Anno 2070 PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2011
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 484 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 484

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    The graphics are unbelievable. However, when you start to examine Anno 2070 as an in-depth game, it is not a long lasting treat. Unlike most of the user reviews for this game, I come in new to the series. I was excited to hear that it was a blend of city building and real-time strategy. I was disappointed to find out that, while it does blend the two genres, it falls short of being rich inThe graphics are unbelievable. However, when you start to examine Anno 2070 as an in-depth game, it is not a long lasting treat. Unlike most of the user reviews for this game, I come in new to the series. I was excited to hear that it was a blend of city building and real-time strategy. I was disappointed to find out that, while it does blend the two genres, it falls short of being rich in either side of content. As far as a city builder, it is spectacular in it's detail. I cannot say enough about the graphics, as it is the only reason why I played so long. However, as I got further into the game, I realized how limited I was to the types of buildings I could create, especially according to range. You are limited to how you would like to structure the city by how close you construct hospitals, casinos, trade depots, etc. The problem with this is that it leads to a lack of free expression in creating a city, having to structure around the peripheral buildings. This leads to a feeling that the entire game is linear in nature - there are not a lot of options to how you can plan a city. This is not helped by the campaign, which does not allow you to deviate from the orders set forth. It is basically just following instructions. While useful to learn the ins and outs of the game, it felt as if it were a tutorial rather than a story.

    In terms of strategy, Anno also failed to capture my interest. There are two factions - the Tycoon and Eco factions. Although dissimilar in nature, the idea remained the same; collect resources, build ships, fight when necessary. The deviation of what needs to be done is almost non-existent - the game is structured in a way that there is only a right way and wrong way of doing things. This hurts the replay value of the game, as well as the general strategy. Both factions have the same warships, and the lack of variety leads to hoarding and mass-manufacturing being the sole keys to defeating the enemy.

    In summary, Anno plays well as a resource gathering game. Looking for it to appeal to other styles of gaming, it falls well short.
    Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    Anno 2070 was my hope for a cross between an RTS game akin to Supreme Commander or Command and Conquer and a city builder game like Simcity. What I got was a game that quietly blends both together, nearly seamlessly, but fails to be exceptional at either. It feels like a "Lite" city builder with combat and RTS elements tagged on as an afterthought. The persistent world characteristics areAnno 2070 was my hope for a cross between an RTS game akin to Supreme Commander or Command and Conquer and a city builder game like Simcity. What I got was a game that quietly blends both together, nearly seamlessly, but fails to be exceptional at either. It feels like a "Lite" city builder with combat and RTS elements tagged on as an afterthought. The persistent world characteristics are neat, with people being able to take live missions and vote for the world council, but in reality it matters very little. I also found that the game has a rather annoying framerate issue, which should not happen on a PC with specs as high as mine. There is no reason Anno should jitter while games like The Witcher 2 and Skyrim run perfectly, Couple this with the always online Ubisoft DRM and it starts to become a hassle to play. I bought the game hoping for a city builder meets RTS hybrid, and what I got was an "okay" game that excels at neither, and is bogged down by Facebook integration, social media pandering, and draconian DRM. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    5
    Not a bad game, but easily the worst installment in an otherwise above average series of games. This particular game takes you to a slightly futuristic world with underwater cultivation is a breeze and energy shields exist. For the most part however, the world looks like modern day with oil tycoons, eco friendly people and technologists. You start with a ship, settle an island, and build aNot a bad game, but easily the worst installment in an otherwise above average series of games. This particular game takes you to a slightly futuristic world with underwater cultivation is a breeze and energy shields exist. For the most part however, the world looks like modern day with oil tycoons, eco friendly people and technologists. You start with a ship, settle an island, and build a city. Each step in your cities progress requires you fulfill the peoples needs be it food, entertainment, or plastic plates. This is how all Anno games play so nothing new here... and that is the big problem. There is no innovation in this game whatsoever. Graphic quality is no better than the previous game (Anno 1404) and they actually removed some very big features that make the game a lot less fun.

    I wont go into every problem with the game but I will highlight the two big deal breakers which cost his game a lot of points from my score.

    1) Competitive AI has been completely removed and replaced with a cheating AI. Single player games are no longer fun so if you are not an online person (like myself), this game will suck the big one. In Anno 1404, the AI actually played like a real player and did many of the things a real person might do. It had to settle islands, set up an economy, build defenses and it occasionally attacked. In Anno 2070, it simply cheats. It has no economy, it has unlimited resources from the start, and only settles islands as a matter of aesthetics even though it does not need any of them. It is boring and not fun because there is no longer any strategy. The only way to win is to build a fleet and take them out or wait forever to buy out their shares of an island and take it over (because they are too dumb to buy them back fast enough despite infinite resources...) In older Anno games you had more strategies such as hoarding specific resources by claiming islands of a certain type.

    Next, no land combat... yep you can no longer land on an island and slowly take out major resources or just take over the island. Again, since this is gone, there is a lot less strategy to the game.

    Last, the Ark stinks. Its basically a big cheat and makes an already super easy game into a ludicrous joke. When you equip the ark with an upgrade, it applies to everything in the game and some items are just insanely overpowered like global ship speed increases. Other make the game even more trivial such as shortening the amount of time you need to wait to buy out island shares (normally about 9-10 minutes if memory serves me which is also boring and slow).

    As for new additions to make the game better... well you can now settle underwater islands... but it really is not different than any other island except you cannot have a city down there. Submarines are just like ships. They did add airplanes so that was new. Other than that it is boring. I recommend you stick to older Anno games like 1404 or others. Avoid this one.
    Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    This is a beautiful but short-lived distraction. I lasted just under a week before putting it on the shelf. Perhaps the most creative aspect of the game itself is in the way that citizen needs become more diverse as they upgrade. New needs require new buildings and new resources, which are not all to be found on the home island. Some planning and shipping are in order, and this aspect ofThis is a beautiful but short-lived distraction. I lasted just under a week before putting it on the shelf. Perhaps the most creative aspect of the game itself is in the way that citizen needs become more diverse as they upgrade. New needs require new buildings and new resources, which are not all to be found on the home island. Some planning and shipping are in order, and this aspect of the strategy game captivated me for some long days. But the process is arbitrarily linear, and has some issues. Buildings aren't available until after demand for their resources has already become a problem, ruining the quest for perfection. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    Slightly disappointed but overall it's a good game. The graphics are excellent and the gameplay is true to it's predecessor's form. Somewhere along the way they forgot that part of what made the series so successful in the past was the allure of history and meeting the needs of your people. Instead they chose to focus on the industrial/environmental arenas and while that is not too bad ofSlightly disappointed but overall it's a good game. The graphics are excellent and the gameplay is true to it's predecessor's form. Somewhere along the way they forgot that part of what made the series so successful in the past was the allure of history and meeting the needs of your people. Instead they chose to focus on the industrial/environmental arenas and while that is not too bad of an idea it leaves you feeling a bit detached from any sense of connection with the population in general. Everything seems a bit rushed and hectic with bells going off, indicators flashing, message tabs etc and you feel pressured to constantly advance technology. Still a worthy game if you like city builders entwined with a bit of rts and economic management but it's not as fun as some of the previous installments. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    Great looks, nice music, a complex and interesting building system and a decent enough interface (if you fiddle with the UI settings) - initially the game seems to have everything going for it. The problem is that it just lacks the soul or personality of the best strategy/rts type games. The graphics are gorgeous - But be warned, the graphics were a mess on my Vista/Nvidia gt 460 rig atGreat looks, nice music, a complex and interesting building system and a decent enough interface (if you fiddle with the UI settings) - initially the game seems to have everything going for it. The problem is that it just lacks the soul or personality of the best strategy/rts type games. The graphics are gorgeous - But be warned, the graphics were a mess on my Vista/Nvidia gt 460 rig at first (excessively bright and overexposed). Be prepared to mess with the settings until you find a proper display setting - it seems the 'autodetect' settings break the display sometimes. Once the initial irritation of the graphics issues was overcome, I made it a few hours into the campaign before getting very bored. It's just fetch-quests, interspersed with regular building tutorials. You don't feel like you're really achieving much - those looking for a futuristic Civ game or something as satisfying as Sim City will probably be disappointed. Click on this item, click on the base to deliver it. Click on another item. Hunt down resources to make sushi for your citizens (a surprisingly difficult thing to do early game...) Yes, it's as boring as it sounds. You don't feel like you're achieving much, it's all very bland and unexciting. The 'endless' game scenarios are better. You just freely build a city according to some requirement (like get 2500 citizens etc), which is fun for a while. Developing a pretty looking metropolis is satisfying, it's just all a bit soulless. Personality is sorely lacking, which is a shame because the presentation is great. If you're thinking of buying this, I suggest you download the demo first, because even as a strategy gamer I found this a bit of a chore and a real disappointment. I paid full price for this and even though it's a pleasant diversion, it's not worth it in my view. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    Stunning visuals, but I wouldn't reccomend it to people who have played anno 1404, the user interface is very much the same. There are just way too many different resources to get to make stuff that the people want. I know what your'e gonna say, it's what makes the game difficult and fun to play, but it's just too difficult and has average gameplay. Going under water is a wonderfulStunning visuals, but I wouldn't reccomend it to people who have played anno 1404, the user interface is very much the same. There are just way too many different resources to get to make stuff that the people want. I know what your'e gonna say, it's what makes the game difficult and fun to play, but it's just too difficult and has average gameplay. Going under water is a wonderful edition to the game, but all in all, it just doesn't improve the game, not for me anyway. Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2012
    5
    They left a lot out. I started out the game, and it was a 10/10, but the longer I played it the worse it got. There's literally no city customization at all. You just get resources, build a city center, and build a city. You can't put walls around it, or customize the buildings or anything. You just do the same thing over and over and over again. They should've added a lot more. Some ofThey left a lot out. I started out the game, and it was a 10/10, but the longer I played it the worse it got. There's literally no city customization at all. You just get resources, build a city center, and build a city. You can't put walls around it, or customize the buildings or anything. You just do the same thing over and over and over again. They should've added a lot more. Some of the game mechanics have a lot to be desired, plus there are basically no ships. You should be able to build massive super ships like the raider's massive battleship. If you could do stuff like this on a massive map, rather than one with about 10 island or whatever that's pretty small, and you can't do a lot with ports. Plus, I hate the way fisheries and stuff work, They have to have a massive amount of area, for a small fishery. It's like they can't just row out to sea, they have to have it laid out right in front of them. Trading routes have a lot to be desired. They're very buggy and hard to use. The ports are a bit bland, and there's not a lot you can do with them. Aircraft are dull and boring to use, as are submarines. Overall it's a bit bland, and I was expecting more. The only 10/10 are the graphics. They were unbelievable. Expand
  9. Nov 27, 2011
    5
    While Anno 2070 is more complex when compared to it's predecessor, it fails. There is no reason to choose the Ecos over the Tycoons, this is very well known to the developers as it was admitted earlier in interviews with the press, and so it turned out to be, which is in my opinion a poor effort. It's sometimes very hard to see what buildings actually do and some looks very similar, thisWhile Anno 2070 is more complex when compared to it's predecessor, it fails. There is no reason to choose the Ecos over the Tycoons, this is very well known to the developers as it was admitted earlier in interviews with the press, and so it turned out to be, which is in my opinion a poor effort. It's sometimes very hard to see what buildings actually do and some looks very similar, this sometimes creates issue. While the graphics are nice as always with Anno titles, 2070 is very sterile and cold, all this is also reflected in the menus, which are generally improved in functionality over those of 1404, but look cold and bald, and feel like this was done during a quick break. The usual flaws the Anno games always had are once again ignored, like the lack of a good storyline, the main campaign is more like a very long tutorial, and the side-missions in the freeplay are uninspired, dumb and mostly the same. War never was as important in Anno as it is for other games, but it's usually part of the end game, this time it's even worse then in it's predecessors. If you are hellbent on trying the improvements in complexity and the sci-fi scenario go ahead, but be warned; for most parts it is generally unimproved and robed of the charm of it's predecessors. While Anno never was the perfect game, 2070 is only mediocre. Expand
  10. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    The game looks great. Very nice presentation, fairly easy to use UI, but like many of the other reviewers, it didn't draw me in. I played it for a few days and just got tired of it. I can't put my finger on anything that made me tired of it, I just put it down.
  11. Jun 23, 2012
    5
    Moving to future was a very bad move. Anno series have always been about history, i.e. city-building and economic management in various eras of human history. The graphics are nice and the usual game mechanism is still there, but the time setting ruined everything. They turned an awesome historical game into just another futuristic crap we see popping up everywhere lately.
  12. May 22, 2012
    5
    A weird game that works kind of like a city-building sim with an RTS type interface. Gameplay seems a bit gimmicky and unsatisfying, and the campaign is basically a dull chain of just performing actions an advisor tells you to. Graphically beautiful and sounds intriguing, but doesn't really deliver.
  13. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    This game looks great, and there is plenty of different missions for you to do, as well as the multiplayer function. The building of a city becomes a little repetitive after a while... I tried playing with some friends, and we had to set up a VPN to get it going! That was highly frustrating. It really gave me a bad impression of the game. I am not sure it is worth full price, but maybe onThis game looks great, and there is plenty of different missions for you to do, as well as the multiplayer function. The building of a city becomes a little repetitive after a while... I tried playing with some friends, and we had to set up a VPN to get it going! That was highly frustrating. It really gave me a bad impression of the game. I am not sure it is worth full price, but maybe on a sale, give it a go. Expand
  14. May 1, 2013
    5
    Anno 2070, a decent recourse based strategy game and seemingly a direct clone of 1702AD. Though Anno is a good game in its own rights it is also anything other than innovative. Essentially you begin with what seems like some kind of “Mother ship” that looks like it just landed at some random island and now you need to colonize it with either hippie or corporate inhabitants and thrive.Anno 2070, a decent recourse based strategy game and seemingly a direct clone of 1702AD. Though Anno is a good game in its own rights it is also anything other than innovative. Essentially you begin with what seems like some kind of “Mother ship” that looks like it just landed at some random island and now you need to colonize it with either hippie or corporate inhabitants and thrive. Fun for a while.
    So basically the story is that global warming has melted the icecaps and has made most of the planet, aside from the highest mountain peaks, completely uninhabitable. Where have I heard this one before? And wouldn’t the highest mountains be uninhabitable too. This game shows these areas as beautiful and the very view of inhabitable. Really, you would still be at the same height as it always was and the people would die from the cold. But I digress.
    There are two main factions; the Eden Initiative, the good guys I guess, and the Global Trust, or the bad guys. Each has its own high and low points like the Initiative are never short on recourses, but they expand slowly. And the Trust will quickly run out of recourses but will expand faster. Aside from those two things and the look of the buildings, there really is no difference between the two, in my opinion.
    The combat in the game is much like the combat in 1702AD, clunky and slow. Now I love strategy games. Sometimes I’ll get so hooked on Civilization that I lose track on the month that go by, but this system is just so bad. In fact, it’s downright boring. Though the graphics in the game are great and you can see every blade of grass as it gets ripped up and scarred by the rage of war there really isn’t much to the combat. They shoot and the one with greater numbers wins.
    There are several campaigns that add almost nothing to the game, actually most tend to just play the sandbox mode and get the experience of the scenarios in a single play-through instead of restarting every time. And there is almost no story or immersion to speak of. You know you’re playing a game entire time. There is no connection to the characters, no main character that I noticed, and poor endings.
    The only saving grace in this game is that it is a feast for the eyes and has an equally beautiful soundtrack.
    To be honest, this game should get a score of about 4, but due to the beautiful music models and textures in the game and that it does have a good amount of replay-ability, I have to give it a 5. It is an average game with an average experience. Don’t go tripping over the strategy fan-boys to get this one, but it is worth getting if not for early gameplay.
    Expand
  15. Jan 29, 2014
    6
    Good game in general. Great Graphics and the music so gooood!!! But after playing more than 48 hours, I was tired of always have to do the same thing. AI always asking to do a job for them gets me boring because always the same stuff. Management is not so bad but after building the tech lab, academy and done all of the research in it (And build the Main Building). Seem to have no moreGood game in general. Great Graphics and the music so gooood!!! But after playing more than 48 hours, I was tired of always have to do the same thing. AI always asking to do a job for them gets me boring because always the same stuff. Management is not so bad but after building the tech lab, academy and done all of the research in it (And build the Main Building). Seem to have no more stuff to do than build houses and have my citizens happy about there needs.

    Buy it for 20$ but not worth 50$
    JoceDoIt
    Expand
  16. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    The freedom is very very limited. You start with very basic building types and can only build more types when you progress, which is a bit frustrating: you're bound to build X, Y and Z. The graphics are amazing, but the gameplay suffers tremendously.
  17. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    Game is true to previous ANNO and is satisfying to play. Thankfully they did away with the irritating building and moving of armies and replaced it with more fluid air craft.
    Campaign, however, is frustratingly simple. HOURS are wasted with hand holding and slow teaching, literally 2 thirds into the game is when the tutorial stops. Perhaps this is because I have played other ANNO that i
    Game is true to previous ANNO and is satisfying to play. Thankfully they did away with the irritating building and moving of armies and replaced it with more fluid air craft.
    Campaign, however, is frustratingly simple. HOURS are wasted with hand holding and slow teaching, literally 2 thirds into the game is when the tutorial stops. Perhaps this is because I have played other ANNO that i thought it was simple, but it got boring. No pirates to deal with either, (or any faction to fill the niche) which is disappointing. and for some reason they kept the annoying wheres waldo sidequests which i still hate,

    still alot of fun though
    Expand
  18. Jan 30, 2013
    5
    From the very first time you load the game youll get so caught up in the story and in the graphics, this game is just beautiful. Iv never played this game or any of the others in the series before and was entangled in the game play, i loved the way the ships looked, the way the building looked and how the ppl ran free through your island. I started on the very basic and worked my way upFrom the very first time you load the game youll get so caught up in the story and in the graphics, this game is just beautiful. Iv never played this game or any of the others in the series before and was entangled in the game play, i loved the way the ships looked, the way the building looked and how the ppl ran free through your island. I started on the very basic and worked my way up and was enjoying it in till my last game. I started on an easy map with hard opponents i wanted a challenge and have played on medium i thought it wouldn't be super hard. IT only took an hour before i was being attacked by other civilations who were already many tech trees above me and i was unable to build any defenses against them, this game was great till i had to waite to build basic defenses and with them attacking there was no way to stop it. so there are many pros to this game however watching your settlement get destroyed cause you only have a certain amount of ppl destroys this game. it was fun while it lasted. Expand
  19. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    Anno2070 is a god game. If you are a fan of Dawn of Discovery and want the futuristic version of that game then you'll simply fall in love. However, the game IS A CLONE of its predecessor. You wont find much new and innovating gameplay mechanics. The underwater stuff is a modified version of the basic island settlement and the only real new system is the envrionmental effects. If you gotAnno2070 is a god game. If you are a fan of Dawn of Discovery and want the futuristic version of that game then you'll simply fall in love. However, the game IS A CLONE of its predecessor. You wont find much new and innovating gameplay mechanics. The underwater stuff is a modified version of the basic island settlement and the only real new system is the envrionmental effects. If you got your colonization fill with Dawn of Discovery, you will find nothing new here. Expand
  20. Apr 27, 2012
    7
    A game whose graphics is satisfactory, however poorer than 1404 in my opinion, due to rather low LOD and not-so-good looking vegetation. I appreciate the deep-sea environment, quite original, but the islands feel rather blank as compared to the ones in 1404, which were much more populated with diverse entities (i know, fits not in the game's thematics, future and all that, but a compromiseA game whose graphics is satisfactory, however poorer than 1404 in my opinion, due to rather low LOD and not-so-good looking vegetation. I appreciate the deep-sea environment, quite original, but the islands feel rather blank as compared to the ones in 1404, which were much more populated with diverse entities (i know, fits not in the game's thematics, future and all that, but a compromise ?).

    The sound is top-notch, but the voice-acting is dull, especially EVE's, i had to turn it down to a minimum.

    The gameplay is fair for this kind of game. The quests continue in the line of 1404, although a bit dull, repetitive and way too easy. The AI sadly suffers from the same issues as 1404 in my opinion:
    -the easy AI is plain dumb and easy manouvrable
    -the medium AI is boring
    -the hard AI is suicidal, cheating and not suited for any real-life simulation of sorts
    Replayability value ? Quite limited, not too much to do.

    All in all, a not-so-worthy successor of 1404.
    Expand
  21. Jul 20, 2012
    7
    This game is more than a little time consuming, but the story isn't bad, and the graphics are better. However, this game hardly has any replay value other than simply building (utterly beautiful) cities in continuous mode. To extend on my earlier comment if you're new to Anno (I was) you'll spend hours messing around and scrounging for tutorials and digging through that laughable PDF of aThis game is more than a little time consuming, but the story isn't bad, and the graphics are better. However, this game hardly has any replay value other than simply building (utterly beautiful) cities in continuous mode. To extend on my earlier comment if you're new to Anno (I was) you'll spend hours messing around and scrounging for tutorials and digging through that laughable PDF of a tutorial. After a couple hours of that well... lets just say I was a little... volatile. Fortunately for my keyboard (because I was about to beat the hell out of it) I found a great series of tutorials on YouTube by NanosuitNinja. Watched a couple of videos and finally figured out how to actually play it. Once you've gotten that far it's really quite simple, and not to mention quite enjoyable, but after a couple of days it goes from joy to nausea as the sheer amount of repetition is well... nauseating. In the end this isn't a game you want to play often (or pay $50 for), more like play once, burn through the campaign, and build a (half) city and leave it in the bottom of the drawer for a couple months. [Tutorial link:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYFLhADYd3k&feature=related] Expand
  22. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    Great resource management, gets tedious after a while though. Still enough content and researche things to do to keep you wanting to unlock that next step. I've easily sank tons of hours in this game. Expansion was also fun.

    Great part about this game were the global events, which added stuff to do after the campaign, scenarios were done with. I didn't really play multiplayer so
    Great resource management, gets tedious after a while though. Still enough content and researche things to do to keep you wanting to unlock that next step. I've easily sank tons of hours in this game. Expansion was also fun.

    Great part about this game were the global events, which added stuff to do after the campaign, scenarios were done with.
    I didn't really play multiplayer so can't comment on that.
    Expand
  23. Feb 20, 2014
    7
    Anno 2070 is a huge, deep, beautiful, enjoyable strategy-building game, yet it's hindered by massive performance issues, which although nothing but an annoyance, really take away from what is otherwise the best Anno game by far.
  24. Jun 19, 2014
    7
    I got this game for $7.99 (with all expansion bits) on Steam. Worth $8.

    Building/economy/environment/happiness/military interplays make this interesting. Still need a book or podcast running, but it's not bad. Worth $8. The controls are NOT intuitive, but there are story guided quest chains that slowly push you into each aspect if you like. I'd give it an 8 but its persistent
    I got this game for $7.99 (with all expansion bits) on Steam. Worth $8.

    Building/economy/environment/happiness/military interplays make this interesting. Still need a book or podcast running, but it's not bad. Worth $8.

    The controls are NOT intuitive, but there are story guided quest chains that slowly push you into each aspect if you like.

    I'd give it an 8 but its persistent online crap is ridiculous. This crap should be illegal.
    Expand
  25. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    More or less the same as Anno 1404 (Dawn of Discovery)... the construction menu seems a little bit more organized, but shares same exact mechanics. The graphics are still awesome, but based on the future. Personally I miss some features from the original game, so I will rate it slightly lower.
  26. Oct 18, 2015
    7
    This is one of the best city-builder game I saw in recent years. This reminds me of such great games as Age of Empires II and Cossacks. However, brave guys from Ubisoft made everything to corrupt your gameplay. Just read Steam reviews abous when you buy this game you cannot play it unless god of Ubisoft allows you to join his server. Another thing is inability to change default game UIThis is one of the best city-builder game I saw in recent years. This reminds me of such great games as Age of Empires II and Cossacks. However, brave guys from Ubisoft made everything to corrupt your gameplay. Just read Steam reviews abous when you buy this game you cannot play it unless god of Ubisoft allows you to join his server. Another thing is inability to change default game UI scale - in Full-HD mode everything is so small, so you need good glasses to be able to play. Awesome game, but thanks to Ubisoft I could not fully enjoy it. Expand
  27. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    The game feels and plays like an ANNO game, which is nice to see. While new stuff of course have been added from earlier installments they've been loyal to the the series.
    However while the game is by no means a bad game, it does get boring very fast, as there's no possibility for customizing your city in our image. Once you figure out how the economy works, you'll find yourself building
    The game feels and plays like an ANNO game, which is nice to see. While new stuff of course have been added from earlier installments they've been loyal to the the series.
    However while the game is by no means a bad game, it does get boring very fast, as there's no possibility for customizing your city in our image. Once you figure out how the economy works, you'll find yourself building the same way every single map, no matter the assignment.

    --------------------- If you're a loyal fan of the series you'll most likely get some good hours out of the game, but if you're new to the game you might want to pick up one of the older game first to see if it's what you're looking for.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    84
    Putting aside minor hindrances, the game is a pleasant revival of the legendary franchise, displaying high replayability, relative to recent games. [February 2012]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 29, 2012
    90
    A significantly more accessible setting makes this latest Anno a must play for all city management fans. [March 2012, p.52]
  3. 70
    The leap into the future was a good move by Ubisoft, enabling the combination of the formula already established with elements of science fiction.