because they have several good titles. That sums things up, but if you want more detail, please read on... I would not be upset with this game or its developers if I had a single issue, but this game has been a constant struggle since purchase. When I first bought the game, I had a great deal of trouble installing it. It turns out AVG antivirus and the game don't get along. Fair enough, I was using the free version of AVG anyway. I simply switched to MSE antivirus, problem solved. Once the game was installed, I experienced a crash-to-desktop that occurred somewhere between every 30 seconds and every 30 minutes, a C++ runtime error. I tried many things to resolve this, which I won't bore you with. Suffice it to say, I am quite familiar with computer hardware and software, and it was not a simple video driver issue (nor anything else you commonly see with game crashes). I contacted Ubi support (this is where things really got annoying). Even though I included a great deal of information, including a DxDiag file, I got back a very generic response telling me to update my drivers and enable graphics settings like Direct3D (if you read the DxDiag, you would see that those things are already done, as I stated in my e-mail). After a game patch, the game is a little more stable. I can typically play for 30 mins to 1 hour, but even when I can the Ubi servers are constantly down. Last night I finally had some time to play, but the servers went down mid-game. Thankfully, the game simply switches the offline mode, which does hamper your gameplay but not too terribly much. I played a little while longer and exited. Now I cannot log back into the game (which means I can't play at all) because "that user is already logged in." It turns out that if the servers go down while you're logged in, you can't log out and will therefore not be able to get back in later. Judging by forum discussions, this has happened several times and I'm sure it will be fixed in a day or 2. But that's exactly the issue with this game...it will work...in a day or 2. I solve one problem, and another pops up. The DRM is a nightmare, UPlay is garbage, the programming unstable, the servers a constant mess. I could forgive any one of the issues, but there are an infinite amount. If companies like Blizzard and Valve can release rock-solid titles with very few technical issues, why can't Ubi? For my $50 in the future, they have to do better. Goodbye Ubi and Anno, it's been fun. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    0
    I'm not usually one to do this, but I've got to throw my 0 in for good measure. This game has a 3 activation limit, which had me entirely skeptical of their DRM from the get-go. Against my better judgment, I purchased this game on 7/14/12. It wasn't a fresh release where the servers are new, or even an extremely popular title in which the servers are expected to have much of a load. Regardless, and most unfortunately, no one is able to log on to Uplay (Ubisoft's mandatory DRM gateway) today on 7/15/12, and therefore are unable to play this game. The forums for Steam and Ubisoft are filled with people unable to even launch the game they paid for. If this were a newly released title, I wouldn't be bothered. Sometimes the developer/publisher just needs time to adjust to the demand. This, on the other hand, is just unacceptable. Get a torrent or something if you want to be able to play reliably. It's an incredible shame that purchasing a title legitimately results in such a headache. Full Review »