• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master new technologies while facing numerous ecological challenges to build their empires. Anno 2070 offers players the ability to be architects of the future and create the world of tomorrow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    93
    ANNO 2070 is the perfect game for everyone who loves to tweak an economy and build large scale cities. Especially the endgame is really complex with many things to do. A must have for every ANNO-Player.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    90
    The developers have succeeded in creating a game faithful to the tradition and at the same time a game full of new elements and mechanics, that make it feel fresh. All that, plus a great campaign and a variety of multiplayer options make Anno 2070 an excellent game and even some technical issues can't change that.
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    85
    The sci-fi city building of Anno 2070 is a fresh take on a familiar genre. Expect to get hooked, and stay hooked.
  5. 84
    Putting aside minor hindrances, the game is a pleasant revival of the legendary franchise, displaying high replayability, relative to recent games. [February 2012]
  6. 80
    Going green has never been so entertaining, with the only game this Christmas where brain not brawn will save the world.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 132
  2. Negative: 43 out of 132
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Furistic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where you must know how to manage cities and resources. This game made me spent hours of gameplay and I don't intend to stop playing. The big difference of this game compared to its predecessors is the multiplayer. The community is able to vote on global matters, choose a new president for the council, etc. Gameplay is fantastic, sound is overwhelming and campaign is quite interesting. You will find some minor problems such as voice acting doesn't seem to be good and some small typos in the text. However, I'm pretty sure such things will get fixed on future patches. This is a must buy game if you enjoy city management. Congratulations to Blue Byte! Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I have spent over 200 hours playing this game and would never take those hours back. It is visually pleasant, moderately challenging and a joy to see a futuristic civilisation grow and prosper. The fact that there is nothing in the resource production lines that seems remotely impossible really catches me. Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    This is the best city building game I have ever played. Dont be confused by some of the statements made by fans or advertisers, there is essentially no combat in this game. While there is the ability to build military ships, they do almost nothing, and the game is so heavily geared toward peaceful coexistence that going to war is a practical impossibility. So if you are looking for an RTS the likes of Startcraft 2, dont even consider this. But if you like city builders, this game is a masterpiece.
    It is very complex. there are 16 different resources necessary to maintain your high level citizens (not to mention the fact that some products require multiple steps of production), and 5-6 building resources, some of which require multiple production resources. It is complex, and yet it still manages to be fairly intuitive. It is a game that is easy to learn, yet hard to master. It is the perfect game for building and maintaining civilizations.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    The game feels and plays like an ANNO game, which is nice to see. While new stuff of course have been added from earlier installments they've been loyal to the the series.
    However while the game is by no means a bad game, it does get boring very fast, as there's no possibility for customizing your city in our image. Once you figure out how the economy works, you'll find yourself building the same way every single map, no matter the assignment.

    --------------------- If you're a loyal fan of the series you'll most likely get some good hours out of the game, but if you're new to the game you might want to pick up one of the older game first to see if it's what you're looking for.
    Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    The freedom is very very limited. You start with very basic building types and can only build more types when you progress, which is a bit frustrating: you're bound to build X, Y and Z. The graphics are amazing, but the gameplay suffers tremendously. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    2
    I love strategy games, unfortunately I bought this thinking that it was one. Anno 2070 is dogs balls boring, dont waste your cash, the pretty graphics and eco sound track are nice but there is no game here to be had hence the score of 2. Despite being patched to the very latest version of the game there are still bugs like a strange warning about running out of memory when I can alt tab and see there is easily 1.5GB left on my machine. You cant even buy a unit to defend yourself until you have ascended to level 3 which takes about 3 hours! The original civilisation or starcraft games kick this game for six and they came out like 10 years ago.. ok rant over with ... YOU WERE WARNED. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    Even with an existing UPlay account, it took me over two hours after my Steam download had completed just to get to the main menu of the game.

    - First, it wants to install UPlay.
    - Then it wants to patch Uplay several times
    - Then it asks for a product key
    - Then it runs an autopatcher for the game itself
    - Then it asks for another product key
    - Then it crashes a couple of times
    - Then it asks to register another useless account
    - Then it asks for another product key
    - Then it kicks you out of the game to download the DLC
    - Then you have to login to everything again, and 70% of the time, the connection fails
    - Then it spams you with offers for some "free"-to-play crap
    - Then it asks you to fill out a survey

    If you're lucky you might then be able to actually play the game. By that stage I chose not to. I've played other games with UPlay integration, such as Far Cry 3 and Rocksmith, and its annoying, but relatively painless. Anno 2070 is just god-awful in every way. I doubt I'll bother with any Ubisoft games until they sort their rubbish DRM out.
    Expand

See all 132 User Reviews