Anno 2070 PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2011
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 70
    The leap into the future was a good move by Ubisoft, enabling the combination of the formula already established with elements of science fiction.
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    70
    A slow paced and highly complex RTS with focus on ecology.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    The revamped GUI leads you brilliantly and "ergonomically" to the build chains you want to produce the goods you desire, without needing to constantly recourse to rollover tips or a game encyclopedia (although both are also available), and this just makes the whole experience pleasant and logical.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 497 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 149
  2. Negative: 52 out of 149
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    The graphics are unbelievable. However, when you start to examine Anno 2070 as an in-depth game, it is not a long lasting treat. Unlike mostThe graphics are unbelievable. However, when you start to examine Anno 2070 as an in-depth game, it is not a long lasting treat. Unlike most of the user reviews for this game, I come in new to the series. I was excited to hear that it was a blend of city building and real-time strategy. I was disappointed to find out that, while it does blend the two genres, it falls short of being rich in either side of content. As far as a city builder, it is spectacular in it's detail. I cannot say enough about the graphics, as it is the only reason why I played so long. However, as I got further into the game, I realized how limited I was to the types of buildings I could create, especially according to range. You are limited to how you would like to structure the city by how close you construct hospitals, casinos, trade depots, etc. The problem with this is that it leads to a lack of free expression in creating a city, having to structure around the peripheral buildings. This leads to a feeling that the entire game is linear in nature - there are not a lot of options to how you can plan a city. This is not helped by the campaign, which does not allow you to deviate from the orders set forth. It is basically just following instructions. While useful to learn the ins and outs of the game, it felt as if it were a tutorial rather than a story.

    In terms of strategy, Anno also failed to capture my interest. There are two factions - the Tycoon and Eco factions. Although dissimilar in nature, the idea remained the same; collect resources, build ships, fight when necessary. The deviation of what needs to be done is almost non-existent - the game is structured in a way that there is only a right way and wrong way of doing things. This hurts the replay value of the game, as well as the general strategy. Both factions have the same warships, and the lack of variety leads to hoarding and mass-manufacturing being the sole keys to defeating the enemy.

    In summary, Anno plays well as a resource gathering game. Looking for it to appeal to other styles of gaming, it falls well short.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    4
    The Anno series games are deep and satisfying if you enjoy open world city/economic/civilization simulators. Anno 2070 is no exception. IThe Anno series games are deep and satisfying if you enjoy open world city/economic/civilization simulators. Anno 2070 is no exception. I would give this game a 9 if I were able to play it with any consistency. This really would be an excellent game, but technical issues render it a complete waste of $50. I will not buy another Ubi game, which makes me sad because they have several good titles. That sums things up, but if you want more detail, please read on... I would not be upset with this game or its developers if I had a single issue, but this game has been a constant struggle since purchase. When I first bought the game, I had a great deal of trouble installing it. It turns out AVG antivirus and the game don't get along. Fair enough, I was using the free version of AVG anyway. I simply switched to MSE antivirus, problem solved. Once the game was installed, I experienced a crash-to-desktop that occurred somewhere between every 30 seconds and every 30 minutes, a C++ runtime error. I tried many things to resolve this, which I won't bore you with. Suffice it to say, I am quite familiar with computer hardware and software, and it was not a simple video driver issue (nor anything else you commonly see with game crashes). I contacted Ubi support (this is where things really got annoying). Even though I included a great deal of information, including a DxDiag file, I got back a very generic response telling me to update my drivers and enable graphics settings like Direct3D (if you read the DxDiag, you would see that those things are already done, as I stated in my e-mail). After a game patch, the game is a little more stable. I can typically play for 30 mins to 1 hour, but even when I can the Ubi servers are constantly down. Last night I finally had some time to play, but the servers went down mid-game. Thankfully, the game simply switches the offline mode, which does hamper your gameplay but not too terribly much. I played a little while longer and exited. Now I cannot log back into the game (which means I can't play at all) because "that user is already logged in." It turns out that if the servers go down while you're logged in, you can't log out and will therefore not be able to get back in later. Judging by forum discussions, this has happened several times and I'm sure it will be fixed in a day or 2. But that's exactly the issue with this game...it will work...in a day or 2. I solve one problem, and another pops up. The DRM is a nightmare, UPlay is garbage, the programming unstable, the servers a constant mess. I could forgive any one of the issues, but there are an infinite amount. If companies like Blizzard and Valve can release rock-solid titles with very few technical issues, why can't Ubi? For my $50 in the future, they have to do better. Goodbye Ubi and Anno, it's been fun. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    0
    I'm not usually one to do this, but I've got to throw my 0 in for good measure. This game has a 3 activation limit, which had me entirelyI'm not usually one to do this, but I've got to throw my 0 in for good measure. This game has a 3 activation limit, which had me entirely skeptical of their DRM from the get-go. Against my better judgment, I purchased this game on 7/14/12. It wasn't a fresh release where the servers are new, or even an extremely popular title in which the servers are expected to have much of a load. Regardless, and most unfortunately, no one is able to log on to Uplay (Ubisoft's mandatory DRM gateway) today on 7/15/12, and therefore are unable to play this game. The forums for Steam and Ubisoft are filled with people unable to even launch the game they paid for. If this were a newly released title, I wouldn't be bothered. Sometimes the developer/publisher just needs time to adjust to the demand. This, on the other hand, is just unacceptable. Get a torrent or something if you want to be able to play reliably. It's an incredible shame that purchasing a title legitimately results in such a headache. Full Review »